Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tonsai Bay Resort 3 stars

18 Moo.2 Aonang, 81000 Tonsai Beach, Thailand

#1 of 4 hotels in Tonsai Beach

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1260 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    1. Very secluded beach and the hotel itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.No electricity from 9:30am to 5pm in a low season (but they inform about it beforehand so we have already been acknowledged). 2. No water bucket or something like this to wash the feet at the door front not to take the sand into the bungalow. Too expensive boat to get from the Tonsai Bay to West Railay in the morning - 400 baht per 2 persons (from Ao Nang to Tonsai: 100 baht/person but you need to wait for 10 people). Nevertheless, you can walk to the West Railay through the rocks (it takes around 15 mins without baggage). We had a big baggage that day. Thanks to my boyfriend we managed to agree upon 350baht with a boat man.

    1. Very secluded beach and the hotel itself. 2. Nature is amazing. 3. Mosquito net 4. Safe box in the room 5. Golf cart takes you from and to the boat at the Tonsai Beach not to carry the baggage on your own. 6. Very friendly stuff. A girl at the reception spoke fluent English (a great but pleasant surprise). 7. A perfect place for rock climbers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.8
    Very basic, good for rockclimbing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To get there you have to traverse rocks if the tide is in Rooms very basic Breakfast basic and they wouldn't allow us to swap a sausage for toast.... Have low expectations and you wont be disappointed

    Lovely beach, excellent for rock climbing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    -great rocks near to hotel - climbing paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - If you want to get to the resort on your own its pretty hard. Bare in mind that everyone you will meet will try to rip you off (everyone is your friend and they do not want your money ). - Breakfast were very poor. Only two sets to choose cbf and abf. The worst thing ever is that they give you set of fruits first, so every wasp in the nearby is coming to your plate. In the worst time there were around 15 of them around me, and it was almost impossible to eat. What is more I am allergic to wasp, bees etc which was not very comforting in this situation. - Trash on the beach. For most of the time we went to the west railey beach by taking 15 minutes walk through the jungle.

    -great rocks near to hotel - climbing paradise - the staff was amazing, always smiling, always helpful - the surroundings are amazing, a lot of monkeys, lizards etc (beside snake we met one time on the resort path)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    good isolated location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bit hard to get to, needing to hike to it over a trail from railey beach if the boats cant get to it.

    good isolated location. with neat view of mountains.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Basic rooms, food was not that good, area is nice and relaxing, good beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not fresh (stayed during low season) restaurant staff were a little hard to communicate needs to. You can’t be picky here or ask for something different on the menu because they won’t understand your request. The rooms were decent but I wouldn’t say “deluxe” or “superior” the bathrooms were outdated (rusty/ shelves were almost falling off the wall) and you can tell the things have been used for a long time (except bed was new).

    The property is right on the beach which is really nice. Staff were helpful and friendly. Room is clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Awesome. We will be back again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the first floor and the view were all walls.

    The breakfast infront of the beach. Room is clean and my son loves watching tv before sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Peaceful and near a big rock for those that like climbing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only way to reach the hotel is using the local boat even if you are carrying heavy luggage. This would be fine to reach the hotel. However, to go out if you want to rent a boat and if there is no people at the hotel you must pay for the whole boat which is around 800 BAT. When I was there the hotel was almost empty. To move around you must always rent a boat which can turn out to be quite tiring and expensive.

    Peaceful and near a big rock for those that like climbing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Location is perfect however, resort's staff needs training or motivation to carry right attitude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Staff lacked passion to serve guests. Waiting person in the restaurant appeared to have pushed himself to serve us and always carried bland face. Although the person at reception helped us a lot however, somehow, underneath the upper layer, it appeared that passion was still missing. So, overall, staff doesn't have right attitude in this resort. 2. Towels were dirty. Mugs in the rooms were uncleaned. It's all due to the missing right attitude to serve the guests well.

    Location is perfect and surrounding is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tricky to get to if the weather is rough and you have suitcases.

    Off season, very quiet and location of room close to beach was a bonus. Freedom bar great place to hang out. Kayaking the islands loads of fun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    Location is great and it is the only newish hotel in Tonsai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Below average food in their restaurant (we ate dinner and breakfast), staff sort of constrained and not very friendly (but professional).

    Location is great and it is the only newish hotel in Tonsai. The beach bar is great with lovely locals and guests around the pool area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, low-key place with ever-present and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Lovely, low-key place with ever-present and friendly staff. Very clean and they do a great job of room maintenance, and everything runs very well. Also an awesome location right on the beach of Tonsai. Loved it. Oh, and there's lots of awesome, friendly cats as well, as a super bonus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    By far one of the best places I have stayed in Thailand!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    By far one of the best places I have stayed in Thailand! So close to everything you need but also so private! Rooms are so clean and nice. THE STAFF IS AMAZING all of them they’ve been so accommodating and wonderful I couldn’t recommend this place more enough

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    It is the only property on the "island" that has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I am not sure if they had anything to do with building the wall but it ruins the rest of the area. It is really unfortunate because it could be an even more amazing peaceful place. Also, we went in the off season so there is way less stuff open. This also means the breakfast is "a la carte" but really just one choice everyday.

    It is the only property on the "island" that has beach access. There is a giant wall blocking the rest. The staff was lovely and the location is truly breathtaking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice and quiet hotel
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    unfortunately the beach is not the pretiest when you're not in front of the hotel. At low tide it is not possible to swim. In off season and/ or low tide at tonsai, the long tail boat will drop you at railay so you need to walk to tonsai. For those with bulky luggage, this can be difficult.

    nice rooms, the hotel is directly in front of the ocean (no need to climb over a wall as for other places in tonsai). Railay beach is just a 10 min walk away starting from the sea side ( do not take the jungle path, it is dangerous). A kayak rent is just 200-300 Baht for half day use (500-700 Baht in railay). For rock climbers, this is a place to stay if you want some extra comfort. For people who do not mind going to railay for the nice white beach and want a more quiter place, this is the place to be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Expected more for the price and Railay East would be definitely better choice (even for climbing).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location-beach on Ton Sai is not as nice as others and staying in Tonsai means you have to walk all the time through the jungle or at low tide at sea, which is inconvienient, especially at night. Also the room was really basic and small, did not have ashtray at the balcony and electricity is off during the day - they should just think of some other source of energy if there is not enough electricity... we choose tonsai for climbing, but I guess is not the best location. Also value for the money is so-so - for that money in thailand u can get much more. I guess good days of Ton sai already passed. And the stuff from restaurant dont seem to care to do their job, are moody or playing pool... :)

    Breakfast was ok, also the girl on the reception was nice enough and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Resort is very nice and is located in beautiful green valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition and warm water 9am to 5 pm. (low season only) 3% charge for card payment.

    Resort is very nice and is located in beautiful green valley

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay with an off season deal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited free water, bring cheap water from 7-11 before you leave Ao Nang and some snacks. Food options are almost none in Tonsai bay, you can head over to Railay but bring a torch (at night) and think about the tides.

    Great location, short bush trail to Railay beach. Tonsai beach is rocky in the water but still nice, better swimming in the other bays.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Stunning scenery and very pretty area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to walk a far way to the hotel once we got off the long tail boat, and the communication was not that great. The resort was nice, it could do with a pool though.

    The food was okay but a lot of flies at breakfast and they did not cover the food properly especially the omelette stuff . It was a bit off putting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Tonsai was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no pool, which I just forgot to check about. It was also a bit isolated, but again, just a short boat taxi to other beaches.

    Tonsai was amazing. We went in off season though so everything we closing up in terms of like, bars and food but so easy to get to Ao Nong and Railay. The staff was so nice. Super helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful environment and very peaceful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loud air conditioner and fridge, complicated and expensive travelling to other beaches, door of the balcony does not close properly (gecko and roach in the room)

    Environment around the property, friendly staff, very quiet place, mosquito net,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    A beautiful resort in a unique location - away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no swimming pool but the beach is so beautiful and close it is not needed. There could be clearer details on the site as to how to reach the resort as it's not straightforward. For those arriving at Railay Beach, you will need to catch a long boat to Ton Sai Beach. There is a trail through the jungle or along the beach but both are very difficult especially if you are carrying luggage.

    Tonsai Bay is a little out of the way and hard to reach but once there it is a paradise location. The natural setting is absolutely stunning, with the striking cliffs, Andaman Sea and jungle in the backyard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A good place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High prices inne the restaurant.

    Hotel is located by the beach, it offers all necessary facilities (bar, laundry, minimart, health clinic, kayak and climbing gear rental). Overall, it is a good place for people who cherish good quality od service. Suitable for families. Close to rocks on the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    The resort was great, but getting to and from the resort was a nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The problem with this resort is the boats. You must take a long tail to get here, but the resort itself doesn't have longtails to shuttle you back and forth. The boats require 8 people before they will leave. That means you could wait over an hour before a boat will leave unless you pay for all eight passengers. Something we had to do to get to a tour on time. It was VERY frustrating. Save yourself the hassle and money and stay in Ao Nang.

    The location is beautiful. The restaurant is fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    We`ve rested nicely :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought that the sand on the Tonsai Beach would be like on Railey, but it is not so fine and my son couldn`t make mud pies... Poor baby ;D We had to carry our luggages through the beach, from, the longboat to the hotel`s patio, where was wainting for us a golf cart. And when we went back, the sea was on the low tide and we had to carry them on our heads to not get them wet. That was uncomfortable...

    Food in the restaurant was delicious and practically cheep. Seaview is wonderful. The location is amazing, you can reach Railey Beach on foot in about 40 minutes across the jungle (difficult way!) or across rocks along the beach (difficult way!)- or by longboat of course. To Ao Nang you need 10 minutes by longboat. On the trees and rocks we saw jumping monkeys. Behind the hotel is a hidden, the most amazing I`ve ever seen, jungle-city. Beetwen this city and hotel is a high wall, but the hotel`s guests have keys to open the magic doors... ;)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    A great place to stay. Would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a bit expensive but it was a resort so it was sort of expected. The other restaurants in the area were definitely cheaper though.

    The staff was friendly and really helpful. Our flight left at 6 am and so we had to leave at 3 and they took care of all of the logistics to get us off of the island and to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    over rated resort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was too basic for the price that I paid and the facilities weren't as good in comparison to some of the other resorts I had stayed at.

    it was clean and the aircon was nice to have

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Good Breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs improvement and TV should have other options of channels...

    Literally great experience... place to adventure yourself... getaway of the city and stay in a village... no noise... relax is the total idea when staying at the resort.,,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Felt like the perfect place for adventure seekers not interested in amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE IS NO POOL!! Staff wasn't particularly friendly/helpful Getting over to Railay was a sweaty adventure - even at low-tide

    The location was amazing - very secluded and didn't feel touristy. Tonsai village behind the resort was an absolute find; very hippie, laid-back vibe - we loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    Don't go to Tonsai and Railay before they do something about the pollution
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard rooms have no window other than the one to the tiny balcony which is facing a brick wall to the north-no use, nothing gets dry there, dark and unpleasant room. The surroundings outside the hotel are absolutely filthy and I would recommend everyone to vote with the choices to stay out of Tonsai and Railey until they do something about the trash management and killing the sea & nature with pollution. All the corals are dead, the water smells like gasoline and during low tide especially it's not hygienic to even swim. Nobody seems to care at the moment of anything else than money, so sad to see it. On the other other everything is overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Away from the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the businesses that back onto the property can go late and loud

    The location on the beach was great. Our villa was up the hill about 150 m but an easy walk to the sand

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful bay surrounded by the cliffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warn tourists regarding possible fraud.

    Everything were just fine with resort but 1 thing spoiled our rest - fraud with glowing plankton at the beach. Guys in the broken bungalow at the beach offered us to see a plankton at the evening and assured us that glowing plankton will be there (for 800 baht). So in 8 PM we went with guy with the name Bao and wasted 1 hour in the darkness in the sea squishing water all the time trying to see some plankton. But there were nothing. When we were back I said that I will not pay for nothing, we just wasted 1 hour of our time in the dark. In result group of foe boaters were screaming and threatening us for 30 minutes in the dark on the beach. We gave 500 baht and left the beach unaffected but general impression for Tonsai Bay was wasted. Girl at reception said that glowing plankton exist somewhere near but she doubt that we could see it that day (wrong moon, time, weather).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi here is very poor, hardly any connection and even the little is very slow. The swimming pool closes way too early. The bed was okay but you could easily exchange the pillows for bricks and not notice.

    The location of this place is good, close by to the pier and beach and bars/restaurants as well

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Very tasty breakfast, very good location but for those who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In every rooms window there should be mosquito net because the one on the bed is not enough

    Very tasty breakfast, very good location but for those who want to rest in peace and quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strongly disliked how open shower was right next to toilet so the toilet and entire bathroom floor would be soaking wet after a shower. No ironing board. No safe for our valuables. Hotel did not supply any conditioner, only shampoo.

    Amazing location. Food, kayaks and snorkel gear very reasonably priced. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Everything was great, stunning seaview, nice hotel, monkeys...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vey sharp rocks in the sea, it cuts my skin... Be careful.

    Everything was great, stunning seaview, nice hotel, monkeys in the jungle right behind the hotel, great breakfast, good ferry prices to buy at the lobby. We realy enjoyed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Pricey but the best you'll find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was awful, not much selection and everything covered with flies and bugs so was a massive put off eating there and although we paid we still skipped it. nobody came to meet us on the beach as advertised and the service desk at the drop off point was un manned so we had to walk for 10mins, climb a ladder over a wall and wall through the tress to get to the hotel, for us not a big deal but I imagine if you were a little older or incapable this would be a serious issue.

    Nice comfortable rooms with almost everything you need, perfect location for Tonsi and the best you will find on this beach but waaaaay over priced for what it offers. Comfortable beds with decent air con and shower, soaps and gels with bathroom and room cleaned every day, they also supplied beach towels which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Really beautiful and paceful place, though might be very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathrooms requiring renovation, some more hangers would be nice to have. Room cleaning was done only late in the afternoon

    Really beautiful and paceful place, though might be very busy. Rooms clean, houses hidden in the green, great restaurants and massage sessions available on site. Staff very friendly and supportive.Perfect view from the restaurant, esepcially in the mornings = cannot miss it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable and right next to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put covers over the fruit at breakfast because there are a lot of flies

    Clean and comfortable and right next to the beach. Good wifi. Pick up by golf cart if you arrive at the other end of the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Private hotel with easy access to the beach and to local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom didn’t have any separation between toilet and shower, which is something usual in cheap hotels, which is not the case.

    Private hotel with easy access to the beach and to local bars and restaurants. Room was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Modern functional rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Modern functional rooms and facilities. Professional staff speaking English. Direct access to beautiful beach with climbing trails. Good value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    Hotel and bungalows are fine, but BEWARE of the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    7 out of 10 people from our group got food sick at some point during our 5 night stay at Tonsai. Some for more than 1 day, and on different days. The only common denominator was the garbage restaurant where free breakfast is included. It's also the only restaurant in the whole beach area, quite the monopoly. If you do stay here, walk to Railay Beach or up the hill to different restaurants.

    The hotel/Bungalows were fine. They were a short walk from the beach, fairly clean, and had what you need. The issue was the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit firm and lumpy. The flavours of the food and the quality of the food could use some improving. The addition of a swimming pool would be really great!

    The little bungalows were quaint. The location on the beach was great especially for rock climbers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Ton Sai Has more to offer than this resort. Nice if you want western-style place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way resort is arranged, with little green inside, too tidy, too boring in very western way. The bungalows look more like hotel rooms inside. No local touch! Staff helpful but distanced, not friendly.

    Surroudings: amazing Ton Sai rocks and great bars/dowód places around. You can meet very open, friendly people outside the resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A hidden gem in Krabi. We loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Additional pest control would be beneficial as there were some ants that easily enter the room via the sliding doors. This can easily be rectified using weather stripping to better seal the doors.

    We loved the property itself. The lush nature and natural untouched landscape that surrounded us was breathtaking. The bay itself was a little more secluded and enjoyable, however the high longtail boat traffic made it noisier than others.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed our stay at tonsai bay, aside from the transport. Two night sufficed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer to and from the hotel is expensive with no regulation. We paid 100 baht For transportation there, on Return trip we had to pay 800 baht or wait again for 8 people (of a possible 200 on location) ending up in an hour of our time waiting around which could have been better utilized. At the very least we should be made aware of this upon booking.

    Nice clean rooms, looks new, staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.8
    An affordable resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t always happy with our requests and was kind of grumpy sometimes

    Affordable resort. It is clean, feels like taken care of and new. Good facilities and pleasant atmosphere. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    The view is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had an diarrhea from having a coconut shake from the restaurant. I think they add coconut milk which makes in food to my coconut shake a lot.

    The view is great. Staffs are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Stay here :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok!!

    Clean and fresch rooms.You most know the tide twice in 24 h leaves the the beach like a moon landscape...but on the other hand you can fairly easy walk to Railay beach just "around the corner"then. There's a path above as well on the rocks. Don't choose the junglepath- tooooo many mosquitos. Four nice beaches within short distance-go cayaking there!! And enjoy the peaceful Tonsai with all the monkeys.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    3.8
    If you are not a rock climber stay away from this place!!! 50 % of the time the beach is worthless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We took a long tail boat from Ao Nang which is a 10 minutes ride. It was low tide so we had to walk for 20 minutes with all the baggage from harbor to the boat through the disgusting muddy shore. None of the taxi guys were helpful. Than came the worst part: Tonsay Bay beach is so stony and shallow when its not high tide that the boat took us to the next beach and we had to walk back another 40 minutes through the sharp and slippery stones with the baggage on again. We stayed in one of the bungalows for 4 nights. Every day there was an issue. Lizards in the room, power outage, black and muddy water, no water. We got sick and tired of this place. Worst hotel experience in Thailand!

    The surrounding environment is nice but this is all I can say on the pro side.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Great alternative to busy Railay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easily accessible in low tide, but we knew that in advance. Not as bad as I imagined. Food options are not great. ALOT of climbers. They take over any beach for most of the day.

    Rooms were large. Beautiful scenery. Not as busy at Railay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is located next to a beautiful beach, which is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price we paid, we found our Villa a bit disappointing: the room/bathroom were old. We got two separate beds instead of one large bed. There was a bad smell coming from the pipes and the mosquito net was stinking.

    The hotel is located next to a beautiful beach, which is not crowded and you can relax. It was one of the most beautiful places we have seen in Thailand. Our villa was big. It had a fridge, safe, excellent shower and good internet and AC. It is very cool that we could see the monkeys on the trees and sometimes on the roofs of the villas. The breakfast is decent with a terrace with view to the beach. Behind the resort there is a kind of hippie village with lots of bars and very cheap restaurants (e.g. mama’s chicken). They have a doctor available on the site 24h. To get to this hotel, you need to travel by boat, so better take flip-flops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Tonsai: A stay to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for airport transfer was a bit high.Also, there should be some activities planned for the guests in the evening time.In addition, they should not be charging extra for payment through credit card

    Location was really nice .It really gave a surreal feeling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Good Resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sincerely, it was all good.

    Nice and cosy ! I would definitely suggest Tonsay Bay resort. Clean, good comfort, pleasant atmosphere and not too crowded, while just a couple of minutes away walk to the very popular Railway beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was good and there were variety of options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good and there were variety of options. The restaurant was nice in general. The mojitos at the bar were good too. The location is secluded and right on the beach so if that's what you're looking for, it's a good choice. But it's not close to anything to do and the beach is rocky so you really have to get over to Railay for that.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    3.3
    Beautiful and calm beach in the morning and evening, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overpriced, certainly not a resort. Breakfast was OK, fresh eggs, sliced bread, some fruits (no meat, bacon or cheese :( ) Need more variety. Mostly all staff don't speak English and the ones who do don't care about you (as management don't speak English no complaints are handled properly) If are arriving at low tide be prepared to get wet or muddy and carry your luggage all the way to the beach (boat staff are not helpful at all in Thailand, you will see what I mean by that). All restaurants/bars are in Railay beach (15 min walking through a cliff/jungle or through the sea if the low is tide). Minimarkets are overpriced as well and even water cost you the double than anywhere in Thailand.

    Beautiful and calm beach in the morning and evening, the tide is usually low in the afternoon and there is no water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Property exceeded my expectations. Stunning views and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was excellent. Just a caution for those with lots of luggage. The low tide prevents boats from taking you all the way to shore. You will need to wade through water. This is the way it is and no way the resorts fault. It's how you get to the property. If you cannot wade through water without getting upset to go somewhere else. This is not the place for you. I loved it so much I would wade through the water again and can't wait to return.

    Staff was amazing. The room was super clean. The grounds were beautiful. The balcony was a nice bonus as you could sit out and watch the monkeys. We didn't have to wait long for a golf cart to pick us up after we arrived by boat. While we waited we saw at least 12 monkeys on the way in. Beautiful street art on the way to the property. This is the best place to stay on Tonsai Beach. Will go again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay at Tonsai Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is very close to the toilet so after the shower the whole bathroom is full of water If your not so fit it wouldn’t be easy to come to Tonsai particularly in the afternoon because of ebb (but Tonsai is so beautiful if it’s possible for you then you should stay at this beach)

    Tonsai Beach is awesome so beautiful and the resort is very nice The room was very cosy and clean Staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C unit was placed on the balcony so all the heat was coming out there. Impossible to sit on for that reason, unless you wanted to feel like your on the inside of an oven. In the room we were missing some Thai elements as they were on the pictures. It was all kind of plain and could have been anywhere in the world.

    We loved the air conditioning as we were going without for about a week and a half and are not used to the heat of Thailand. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. We only stayed for one night. Dinner and breakfast with the view of the bay were great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful resort on the beach, great climbing only footsteps away
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A safe or other locked box would be a good idea to store valuables. No dresser to unpack clothes. Smoking in restaurant area.

    Location can't be beaten - lots to do (kayak, excursions), beach is nice, plenty of great climbing right outside the door. Railay and Phranang Beaches close by. Room was nice including bathroom and balcony, free water daily in room fridge. Breakfast/restaurant was good, lots of variety, fresh. Well-kept grounds, quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay, especially for people who are into rock climbing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accessibility isn't perfect, since you have to take a forest trail to go to Railay or take a boat.

    The resort itself is located in a stunning place, with the view to the sea and to the mountain. The staff is great and you can go by boat to Railay beach or take the tours that leave from Tonsai.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    The location is perfect, the Tonsai bay is near to Railay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Expect a little higher prices of everything compared to rest of Krabi/Aonang (common in the Tonsai bay area). But this is appropriate and should be expected due to isolation of the site. And still better than Railay :o).

    The location is perfect, the Tonsai bay is near to Railay beach. The place is quiet and not so crowded like Railay. Good breakfasts served in local restaurant. The local restaurant with tasty meals for dinner. There is also possibility to choose from several restaurants for lunch/dinner placed behind the resort site. Flexible and communicative staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location and beakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning not so good, did not get fresh sheets for 11 days. Also our toilet had to operated manually most of the time (they tried to fix it, but it still did not work).

    Good location and beakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    awesome!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we love the place, awesome right from the morning till late night....beautiful place, beautiful moments. the entire stay was worth remembering. And the complimentary breakfast was superb!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Great alternative in Ton Sai to more hippie and backpacker accommodation options
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were comfortable, the shower and the wifi worked greatly, and the room was very spacious. The breakfast was very good and the bar right outside, by the beach, was nice. The access to the beach and the main road of Ton Sai was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location helpful staff, reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hot water was not quite hot enough.

    Great location helpful staff, reasonable price. Good value. Climbing immediately adjacent to the property. Good restaurant. Be aware that you can only reach the hotel by boat, even though it is on the mainland. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.3
    Clean room, little balcony, amazing view, quiet compared to rest of tonsai, breakfast "on the beach"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled extremely moldy. We honestly would have asked to switch, but we were only there to sleep at night and we loved our porch view of the cliff side and the climbing monkeys. Also, the bed was super hard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    The location is magical: beautiful and not so crowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Bathroom did not look as nice as on the pictures, we got an older one I guess.

    The location is magical: beautiful and not so crowded. Breakfast by the beach. Internet in rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Staff was nice, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room wasn't great, worse than it looks in the pictures. Mosquito net was smelly and way too small for the bed. Bathroom was very very old, smelly and poor lighting. After showering we had a huge paddle inside the shower that stayed throughout our stay as the drain didn't work properly (this means that we had dirty water inside the shower every time we showered). Breakfast was good but make sure you are there early or you won't be able to have hardly anything as they don't refill. There were flies all over the breakfast area. Tonsai beach is not great for swimming (too many rocks) so highly recommend to walk to Railay.

    Staff was nice, great location. Breakfast view was stunning (sea view). Walk to the village and you'll find better and cheaper bars/restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    A super-clean resort with a hip vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    The bungalow was super-tidy, air con helps during the hot days. The best beachfront bar/lounging area in all of Tonsai/Railay area. Cool to watch pro-climbers do their thing while chilling at the beach. Majestic views with all the cliffs. Filling breakfast! Quick and easy entrance to the food/bar street from behind the resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice resort by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were little critters all over the room, most of them relatively harmless (ants, mosquitos, spider), but did not add to the comfort of our day.

    No restrictions on electricity usage, mosquito net covering over the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom has no hook for the towel and even no for the toilet paper! No curtain at all! The small bathroom becomes all wet when you take a shower....

    Location is perfect right on the beach. Good breakfast. Very friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Great for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meant to be superior but to what. Pretty basic, reasonable breakfast, left a handbag on the bed in the room. Even though we didn't leave until 2.30 when the room must of been cleaned we would of thought they would have put it with the rest of our baggage. Interesting location but 2 nights would have been enough.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    Stay away from the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Villa with Double or Twin Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is horrendous. Don’t risk it. I ordered chicken and it was fully raw in the middle. I sent it back and the waiter didn’t even say anything. I left here ill The worst thing is there is no other options of places to eat as you are stuck in the bay once the sun sets. The only way to and from the place is via boat and it’s difficult and pricey to get one in the evening. Not worth it.

    The location is beautiful The bar by the beach is really nice for a drink at sun set

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    5.8
    super nice staff and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The local restaurant is a disaster both in terms of food and service, on top super expensive... If you want cool stuff go over to the village 200 meters away and you will be happy!

    super nice staff and amazing location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    Overall very clean and nice environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad toiletpaper that runs out pretty quickly. Very hard bed, sometimes felt like sleeping on a plywood board. All 4 of us got the "Tonsai tummy", but can't blame the resort for that.

    Overall very clean and nice environment. A clinic really close to the resort, very handy when you get ill or get foodpoisoning.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tonsai Bay Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: