Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Dar Dhiafa

Erriadh, 4146 Houmt Souk, Tunisia

#1 of 13 hotels in Houmt Souk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 99 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    A Lovely Place for a Short Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only wifi in one room in front of reception, and even that limited wifi doesn't work well. If it is impossible to have wifi in the rooms, due to the thick walls (I don't know if that's the case), I would recommend the property at least provide it in the pool area and the restaurant area, so not every person has to be in the same one room attempting to get work done, or do whatever it is they need to do. I understand the idea of it being charming to not be connected, but we had just been in the desert for two days without connection and we really needed to reconnect. It's 2018, and people expect wifi, and the rate of the room reflects a place that should have wifi. The one woman at the front desk that spoke some English was very friendly and helpful. I understand that most people that visit speak French, and I wish we did, but we only speak English and Spanish. But again, the woman that does speak some English is the friendliest member on staff, so we were lucky there.

    We loved the architecture of the building, and our lovely, spacious room-The Sultan. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We visited the restaurant a few times, and every time the food was delicious, and the waiter spoke English and provided great service. He was very friendly, and seemed to be there every night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful, very clean hotel in Djerba.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was okay.

    Beautiful, very clean hotel in Djerba. Wonderful pool, we spent a really nice morning tanning here. Spacious room. The hotel is in the center of Djerba in a quiet, picturesque town. Staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The staff was very discreet yet extremely attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just the TV that was too small to watch the World Cup games maybe? WiFi is quite limited as well but we did not use it much.

    The staff was very discreet yet extremely attentive. Everything that we needed they brilliantly provided. The Menzel is super quiet and authentic, the restaurant serves typical dishes. All is great quality at a very very decent price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Quiet retreat in the center of Djerbahood's streetart area and w/i walking distance of the Synagogue
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee was cold each morning. Tasted like it was made the night before :-/ Rest of the breakfast was good.

    The location is excellent, but it's easy to miss if you are in a taxi. The staff are friendly and very helpful for those of us visiting Tunisia for the first time. The food was excellent (especially the fig dessert). Prices may be a bit high, but it's an island and I missed the quality food after I left. The restaurant gets busy with outside customers and I was impressed with how well the kitchen cranked out the food. The overall spaces and rooms are lovely. I slept very well both nights of my short stay. It's also located in Djerbahood where the streetart is quite interesting and colorful. I wished I could have stayed longer. Cheers!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    The owners and staff of this property were more than...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff of this property were more than friendly and accommodating. They went above and beyond to make my stay comfortable. It was a pleasure getting to know the owners and management of this hotel. I sincerely hope I'm able to return to this hotel. Thank you so much for everything!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    An idyllic hotel, hard not to fall in love with this soulful getaway oasis. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an idyllic, authentic peaceful place in the historic center of Djerbahood - it doesn't get much better than this! The architecture of the building is amazing - one of the most well-known and admired hotels on the island by the locals. The service is phenomenal. The breakfast is plentiful. The pools are perfect to lay by on a sunny day with a book. Restaurant offers a lovely selection of seafood and local cuisine. Wifi connection by the service desk is good - does not reach rooms though. Which to us was a bonus! ;) Already dreaming of coming back...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely boutique hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you don't speak some French communication with some of the front desk staff was a bit challenging but everything got sorted out in the end.

    Lovely hotel, a little off the beaten track. Very kind to have breakfast available for those of us with an early departure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Best place to spend a night in dreaming tunisian history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu and choices are little bit limited

    Authenticity and how the place takes back in age and makes feel that you're in a place way back in history

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and authentic hotel in a nice neighborhood
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very authentic small hotel. The rooms were spacious and well designed. Two small swimming pools, a nice restaurant, and very functional lobby area. The staff was nice and friendly. The hotel location is a little bit isolated in Alreyad neighborhood, better rent a car or you can always call a taxi to go to the nearby Houmt Souk or Midun. Nevertheless, the neighborhood itself is quite interesting and with an open art museum and vibrant market. Make sure to dedicate few hours to walk around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    beautiful boutique hotel in Djerbahood neighborhood (with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is a bit isolated; 20/30 minutes to beach, where you'll want to spend a substantial amount of time. no restaurants, cafes, stores anywhere nearby as far as i could tell

    beautiful boutique hotel in Djerbahood neighborhood (with famous public art), two pools, lovely staff, incredible old restored home/compound, lovely rooms

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    A one night/stay in a boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the downside I have to mention that breakfast was advertised as included in the price.This was not the case.I was offered a coffee though,which was appreciated.

    I stayed at hotel Dar Diafa for one night prior to a trip to the South.I was welcomed at the doorstep and offered a lovely and refreshing homemade lemonade.The property is a very authentic house carefully redesigned and decorated.Every detail has been thought through.It was a very peaceful place to stay and I felt really comfortable and safe.the staff was very helpful.I also appreciated the bigger of the two pools.It was lovely.The pictures match with reality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    10
    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in!!! I can't recommend it enough!!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love if the wifi could be in the individual rooms, as well as in the lounges, but I understand that would be almost impossible, as the hotel is made up of 5 different houses joined together.

    You will never find as wonderful a hotelier as Chiara! She's warm and welcoming, interested in everything you do/see in Djerba, as well as your life elsewhere. Her staff, Yasmine and Laila, are just as lovely. The 3 of them make you feel as if you're all part of the same family. But they're not intrusive, so you never feel put upon. The hotel is beautifully designed, with tables and chairs in every nook, so you can enjoy an outdoor cup of coffee/tea, or a meal from the restaurant, with friends. The rooms are also wonderful, with the feel of the Arabian nights. It's all about attention to details. All in all, a wonderful place to stay!! I know I'll be staying there again!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    A very nice place ..friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't maching with the concept of the hotel.

    The hotel style

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Location vary far to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location vary far to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is just lovely, and the perfect place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is just lovely, and the perfect place to relax. The staff were wonderfully kind and helpful. Thank you for the happy memories!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Just love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just love it! It's a bit far from the city but it's quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Loved it... A unique and beautiful house...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beauty, taste, professionalism and discreet care. A welcoming staff and host. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The management and all staff are utterly charming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The management and all staff are utterly charming. This place is secluded, beautiful and stylish.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Beautifull
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great hotel to get some peaceful time, friendly staff, beautifully located in the amazing artistic area called Djerbahood, super clean & calm.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Over all i would recommend the place for any one want to go to djerba
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi in the room

    They are very very very welcoming loved the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Best Experience in Djerba !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the atmosphere, the welcoming staff and the rooms !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    the perfect place to stay in Djerba
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing. perfect

    rooms, staff, food, atmosphere, everything. one of the best

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel with super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent super friendly staff, amazing place, we will be back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    9.2
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice and helpful staff, beautiful rooms, the hotel restaurant is recommendable, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.6
    best hotel i have ever been
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    best hotel i have ever been

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    I loved the friendly & bohemian atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the friendly & bohemian atmosphere. The hotel contains a real artist's studio. A healthy, interesting breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, which has views over the village.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    This hotel is clearly one of my best stay so far!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel is clearly one of my best stay so far! The whole staff is very attentive, very nice and helpful, caring and funny! The hotel is breathtaking and its location is perfect, in a very beautiful village, really close to everything, really calm and authentic. Thank you !!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    10
    Need we say any more than that of possibly hundreds of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need we say any more than that of possibly hundreds of hotels we have visited during our travels to most parts of the world we chose to return to Hotel Dar Dhiafa to celebrate our 50th.wedding anniversary and we were not disappointed. Chiara is the perfect hostess and has staff to match especially the chef. Our suite had an atmosphere.that matched the ambiance of the hotel and we were treated regally.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    9.2
    Quaint and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quaint and charming!! The owner was on-site every day. She allowed us to extend our time in the room to accommodate a late day flight. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    10
    Hotel Dhiafa is beautiful with great attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel Dhiafa is beautiful with great attention to detail. The staff are so kind and helpful. The chef is great and the food delicious. Chiara is a wonderful boss and I hope to return.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything is perfect in this hotel, the decor, the rooms, the cleanliness, the food, the personnel. It is like stepping back in time, and you are in a story from a thousand and one nights. We loved the calm and the attention of the personnel to any request. The chef is top (we loved the Tunisian lamb tajine and the chaud froid de figues) and the breakfast is excellent. We absolutely loved the individual decor of the rooms, with ancient furniture typical from the region, personally selected by the owners. The attention to details is incredible and makes this little gem a magical place. We loved getting lost in the arrays of little courtyards, discovering a different room or a swimming pool at the end of the alley. Chiara and her husband are the perfect hosts and will do everything to make your stay as peaceful and perfect as possible. Higly recommended if you are looking for calm, privacy, relaxing and excellent quality/money ratio. This is the best hotel we ever stayed in and we will go back.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    The hotel is gorgeous - cool bedrooms and courtyards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could have been improved. Fresh bread and not instant coffee. An evening turn down service, clearing of the pool area and fresh towels would have been welcome

    The hotel is gorgeous - cool bedrooms and courtyards connected by passageways. Typical Djerban style converted from several houses. The staff were very helpful, particularly the owner who was very present. Dinner was excellent

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    9.2
    I loved the architecture of the room and the overall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the architecture of the room and the overall atmosphere of the hotel. It is very, very, very cozy, beautiful, and romantic. It would be perfect for a couple's getaway.The restaurant on-site is quite good. The staff was very helpful.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: