Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Tunisia hotel reviews
  3. Tunis Governorate hotel reviews
  4. Tunis hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Carlton

Reviews of Hotel Carlton This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Av. Habib Bourguiba, Tunis Centre , 1001 Tunis, Tunisia

#9 of 43 hotels in Tunis

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2149 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    6.7
    Position: very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy in the night because of other clients...not sure how far the hotel management is responsible for that, but it was annoying

    Position: very central

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    The check in was quick and smooth.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was good.

    The check in was quick and smooth. The staff were polite. The room was clean. The breakfast was as expected for the price paid, it had all the requirements without being too indulgent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Very good downtown location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the windows were double paned and new, the bars on the side streets were very loud and could be heard in the room well into the am. I didn't understand why the bars didn't close their doors and why the 2 bouncers had to yell across the street.

    The staff was very helpful, but English skills varied between staff members. The folks in breakfast bar very helpful! Thanks!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    5.4
    Spend a little more to get better....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room - I could hear all the music from the club next door. It was extremely dark even with the lights on, the bed was sunk in on one side, the garbage can in the bathroom was broken. The second room - pretty sure it had bed bugs because my right side is completely bitten, you could feel ALL the springs in the mattress, the pillows were lumpy, and the sheets had stains. The hotel staff is not the helpful. This could be a language thing but you have to ask the same question to about 3 people before you get an answer only to find out you didn't get all the information.

    I liked that my second room had a window that allowed light in. It is also visually styled well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a room on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the city. I got a room on the first floor overlooking mosquito alley with a noisy extraction pipe from the downstairs kitchen & no balcony !

    Location is excellent. The hotel seemed very safe.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    7.9
    Location location location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air condition have not work in all room, so we have to open window and welcome mosquitoes which bite me all night.

    Location location location and good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is a bit on the average side, served by grumpy and cheerless staff.

    Quiet and smoking free hotel at the heart of the city. I like the cleanliness the most + the WiFi

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel locates on the main main street. The restaurants are just next door. The breakfast is just super nice, I love the rice, the wheat, and mostly the STRAWBERRY juice!!! The staffs are extremely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay in Tunis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel locates on the main main street. The restaurants are just next door. The breakfast is just super nice, I love the rice, the wheat, and mostly the STRAWBERRY juice!!! The staffs are extremely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    Good place to stay in Tunis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The hotel locates on the main main street. The restaurants are just next door. The breakfast is just super nice, I love the rice, the wheat, and mostly the STRAWBERRY juice!!! The staffs are extremely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Will stay here again if I visit Tunis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not at all.

    The hotel locates on the main main street. The restaurants are just next door. The breakfast is just super nice, I love the rice, the wheat, and mostly the STRAWBERRY juice!!! The staffs are extremely friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    5.0
    I had a late arrival which I declared, about 8 Pm, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a late arrival which I declared, about 8 Pm, the clerk firstly insisted that my booking was cancelled due to lack of Credit card details which by the way booking didnt requst. After a short quaril in which I insisted meeting the maneger and after showing the booking confirmation, then i was admitted immediately.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.2
    I liked everything in my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from the small buzzing problem, all was really perfect.

    I liked everything in my room.. well, at night I could hear some buzz. Then in the morning, I found out there were pipes passing in a column inside the room, where the head of the bed was, hence the constant buzz. As I was only there for one night, it was OK, otherwise, I would have asked for a change of the room. The room itself was very nice and comfortable and very clean, Simply perfect. Just the buzzing sound at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel with a charecter, very good location for the Center of Tunis. Good value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The website said there was free parking but there was not at the end. Staff at breakfast could have been more friendly

    I liked the atmosphere of the hotel, decor, modern, spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    10
    The location was great everything was near .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing I did not like

    The location was great everything was near . Actually this hotel should be rated 4 star as what it offers for breakfast is amazing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.5
    NICE BUT COULD HAVE BEEN NICER
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A negative is to where to park the car in order to check in. In front of the hotel is impossible. So we parked in an alley near the hotel. Our check-in period (front desk then checking in to our room) took a few minutes. During that time, our car was towed away. Not a pleasant beginning to our Tunis visit.

    The first observation is the location; on a "Parisian" tree-lined boulevard. The hotel is also tasteful as a first impression. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    10
    hope that will be more turist back to tunis its save and i love it there and i go back in october
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    was everthing perfect was goos breakfast very good

    first of all d hotel its fantastik and if i dont find a room i dont come to tunis its in d center and the staff wanderfull +

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very good location in the city center just a few meter from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    but two single bed instead of a double bed. Staff not really helpful, no maps of the area and no help about what to do around, and we had to wait few minutes to check in.

    Very good location in the city center just a few meter from all central sightseeings, we had a balcony in our room,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel to visit both Tunis and the touristic cities of Carthage and Sidi Bou Said!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee quality was far away from our expectations and juice should be natural.

    Stand for omelette and crepes was great. Best part of the breakfast without doubts! We got a room with balcony which was a big advantage for us

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent staff. Very good location. Room key & shower tray is dodgy but works.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was disappointing. Coffee machine wasn't in perfect condition. Supervisor wasn't as friendly as the rest of staff.

    Staff were excellent and liked the attention provided particularly staff named Khalid.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay in downtown Tunis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Apprently the preciois guest in my room did not return the key, so I was without during my stay and needed someone to let me into the room each time. Minor inconvenience, otherwise everything else was fine.

    Arrived very late/early in the morning but was still greeted my courteous staff who welcomed me. The room was comfortable, location great in downtown Tunis and included breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.6
    Nice clean hotel at the centre of the tunis, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the staff don’t speak good english, dirty balkoni, not cleaned

    Nice clean hotel at the centre of the tunis, friendly staff, nice breakfast, you feel safe there

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.9
    Location is very convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi kept getting disconnected every now and then.

    Location is very convenient. Area is very lively. Breakfast has some nice variety. Overall comfortable stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.3
    Easy check in, nice food, great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Common areas are okay, but the rooms need refurbishment

    Easy check in, nice food, great location and friendly staff. Wajdi from the reception desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but the reception staff need to be more efficient at their job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed bugs Mardy staff Staff not willing to work unless they are given tips (which is extremely rude)

    Location is excellent Canteen staff are brilliant

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.2
    An excellent base to explore Tunis and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    A clean comfortable hotel in the centre of the ville nouvelle Tunis. Minutes from the train station and a 15 minute taxi from Tunis Carthage airport. Close to all shops, restaurants, cafes. Excellent staff and a good buffet breakfast. Ten minutes walk to the local train to Carthage (Roman ruins), Sidi Bou Said and Marsa.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for your money, a good place where to stay for a night or two in Tunis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view on the side street. Some noise due to undergoing works on the first floor. The restaurant was noisy too but nothing unbearable.

    Excellent location. Good value for money. Nice decoration of the room and other places. Good service and helpful staff.Excellent value for your money

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.5
    Nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No guests at room allowed at all! The breakfast situation (i.e. the scrumpled eggs) could get improved. The staff should be more helpful to get a fair prize from the stupid greedy taxi drivers waiting outside

    Nice design. Very well located. Wifi was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    6.3
    It's okay if you stay one or two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Staff could be more helpful with the annoying taxi drivers (everyone only wants the best of you - your money) -We asked for a tour at the hotel and for tunisian circumstances we had the most expensive driver, we could imagine. -Breakfast (good choice of food, but not what we like)

    -Location near train station and medina -Cleaning staff was friendly and fast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Friendly, comfortable and central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and airy and the facilities generally were excellent. It's also very centrally and conveniently located

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    It was a great stay i higly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel exceeded my expectations, the staff are really friendly, the hotel, room and bathroom were super clean, and the breakfast was great ! This hotel should be rated with 5 stars not 3

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful property, great location a esome staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested a large bed received two small beds next to each other where you have to sleep on one or you will fall in the middle. The website claims orthopedic beds, and airport shuttle services none is available. No tissues in the room, phone not working. It's the perfect hotel if you just wanna spend the night in a good priced hotel in a good location.

    Beautiful property, great location a esome staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, and nice stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it was, it didn't feel much like a 4 stars hotel. The floor of the room was not as clean as I'd like it to be and there was only a relatively small window to a shady backstreet. Nothing extremely bad, but...

    I enjoyed the breakfast and the location. The center just starts at the entrance of the hotel. The area is safe and it is plenty of shops and restaurants around. Also, I could keep the luggage there on my last day since my flight was late in the night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    Solid medium-range hotel in city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Two main hassles: 1) internet was a problem, I often had to go down to the lobby; 2) staff need to understand that guests do not stay in hotels only to sleep, wash, use the toilet and have breakfast. For example, I arrived on a Sunday with a lost bag. The staff had no idea where I could buy what I needed: I managed to to buy something for next day after walking around the city, but the hotel was totally hopeless at finding an iron so as to make my purchases wearable for an important meeting the next day. This is not rocket science and management should know how an extra 5% effort increases your chances of repeat business.

    Excellent location, slap bang in the centre. Close to cafes, restaurants and bustling city life

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.9
    Great great great and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was good, but does not offer any Tunisian dish. There were a lot of hairs left in the bathroom and a few in our bed. The receptionist did no do anything with our complain, so we asked other friendly staff to help with the bathroom.

    Best location of Tunis! A few rooms at the first floor do have awesome terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    7.5
    I only stayed for 1 night but my room’s air conditioner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I only stayed for 1 night but my room’s air conditioner was driving me crazy the sound was too frustrating and worst thing is that I forgot to tell them about..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only one iron in the entire hotel. Avoid the 1st floor,they will wake you up with all the kitchen noise.

    Amazing view on the Boulevard Bourguiba if you are lucky to get the room there. Area is amazing in the center of Tunis. Many restaurants and cafeterias all around. Staff,especially receptionist are amazingly friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    5.8
    No rest at all
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) Very Noisy 2) Bad Internet 3) Horrible room view 4) Location tough to get a cab 5) Staff did not give us the room we requested 6) Filling out a long form at a reception to check in I visited Tunis more times than I can remember, it’s a spot I visit almost twice a month for work, transits & at times leisure. This hotel is one of the few bad experiences and the only bad experience this year (2018) although it’s highly rated on Trip Advisor. Main issues were: - The room next to us had loads of kids and who were screaming all day & night in their room & in the hallway and the hotel did not stop them. - There was maintenance going from the early morning right next to our room! And they never informed us of it so we could change. When we wanted to call the reception the phone didn’t even have their dial number! So basically you have to go down yourself. - The internet connection was weak! Could not do any work or check emails, I had to rely on my 4G - We requested a room with a street view, instead we got a room with an old wall facing us! Claustrophobic people don’t take room 136! The reception informed us we either get this room for a double bed or go for a room with twin share (so my wife & I can basically sleep separately) - At the reception for checking in you usually just give a passport especially if you are a tired passenger from travel but instead we had to fill in a long form ourselves. In general we got no rest, left the hotel even more tired and dissatisfied. Unfortunately I do not recommend it at all based on my experience.

    1) Location (if you have work/visits downtown you can walk, cabs are tough to get) 2) Design (modern & artistic)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    3.8
    The location was good for walks around, but the area...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The management is not reliable, they are so bad at communications and they sent vague answers to our questions and requests and then they did different stuff. E.g. they "forgot" to send us the airport shuttle, although we were charged extra for it, and left us stuck at the airport until 2AM. Don't depend on them because they will disappoint you. We were set in a room that was twins when we asked for double, and then we were moved to another room which was double but smaller. Both rooms smelled so bad all the time because of sewage problems (The sink and the shower were flooded), and their views were horrible (which I think is a problem for all the hotel). The breakfast was so bad and poor in choices. The towels were so old that they tore when we used them, despite the fact that they turned yellow instead of white. We got the bed sheets twice with what looked like bird crap on them. Soundproofing didn't exist at all, we heard every sound in the nearby rooms and corridors, despite the fact that there was a neighbouring dog that kept barking all nights long. Add to that light leaked from the windows and the door frame, which made me lose a lot of sleep.

    The location was good for walks around, but the area wasn't clean which let a lot of cockroaches in the hotel all the time, although the hotel cleaning team were working so hard.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Porters a bit pushy with suitcases and expecting you to take their taxis when leaving. When we left their taxi was asking for 30TND and we got a taxi for 4TND to the airport so beware of using this service. Air conditioning a bit weak in out room and we were told to just leave our keycard in the slot.

    Breakfast was awesome - a bit of everything and a egg making station. Staff at check in and checkout always friendly and nice. On the main street in Tunis and a 5 minute walk from the Medina. Facilities very clean and new.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel ideally located in city center, very convenient for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom, is a bit old but still worth it for the price

    Hotel ideally located in city center, very convenient for shopping , staff are helpful with tours and taking the train to various places

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Thank you
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service in the restaurant !! Should be a manager who stands there during breakfast to insure the quality of service.

    The receptionists during my check in and check out were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    2.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms located on the road side of the hotel have a view. The rest of the rooms on the side and back have terrible views. Rooms and furniture are not on par with the room rates; small rooms and old furniture.

    Location Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    8.8
    Nice (but small) well designed and comfortable room hotel in a great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    . Room of very small size . Room doors are not sound proof - you hear basically everything outside. And if you are with someone, then you will be for sure heard outside totally. No privacy.

    . Room design and comfort

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in Tunis!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, just on Habib Bourgiba Avenue, which is the best place to stay in Tunis. Modern room, decent breakfast, overall a positive experience! Recommended

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for money in a very clean environment in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can be sometimes noisy due to children. Breakfast is so-so.

    Excellent value for money in a very clean environment in the heart of the city. Many things at a walking distance, and easy to reach transports. Nice area to go out at night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was stinking of smoking even after leaving windows open still the smell in curtains and bed covers. Our room was flooded from room next door, I informed staff and reception but no action was taken

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.9
    Very good location, clean and easy to reach it from Airport. Good staff and helpful. nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Very good location, clean and easy to reach it from Airport. good staff and helpful. nice breakfast. close to cafes and restaurants. it's at heart of city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Close proximity to the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Their card machine didn’t work so I had to pay by cash. They then didn’t have the correct change to give me back. Breakfast was a hit and miss. Stayed for 3 nights and only one day they had the crepe and omelette station working. Received 1 bottle of water in the room on day 1. It wasn’t replaced each day. Staff spoke French and Arabic but little English.

    Good location to the Medina. Great Wi-Fi. Excellent shower pressure and heat. Even with the language barrier they were friendly. It was easy to find in a Taxi from the Airport. Side note taxis are a complete rip off. A ride to the Carlton will set you back about 30 dinar even though it’s not that far. They have one fare for locals and another one for ripping off tourists.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I've reserved double Room with 7 Month old Baby for one night, we have reseved a very small room the bed was about 160 x180 för 2 Persons und there is no Baby bed, i did ask the reception about baby bed but he refused to give us a babybed he told me that the Baby is 0 yearsold and not allowed to take a bed !!!! It was my frist und last time here.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.2
    The Location was good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Carlton hotel is neither meant for a longer stay nor for business stays. I chose it mainly because of its location that is very convenient. The first room I had was very noisy ( backside of the hotel) and not very clean ( musty smell!!!). Water dropped from the AC on the floor so that the floor was wet all the time. They were not able to fix it so that I had to change the room. The staff ( especially the two ladies ) in the breakfast room are not friendly at all. Furthermore it was very noisy, no warm atmosphere and the food was modest. After 10 days in this hotel I am just tired so I won’t recommend to stay there longer than 2 nights.

    The Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    5.8
    Good location. Services below standard
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Housekeeping staff were very noisy. Bad isolation between the rooms, and between the room & the corridor. No toiletries in the bathroom (only soap and shampoo). Bad respond to our requirements. Low hygiene-related practices.

    Location. Room design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My baggage was delayed, so I had nothing at first night. I asked if I could get tooth brush, but the answer at the reception was that I should buy from the shop.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, nice hotel. Nice breakfast. Good value for the money. I would stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleaning is not top level but you can live with it. In the end I got a wrong information in the reception about the taxi service for the airport. I was told it would cost the normal price but in the end it would cost about 3 times the regular price (10 euros). I had to negotiate aggressively wich spoiled my Tunis experience (still positive though).

    Location. Free internet. Breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    Good Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet and bathroom arrangement was little disappointing. Parking was a headache at this property .The car needs to be parked at a distance at the public parking area costing around 7-10 TND for a night.

    The hotel was good but the bed is too small for 2 adults.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel - especially if you get to have a special rate. Excellent location - on the central, very French avenue Habib Bourguiba, downtown, 5 minutes walk from the Medina of Tunis and the old market,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    4.6
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very noisy . The room next to us like they are inside my room we listened all the conversation between them it’s really like you are in puplic street

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Unbeatable location, new facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't seem to be cleaning the small desk, the only shame.

    In the heart of the Habib Bourguiba surrounded by absolutely everything you need. Walking distance to both Gare de Tunis and Tunis Marine: impeccable location if you want to explore the country. Surprisingly quick laundry service. Friendly staff of course.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    4.6
    Run to another hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise inside the property due to no carpet in the floor was horrible, I could not get a proper rest and sleep well, also they switch off the AC ( to safe money of electricity invoice).

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.3
    Wouldn’t rule it out on my next visit, it was a steal
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don’t except the following; Coffee and tea drinking facilities Mini shampoo, body wash and lotion bottles. There was a shampoo/body wash combo dispenser fixture in the shower. Huge rooms, well unless you opt for a suite or something of that sorts. Tissues. Toilet paper yes, tissues no. The AC while functional, was leaking water. We had to put a rug on the spot, under the ventilation unit so it won’t get slippery. They should probably serve drinkable water at breakfast, since you can’t drink from the tap, and one complimentary bottle is not enough.

    Obviously, the location is great, right smack in the middle of Habib Bourquiba Avenue, surrounded by restaurants, cafes, and grocery stores. 20 minutes on foot from The Medina. 10 minutes away from Tunis Marine tram station, which takes you to every major touristic hotspot, for very very little. The hotel was renovated in 2014, not too long ago, so it’s very sleek, nice looking and modern. In a lot of ways the hotel ranks better than shabby 4 starred hotels that have not been renovated in a while. The breakfast spread is not bad, for a 3 starred hotel, there was a crepe station and an omelette station. Croissants, pain du chocolat, toaster, different types of bread, hot dogs, beans, cream cheese, scrambled eggs, some Tunisian delicacies, cold cuts, cereal, and vegetables. They served us fresh lemonade one time. The bed mattress was comfortable, so was the pillow. There was a mini fridge. Room on the second floor was quiet The wifi was really good. The AC was emitting cool air as desired, with no noise in the background. Black out curtains. Decent storage space for clothes and baggages. One complimentary water bottle per stay. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. No complaints in that department. Decent size mirror in the bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.8
    Not thrilled in Tunis
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I did not get the room with the balcony and view that I reserved. I got a small room with no balcony and the view of a wall. The noise from the next room and the hall was disturbing.

    The location is on the main street, which is convenient but possibly noisy. You can walk to the TGM light rail to Carthage, Sidi Bou Said, La Marsa, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    3.3
    Nightmarish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NOISE:Walls were very thin, thus noises were heard all the time. I could hear noises from phone calls to fights or sex during all evenings and nights, when I complained to reception at 3am about an infinite phone call someone from the next room was in, absolutely nothing was done. I could barely sleep well for a whole week, it got me really stressed. CREDIT CARD: The hotel didn't accept my credit card (their card machine didn't work). They wanted me to withdraw money from the atm at Sunday's evening in order to pay for the 5 nights, but I had to receive the approval from my company. They were quite rude and unpleasant to wait till Monday's afternoon while it was THEIR problem (I use the same card everywhere in the world and I've never had a problem). ROOM: linens, blanket, cushions, and towels were clean, but very very old. While these articles should be white, they were actually yellow as a result of aging. I could go on telling more about the problems I had, but I'll conclude by saying that it was a 5 night NIGHTMARE.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    7.9
    The Staff was really nice, rooms were well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms could have been a little bit cleaner.

    The Staff was really nice, rooms were well equipped. The breakfast was very good and there were lots of choices for everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    5.0
    It's a BUSINESS stay, definitely not for personal pleasure...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast and staffs in the cafeteria are terrible. No one cares about your need and it's just a FREE Breakfast, means don't expect for anything. There are long hairs on the bed, and towels in the bathroom are out of date, which is disgusting. Plus noise made me very upset. The WIFI is FREE, so WIFI signal is free to chase... very very very slow... real African style WIFI...

    FREE Breakfast? better than nothing, like a cup of orange juice, but where are the CLEAN cups?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    5.4
    Overall the stay was good. The hotel is very well situated. Just don`t take the taxi`s from outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing. The bread was old, the 1 member of staff had no direction and was clueless. Avoid taking the taxi`s from outside the hotel as they will charge you 4-5 times over the price. Best thing to do is to walk down the road and flag one down and ask the price first. Make sure they are using the meter of they tend to just make up a price.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is very well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    great location, great value~a great combination
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Like the rest of the country it does help if you have some French

    Centre of town, quiet and safe, excellent staff, rooms and a prodigious breakfast available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.7
    cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    no air conditioning. people dump waste at the back of the hotel if you open the windows its very bad smells.average breakfast.

    cleanliness...location...staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is recently renovated and has a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is recently renovated and has a very good location. The staff was friendly and helpful. Although, breakfast could have been better and wi-fi kept on dropping.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    3.3
    The room was full of dust.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was full of dust. The reception didn’t even understand English. Could now recommend any place to visit. From the room window when opened could be seen people on the streets injecting drugs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, modern rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast options were really lacking. The juice is sugar water and has no fruit in it.

    Clean, modern rooms. Fast wifi and friendly staff. Good location in central Tunis close to the train station and the medina. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    9.6
    Ideal hotel for a stopover on way to and from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    very friendly staff - like revisiting family! Excellent room, good breakfast, in a prime position on Rue Habib Bourguiba. What more could you want?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in great location should be a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Said there was a shuttle service on the elevators but had to get a taxi outside which charged 5 times more than the staff mentioned.

    Free breakfast and cleanliness and the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    akzetabel but not great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is impossible to sleep late, because the staff speaks loud in the hallways and is on the phone. several times was knocked on the door, although I did not want to be disturbed. breakfast is acceptable, if you come too late, you will be punished. at the check out no invoice received, weak communication. the mattresses are new but uncomfortable.

    the location is central and the price reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived, late at night, at the time we said we would be there, we were told that our room had been given to someone else, then told they only had one room we could have. It was small, the bed was tiny for 2 people and there was a strong smell of chemicals where there had been recent repairs to the bathroom. There was barely an apology and no attempt to reduce the price of the room for the second night or offer any good will gesture. The staff were a bit hot and miss, some were very helpful and some really uninterested. I appreciate it’s not easy being people facing every day in your work, however I think some basic care is missing in terms of the attitude of some staff at the Hotel Carlton.

    Eventually we were in the correct room ie the one we’d booked and it was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    10
    more than I expected
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    That's not about the hotel. Attention to the taxi! Ask for a device with a daily price ... otherwise pay five times the race!

    I was very pleased. For the price paid, everything was excellent. We first got a room overlooking a wall and noisy but it was changed. Very friendly staff. Excellent position. Rich breakfast, with all, including fresh orange juice. I appreciate the cleanliness, cameramen ladies very kind. They cleaned daily, changed towels daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Carlton Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: