Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Tours & Activities Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Thailand hotel reviews
  3. Chumphon Province hotel reviews
  4. Chumphon hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Villa Varich

Reviews of Villa Varich

56/1 Moo 3, Bang Mak Mueang Chumphon, 86000 Chumphon, Thailand

#1 of 55 hotels in Chumphon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2019

    9.2
    The owners are really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are really friendly and helpful. It is clean and looks exactly as in the pictures. We had a good stay. Ps: Keep in mind that when you are a picky eater it’s good to know that the breakfast is mostly traditional food (we liked it :)) There is no mosquito net, but a window fly screen.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2019

    7.9
    The room is pretty clean, the staffs are friendly and they...
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mother is allergic to chemical (usually found in spray), the staff use quite a but of refresher spray in the bathroom which caused some problem for us. The light is a bit too dark. Breakfast is a bit underwhelming.

    The room is pretty clean, the staffs are friendly and they do provide good food recommendations. The villa is surrounded by nature, morning air is fresh.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2019

    10
    This place is so adorable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is so adorable! It is tucked into the jungle a few kms away from town. Still, you can easily get to town and/or have food ordered in for you. The staff was wonderfully accommodating - they helped us order food, arranged a cab to the airport and made sure we had everything we needed. Our villa was better than we expected, with a wonderful sitting area outside. We would love to go back and spend more than one night!

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2019

    10
    My favourite stay while travelling so far
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in a great location, the staff were absolutely lovely and were so efficient when it came to making sure we had the best stay possible, couldn’t say anything bad about the whole experience in general really. Bikes and kayaks were free to rent and we’re an easier way for us to travel around Chumphon. Rooms were gorgeous and views were stunning. Definitely go to the restaurants recommended on the map as the food is phenomenal. An all round great stay and I highly recommend this to anyone wanting a peaceful stay in paradise.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2019

    10
    We loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay! It is so beautiful. Surrounded by nature and wildlife. It is quiet all the time if you don’t mind beautiful roosters. The breakfast was wonderful and the home grown coffee too! Very friendly staff who also helped us plan the rest of our travel arrangements. They can help with train, ferry, taxi, and even rental cars. A very beautiful property with green plants and trees everywhere. I will definitely be visiting again. 10.0

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2019

    10
    We loved everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything! A perfect place to get away from the craziness of Bangkok and unwind. I felt like I was in heaven. The villas are spacious and tastefully designed, the staff is lovely and attentive, the freshly roasted (!) coffee is delicious and on top of all that there is the free bike and kayak rental. You cannot go wrong with this one!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2019

    10
    Very impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Faultless and flawless. A stunning location away from the town and along the river. The villa was modern and the bed was one of the best we have slept in. The owners roast their own coffee which was seriously good. Good breakfast. Hammocks by the river. They recommended and organised local activities. Hard to put into words but if you are a couple or family and want to relax then stay here.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2019

    8.3
    - nice staff (gave us good hints for tours and trips)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bed was too hard - no Moskito mesh in front of the fan in the bathroom - bathroom hooks should be fastened

    - nice staff (gave us good hints for tours and trips) - simple but very good breakfast with nice local coffee - nice river view - beautiful and calm area - big house for two - bikes available for free

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2019

    9.6
    The Villa was clean, the bed was comfortly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra beds was very hard!

    The Villa was clean, the bed was comfortly. The staff nice and helpfull!! Villa Varich is something different than other places and thats verry Good! Free cold and hot drinks the hole day!!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2019

    10
    Living among nature at the comfort of a city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and very friendly staff specially Khun Tang. Organic freshly ground coffee was really good. We are tea persons but we must say their fresh coffee was one of the best coffee.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2019

    9.6
    Good value for money, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast.no tea or kettle at the breakfast bar

    Lovely location in the jungle by the river with excellent facilities (restaurant and reception area with toilets and a fridge selling beers and soft drinks) Free bycicles and kayaks. Our riverside hut was fantastic, a very decent size room with a relaxing area upstairs. It has a fridge and a small seating area outside, also a net where you can lay down. Massive bed and hard mattress, just how I love it!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2019

    10
    Great place to stay with wonderful coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Unique place surrounded by nature, conveniently located. Very friendly staff who put in extra effort to make your stay enjoyable (such as making delicious coffee for breakfast). The rooms are clean, the bedsheets soft, the breakfast is good and served with a view over the river, the coffee is great. There are free bicycles to go to nearby restaurants and kayaks to explore the river.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2019

    10
    Great nature retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Free Bicycles were awesome. Breakfast was good. Cute little area to explore in the jungle. Saw lots of cool wildlife. Room was modern and comfortable. Close to plenty of food options and 7/11. Would stay here again for longer.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful, idyllic oasis in Thailand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting inside our bungalow was lovely but didn’t provide a lot of light. Small price to pay to stay here, though!

    The owners and the staff who work there are so kind and welcoming! Tang (1 of the owners) went above and beyond in calling the rail company for us after my mom left her cell phone on the overnight train, and we were able to retrieve it. She also gave us a ride into town, as she was heading there herself. We were (are) so appreciative of that kindness!! The grounds are idyllic! So peaceful. We took the complimentary bikes provided and rode the 10 minutes it took to get to a nearby restaurant (recommended by Tang). Delicious meals and a beautiful, easy, scenic bike ride! And the breakfast!! Oh my gosh, best breakfast we’ve had in Thailand! The dishes were made by them, and they were delicious and authentic Thai. I still dream of their sticky rice dishes... Yum!! The villa is outside of the city so not ideal if you want to be in town (it costs 200 baht for a taxi), but why would you want to be in town when you can be at Villa Varich, enjoying a little slice of Thai paradise? Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful, idyllic grounds and kind, welcoming people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting inside our bungalow was lovely but didn’t provide a lot of light. Small price to pay to stay here, though!

    The owners and the staff who work there are so kind and welcoming! Tang (1 of the owners) went above and beyond in calling the rail company for us after my mom left her cell phone on the overnight train, and we were able to retrieve it. She also gave us a ride into town, as she was heading there herself. We were (are) so appreciative of that kindness!! The grounds are idyllic! So peaceful. We took the complimentary bikes provided and rode the 10 minutes it took to get to a nearby restaurant (recommended by Tang). Delicious meals and a beautiful, easy, scenic bike ride! And the breakfast!! Oh my gosh, best breakfast we’ve had in Thailand! The dishes were made by them, and they were delicious and authentic Thai. I still dream of their sticky rice dishes... Yum!! The villa is outside of the city so not ideal if you want to be in town (it costs 200 baht for a taxi), but why would you want to be in town when you can be at Villa Varich, enjoying a little slice of Thai paradise? Highly recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, there was no continental breakfast. No hair drier in the room nor room telephone to request it.

    The garden and around was so peaceful. Helpful staff. Even if the hotel was next to small river and in a green enviroment there was no bug in the room and it was perfectly clean.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2019

    10
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely the only thing is the lack of fried eggs at the breakfast.

    Fantastic place! Comfort, facilities, people who work there - literally everything is great!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2019

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing that the resort couldn’t control. Mosquitoes were around for sure ( but we were ready for them). On arrival we were even told the worst time of day when they would be around. So not a negative, a just be prepared in the dusk time.

    What a wonderful place to stay. The lady who is running it ( I wish I’d got her name) was fantastic. As we checked in she gave us a map of the area, places to see and eat. The gentleman who served us their own grown coffee was super. Such a beautiful place to relax in. The breakfast had Thai sticky rice options, boiled eggs and toast. Coffee and got chocolate available all day. Our room ( number 6) was perfect for our family needs. 1km down the road was ‘The Farmers’ restaurant. Great value western meals in a lovely location and the chef was ace. There are other place to eat around, but this suited us perfectly. My husband has some printing which was no problem. The river view is stunning. Only because we were there in the rainy season ( which we knew) we didn’t do as much as we intended, but hey ho, what a great place to be. We left with smiles and two bags of their coffee and the intention of returning again.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2019

    9.6
    Nice property, quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice property, quiet area. The owner has hand made maps of the area with local restaurants listed. Excellent coffee roasted onsite (or nearby?) in the morning to go with a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2019

    10
    Amazing villas in jungle setting, so peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Amazing villas in jungle setting, so peaceful. You get free bike and kayak hire which is amazing and there’s plenty of cool little spots to cycle or kayak to nearby!! The staff were so kind and helpful - thank you so much for a great stay!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2019

    10
    the house is located among greeny atmosphere with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the house is located among greeny atmosphere with well-planned architectural space alongside the river. Cordially welcome with informative and friendly hosts. This is a recommended place for those who look for calmness in not-so-far distance to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2019

    10
    Incredible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t look at anywhere else to stay in Chumphon, this hidden oasis exceeded all expectations. And the owners are lovely people. They were very helpful with transportation to and from their place. We were meant to only stay one night but loved it so much we decided to stay another night. The breakfast and coffee is some of the best I’ve had in Thailand. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    10
    Beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best accomodation I ever stayed at. The bungalows are well built. The amenities are great. There is a simple yet sufficient Thai breakfast with outstanding coffee. My favourite thing about this place is the environment. It's peaceful, surrounded by nature and yet with all the comforts of home. The owners, Tang and Khom, are very accomodating. They are well travelled and you can tell they've learnt what good hospitality looks like. I had an injury. The hosts and their family took extremely good care of me and I am forever grateful. Looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2019

    9.2
    Will certainly stay again, pass the area at least 6 times a year on my trips to the South and back.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I did not like that is worth mentioning. Of course there is always room for improvement in just about any hotel, but given the overall good job the hosts do it would be a shame to start nagging about real small things.

    Outstanding value, will stay again and recommend the place to my friends. Roofed car parking right in front of the room is very useful during the rainy season. Friendly hosts, interesting local breakfast items not usually offered in other hotels.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2019

    8.8
    A perfect place for a break in an unspoilt part of Thailand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing we would change is to lighten the room interior by painting the walls and install some more relaxing lighting.

    Villa Varich is run by a lovely couple and is located in the countryside just outside Chumphon. There are a number of excellent restaurants nearby which you can reach using the complimentary bicycles. Breakfasts are Thai style with freshly in-house roasted coffee. The coffee is a must buy before you leave. Its a perfect place to relax and wander around the local area. The town is a great place to explore too, particularly the markets. We had a King Suite which was huge and had a terrace overlooking the river. It also had parking for our car.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2019

    10
    It’s just stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful space, very friendly personal, nice view on the river, jungle feeling, free use of bycle and Kajak, best local coffee, all in all really amazing. I would always go there again! 🙌🏾

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2019

    10
    beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    none

    essential structure very good location, near Chumphon and at the same time in a very beautiful natural setting efficient and very kind staff excellent general and room cleaning relaxing and beautiful hiking nearby

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2019

    10
    Go here. Don't choose anywhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer.

    Where do we start? The view from our bedroom down to the river. Perfection. The smell of fresh roasting coffee at night. The most delicious sticky rice and coffee breakfast, served in one of the most beautifully designed cabins I have ever seen. The array of natural products and fresh coffee to buy and take home with you. The welcome we received and map of the area. The organisation of our next destination.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2019

    8.8
    Was lovely to have a chill day before we headed to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was that we got there in the dark (10pm) I prefer to arrive in places in the light especially if they are a little outside the main town but this was something just personal preference. It is a little bit out the way but is only a short bicycle ride to 7/11 (around 15 minutes)

    Was lovely to have a chill day before we headed to the island. Our train was delayed and we got there late, Tang stayed up til 22:30pm for us to check in which was so lovely. The facilities were amazing and so clean, wifi was great. We loved walking round all the grounds and you made hs feel so welcome it felt like home! We wanted to get a take away to save going into town (4km) and they even offered to call it through for us but we insisted to do it through our mobile. They booked our taxi and ferry ticket for us, the whole process was made so much easier. It is a lovely family run place and can rent bikes and go and explore, all the locals are lovely.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2019

    10
    The prefect getaway with perfect hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no shops or restaurants in easy walking distance. Bicycles are provided free of charge but I wouldn't recommend cycling to shops away on the main road as it is very busy. Stay in the quiet area around the resort as there are small shops there and cycling is great. Restaurants will deliver for just 50 baht extra.

    Everything. Staff were amazing. Most helpful we met in our 3 months of traveling. Incredibly organised and efficient. Beautiful setting by the river with free kayak to use. Large, comfortable, spotlessly clean rooms with good a/c. Good breakfast with a range of food and drink on offer. The coffee is roasted on site and by all accounts excellent. Quiet surroundings perfect for gentle cycle rides on the good quality 3 gear bikes provided. Plenty of places to rest in the beautifully kept gardens.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2019

    10
    Garden of Eden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I'm very happy to have found this little paradise! Villas are set in a beautiful garden near the water. All comfort in the room; good bed and pillows, great shower. Lovely terrace where you can enjoy the beauty of the surrounding nature. You can easely get around with the bycicles they provide. Restaurant and also very good German Bakery nearby. This place hasn't got a restaurant and we didn't want to go out, no problem; you can order food Western or Thai. Delivered for only 50 thb. We had a really nice lasagne👌 Cold beer and soft drinks are available at the resort. If I'm ever in this neighbourhood again I'm coming back here!!! Also breakfast 👌👌 This truly is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. Shouldn't forget to mention; owners are So friendly and helpful and speak perfect English!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2019

    9.6
    Nice place for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WIFI was, when we were there, not strong enough, there were signal interuptions every few minutes.

    The owner couple is very friendly, the location in the middle of plantations and beside a river. The coffee for breakfast is fresh brewed, food not that much choices but ok.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2019

    9.2
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is minimalistic..no fruit juice, only toast and jam and hard boiled eggs

    Clean, comfortable bed, crisply laundered sheets, large shower, low price, decent internet, rural location on the river..( great if you like being woken by the birds), gives the appearance of a boutique hotel but in individual houses.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2019

    9.2
    Relaxation in a wonderful setting. Great owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Villa Varich is a fantastic setting for relaxation and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Chumphon. The owners are lovely and obviously have a lot of passion for their local area. The bungalows are great, well provisioned apartments all situated next to the river with a little patio. Breakfast is a good selection of local bananas, sticky rice, coconut and custards. However, the main draw is the phenomenal coffee, honestly the best we've had. Bicycles are free of charge to ride around the local area, or you can hire an automatic scooter for 250 baht a day if you wish to go further afield. It's worth it as the National Park is a short 30 min ride away. There is no restaurant on site, but if you ask at reception Thai or Western fare can be ordered for you to be delivered in half an hour to your door. Taxis or minibuses can also be arranged to and from the train station/airport. If you're lucky you may even get to see the monkeys harvesting the coconuts! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2019

    10
    A home away from home. A cosy villa in nature, by the lake with friendly staff and amazing coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, loved staying here.

    It was nice staying by the lake, the breakfast and coffee was amazing. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Staying there is almost like staying with family. Great all around.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Quiet and peaceful location, very big Villa well equipped and super clean. Very nice owners. Amazing breakfast with local food (only sweet breakfast though). You get woken up by local roosters :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    It was a great place to stay really nice bungalow right next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a great place to stay really nice bungalow right next to the river and the owners are very helpful and so kind we would have loved to stay longer defiantly a place to be!!!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2018

    10
    Amazing place with amazing owners, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The place where we stayed was amazing, very modern and so close to nature makes everything a very good experience. Even when it was raining - the atmosphere was just magical. Owners are very welcoming and sooo kind! They help you with anything, offer bicycles and kayaks for free and help you organise a bike too. Coffee was very, very good as well as the breakfast 💚

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2018

    7.1
    OK, decent value. Breakfast dissapointing.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unpainted cement walls make the room a bit drab and dingy. Room quite small. Breakfast of sticky rice, bread roll and bannana dissapointing. Loud dance music playing somewhere close by until late. Pack bug spray. Location a bit out of the way, you need your own transport.

    I was just passing through on my way from Pattaya to Phuket and just needed a basic, clean and secure roomfor the night at a fair price and this place did very well. The car port infront of the room was great as I had valuables in the car.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    9.6
    It was super clean and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from the airport if you have early morning flights.

    It was super clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the aircon great. It is set in a rural location so no scooter/vehicle noise. Only the sound of crickets frogs and the occasional rooster at night. The walls are a little thin as I could hear some poor soul reaching his guts out in the room next to ours. Cost from airport by mini van was 200B each. Cost to Lomprayah ferry pier by tuk tuk was 500B each way. They had free bicycles to use which were really handy and the local recommended food place was great (15min by bike). Make sure you go to atm before you arrived as there is not one close by. They helped to arranged all our transfers which was appreciated We stayed only one night, twice before flying.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.3
    Modern room in lush garden setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason I thought staying just out of town (and therefore slightly closer to the Lomprayah pier for Koh Tao) would make an early morning taxi cheaper, but it was 500 baht! If we'd stayed in town we could have taken advantage of the minibus for 100 baht pp.

    Room was huge and very clean. The bed was comfortable. Bathroom was great. The lady at reception was very helpful, she booked our tickets to Koh Tao, our morning taxi and ordered us dinner to be delivered (Villa Varich does not have its own restaurant). She also pre-packed breakfast for us: bread, butter and two juice boxes. We were able to use the toasters to have a quick breakfast at 5:30am which was nice. Shame we missed out on the coffee though, the other reviews made me really want to try it!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Very cheap price with friendly staffs and nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi at my room could not use during my stay.

    cheap price with nice and friendly staffs. Unlimited fresh brewed coffee for breakfast Staffs are very helpful and friendly. Nice atmosphere room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car/Transportation required because of remote location

    Very friendly and helpful staff; beautiful location by the river; parking lot next to bungalow; breakfast included and very good coffee

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Price wise the perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners are very polite and helpful, they take the time to welcome you and explain everything in the neighborhood. Breakfast was simple but will do, coffee was very good. He explained all about coffee making and coffebeans. Room where simple but everything was there, airco, fridge, good bed. We only stayed 1 night on our way to ko tao.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Relax and chill out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Varich ist a little bit outside the city, that's not the problem, but you need a Tuk Tuk to go to the city if you don't want to drive the long way with a bike or rent a scooter. And the Tuk tuk drive is too expensive for a 10 minutes ride...

    Such a lovely and nice place to stay. Everything is clean and the rooms or villas are comfortable with a hot shower. Villa Varich is in a very quiet zone with many palms around. Bikes are free. The staff is so friendly and will help you. Breakfast was good too. Some toast with marmelade, Thai breakfast and bananas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Modern, stylish rooms on a most pleasant green environment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I miss mosquito netting at the windows, it would have been nice to leave them open during the night instead of using the a/c! But a very tiny minus!!

    Modern, stylish rooms on a most pleasant green environment! Hadn‘t expected such a peaceful place in busy Chumphon, wish we could have stayed longer as there a quite a few things to do and see! The owner roasts local coffee, which is delicious, and the owner‘s environmentally friendly attitude is also a big plus!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    A beautiful place to stay, right in the middle of the jungle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were absolutely fantastic. They organised so many things for us to do - they sorted out all out ferry tickets for Koh Tao and organised transport to and fro the airport. Wouldn't change a thing. The rooms were very big, clean and the setting was beautiful - right in the jungle. Amazing breakfast included with proper coffee. Would definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    What a charming place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    What a charming place!! Stunning staff, wonderf, clean villa and beautiful quiet area. We really enjoyed our short stay, was a stop over , but would love to stay longer and we will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Outstanding and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This accommodation is outstanding for the price we paid. We loved the garden, the breakfast ( very traditonal and nicely presented). The area was wonderful to explore with the free bikes. One of the nicest places we stayed at and I cannot stress enough what good value the accommodation place was. Thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location with laid back feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi could be better

    Great location with laid back feel. Great place to relax an unwind. The rooms were clean and the outdoors inside the compound was also great. Added bonus is the river flowing by. Also recommend is the Thai massage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Great design of the rooms and quiet peaceful surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The villa has 2 windows. These can't be closed with a curtain or roller blind, so early in the morning (6 am) a lot of light inside the bedroom. Just a few baht to buy a roller blind. Breakfast could have some more choice (for western customers only marmelade on toast)

    Excellent bathroom and comfortable bed. Freshly brewed coffee at breakfast!! Friendly owners.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We really enjoyed our staying. Beautiful surroundings. They had bikes and a kayak for guests to use! There was also a scooter but we didn't use it. The host couple was super friendly and helpful! Breakfast was greaaat. The room was very comfy and clean. Everything worked well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Just magnificent! Thanks Villa Varich!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing place with wonderful people! Only a bit outside the city but it feels like you are far away. Absolutely peaceful and enjoyable place. (I definitely recommend to stay more than one night.)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    This was a really perfect place to relax for two nights to break up the journey home to the U.K.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chumphon itself is not so exciting a town but this hotel really is wonderful in a tranquil location 2km from the town.

    Breakfast was very well presented traditional Thai food. Amazing coffee, grown, roasted and ground by the owners. Very hospitable staff who also own the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    A little piece of Paradise hidden away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little piece of Paradise hidden away. Beautiful location complete with butterflies and birds. Clean and spacious villas finished to a high standard. Delicious, traditional breakfast and amazing coffee! The option to borrow bikes enabled us to explore the area around the property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    In the middel of the natur
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small thing .no waterkoker

    The nice location by the river and all the anymals that you can see . When you have time make a trip over the river by boot .very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Cozy and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should put some more protein like eggs or thai style grilled pork etc.

    Cozy and clean room. So peaceful there. Staff is very nice. Coffee is really great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Tropical paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best place we stayed in during a 3 week road trip of peninsular Thailand. Tranquil and peaceful location, beautiful gardens, modern villa, friendly owners who were very helpful. Great coffee and a nice Thai breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    very helpfull and friendly stuff, they helped us to change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hidden place, for nature and relax seekers

    very helpfull and friendly stuff, they helped us to change the ferry ticket and the date of our leaving without charging any money for the already booked night! very nice place in the middle of the jungle

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    I love Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love Everything!!! What a amazing nature and the hosts! There was really quiet and the softest pillows in Thailand :) And breakfast - super! Thank you! 🌺

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    An oasis of peace in between the jungle and the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Calm, relaxing atmosphere in a stunning garden surrounding right across a river - Villa Varich was one of the most beautiful places we have been to in Thailand. Although we just spent one night, the charming couple was very helpful and caring to make our stay unforgetable which it was. We definitely come back someday to stay longer!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    A great spirit oh hospitability
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    By mistake I booked 2 night separately so it was not a problem to keep the same room. Great contact with the object. Totally friendly owners. More details I gave in my first opinion. But still I would certainly recommend this place to everybody.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Well run spot with a picturesque and rural feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside to the riverside location are the mosquitoes that accompany it Difficult to get to if you didnt have your own transport

    Very friendly and helpful owners Great fresh roasted coffee at breakfast which also includes local delicasies Nice if slightly remote location by a peaceful river

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    The best place and hosts we have met through our way in Thailand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend thus place to everybody. Great owners that you can chat with (of courae in english). I had a very good contact with owners of the object. They answered all my questions. During our stay they were helpful and friendly. They also helped us with nezt transport. The object is far from the city centre but it is in a quite place. Bicycles and kayaks were available for us as it was in the information. The place itself is beautiful and modern. The bed was very big and extra bed (matress) was also very good and comfortable. The place is new and everything worked. I was so positively shocked with breakfast because i just expected some toasts with jam and we got traditional Thai food plus coffee they grow and tea as well. Internet was also very good. Even though it's not so close I would definitely recommend it to everybody. Owners do care about their guests:-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    A sensational place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    A sensational place. Nice, spacious rooms, plenty of space in the garden to chill and hangout at the backwaters of Golf of Thailand, just part of your accommodation. Take a canoe and paddle along and enjoy the nature. The young owner couple is super friendly, speaks fluent English and is very helpful in all aspects. Great breakfast, Thai style... Another highlight...the owner is an artisto in creating and preparing coffee. If you are a coffee lover like me you must visit this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    The young couple who own and run the place are wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The young couple who own and run the place are wonderful people. Instead of making an imitation of a Western breakfast as many places do, they served an awesome Thai breakfast with sticky rice, ginger and banana leaves.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    friendly and helpful staff/owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    its located way out in somewhere, even with car a trip. not much around, next restaurant 5 min drive.

    friendly and helpful staff/owner. silent place parking right in front of room good price, around 800B breakfast was ok in relation to the price and they have a completly homemade coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    When we booked the accommodation me and my wife were looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we booked the accommodation me and my wife were looking for something that was not in the central area as we were looking for something quiet and somewhere we could get a taste of the local area/people. Khom and Tang who own and run the hotel are one of the nicest couple that we met in Thailand. From the moment we arrived until the day that we left they were helpful beyond our expectations. The accommodation was very clean, modern and comfortable. The area and setting is very pretty and peaceful situated next to a river. There are bikes and motorbike hire for anyone wanting to explore the area. There are local restaurants that provide amazing food. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Chumphon who want a taste of local life.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, why stay anywhere else??
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they wouldn't let me stay there forever.. absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Everything, the attention to detail and genuine friendliness of the owners are two on a long list.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice quiet spot which was perfect for me. Would be difficult without a car/bike I think though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room, always a bugbear of mine, especially considering the remote location and no on site shop!

    Very remote location, which though not ideal for some, was what I wanted. Staff were very friendly with good English. Chinese style breakfast was a little 'niche' for my tastes, but the local coffee brew was lovely and strong (Note: add a dash of sweetened milk!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    The rooms are of very high quality, this really is great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are of very high quality, this really is great value for money which includes breakfast. The area is very beautiful and relaxing, it's next to a river and there's lots of greenery and palm trees. There are free kayaks and push bikes to be taken advantage of and drinking water and hot cocoa. They also posted my cap to my next hotel which I accidentally left there. Brilliant service, lots of communication and strongly advise staying here if you are staying in chumphon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Villa Peacefull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only when you have rented a car is it a convenient location. Otherwise it's a bit far from city and or beach

    Wonderfull bungalow with nice spacious bathroom. So quiet and peaceful. Very friendly hosts who roast and brew their own local coffee.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even when thinking hard, nothing negative comes to mind about that place.

    Simply amazing. Service is their absolute priority and the facilities are sparkly clean. The property is located among coconut farms, next to a river, and has a stunning garden where you can watch colorful birds in the morning and in the evening. You can use the bycicles for free and roam the scenic surroundings. You can even use their canoe. The breakfast is typically Thai and just delicious. Unusual tastes and foods, just what we are in Thailand for! Apart from that the rooms are simply great: beds are soooo comfy! Bathroom is immaculate, AC is near silent. The place is one of the most beautiful and quietest we have seen during our 3 months of travelling, I can only recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Chumphon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2019

    10
    Best place in Chumphon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Price is great and staff is really good and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2019

    10
    So peaceful and quite, the owners are great, even if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So peaceful and quite, the owners are great, even if Chumphon is abit of the beaten track there is alot to explore

    Stayed in October 2019

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Villa Varich traveller photo gallery