Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort 5 stars

92/1 Moo 2, Tambon Bophut, Amphur, 84320 Chaweng, Thailand

#30 of 136 hotels in Chaweng

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 392 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Nice villa, staff service is good but at this price for sea view villa, would expect alittle more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Anantara Seaview Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea view villa does not have a bath tub and booking.com info on room did not highlight this point. For villa guest, we would expect a complimentary airport transfer. But they charge 900 baht for 2 ways transfer. Later we found out that if we had book directly with Hotel, the charges will be waived.

    The staff are very friendly and provide excellent service. Service level is consistent across different staff that we interact with. Well done!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent resort where you can completely relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Free shuttle to the airport for hotel guests would be nice, as it’s only 10 mins drive away and all the drivers outside of the hotel will try to screw you up. We paid 300 baht to go all the way to fisherman market the previous day, which took 20 mins and the driver the hotel called for us charged 400 baht just for the first 10 mins drive and he was complaining others paid him 500. - Food and drinks were quite over priced compared to Thailand standard, but its fine if you come from a developed country it’s basically the same with going out for a cheap/ normal meal (average 100 bucks for 3 people lunch). - Some room upgrades options were offered when we arrived, however it seems like you need to negotiate the price.

    - Facilities, beautiful villa and pool, private beach, tasty food, breakfast and dining in option, free paddle boat and kayak which we used everyday. 15 mins free welcome massage was nice too. We stayed at Seaview Pool Villa 102 which had an awesome view of the beach front and loved this room. - The staff were also very smiley and helpful. You can definitely forget about all your worries staying here and completely relax with your loved ones. - After check out while waiting for our flight we could still use facilities including pool and shower rooms etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices at the restaurants and bars inside the resort may be a little lower :)

    Great facility, excellent open buffet breakfast, nice pool, helpful and caring personnel. They provide welcome drink for the honeymooners and 15 min free head & shoulder massage for all guests. We loved everything, we have nothing to critise about, but the price :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    A Beautiful Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beach is not so good as I read from the reviews. but its just 5 mins taxi drive to the famous Chaweng Beach

    the resort was amazing and clean, rooms and balcony were great with nice view, the resort is beautiful and its lobby area. they were very quick when you request a buggy, the staff were too friendly. we got a complimentary massage on arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance and reception look quite bad (The first impression is really important! I felt like I’m in a 3 stars resort until I saw the room...) Some new equipment for the gym will be awesome :)

    Resort is very clean (pool, beach, rooms and facilities). Stuff were very kind, nice and it’s seems like they have learned a lot about service awareness. The beach is not the prettiest one in Koh Samui but it’s private and quite. Top tree restaurant is beyond expectations... Great chef restaurant with a unique atmosphere (Highly recommended).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was lovely as was the outdoor area of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was pretty poor. Also not happy that they hold 6000 baht from your credit card and don't refund it for 2 weeks!

    The room was lovely as was the outdoor area of the room. Breakfast was great but the most exceptional part of the hotel stay was the staff. Whenever you would walk past them they would stop whatever they were doing to say hello. The staff at breakfast knew my coffee order by heart after the second day. The hotel should really be proud of their staff and the customer service levels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff is very helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dissapointed that the daybeds mattress at the beach pool was a little warm down and had spots on it. But the staff lay beachtowels on top of it,so it wasn't that bad.

    The staff is very helpfull. The golf carts service at the resort was perfect and allways with a smile. Best breakfast ever. Vary Child friendly. The Canu and Sap were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff was friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is below average for Thailand and Koh Samui

    Staff was friendly and professional. Nicely decorated room. Quality of the food in main restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was everything we were looking for and then some. We stayed in Anantara Lawana in the first week of August in the Deluxe Double Room with Pool Access. From our arrival at the reception, where we were greeted by the lovely staff with such warmth and care till they day we left, the experience was unforgettable. Throughout our stay, it felt like being at home, away from home. The room was the perfect size and the bed was extremely comfortable (to the point that half the time i didn't want to get out). The bathroom had an amazing tub, which we used daily to soak away our tiredness and the open air shower with its own garden patch was an added cherry on top. We had our own private patio with direct access to the amazing pool, which was always clean and had the perfect height and length. I took a swim 3 times a day and still couldn't get enough. Breakfast was lavish, served at the restaurant overlooking the beach. The beach was clean and calm and the resort offered free kayaks, canes, life jackets for the guests. The Anantara Lawana is ideally located with a short taxi ride to the downtown area (taxis are available at all times). There is a little convenient store just opposite, which was extremely handy for midnight cravings. The resort arranged a car for us and that made seeing the entire island very easy. Oh they offered buggie services for guests to move around the resort, that was ideal for the lazy person i am. The spa was heaven and a must try. Overall, out of our time in Bangkok before Samui and Phuket after, the highlight of our entire vacation was the Anantara Lawana. I highly recommend it. Even though it may seem pricey, but it is worth every last penny. We cant wait to go again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Thumbs up!!!!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    May be the beachfront. That time we went it might not be that fabulous but it did not bothering us at all.

    Fabulous Place & Decoration -- Highly recommend Deluxe Plunge Pool. Enough space and tropical cozy design. We had a really good time there. Good Location -- It was not far from the centre Super Amazing Staffs & Services -- This is the highlight!. Superb hospitalities and very helpful staffs were really made our stays became a memorable one. I will definitely come back here again. Recommended for a couple or family who keen to experience a 5-stars luxury Thai tropical well design resort which is not far from the centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Thai atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs to go to the swimming pool To be honest the beach of the hotel is nothing special You can’t bath too shallow water looks like a lake water doesn’t smell good You have to walk a bit and you will have a better access to the beach Expensive hotel restaurant but plenty of choices on the beach if you like to walk

    Beautiful room with huge bathroom and squared bath tube Terrace with sea view and comfortable sofa Swimming pool Thai athmosphere The property is surrounded by an incredible garden trees flowers, palms... beautiful Very good breakfast with kids corner lots of fresh choices fresh juices and local dishes They spray anti mosquitos so you are safe

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn’t at the same quality, was quite rocky and we unfortunately got stung a couple of times.

    Amazing service, beautifully set out resort, we stayed in the plunge pool room which exceeded our expectations, the bed was so comfortable and they offered you a little local mobile to use free of charge for internet and calls! Each night we had our bed turned down and the maid left a little note for us with the weather for the next day, which was a nice touch. The food was amazing, a little bit pricey but we enjoyed all Thai dishes we ordered. The pool area and sun lounges were amazing, great service at this area also. Thanks Annantara Lawana would definitely stay here again 😊

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Good but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only a writing desk chair in room. No arm chair for watching TV. The shower plumbing on and and off switches are really fiddly. A few strands of hair over the floor. Not complete privacy with properties close and overlooking one another.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Idyllic beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Excellent , fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this resort is just perfect . Situated on chaweng beach but slightly away from the hustle bustle , this place gives you everything good food , good service , excellent rooms. We had booked a deluxe plunge pool and it was just dreamy it was awesome . The spa at the resort is superb although slightly expensive but the therapist are really good it's basically value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    The rooms and balcony were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't really the hotel's fault but the clientele was a little trashy. Somehow it attracted lots of chavvy people. Overcrowded pool area. Overpriced taxis everywhere on the island.

    The rooms and balcony were awesome. Service was excellent. Everyone was so attentive and went out their way to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    enjoyed despite it being such a short stay in this location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing that I would say was not liked

    the staff were super friendly and attentive, so the levels of service were very high. Restaurants and bars good with reasonable prices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Over all it was very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was just okay nothing great. It was about 20 mins walk from the main restyand shopping area

    Very calm and nice. The plunge pool in the room was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    everything was perfect

    Everything. Amazing staff, gorgeous rooms, relaxing atmosphere, true 5 star service and accomodation in a great location. We will absolutely come back. Extraordinary hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very good place to stay on Koh Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marketing/sales event right after our arrival / bad timing.

    The room was really great and the entire reality and the pool/bar/restaurant area is great. The brekkie was really awesome and the dinner they offer on the beach with fire show and dancing show is really great (sounds touristy, but is really great and is worth being considered). The people are great : helpful and explain cultural food and any other questions. Really great. Around the corne is a very nice beach and the the massage on the beach is also worth a try.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Luxury at its finest made extra special by the great staff at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    We travelled for my partners 40th. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. Fabulous resort with really friendly staff. Definitely would go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Only reason I would not come again is that i cannot climb much due medical condition of my leg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of steps climbing all over the resort No ac at Ocean kiss Restaurant and it was too hot during breakfast hours so I could not enjoy my breakfast as mosquitoes were all over

    Loved the comfort, staff was excellent Enjoyed the smile from each one of them

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel a bit disappointed for a 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found a lizard in the room the first night and we changed the room. Then the other room had no hot water and it was a two beds put together instead of a one bed as requested, which was not comfortable also the anti mosquito curtain which supposed to cover the 2 beds was not made for one bed but two separate beds. Instead of upgrading or changing the room, someone repaired the shower and they added another mattress on the two beds, which was not so comfy. A bit a shame for the price we paid. We stayed over another island and came back to Anantara for another 2 nights and the room was bit far from the beach. Big cockroaches that we spotted while having dinner. And last but not least, booking.com charged me more than the price advertised.

    The property has a direct access to the beach. Room was clean. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Better than any expectations! Would highly recommend and would be glad to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame that prices at the spa are so much higher (x 3 times) than in a nice spas in the city (5 min drive). If the difference was less than we would definitely use only the hotel spa!

    Rooms are beautiful, very cozy and super comfortable to stay in ! We stayed in the pool access villa and it was just perfect! Beach and water are very clean and service is excellent! Food and cocktails both in restaurants and room service are delicious and staff is taking care of you with no delay. Served cold fruits from time to time were such a sweet bonus, exactly what you need on the hot beach, thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing place to be in Koh Samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Many Mosquitoes The free activities could be a little better quality The scooter rental is almost half price in the shop next door than in the hotel...

    For the Deluxe Plunge room: Very peaceful Very private Great breakfast with Asian, Continental, Sweet, Salty, fruity options Nice beach Good Area, Not far from Airport, from Fisherman village, etc. Staff is great, from housekeeping, front desk, parking, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic! Hut ab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would recommend to use water- shoes, because a lot of persons were bitten by (i think) water- hedgehog. Bring mosquitos- spray as well (they gave us every evening mosquitos- spirale to fire up on the terrace, because we told them there were to many mosquitos- free of charge).

    The Location was very good, on the Chaweng beach but on the quite Side. The Resort was impressive, a lot of vegetation between the villas. The Beach was very nice and there was always a free lounger. The pool was also very nice. Breakfast was delicious! The room was fantastic (we had one with plunge pool) and very clean (they cleaned it 2xday). Mosquito- device inclusive in the room. The Staff was the best thing on this Resort, always smiling and ready to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    4.6
    Rude staff, loud room (501)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. Room was loud and had a large peephole area at the private plunge pool room. Refrigerator in room was quite noisy along with the mechanical pool pump outside. Was difficult to sleep. The batteries in the phone was dead and was unable to effectively communicate with the front desk or to order room service (something I was lookomg forward to having after being on KohPhangan). When I arrived to the lobby to address the issue the 2 front desk people seemed to try to look busy. One walked faster after seeing me and the other ran to the desk to place a fake phone call. After telling the faux phone person about the batteries, she replied "You need to charge the phone at the base" looking like she was assuming I was an idiot for paying over $300 US/night for the semi private plunge pool room. With that great attitude from the reception, I went across the street for a tasty Thai meal to forget my regret for having to book the room. Highly recommend the restaurant across the street with friendly service and reasonable pricing.

    Location. Beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Staff very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At £££per night this hotel was very overpriced. Food and drinks expensive. Overpriced entertainment at night. Had to move rooms due to constant noise of clacking fans at night. I've stayed in some fantastic hotels but this does not match up.

    Staff very good. Room facilities good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure was weak and at peak times i.e evening, the hot water was very limited. The mini bar, bar and treetops restaurant prices were on par to Australian fine dining prices. Very expensive and 10x the price of local restaurants, shops and bars. Would be nice if prices were more reasonable so that the resort wasn’t desolate in the evening from guests going elsewhere for food/drinks. If it wasn’t for this you wouldn’t want to leave the resort grounds as they are so beautiful.

    The welcome received from check in was wonderful. Cool mint scented towel provided and a welcome drink as your details and check in information is being sorted by staff. Rihanna at reception was fantastic. So lovely and attentive as well as provided me with all relevant information regaling facilities and local attractions. The pool was incredible and again the staff at the resort were all so wonderful. The cocktails were great. Breakfast is a banquet with so much variety. The room was immaculate with tasteful decor creating a peaceful stay. Details such as local fruits left in room for you, extra complimentary bottles of drinking water, candles, oil burners with essential oils at the turn down service added to the experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Overall we loved the the resort and would love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anantara Pool Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed were too flat. They look nice and plump until you put your head down and they disappear. Slept with cushions under the pillows.

    The attentive and friendly staff. The Villa was tranquil and well equipped and maintained. Especially loved the out door shower 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Check in staff was not that efficient. Didn’t feel like five star. The lobby is kind of old and not maintained. The entrance looks kind of in the need of remodel.

    Loved the room and the amenities. The food was good. The location on the beach was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    4.6
    - would never stay there recommend to anyone for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust under the bed and in the room like from three month . At least 20 mosquito bites Old shower and sink in the bathroom Could be a very nice property but it's really with ruind down , seems like in the complex no big renovation the last 15 years

    Stuff was pretending to serve , but wasn't teach correctly for a five-star hotel . Food was horrible , I couldn't eat it all . - same as the breakfast very small choic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Anantara Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a sound like engine sound in the room even after the air conditioner was switched off There is no savior on the beach and when I asked staff about this he told me that the sea is rough and the red flag was placed and whoever was going to swim would take responsibility

    Location and facility

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.5
    well the breakfast was ok though limited things for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    well the breakfast was ok though limited things for vegetarians. service of club staff is exceptional. Property is little old but well managed. would definately go again. A little on the expensive side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Simply an awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very dimly lit... there should be some provision for better lighting if the guests so desire as sometimes, older guests may not see so well at night with the dim lights in the rooms.

    I can truly say this is one of the best resorts I have visited in all my travels. Right from the entrance we were greeted with such warmth. Even though we arrived in the morning by around 10 am, we were made comfortable and the staff on duty were very accomodating. They offered us shower facilities if we needed them as the rooms would be ready at a later time. We were given a tour of the property and there was a genuinity in the way the staff presented their facilities. The neighbourhood was very good too. We found good massage parlours and also a very good travel agent named Tik who was very helpful to arrange some of the tours of the island. In addition, it was very easy to arrange for Scuba diving from both the hotel itself (higher price) and from the agents outside. The property had a lovely swimming pool and also had kayaks for the guests to use (free of cost). On the whole, the experience was fabulous and stay was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is a bit quiet but suited are needs, and as its all built on side of a hill there are lot steps but you can organise a golf cart to drive you around so it didn't bother us too much

    This is a great place to stay, the pool area is beautiful and breakfast is amazing! The rooms are very well presented, huge comfortable beds and loved the outdoor living area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    It was an excellent hotel with nice staff and nice sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an excellent hotel with nice staff and nice sea view. They'll do room cleaning twice a day and leave welcome/weather message every day in your room. The staff were friendly and helpful for the information of entertainment activities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    A bit pricey on somethings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prices they charge for food, drinks, spa etc is a bit excessive. No one can really afford to stay too long, let alone go to the spa and a lot of other guests we had discussions with felt the same way and gave us tips on places to go to outside the resort

    Came here for my 30th bday & my families first holiday together with our little one who was just about to turn 1. The hotel facilities are nice. Great location. Great food. Great amenities,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    4.6
    Just ok but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed needs replacement as it has a dip in the mattress and the fruit was replenished daily once. It was noisy and expensive ( even soft drinks ) which is not ok. The room was average. I'd say a 4 star resort tops. I wouldn't stay again. The pool is too small for an entire resort filled with kids. The minibar wasn't replenished once either and it was subpar at best.

    The restaurant staff are lovely but the food is average.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son had to leave a day early we asked for an adjustment of his room rate against as credit towards food. Which was refused however 2 forty minute massages were given.

    Beds were very comfortable.Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Anantara Samui Chewang
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is not very clean. It's a let down. The beach is the only negative point in otherwise a fantastic property .

    Very friendly staff. Perfect desitination to relax and have a good family holiday.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Amazingly helpful and happy team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Anantara Pool Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked tired and dated. Could do with an overall facelift. Not over the top, just a thorough touch up to bring them up to a top standard.

    The staff were fantastic. Very welcoming, helpful and easy going. Nothing was a hassle and incredibly friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    DO NOT BOOK pool access room. No privacy, noisy, and intrusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool access room shares a pool with 6 rooms all facing onto the pool and each other. Guests recognise this and they tend to swim in the pool very quietly and discretely, and close curtains so as not to impose on each other. BUT, we had a family with 2 young boys in one room, and they woke at 7am every day and splashed and screamed like it was midday in a public pool! At one stage we actually.thought they were trying to make as much noise as possible. It was such an awful experience that we checked out early and left for Nora buri resort (which is amazing!). On booking dot com, these rooms are clearly marked 2 persons max, so the hotel management is allowing families to book, and other guests have no idea this may happen. One cannot blame the family with kids, but one can definitely blame management for allowing this. This literally ruined our holiday. We left our kids at home so we could actually have a peaceful holiday and sleep in for the first time in 5 years...we could have brought our kids after all. Added to this, drinks were expensive, airport transfer was a rip off, and the hotel seemed to look for ways to charge more. We stayed at four 5* hotels this trip, and all provided free airport transfers (except Bangkok), complimentary shuttles to nearby shops, and well priced drinks...but not at anantara! I'm furious! I'll never stay with the anantara group again.

    Location is good with pharmacy, 711, bike hire, and laundry all across the road.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    The beds were the most comfortable ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no proper beach to swim in. You have to go elsewhere for water sports. The food other then breakfast was disappointing.

    The beds were the most comfortable ever. Staff at the reception, special credit to Sunny, were super pleasant and helpful and made our stay more comforting. Breakfast was very nice. The landscaping around is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    The deluxe room is just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The deluxe room is just perfect! The rooms are on the upper floor of the villas and have a very cosy and spacious terrace overlooking the greenery. Breakfast was amazing! The staff always went out of their way to help and make sure we enjoyed our stay! the restaurant, Tree Tops, is a must!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures posted on booking.com are very deceiving. It is nothing like what we experienced. Very poor location ( beach front ). Couteousness & hospitality lacked at the Ocean Kiss restaurant, except for Mr Tang. Tang was approachable and kind but the rest of the ladies should be moved to a back office job. Honestly ! Poor food selection at the breakfast buffet.

    Very courteous staff at the reception .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    7.5
    the pool villa with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anantara Seaview Pool Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 points about the breakfast: no crispy fresh bread, salmon . Staff: some are very friendly and others not; to expensive when we compare it with the other 5 stars hotel we did on koh Samui (banyan tree, W Retreat, Belmond napasai: in the same price rate but much better on all levels).

    the pool villa with sea view

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good but expensive in comparison to other hotels in ko samui
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt a little crammed, all those house next to and on top of each other. It was a rather long walk to the beach. (Our room was at the very end) climbing up and down

    The room and bathroom were very nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Easily the most beautiful hotel I've stayed at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all!

    Absolutely loved the hotel and stay all round, waking up in a beautiful comfy bed, with great atmosphere and amazing breakfast truly made our holiday!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    6.7
    Pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely out of the hotels control but the hotel had a lot of rude and loud guests. Bed was very uncomfortable. The room had a bad mould smell. Hotel kept us waiting for check in- not acceptable! The hotel's reason was because they had a lot of Chinese checking in and out. Well to be honest- I don't care if there is too many Danish, Swiss or Chinese that reason is unacceptable. Overall the price you pay is not worth it. Much better hotels on the island that give you exceptional service for less!

    Pool area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Tropical mixture of luxury and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Amazing staff in one place! We absolutely loved this hotel. Our room was so comfortable with very nice details in decoration. Hotel itself is like a tropic island with banana trees, coconuts, small lakes, birds and so. Anantara and its super helpful staff turned our stay into a true tropical paradise. We thank you all for your suprises for our anniversary. In love with all of them. I definitely stay at Anantara whereever it is. Mixture of luxury with comfort and coziness!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel but ridiculously overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is overpriced. It needs renovation! Especially in the sanitary engineering. The bathtub had stains, you didn't want to enter it. The water mixers are old, and the water power is too low. Things like that cannot make the room cost $300 or more, even in the high season! And cannot qualify for 5* hotel! The air conditioners are also old, the hair dryer is old, and the rooms are too dark (e.g. you can't read a book inside once the sun sets or put a make-up on for going out). The spa is nice, but it's 10 times more expensive than outside facilities. I think it's unacceptable. I can understand 3-4 times higher prices, but not 10! It makes a 90-min massage cost almost $130! Even Japan is cheaper!..

    Koh Samui was unfortunately hit with a severe typhoon during my stay, which of course left a bitter taste of the vacation itself. Anantara Lawana, however, in this case had a huge benefit of airport proximity. However, in good weather it's too far away from all the nice beaches. The staff was very friendly and nice, and I was very grateful that they let me stay till 2pm on my check out day without extra charge. And I have to say they did an amazing job to ensure people feel as comfortable as possible in rooms or other facilities, or finding you a taxi despite the awful weather conditions we were hit with. I would want to sincerely thank the staff of Anantara Lawana, they did a great job! The restaurant (Oceankiss) with the bar are super-nice, serve good food (although a bit too 'European') and always welcoming. The territory is also nice, with lots of greenery, and beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Amazing food, not the best for rainy weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had unexpectedly terrible weather and the hotel did their best. Still, the outdoor bathroom was a bit of an issue as was the breakfast restaurant, which got pounded with wind and rain. For a suite, I felt like our bedroom was extremely small - nowhere to put away our clothes.

    Amazing food and great staff. The location was between two great areas for shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I think the outside shower area could have been cleaner and better maintained. Also, the housekeeping team could be better. We killed about 100 mosquitos during our 7 day stay but the floors were not sweeped or mopped throughout...

    The staff are really something else. Nothing is too much and always a smile on their face. So friendly! We also had a Pool Access room which added a more luxurious touch, highly recommend!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Food and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small beach, we were all packed in the sunloungers arranged side by side Dark rooms, not enough light Low pressure of hot water

    Food and great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.8
    The services and the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bigger group of travelers in the resort behave as they would be the only one in the island, they made loud parties in the room, disturbing the spirit of the resort and unrespect the relax of other people.

    The services and the staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    Very nice but there could be better hotels for this price elsewhere including Anantara Bophut
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Distance from most rooms to the restaurant, pool and beach was a long way, over 70 steps in very hot and humid weather, but to be fair the hotel did offer a golf buggy service if you were prepared to wait. Rooms were hit and miss, the plunge pool rooms have a high wall for privacy but this made the room very dark and dingy. Standard rooms in upper floor with balcony were much lighter and had a breeze if you wanted to turn off the a(c . The a/c itself in the room was only just adequate due to the permanently open slatted windows in the bathroom. Food and drinks by the pool very expensive by Thailand standards.

    First of all the staff were great. Breakfast was a joy each morning and, at least in November, there was a good choice of very comfortable sunbeds most of the day. No rushing to get down at the crack of dawn required. Bed in room was very comfortable also. Beach was fine and cleaned each day. Hotel location was far enough out of the main town to be quiet and there were a number of local restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall great for a beach holiday. The highlight was the staff . A credit to Anantara
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment in the gym was dated

    Staff were fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and amazing staff, it was my second time...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Excellent location and amazing staff, it was my second time at Anantara Lawana and definitely not last.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    The room was nice: balcony, 2 air conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, beach was not very good

    The room was nice: balcony, 2 air conditions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    The check in very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in very bad

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.2
    the service , the manger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Anantara Seaview Pool Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    the service , the manger

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach front & pool

    Everything else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    When i check in, 2 hours no electricity and 2 hour at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i check in, 2 hours no electricity and 2 hour at bathroom no water .... 😭😭😭

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Overall it’s fine stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To reach the restaurant and than to come back you have to climb so many steps to go to the room or the reception

    The hotel staff welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We had a great time in excellent resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool Access
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful resort, very friendly staff, great food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    The beach view and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need to be improved

    The beach view and pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach for this hotel was not good

    Comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms were nice and specious
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach, its Rocky.

    Rooms were nice and specious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was medium

    Treehouse restaurant is good.. Good breakfast.. Nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.. the staff was very polite and Helpfull

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Really nice hotel, just a bit further from the main street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Lawana Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really nice hotel, just a bit further from the main street although you can get there with the buses driving around. Nice rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Don't have a manicure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Anantara Pool Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa

    The beach and pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Great property great service and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Plunge Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely property and amazing rooms!

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: