Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Mouradi Hotel Africa Tunis 5 stars

50, Avenue Habib Bourguiba, Tunis Centre , 1001 Tunis, Tunisia

#23 of 41 hotels in Tunis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1453 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    Good value for your money, Centrally located, amazing staff and lots of mosquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The millions of mosquitos...it seems like the hotel breads them and they are everywhere it was extremely difficult to sleep

    Location, Staff (everyone), Free upgrade to a huge Suite (just loved it). Basma at guest services was just amazing (no doubt a great asset to your hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    7.1
    I asked for an early check in but my request was never...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for an early check in but my request was never acknowledged and I had to sit the lobby for more than two hours before they allowed me to check in

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't fulfill taxi booking although confirmed extremely early in the morning No telephone in the room, thus no connection w reception Elevator broken, but no repair although talked to mechanic-man

    Excellent location Room w good desk and fair space

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    2.9
    Spacious. Comfortable bed. Clean. Break fast ok.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower broken. You need to spend alot of time adjusting water to get it to warm. Room telephone not working. Noise extremely loud that I could not sleep. The worst hotel I have been to in Tunis. Too expensive and not worth the money. They charged me for hosting my nephew even though I paid for a double room. Dark corridors. Grim ambiance. Tired rooms.

    None

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    5.8
    It is great location and I love it, but I will not be back unless the facility is renovated good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Phones not working, no air conditioning in the dining area or the lobby. The TV is so old beyond believe, and only few channels can be watched.

    I like the location a lot, the rooms are good size, the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.5
    I didnt likr anything about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel ive ever stayed at. The guys at the reception were not welcoming and extremely rude. On one occasion my wife was sitting near the reception area and one of the cashiers was talking about me and sayimg all sorts of rude and swearing words in Arabic. Little did he know my wife speaks arabic. We complained to the manager who didnt really show any urgency to do anything about it. We both felt humiliated and unsafe at the supoosedly 5* hotel. Stay away from this place

    I didnt likr anything about it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enterance of Hotel blocked by police barrier. Hotel is at the centre whlch has huge trafflc. Rooms are not clean.

    Nothing. Very old rooms and furniture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.3
    Good location
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an old room with an old tv and dirty carpet which isn't 5* worthy. At 8:30 AM the staf was already knocking the door to check the minibar.

    Good location Nice view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable & Relaxed Days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some Room facilities need to be upgraded here I mean a TV Screen. Because five star Hotel shouldn't use the current TV screen that I have seen in my Room.

    staff were friendly & Helpful. what ever I asked them to do they quickly respond in a friendly way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My first room the AC wasn't working and in the second room phone line wasn't working. I went and complaint but nothing happened.

    Overall location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.1
    Good but should update TV
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe some rooms need to be updated. I never saw a 5 star hotel with a old TV in it's room, the TV here was from the '80 The bathroom is old n not the type you expect in a 5 start hotel. They still use courtain bathroom, which is unacceptable for hotel in that category, these old courtain shower are a source of bacteria and fungi.

    The view you can get from the room, we were at 22th floor n had view over Bourguiba avenue , also the restaurant at 1th floor has a nice view The person is attentive and know how to treat a guests, something not much usual in Tunis

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the city center is usually crowded and sometimes noisy if your room were in the lower floors.

    good business hotel, clean, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, located in the city center, i always book at this hotel since it is near my meetings are located, i find it very convenient and i liked my stay there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Run down formerly fancy hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very run down. And the breakfast was overpriced and average. Only had it one day.

    The hotel was big and clean and in a good location. Had a good view from my 11th story room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    I stayed there only one night for rest only nothing see...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot my clothes in the captains and when I returned after few days and asked the staff they told me that they didn't find them. my room # 1111 and the date was 11th of July 2018. I won't be there anymore or tell any of my friends to be there.

    I stayed there only one night for rest only nothing see there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    One night in Tunis ..a skyscraper view of the city to remember.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact that the entire telephone system went down and so no contact with Reception..Room service etc..somewhat dangerous in event of Fire or Emergency etc...Hotel 24 Floors!!

    International Buzz of many nationalities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Staff. Facilities. Closeness. Neighbourhood. Food.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    I like this hotel and I use it whenever I visit Tunis. It is really clean and nice hotel and staff are very kind and they smile all times. Food is excellent and it is sourounded with nice restaurants ATMs. The old city is few minutes away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable Night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV screen from Medieval era supposed to be changed to new modern one. & the pillows were uncomfortable for me. the room in General is very nice & elegant . Bathroom is very clean.

    staff are very helpful especially the receptionists. & the staff in the restaurant are very generous and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old needs to be fully refurbished. Even tvs are the 80ies models...with bad signals. ....no flat lcds in rooms

    Very central. Nice breakfast.nice personnel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    3.8
    Only the location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was horrible Room is not that clean. Front disk employees are not professional a bit aggressive especially the night shift . AC wasn’t working .

    Only the location is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel, acceptable standard.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    overall poor maintenance condition in the hotel & rooms; reception area quite crowded during the day; not a 5 stars

    availability of a parking; late check out at 15h30

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Value for money, clean and spacious rooms, fast...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the street in front of the hotel is closed which is tricky if you need to get a taxi, the area also is crowded and some people will find it noisy, in my previews trip there was a street perfumers (Drummers) who kept playing all day which will drive you crazy of your room were in the first few floors.

    Great Value for money, clean and spacious rooms, fast internet wifi in rooms, one of the best hotel breakfast in Tunis, located in the heart of the city center and near the old town, friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.2
    Rooms need more improve
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in rooms also no free bottle of water , i asked for them many times but not supplied. No Iron The left is old and always busy TV is very old and most of channel are not working

    Breakfast was good. Location is on the downtown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At our first arrival we were given a room with bad smelling ( mixture of cigarettes and food) specially I have asked by mail several time that I will be traveling with my 16 months baby, after complaining, I was given two key to check two other rooms, from the two I found one acceptable but no cot for my child even requested before my arrival, two hours after they send the child bed that does not represent a 5 stars hotel which can be viewed in the pictures, and be short safe broken, asked 4 times to fix it but nothing was done, finally the AC doesn't work, when asked just replied that it down at all hotel, and asked me to OPEN the window, come on a 5 Stars you are saying !!! With a tv from the 50th

    The only think good was the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    Good choice for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The structure requires some refurbishing in general; it is apparent that the last maintenance was carried out quite a long ago. I keep hoping that the lobby and the other common areas will turn into non-smoking zones some day, but this depends on the law, I guess.

    The hotel is centrally located, at walking distance from many points of interest. Shops and restaurants in the surroundings make the area ideal for business and leasure travelers. Personnel is kind and rooms are quite roomy. The breakfast offers a huge variety of both local and international food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    i won't choose it again nor recommend to other Chinese visitors.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    这家酒店的某些员工,请注意是某些,不是全部,对华人有种族歧视,一边赚我们的钱,一边鄙视我们的同胞。 1. checkout desk day shift always showing sour face, no matter you went for exchange or check out. 2. night shift laundry is terrible, i sent a cleaned suit jacket for ironing, it's returned dirty and nothing about iron was done, charged me 9 TND, and treated me impatiently when i called them to ask about this, the next day i went to reception the ladies treated me nicely and resolved the problem. 3. this hotel charges about 130 USD per night, but they are not doing good at this price. 4. I am Chinese, i felt little racist while communicating with some staffs, despite us while earning our money.

    most of the staffs are nice and friendly, however.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    3.5
    I did Not Like any thing in this Hotel it should be not in 5...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad reception take a lot of time to chick in, Bad card for opening room Need to activate it 2 time a day,(((( in the Morning 19.3.2018 at 11.30 am I return to my room I find 4 pepole in my room they are chock when they sow me , They were searching the room, and said they were maintenance men, but their clothes did not show that, in the same day at mid night some body note my door a lot of time I try to call reception and consurge no body replay , after midnight a lot of noise with traditional musiqe in the 5th floor we are in 3th floor we try to ask pleases stop that we need to sleep thy told as soory its amazed party its continue until 3am,its very bad hotel I DONT ADVISE ANY BODY TO STAY IN IT DR IBRAHIM GUIDER

    I did Not Like any thing in this Hotel it should be not in 5 stars hotel because I Know more hotels in Tunis 4 and 3 stars Peter than this hotel in the service and furniture

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Short but useful at least to decide if I want to visit back Tunisia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my first trip to Tunisia and saw very little. But I was a bit surprised when I saw the airport and the roads from and to. Much below my expectations. May be I need to see more.

    Location is perfect but can't find a taxi evening at rush hour. The hotel is fair for the value paid but the staff at reception are excellent . Every thing you need is around. The room is nice old style but not luxurious and the bed is comfy. Only one night so I did not try the food and only hangout around the main road Alhabib Bo Riqaiba..... Nice road to hangout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable business facilities and relaxing after long day...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant staff young waiters need to be more upgrade as their approach to the customers is a bit pushy.

    Comfortable business facilities and relaxing after long day and meetings as well shopping area and restaurants, Will remain keep it my future choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    Worst 5 Star hotel I have ever been to. Disappointing. Not recommend to stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Service is too slow (it took 3 requests and 1h hour just to get a pair of sleepers). - Smell of fried oil in the room. - Access to hotel cumbersome with vehicle. - TV barely working (model of the 80s), absence of international news channels: BBC, CNN, Euronews, France 24, Jazeera, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    it nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant need work, food is ok but i don't like the restaurant furniture need to do something good for 5 star hotel

    room at 17 floor quite and clean people at the gate very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no kettle staff - some are really nice (concierge & front office) some are mean (from 5th floor restaurant) who shouldn’t be in tourism industry at all value for money

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    4.2
    The food, other than the orange juice, was poor and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis and bellboys have a partnership agreement. Bellboys, the taxi driver who took me to the airport told me, share 20 percent of the taxi fare with the taxi drivers waiting for the clients at the other side of the road. Shame on you, bellboys!

    The food, other than the orange juice, was poor and the service of the waiters extremely rude. I asked one of the waiters to please grab a loaf of bread for me but he replied: you have to go and get it by yourself!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Location, location....and not much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard of the hotel is in no way 5 star. By European standards it would at the most pass as a 3 star hotel, and one that has seen better days. The room was in dear need of some upgrading and could do with a few licks of paint in places. The daily cleaning was good, but there are a few stains here and there that were beyond the powers of the hotel maids. The check-in was a disaster. First my credit cards weren't accepted (I tried 2 from different banks) forcing me to pay in cash and not with the best exchange rate. Arriving to the room and connecting to the internet a few minutes later, I recieved a push message from my bank saying that the card payment indeed had gone through and that I hence payed twice. I'm still exchanging emails with the hotel about how to get the money back 30 days later. At a 5 star hotel, just reporting the problem at the reception (as I did) really should be all the guest would have to do. I had to contact the reception yet again 10 minutes later due to problems with the safe in my room. The janitor couldn't fix it and was first offered another room (but on the smoker floor) and had put some renewed effort into getting a non-smoker room with a working safe. All in all it took me almost 2 hours from arriving to the hotel until I was ready to hit the town. This reflects my general experience of the staff: They are nice, but not really that professional and there is a lack of routines for handling problems. Overall, even without the double payment issue, I would've gone for another option if I were to visit Tunis again. Considering that most hotels in town have pretty bad rating, I would recommend tourists to use La Marsa as a base instead of Tunis.

    The main drawing card of Hotel Africa is the location. It's smack on the main boulevard and with good access to transportation such as the tram and the train to Carthage and La Marsa. The breakfast was very good and the lobby bar is pleasant spot for a beer after a day of exploring Tunis. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Stuff are nice friendly helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not safe to walk in the night or evening, is very dangerous to go out in the night . Not safe at all 5* hotel inside tv is very old fashion no LED in the 5 star hotel that’s not nice

    Cheap compared to others nice views Friendly stuff helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    The room was unbearably hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was unbearably hot. The staff were unable to help when asked to lower the temperature. Accordingly a miserable sleepless night. Never to be repeated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    I will stop using this hotel inspite the fact that I like its location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.

    It was the most terrible stay. I have changed the rooms five times between very cold to very hot as the air conditioning maintenance was very poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.8
    Three stars hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is too old and mostly broken, the tv is from the 1990s models, plus the remote does not work even though I asked them to check it out, but no one did, not a 5 star hotel.

    The location was good, and this was the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.1
    Convenient hotel for exploring central Tunis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired in need redecorating and wasn’t up to the spec of the Hotel Belvedere Fourati, which had tea/coffee making facilities, USB ports for charging phones/iPad (if you go, make sure you take an adapter!) Belvedere Fourati also has a small gym and excellent upstairs balcony for views of the city. Arranging a taxi was difficult (supposed to be one to pick me up) and couldn’t arrange one in the morning via hotel, had to get a yellow cab from street.

    Great location for exploring Tunis located on Avenue Habib Bourguiba. The hotel is spread over 20 floors, with a couple of these floors for restaurants. There is a bar in the lobby and a small cafe next to the enterance which is great for sitting outside and watching the world go by. Great food choice at restaurants. Plenty of cash machines within a short walk as well as some sites to see and the Medina. Large room with separate hallway to bedroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    location is great, front desk staff are always very...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location is great, front desk staff are always very courteous especially "Quais" who always extended himself. Also the staff in the restaurant were always very helpful. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Second trip to the hotel, Great upgrade to the presidential...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restuarant staff were overly friendly and stood watching myself and my colleague eat for a while. Wifi wasn't great in the room.

    Second trip to the hotel, Great upgrade to the presidential suite! Buffet was lovely with big range of food. Very hepful reception staff. Would come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV very old No TV channel in English, in spite of what they say in Booking.com that have cable channels (actually, only Arabic and French channels). Internet failed very often.

    Breakfast is very good. The hotel is located in the main street, in the city centre. The Tunis-Carthage airport is not far. Less than 10 min by car. If you ask for a transfer from the hotel to the airport the hotel staff offer an option that costs 25 Euros per person. Instead, my wife and I left the hotel and took a taxi down the street and it costed us less than 2 Euros.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    6.3
    I was using this hotel since 1973 ,and I like it ,hope I can see improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in the room is very poor. No of Channels are very limited. I was waiting at the reception about 15 minutes to verify that I did not take a piece of chocolate from the mini bar ,which I did not open at all. The responsible of the mini bars was insisting that I took that piece that costed 5TND.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.0
    Location & reception staff (Ms Sayhi Soumaya:...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities: Carpet (old and not well cleaned), TV (very old and small one with very bad picture quality), A/C don't work properly, you can hear water movement noise from upstairs room!!!....Smoke and smokers in the reception!!!very high price compared to the hotel facilities...should not be 5 Stars (before a future revamping really required !!!)

    Location & reception staff (Ms Sayhi Soumaya: professional). Breakfast ok and staff also. Nice view from 20th floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.0
    Tiring, unhelpful, uncaring staff in a very run down 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friend arrived early 9am and as room was not paid the front desk denied him access. Given access on my arrival and payment of room, 5pm in evening. Staff generally unhelpful. ICC movies event - we were herded to enter back of hotel like 2nd class citizens. Room was okay but not modern - with old 1980's style TV.

    The Breakfast Buffet is delicious and if staying at the hotel I would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at this five stars hotel thanks to all staff and especially to miss soumaya
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was very smooth.thanks to the front desk manager mr wahed tounsi and miss soumaya . The break fast is very delicious really a very big variety of food I had never seen before.and the view of HABIB Bourguiba boulevard from the top floors of the hotel makes you feel that you are sitting on top of Tunisia.all the hotel staff was very helpful and I did really enjoyed my stay .sure I'll use it again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Location, location, location, it's strait on the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, location, location, it's strait on the most famous road in Tunis the capital, easy access and close to the market, and the activities at night are in front of the hotel. rooms are good, ask for a room on floor 20, you will have a full view of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    all in all a great holiday and awesome hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i was there for 5 nights and not a single time did they change the bins or throw away any rubbish... even though i requested

    they gave me a free upgrade and the staff where absolutely amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Staff .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot reach the front hotel by car.you have to cross the road.if you have many lagguages you need help from hotel

    Staff . room is clean.not too much noisy. Breakfast you can choose a variety of food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    The breakfast is good, of course it is a five star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the day we checked out, I asked the staff if they could help to book a taxi to the airport. They told me no taxi worked that day and they could provide transportation which would cost TND 60. I also asked if there was a public bus to the airport. They told me no. We went out, asked a taxi driver and he told me I could spent TND 10 to take his taxi to airport. And finally we went to the bus station very close to the hotel, and spent ONLY TND 1 to take the Bus No. 635 to airport (fast, safe and clean). I could understand this hotel wanted to earn more money from us, but I could not understand why the staff lied to us!

    The breakfast is good, of course it is a five star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad services. Bad rooms. Bad AC. bad telephone very niosy and disconnect. Room card did not work. The shower was not working proberly. When i checked out they charged me for water that i did not order.

    The lication

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    Olld hotel in a crowded area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you don't pay on time the room lights are turned off automatically!! The telephone line is not working. No tea maker. Old TV set.

    Cleaniness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    3.3
    Disaster...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff, room, cleanness.. all wrong, I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and end up by sleeping all in one room for the 1st night because the AC is not working well even that we requested the reception to fix the AC 4 times in one day!!!

    Location only.. nothing else worth to stay at this hotel.. Far away from 5 starts or even 4 stars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Old hotel, falling apart, but they are renovating it in 2018...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel, falling apart, but they are renovating it in 2018, it will become Hilton. Ask for the top floors, they are under renovation, so you can have a better experience. Located smack in the city center, you have to hunt down cabs yourself. Staff ok-ish, they seem pretty underpaid. Hotel restaurant is edible, but easy to find food elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    Not up to the standards of other El Mouradi locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed twice. The first time, the air conditioning in the room didn't work, and it could not be fixed. I had to ask for another room. The second time, it worked, but it did not cool adequately. And the rooms looked very old and tired.

    Location, and the breakfast! Both were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Hotel is excellent, although building looks very old but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the check in time, staffs are just chatting to each other, didn't care about us. We know that check in time is 14.00 and we arrive there around 12, so room may not ready. At least staff should tell us wait at hotel lobby. We were standing at reception like an idiots and waiting when they finish their useless chatting.

    Hotel is excellent, although building looks very old but everything is very clean. Breakfast buffet was also nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Good buffet, staff and animation very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool looked bigger as it really is. Loud music every day in the swimming pool could not let us rest sometimes.

    Good buffet, staff and animation very good. Clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    perfect and very comfortable stay, good for staing with children :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit smaller then view on the photos, no balcony, no spa service. TV-set is very old with a very few channels.

    The excellent location for reasonable price, clean rooms and big bathroom with bath-tube. Though there were no kettle, tea and coffee in the room, we asked and got it from house-keeping service in 5 min. No balcony, no swimming pool or spa what is strange for 5* hotel. If you would like to eat local style and buy some fruits then just turn behind on the back street, and Zara is just 2 steps right. Anyway it is the best offer for its location and safety. I cant comment food and restaurant because we booked without breakfast and didn't try to eat inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Good in-town hotel for a business or tourism stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road in front of hotel is closed for cars, but it is a short walk from parking behind hotel You can still ask hotel staff to open barrier for car to enter in front of hotel

    Location is good on main street with many shops and cafes nearby. Room size adequate and has all facilities. Bathroom with tub shower and well equipped.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Nice hotel centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was kind of pricey, especially if you don't want to eat a lot.

    Lots of choices at breakfast buffet. Could get eggs cooked however you want

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Great except the payement, it could be a big problem for business people at a city centre 5star hote
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying by c card is very unreliable, slow , inbarrassing , very bad connection , just as well I had cash to pay for the room at the same time when I went to the golden tulip hammamet, they didn't have this problem

    Excellent stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no facilities even a gym !! old hotel which needs renovation asap : very old tv with not much channels working my check in was too long and even i was alone in reception, i waited for the key like 10 mins !! i asked for a toothbrush and tooth paste but till i checked out nothing !! checkout was fast thx

    location was good but not accessible to the door with a taxi but luckily i had my own car which i left it in the hotel parking behind. it is more a formal hotel than a leisure one. quiet hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    To whom want enjoy in Tunis (Live it here)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the hotel staff so friendly specially in reception both shift and room service Also treat us very well and professional I would say thank you to Seham she really care. :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    We went into 4 different hotels in Tunis .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a 5 star hotel I expected to have a bit more luxury but it is acceptable. I think it is common in Tunis to have less things available in hotels. It is very small things but all in all was good.

    We went into 4 different hotels in Tunis ... This one was the best and it price was very close to the rest. their breakfast was amazing. It is location is superb and the staff are extra friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel at a reasonable cost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money hotel in the centre of Tunis. Good WiFi throughout, bar until midnight at reasonable prices. All in all happy with the place for the cost involved. Tip: Do not use the Taxi's at the airport. Try to pre-book from the hotel or use a yellow cab that has a meter. This Hotel is 10 minutes max from the airport and between 5 and 7 dinar cost. There is a El Mouradi Hotel about 40 minutes away and 50 dinar. Don't fall for the charming taxi driver trick!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.7
    in all over the world usually in winter the managment off hotels make disscounts but in tunisie no
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to put water kittle and some tea&nisscafe bags what it'll cost them , then they told you that friday is half price but they didn't practice it why you told me ?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.4
    Must try the hotel restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    check-in counter almost always crowded and staff could be more attentive to clients

    fantastic array of Tunisian and international cuisine at a quite reasonable rate

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    2.5
    Mosquito Central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most things, primarily the fact that this hotel has more mosquitos than a tropical swamp

    Nothing actually, except the safety associated with the location of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.4
    Tunis is not as it used to be anymore
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The security is so tight which you think it is good, but it gets annoying

    This is an old hotel. But considering the hotel qualities in the country, this hotel is over the standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    Not comfortable and doesn't worth the payment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a suite which was the most expensive, there was no coffee maker and we called the reception for 5 times until they brought us the maker after 2 hours, and the spread the coffee opened in a small saucer It was really bad service The internet is disaster , connection off many times every minute

    The only two things that we were satisfied with is the location and the buffet breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No good coffee at the breakfast. Tap water is used for making coffee and tea. Hotel is old and needs some renovation.

    Very good location, large bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Stay for the view, not the comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature was awful! There was no median tempature. Also the room service menu is a lie. They don't have on hand any of the dishes they advertise. There was no ac in the room. It was a sweltering 80 with no hope of air but from the window which was too noisy to leave open. And the bar is super overpriced...

    The view was breathtaking and the location was amazing. All of the employees that spoke English were extremely helpful. I need stamps and the bell pointed me to their location and mailed the postcards for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.2
    I booked a business suite but, There was no tea-bage or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a business suite but, There was no tea-bage or coffee sache in the room. The room was cold and air condition was not working properly.The room service was so late(one hour for one bottle of water) and the amenities was not enough.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    4.6
    Diapointing hotel rules & stif staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold My little doughter with down syndrome affected with flu this night. The air coditioner( heat part) was not working. The wifi in the room was very week. The rules of the hotel were very stiff and this is reflected on the behaivior of the staff?! It was a 5 star hotel but no swiming pool of Gym. room

    The location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.5
    Service a bit slow early the morning. Room should have been ready.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service was a bit slow and not very attentive at the desk. I imagine this was because it was 6am and there was a skeleton staff but even after that i had to wait a short while for the room to be ready. I had informed them I would be coming at that time and I was only staying for a few hours before flying somewhere else so every lost minute mattered in terms of some sleep, taking a shower, etc.

    Location and good price for the quality of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    5.8
    good location .. thats it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms were too oldl and smelled funny, i woukd say it is 3 stars, room was too small .. with OLD TV placed on the night stand!! feelt like i was stuffed in a tuna cane.. definetly never again .. and the price is soo rediculas !

    excellent location.. nice lobbey and friendly place

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: