Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sukhothai Bangkok 5 stars

13/3, 28/1-4 South Sathorn Road, Thungmahamek, Sathorn, 10120 Bangkok, Thailand

#72 of 1,238 hotels in Bangkok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 806 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay very much. Sukhothai was a great oasis to come back too after a day running around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not situated on the BTS line so it is inconvenient and traffic is bad during the day- so calculate in sufficient time whenever travelling by car.

    The serenity of the hotel. Would definitely recommend booking the Executive Suite for the extra money- worth it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    this hotel represents great Thai design, decoration and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it's easy to access up to guest floor which we can't ensure the person who came up is guest or other outside. I think it need more security for this safety.

    this hotel represents great Thai design, decoration and environment and unique location among high buildings on Sathorn road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    We loved everything in this hotel, location, facilities, breakfast and the attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely kind and attentive staff who exceed all expectations, a thrue hospitality experience. The breakfast buffet is of a rare qualitative diversity. The hotel location is a welcoming green haven of peace and tranquility in the middle of bustling Bangkok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Classy hotel with attention to details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception made mistake on check in quoting one price for extra night and charging another. On check out they tried to charge higher amount than Booking.com price was. Even pointed out the mistake tried to disagree. Had to show very clearly that Booking.com price included all the extra fees already.

    Excellent hotel - service, design. One of the best ever. Old school but with class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Authentic and Peaceful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a bit distance from BTS station but if you are taking cab then not a problem.

    Loved design of hotel as it's very authentic Thai style and really liked garden area. Pool is bigger than most of other properties in Bangkok. Enjoyed breakfast buffet and there is chocolate buffet during weekend. I didn't have chance to try but looked really nice. If I visit Bangkok next time, will try for chocolate buffet. If you travel to rest then this property is the best choice. Even property is located center of Bangkok it was quiet and you can rest peacefully.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous! We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were very few power sockets in the room so an extension cable in the room would have been appreciated.

    We stayed in the executive suite. The room was very large and the bathroom was amazing. The staff were very responsive via email to answer our queries and meet our needs before our stay. We had the chocolate buffet on the Saturday and were given a complimentary bottle of prosecco to celebrate our occasion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Good for sleep, nice area! Facility, better wait for completion of the fitness center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    facilities are under renovation! Noise! Too many flys around pool, not a pleasant experience! Reception, new and not friendly, loss of smile! Food, fresh but too salty and not in good mix proportion in vegetables, hams and bread.....in my choice.

    Good bedding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.6
    Distinctively average - does not offer good value for money, although the breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Has the feeling of a generic business hotel - nothing special about the property especially when there is so much competition for more unique, boutique hotels in Bangkok which offer more personalised service at a better price point. Not good value for money.

    Excellent breakfast buffet - good international offering.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Power outlet is very hard to find. Some staff service is not so appreciated

    Good maintainance room, Peaceful surrounding, Delicious and variety breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Waa charged 2 different deposit amounts at check in the two days we stayed there. Ordered room servi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged 2 different deposit amounts at check in the two days we stayed there. Ordered room service and was harassed by staff to pay for it on the spot. Can’t see why we couldn’t do this at checkout like any normal hotel. When I complained to duty manager he apologised but was also laughing. I had to hang up the phone on him. Unprofessional front desk staff! Everywhere else in hotel was nice. Communicate with your guests what you will be charging them in advance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet location and character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small, cramped but this may be normal in Bangkok.

    Quiet location and character. Accommodating. Very courteous and competent staff. Good bar, dining and sitting spaces, beautiful approach and garden. Good facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, caring, and competent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems to show its age in certain areas. The corridor to our room smelled of chlorine and was laid out with a rather old carpet.

    Friendly, caring, and competent staff. Large, comfortable room with serene view of inner courtyard garden. Quite a surprising oasis of tranquility in midst of Bangkok. Breakfast was fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    An altogether, excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed our very brief stay. The staff were very good, especially Khun Sean at Check-in. The room was very comfortable and the setting of the hotel within lovely gardens is probably unique in Bangkok. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    A peaceful hideaway in busy Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction works that are going on throughout the hotel and grounds. Hotels and Booking.com should state when works are planned during your stay / visit prior to booking and / or arrival.

    Lovely to escape the busy city without leaving it! Couldn’t believe the sheer size of the hotel and grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    A beautiful oasis in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked the bed to be a bit firmer. It was too comfy and soft, but it's just a personal preference. Gym was under renovation so was using a temporary one.

    A beautiful oasis in the middle of the city. Staff was nice and helpful especially by the pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    I liked everything, the atmosphere, the cleanliness, the room, the location. Staff are nice and attentive. Bed is very comfortable. Restaurant 'Celadon' inside the hotel serves decent Thai food. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Oasis in the middle of busy Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that can be disliked in The Sukhothai

    Availability and kindness of staff. Breakfast is a treat. This time’s outstanding staff member was Arm at swimming pool for his kindness, prompt replies and language skills.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    the environment is good,esp the public area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the service is good but did not expect my expectation.it is always better to do a little more than what I just asked for

    the environment is good,esp the public area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Thanks to the always kind staff, I could have a fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thanks to the always kind staff, I could have a fantastic vacation. If I have a chance, I would like to visit again. The time spent in the pool was especially fascinating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    - The hotel seems to have been recently renovated,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food a bit overpriced, but being in Bangkok definitely not a let down

    - The hotel seems to have been recently renovated, everything about it is luxury - Offers a beautiful oasis of calmness within the busy Bangkok central location - Staff are super helpful and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and unforgettable evening.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks listed in the room service menu is outrageously exorbitant! Even by comparison to the pricing of most International 5 Stars establishments, it is ludicrously extortionate!

    All the staffs conducted themselves in the most professional fashion! Not even the slightest hiccup. I’m impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent bed and brunch- staff make it amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you check out- even if you’re still in the hotel waiting for airport transfer, the staff ignore you and wi-if is cut off, you’re on your own...

    Amazing brunch- best service and wonderful food- truly exceptional. Loved my room and the amazing bed- super comfy and I sank into it without any wish to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful Thai style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful Thai style hotel Concierge is extremely friendly and helpful with restaurant bookings and organising activities Next to vertigo bar- 2 min walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    No more in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Courtyard View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    À lot of humidity in the room and especially in the corridor. Bad smell in the corridor then. On top of this, at Check out the staff refuses to provide me an invoice for the stay! I never seen that !

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    I love the beds and the location. The rooms, while a bit dated, are spacious and well appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room and bathroom. The hair dryers. The bar staff is not very fluent in the drinks or English. The construction underway at the building near the pool area.

    The beds are great! The lighting in the bathroom should be better at the mirror area, especially for women putting on makeup. The hair dryers are not up to date and should be replaced. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The bar staff seemed confused with our orders and took some time to fill them. Breakfast buffet is very good! The pool area is amazing but there was construction going on the entire time so the noise was annoying. The gym is being redone so the small 2 room temporary one is okay for your needs, albeit cramped. I do recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like that there’s no passage from the hotel to the pool area, and one has to pass by the lobby/central hallways in bathrobe.

    Sukhothai is always a guarantee. It never disappoints. Just great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    An oasis in Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to get taxis and Uber's due to the location.

    Service was exceptional. I asked for a flower bouquet and champagne to be delivered at midnight for my girlfriend's birthday and everything was executed perfectly. Breakfast was very good and the Sunday brunch was incredible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Exceptional stay. We plan to return the same time next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Exceptionell hotel. A pure oasis in the busy Bangkok. Everything was above our expectations. All the staff were so friendly and even know our first names after a couple of days. Breakfast buffet fantastic. Something for every one, even fresh made smoothies.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Mixed bag this time…
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having stayed there 6 times the last five years it would be nice to be welcomed (back) as a returning guest but then this has never been the case on any previous visit... were allocated a room without their signature TV/Hi-Fi installation (apparently one of only two rooms in the entire hotel) which is disappointing and was known to staff at check-in allocating us that room, when following up the next day with the person checking us in response was 'next time...' not exactly the response you would expect from a five star hotel... Bed is by far not as comfortable any more than on any of the previous five visits and apparently they have changed beds / matrasses in all the rooms we were told…

    improved and enlarged pool area though some construction (including some noise) still ongoing, temporary gym in the main building pretty ok and advised beforehand which is professional, however message did not mention that sauna, steam room and jacuzzi is currently closed due to reconstruction... still a beautiful and tranquil property...but...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    We look forward to returning next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed feels so luxurious, we look forward getting into it after a day of activities. The hotel is like an oasis in this bustling city. We have been coming to this hotel since it’s opening, there is still a few staff we recognize from the very beginning, it felt like coming home to see them Year after year. They are most professional and courteous. The newer staff are well trained, helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Pool area is wonderful, Celadon Restaurant is superb, staff are extremely professional and all speak excellent English, rooms are well equipped with quality fittings and accessories, beds and pillows best we’ve ever slept in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I personally strongly object to not being able to drink filtered tap water in the restaurant. Despite providing this in the hotel in the restaurant only mineral water (from Italy!) was available. A crazy waste of resources.

    Great stay. Amazing place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel in a good location. Beautiful suite and gorgeous bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was some renovations taking place and whilst we totally accept and understand that they have to be done we would have appreciated one day without any drills! They even worked on a Sunday and it was to the side of the pool where we were trying to relax!

    Loved the peace. Although on a very busy street. The design of the hotel made it feel very tranquil, and we could hear birds singing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.1
    Great pool, hotel and public area decoration, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room facilities were a bit dated. Staff needs improvement for a 5 star hotel - kindness and service focus

    Great pool, hotel and public area decoration, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Legendary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I would be very critical, there was some hair in the bathroom, there was a bit of street noise at night, and one special request I had could not be met. But really nothing serious.

    The Sukothai is a high-quality, spatious hotel with a bit of Zen-character. It has a magnificent breakfast buffet. This time I stayed in a superior room which really was a small apartment. Great beds, fresh fruit in the room, more space than you will need. Good internet etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful urban oasis - best of everything - no need to go out!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little dated (i.e. mirrors and medium stained wood everywhere....with green carpet etc. seems that there is a grand plan for renovations...

    Amazing friendly helpful staff - so personable beyond all expectations. Pool is phenomenal- you’d never think you were in the middle of the city. Restaurants and are excellent - no need to eat elsewhere!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay! Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the things I love about is the garden between the lobby and the residence, which is so lovely. This is exactly the image you would expect to encounter in Thailand. Plus, the staff is very nice and willing to help me.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Another wonderful stay in Bangkok's best hotel, the Sukhothai.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like the black granite toilet compartment in the bathroom - too dark.

    Thai people are usually friendly and welcoming, so this was no surprise. But most staff were better at English than most Thais I have met. The hotel itself is more like a Thai palace than a standard hotel, and I know what I'm talking about - one of my closest friends is a Thai princess, a cousin of the late King Rama IX of blessed memory. The gardens and pools are wonderful, and the furnishings, too, for the most part. Food is superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    Loved it so wish I could of stayed longer. The pool is one of the best in BKK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool food order was very small (chicken skewers) and took an age to arrive. The pool staff actually re-heated the chicken in the microwave before serving. The chicken looked like 10 baht kebabs served on the street very thin and very expensive. The day before I ordered a sandwich which was massive and I couldn't eat it all........must of just ordered the wrong dish on the wrong day!

    Lovely pool and could have slept in the bed for a week! Nice touches in the room, fruit & chocolate. Good entertainment system. I would defiantly stay again and would highly recommend this hotel to others. Well done team Sukuthai a truly lovely 5 star property in the centre on BKK

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place to go to in Bangkok -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could have some extra electric points in the Room to charge mobile phones , lap tops Macs etc ... as there were none

    Been there earlier on few occasions & it gets better

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    I just needed Two days of R&R and it was near perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is getting old and many improvements may be expected such as washlet, bathtub, electrical outlets, but I trust the management is addressing these issues. Would be interesting to see how the new Pool Winb now under renovation will turn out. A lot of upgrade sales pitch at the time of Check in was a bothersome, After all, I have stayed here more than 20 times and I would have appreciated more courtesies. Paid extra for early check and I gota wonderful suite

    One of the most serene and quiet location amid the chaos of central Bangkok A little outdated fixtures particularly in the bathroom but still there is a sense of timeless beauty. Very beautifully maintained landscape. Always court yard view. Expanded pool area allows more chairs and longer sun bathing hours in the afternoon. Lots of cabanas! Wonderful breakfast and dining in the pool area had a high quality service. Accommodating staff; not too stiffy but pleasant. All In all, if I only have a few days of R&R in BKK, the Suhkothai remains my choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    All was Perfect, nice Place to Stay and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Construction in Front of the Pool was to Beginn very Loud For Christmas they reduce the noisy

    All was Perfect, nice Place to Stay and relax. Very big Pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.5
    Fairly OK this time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in was extremely slow and very commercial with all kinds of upsales. They were rebuilding the pool, so a lot of noise. Traffic from airport to get to hotel is horrendous, but that is not the fault of the hotel of course.

    Super croissant store. Have to try them. Sukothai is still one of the best hotels in BKK. Close to Patong area and nice upscale bars/restaurants. Still a bit pricy though.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cozy for my standard.

    I enjoyed all that the property offered from the reception, the concierge (who gives informed advice and recommendations), the room, the pool and pool bar and restaurant, and the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Overrated. Disappointing and needs much needed updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over rated. Outdated. The rooms stank. The hallways stank. The grandeur of the exterior landscape gave a false indication of the quality of the rooms. Customer service very amateur and not 5 stars. Not even 4 stars. This place gets good reviews but I suspect these reviews are outdated. We moved to the banyan tree next door after one night and I can tell you the Banyan tree although a lower rating is a far better hotel that gives a truly 5 Star experience. Very disappointed with Sukhothai

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Lack of attention to details: I had booked a suite but was...
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of attention to details: I had booked a suite but was assigned a normal room upon check-in. After this mistake had been corrected, I noticed that the corners, picture frames and the safe in my suite where dust covered. When I ordered foot from the room service, it frequently arrived too late and cold. Most other hotels in Bangkok are contacting guests in advance to offer airport pickup and enquire about individual preferences, the Sukhothai should start doing this as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is an oasis in bustling Bangkok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is an oasis in bustling Bangkok. Very quiet and elegant. Great breakfast buffet. A fabulous experience! (apart from having received an upgrade to a suite at the first stay)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Lovely quality hotel spoilt by the total unavailability of restaurant table on three separate occasi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at midday but could not get any food in the restaurant as they were too busy with some large groups (wedding etc). It was the same story that evening and again the following night also - fully booked! They don't either warn you that the restaurant wont be available nor prioritise Hotel residents. Disappointing to be 'forced out' each time we wanted to eat.

    Very comfortable Hotel with lovely rooms with good facilities when available

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel, with some minor disappointments l.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception English was not very good which is not what you expect at this hotel. We loved our room Our last stay, ground floor and a lovely walk out onto the garden. However being in the 2nd Floor, the room was smaller and no walk out or view was disappointing

    There was construction happening at swimming pool So it was less than relaxing. Otherwise, service was great there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall ambiance of the hotel is great, very stylish;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a Lavazza (great!) coffeemachine in the room but only two capsules: 1 regular and 1 decaffeinated... so if 2 of you like’regular’ ....

    Overall ambiance of the hotel is great, very stylish; the gardens, the ponds are fabulous and so is the swimmingpool in emerald green Bisazza tiles!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    They didn’t let my friend check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t let my friend check in. He had to find another hotel until i arrived the next day even thought he had his name on the reservation. For some reason his credit card didn’t go through. Still, i called to give them my credit card information but they wouldn’t accept. That was not nice at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Delightful to be back at one of Bangkok's best hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. This was a faultless stay.

    This is a wonderful hotel for two reasons: its timeless design and its great staff. The team at this hotel understand what hospitality is all about and make sure they look after all their guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Great staff.... (Thank you Potto, at the reception.... you were marvelous.....!!!!), Great room, Fantastic breakfasts, Great small provisional fitness room, Elegant decor. Amazing thai restaurant although not cheap, Awesome new pool area.....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall pleasant and quiet nice hotel well decorated and professional staff. Swimming pool was a min
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool facility

    Nice room, nice facilities overall, good treatment at the Spa. The swimming pool was being renovated thus no access which was a disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    One of the best in BKK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool being rennovated. Lack of charging/power facilities in room. Almost time for refurbishment - but still an excellent hotel

    One of the best hotels in BKK. Great food, large luxurious rooms, excellent spa. Most of all staff are amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I stayed at The Sukhothai Bangkok for 4 nights at the end of August with my 9y. old child. The hotel is like a small Thai oasis in the middle of the Bankgkok busy life. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival; it was an amazing thai design room with two balkonies overlooking the inner yard water lilly pond. My child had a birthday and he was surprised with a cake and song, whick left him in thrilled to tears. Everything we asked for was arranged to my utmost satisfaction,the spa; the concierge; the reception; the in room dining; we travel a lot and we seldom experience such hospitality... the people were really going the extra mile to make our stay great, and that' s what it is all about! The swimming pool was under reconstruction, still that problem was magnificently and delicately solved with a shuttle to a neighbour hotel and drink vouchers. Thank you for the unforgettable stay, we will definitely be back!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel around down town Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long walk from the lobby to the room. the hotel decor it self looks out dated in my book.

    The hotel is close to both mrt and sky train which makes the city easily accessible by public transport. Very large and comfortable stranded room. Amazing breakfast even though it's quite pricey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay in Sukhothai Bangkok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I enjoyed my stay in Sukhothai Bangkok. The hotel offered decent service, every staff is caring and Jazz night in Zuc bar is fantastic. The only disadvantage is the location, as the hotel is a bit far from BTS/MRT station and it is sweaty to walk under the hot sunshine in Bangkok. Better to take taxi when going out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent for the discounted price I paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in seemed to take ages but the receptionist had already told me that my room was not ready so maybe she was just dawdling.

    My room was extremely nice. I like that the individual light controls and air con were all on a panel by the bed. Bed was very comfortable. A lot of amenities in the bathroom and bedroom. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Wanna stay again after renovation of swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.There was no electronical outlet near bed.. 2.Hair dryer was too weak 3.Swimming pool was on renovation and we got really shocked. (of course it was our fault we missed this announcement) However they gave service of U-sathorn hotel pool with 1000THB voucher and shuttle van only for us!(required to make a reservation though). 4. Bad access by public transportation.(15mins walk from Lumpini st.)

    1. All staff were so nice. 2.We did not have any meal because of tight schedule, but there were so many promotion such as chocolate buffet, afternoon tea, free drink at bar and so on. 3.Room was perfectly clean and luxury. Everything was more than we expected. 4.Basic amenity is made by ELLE, I loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.5
    I tried most of the 5 star hotels in Bangkok and I sincerely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was so disappointed that the swimming pool was being renbpvated and therefor unavailable; shuttle bus to another pool is not really an option for someone who like to swim three times a day...

    I tried most of the 5 star hotels in Bangkok and I sincerely think that the Sukhothai is my number 1

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel, very comfortable and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cupboards inside the rooms had lots of hair and dust particles. The cupboards needed to be cleaned thoroughly. The hotel is sometimes perfumes too much. Everything in moderation is good. Hotel needs to take into account many guests may have respiratory illnesses or be allergic and sensitive to such strong essence. Carpeting in the corridors leading to the rooms is in very poor condition and should be immediately replaced. Some of the walls need to be painted as well. Hotel should also inform guests prior to arrival that maintenance throughout the hotel will take through and that the pool area will be closed.

    Lovely hotel, very comfortable and well maintained. The hotel is very inspiring and permeates with a past colonial era theme infused with Thai tradition. Rooms are beautifully designed and I would highly recommend the suites. Breakfast area is excellent. The servers cater to your every want and do so without much delay. Food is also phenomenal and it has a really good selection and variety of food. House keeping are very good and turn down service is always done. The hotel is also very quite and peaceful at night and in the morning as well. Making it a perfect retreat for those who wish to relax and escape the city life. Staff are generally very helpful and courteous towards their patrons. Would love to visit and stay in this hotel again. And I would highly recommend staying here for it is difficult to find such quality and level of care in 5 star establishments nowadays.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent atmosphere, nice staff and a good location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i checked in the lady in the reception offered an upgrade for 3000 bhat/ night,, 2 nights later when i was checking out, another guest was sitting next to me checking in, he was upset because the pool was going under constructions, the lady offered him and upgrade for that ..! This i didnt like ..!

    The atmosphere of ghe hotel was very nice, and the decoration of the room was really great..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    friendly staff, nice setting, spacious rooms but not recommended for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    do not recommend it for business purpose as hotel is away from business centre (traffic is crazy) at the time of booking, I was not informed about the closing of the usually nice pool and price stayed the same.

    staff were very friendly rooms spacious and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    It was really a wonderful stay at Sukhothai Hotel. I will definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first few times to find your room along puzzle-like corridors would somehow represent a challenge. Although the waiter would be very helpful and friendly, and the signs are clear enough, be prepared for the room-finding experience.

    The hotel is very centrally located but keeps an unexpected quietness and tranquility in a busy urban area. The room is really spacious, featuring an enjoyable luxurious and quality feel. The bed is large and very comfortable. The services include well-prepared amenities and common 5 star usabilities. It is a good choice for a holiday hideaway as the hotel is walking-distance to Park Lumphini, where I do my jogging during my stay. In general, the facility is superb and the staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend for a 4-5 days stay in Bangkok. And I will go back again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, tranquility in the heart of Bangkok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for food is quite off putting. We chose to eat elsewhere for breakfast as a result and we were delighted with the quality and choice in the area. Swimming pool was closed at the hotel, we were not informed of this until check in, this was quite disappointing.

    Good area with lots of nice restaurants. The hotel itself is relaxing and tranquil. Nice cafe within the hotel grounds also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Second time around and it does not disappoint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sad the the gym is under renovation. but manage to do my workout in the small gym.

    I like the rooms, very luxurious, the toiletries and amenities of the room are nice. fruits everyday is great. I like helpfulness of the people

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed, and no one informed us the time of booking. The gym was very difficult to reach. The coffee shop closes at 8!

    I liked everything about this hotel! The staff were amazing, so friendly and very helpful. The room was always clean . The bathroom was huge and very elegant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent choice for a business stay or vacation break in Bangkok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel with very rooms and very kind staff. The hotel is an institution in Bangkok and demonstrate great sense of hospitality in the Thai tradition. Breakfast buffet is exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel & super friendly staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very great hotel with super efficient and kind staff. Always very welcome with kind attentions. The rooms are very nicely decorated and really confortable with excellent services.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay, Wonderful Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely property and really nice staff who did a great job sending us little things when my wife had an eye infection and event sent get well flowers. Breakfast selection was very good and so was the complimentary birthday cake! Thanks Sukhothai. Will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.2
    Bangkok's Fawlty Towers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like Fawlty Towers. I have wanted to stay at the Sukhothai for years, but it was a massive disappointment. The pool, which I heard was lovely, was closed for renovation, but no one had told me before I booked. There was water dripping through the roof of the lobby lounge, with big wet water marks staining the carpet. When I pointed this out to a member of staff she just said, 'oh yes, this happens when it rains', as if it was Ok and normal. A waitress told me that breakfast ended at 11:00. I arranged bed at 10:40 to find that it finished at 10:30. Staff did not speak English, did not appear to be trained properly or to be of much help. The wifi went off every 24 hours. There was no message to say so and no one told me when I checked in. The wire on the weak and pathetic hair dryer was too short and pulled out of the wall every time I tried to use it. The YSB socket in the room did not work. The hotel is no where hear a sky train. It's generally run down and tired and had an air of neglect. Other guests were also talking about its sad and sorry state. One guest told me that it was a good hotel 10 years ago but not now. The rumour is that the Thai owner has lost interest in it. There are many good hotels in that location - Banyan Tree, Como etc. And many, many other good hotels in Bangkok. No need to stay at the tired, old, neglected Sukhothai where all that the staff can say is "sorry".

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    The staff are exceptional and friendly and always go out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have breakfast at hotel. Which I thought should be included.

    The staff are exceptional and friendly and always go out there way to help. My room and bathroom was beautiful spacious and comfortable. Even a little ducky to make you smile. Complimentary chocolate and fruit in room. On my return to Bangkok I will return to Sukhothai hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    quite and relax atmosphere with friendly staff plus good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Recent;y the roads around Sukhothai are so congested.

    The staff are very helpful and the limo is on the go anytime when we had problems with reserved taxi(Grab), using latest Merc S class, very comfortable during traffic. Compliment water and spacious bathroom. Bed so comfortable that we don't want to get up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Sukhothai is heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It's (right now) my favorite hotel in the world (not kidding) :)

    The room was heavenly, bathroom's wooden floor was a reason to return bec I hate cold restroom floors.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Sukhothai Bangkok traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: