Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hilltop Hotel by the Lantern Group 4 stars

138/3 Soi Srisuchart View, Bypass Road, T.Rassada,A.Maung, Phuket, 83000 Phuket Town, Thailand

#82 of 110 hotels in Phuket Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 56 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    5.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Spa Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it hard to communicate with the staff. Some staff were rude. Parts of the room were dirty. The window was unlocked and could be opened, this could cause serious injury/ death if someone fell out. The TV’s did not work. The Wifi was dodgy - constantly cutting out. The location was too far from everything and is cost at least 600THB to get anywhere, plus there was no transport to/from the airport which made our stay even more expensive.

    The Thai local food on the dinner menu was so well cooked! The bacon was nice and crispy! The bath was lovely, and the view was quite nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Cheap, but not really family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, outdated rooms, staff couldn't speak English, so hard to communicate, small bathroom, very poor buffet breakfast, a long walk down the road and back up the hill and steps to get necessities, we had booked a 4bed executive room for a group of 5, no bedding or towels for the 5th person, not easy to remedy, also difficult to get pool towels.

    Nice big rooms, great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Away from the normal spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restraunt, really regret paying for breakfast in advance as it's better suited to the Chinese. That been said the staff did work hard to make the experience lovely.

    We found the friendly staff made our stay very comfortable. They will shuttle you to the local mall so that you can stick up the fridge and freezer, making the stay more affordable. The room view was stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Everything !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio - B
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! The personnel was great, so helpful and always smiling. It was really clean and the view of the city is amazing, especially during night with the lights. I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    2.9
    The room was totally different to the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was totally different to the photos. The room was very dirty and there was a terrible smell. We asked to move rooms and the staff kindly obliged which was one positive about the trip. The room we moved into was much nicer and there was no smell but it was so dirty still and some of the air con machines were broken. There was no atmosphere in the hotel as nobody else was staying there. The pool was tiny and dated as was the gym. Terrible location, not near anything at all. Need car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Great room outshines rest of hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Spa Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool was tiny and really unusable, as was the gym. The place seemed empty even though it was (apparently) fully booked

    The split-level "loft" style room was great as was the hillside location. The hotel facilities let it down though and decor generally could do with a complete update.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Rooms are AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very far from everything so you have to book taxi's to go anywhere. The gym facilities are in pieces they literally crumble in your hands. The food isn't very good and the restaurant was always empty. Some taxi's won't make it up the hill to the hotel so be prepared to walk up a very steep hill.

    The room was absolutely amazing with a huge waterfall in the bathroom and a huge window showing a Forrest. Staff were very helpful through our stay every time we had a problem especially the hotel manager.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Really really enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit away from everything but we were aware of that

    Because of previous reviews we decided to check the room before checking in, we booked honeymoon suite but God knows why the room is quite dark because it faces hilltop - we got a free upgrade to a huge room with amazing view; chomview restaurant - food delicious ! ; no bugs

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    4.2
    Overall very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to carry luggage up and downstairs. Few menu many options were available. Too far away to walk anywhere. First staff member didn't know where our room was. The hotel is run down and not very clean. Does not look as nice as pictures and likely needs new management. Was not good value for money. Our resort in Patong was cheaper and much nicer and better facilities.

    Some of the staff were very helpful. Good movie options. Shower was good. The loft style of the room was good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.5
    Hilltop short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio A
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept dropping out but may have been the weather. Not close to any markets or shops to walk to.

    Very good at organising me to get somewhere on the other side of the island for a few hours even with very little english. I was a bit unlucky so it was raining so i didnt use the pool good view over phuket town for a very reasonable price. Ideal for a quick stopover if you want to relax no shops or local places in walking distance though. Wouldnt recommend it for a long stay unless you had lots of activities booked in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.3
    Must like to walk up and down stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted a cash deposit at check in most hotels these days are happy with credit card security. Nearly all of the equipment in the gym is not useable all broken even unsafe. Big hassle just to get a bottle of drinking water. Language barrier is a issue very hard to be understood.

    Location and price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Amazing views - comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food options and drinks are minimal and a lot things unavailable. Too far from anything. You need a scooter or car to go any where. Water in rooms warm - spa bath takes ages to fill up.

    Service & view & food was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant location for the wet season, excellent room. Unbelievable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some decking areas are a little slippy, but it is the wet season. The access road is a little rough, especially on a hire bike. But I don't think the road belongs to the hotel.

    The room was fantastic, unbelievable value. The hotel is off the beaten track (10 min to Phuket Old Town). But perfect for us. We are late risers, but if there was nothing you liked on the buffet breakfast, the staff were only too pleased to make what you wanted. The staff are all super friendly and welcoming. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with all of them. Reception was particularly helpful. Especially when organising a motorbike hire and boat trip. Thank you, you made our holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    5.4
    Lovely view from every room and the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an "ant-parade" in our room including one of our beds. We complained and had the oppurtunity to change room bur when we found ants in that room to we decided to go back to our resort instead. We asked for some kind of compensation but didn´t get any because we had "already checked-in". A really stupid answer and really bad service. The hotel could at least have offered to pay for the taxi back to Bangtao which was 700 baht, (approx 22 euro).

    Lovely view from every room and the restaurant. Friendly staff, but they spoke little english and it was hard to make your self understood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Extra big bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in jiquizy

    Extra big bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff all friendly and helpfull! Amazing room! Top quality.. would recommend to everyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.8
    Room was big, staff were weird, beds were comfy, location was far too out of the way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was horrible and taxis in Phuket are very expensive.

    The beds were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.5
    It’s good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room for 4 persons
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to speak staff they don’t understand English & no body’s help bring lagged up and down.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    We booked a room just for spa, but water was rusty and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room just for spa, but water was rusty and yellow which made us uncomfortable to get into the water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    The room and its view was spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was terrible and the swimming pool was extremely deep not appropriate for children

    I found the hotel stafff extremely helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    Didn't like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Spa Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of food was very poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    5.0
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - facilities

    Room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.5
    Food was awesome staff were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit far from everything

    Food was awesome staff were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.0
    Cheaters..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They cheat on customers... Demanded for money for cleaning room on check out... Dont trust them.. Agressive cheaters..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Deluxe Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel because quit hard to find the public transport.

    The movies in the room and the Hilltop environment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio A
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for the wonderful time and the kindness of the team...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    2.5
    I would never come back to this hotel. Bad value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio A
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad smelling room, changed after second requests. Unhelpful and almost not speaking English personnel. Bad location, nothing interesting nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    5.8
    -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and the locación. The taxi is really expensive, 500 bath to go to the Pier to Phi Phi. The hotel's driver is The worst e ver; he drove for 1:30 hs to get The Pier, he did 3 stops in shops where a lot of people tried to sell tours to me and my friends. Disgusting!!

    -

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    7.9
    The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately the air conditioning was too weak, therefore it has always been too warm in the hotel room.

    The staff was extremely friendly and the hotel room was very big and nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    5.8
    Bathroom drain was plugged and took 4 seperste times to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom drain was plugged and took 4 seperste times to get issue resolved. Air condition could have been turned on prior to arrival so room was not to hot.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.9
    Friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The card given to us with our key had a helpful map and phone numbers etc. but for an entirely different hotel 35 minutes away! We used the card to show the taxi driver our address. 70 minutes & 650 baht wasted! What the...?

    Friendly people. Great view. Good location for us - we attended Siam Niramit.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location isn't good and it costs a lot to get a taxi from the hotel to go anywhere.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Restaurant served amazing food. We stayed in the Honeymoon Delux room and the room was amazing - bed was great to sleep on, pool was awesome and room had pretty view and was quiet. Wifi was pretty good as well.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    5.4
    Movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - old furnished. Sofa, cabinet, tv cabinet - tile is not in good condition - inside building, wall - blanket is mean nothing - old towel - water heater not work

    Movie

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    4.2
    Very bad location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad location! You can get anywhere only with taxi and taxi here is extremely expensive. It's more reasonable to book a more expensive hotel with great location. It's also very noisy because a part of the hotel is still under construction. Staff doesn't understand English.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    6.3
    The wiews where amazing and staff so helpful:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room I booked was not cleand very well. Air conditioning not working at all. Wifi not working at all. They did move me into an other room this was cleaner air and wifi working and they refunded the difference.

    The wiews where amazing and staff so helpful:)

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    We booked this hotel through booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't have one complaint. ☺

    We booked this hotel through booking.com at a very cheap price. Location was fantastic if your looking for a quite area away from all the hustle & bustle.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.2
    Room very comfortable with great views of northern Phuket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Step road not for the the faint of heart. high building not for those afraid of heights walking from elevator (lift) to main structure.

    Room very comfortable with great views of northern Phuket Town.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is excellent. However, it would be greater if there is a lunch buffet. Since the location is a bit far to the restaurants. For tourists, it will be convenient to have their meals in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.3
    The view from room, lounge area and restaurant were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tight stairs in honeymonn spa

    The view from room, lounge area and restaurant were outstanding

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.1
    Cigarette smell in the room even though we asked for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cigarette smell in the room even though we asked for a non-smoker room.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    7.1
    The room was nice , clean the staff is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa pool bath.. was so cold.... cannot enjoy it

    The room was nice , clean the staff is ok

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    The private spa tub/pool in our room, getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The private spa tub/pool in our room, getting McDonald's ordered to our room, very comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    10
    Staff, food choice,servic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, food choice,servic.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: