Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Fatma

1 Rue Sidi Bou Taraa, 2026 Sidi Bou Saïd, Tunisia

#8 of 11 hotels in Sidi Bou Saïd

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 B&B reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    I loved it.. I want to go back with a friend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only lack of umbrella and non availability of lunches.

    I stayed in a room with a name of Sarah. It is the only room with a sea view and it has a Jasmine tree under the window which made me smells Jasmine most of the night.. wonderful.. however the room overlook a grave yard which disturbed me at the first night then i got used to my neighbors:) staff are very warm and friendly. They made sure i have a taxi when I checked out. The facility has two dogs outside the hotel .. adorable.. I would recommend to the hotel to consider offering lunch meals in a form of traditional cooking classes. It rained on Saturday all day I was stuck at the hotel for lack of umbrellas so maybe they should consider having ones especially at not raining season when tourists are not prepared. I recommend the place for its cozy roof top with a breathtaking sea view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Wonderful view from the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife thought the bed linen not as good as it should be as a bit marked but I didn’t notice.

    Loved location and the small rooftop pool with fantastic view. The staff were helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    We had a great stay there. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in rooms is very weak

    Friendliness of staff (Aziza and Salwa) . The rooms are nice as well as the food. Location is excellent . We had a great time. I only wish the owner would answer emails . She never does

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    I enjoyed my stay there and I would definitely recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in rooms need fixing.

    The place is very nice , authentic and charming. The location is amazing and in the most beautiful side of Sidi Bousiid. The only problem was the WiFi in the rooms which was very bad. The ladies who manage the place (Aziza and Salwa) are very kind. They are running the place on their own and the owner is never there and did not answer emails .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    2.9
    Doesn’t worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They’ve put us in a room that have stairs with no banister to go to bed, and when I asked to change the room after explaining that my partner and I both have poor eye sight and could be dangerous during the night to go to the bathroom. They refused and said all the rooms are occupied, after checking on booking to book a room in this hotel it appeared that two rooms were available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    I like the decor and the panoramic view at the rooftop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is facing cemetery, some people may be scared. I found it very peaceful though especially with a sea view :P

    I like the decor and the panoramic view at the rooftop. Staff is friendly and the pancake of breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean and the staff was friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive + hard to get there .. u will like climbing a mountain after getting there .. also no signs to direct u or outside the Dar

    Clean and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Sidi Bou Saïd
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all! Visited in winter, so it was too cold to take advantage of the roof top terrace and small plunge pool.

    Lovely boutique hotel, wonderfully friendly and accommodating owner and assistant, great location and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Best place in Sidi Bou Said if you look for quite and relaxing time! Staff super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful location close to all services, restaurants, coffe bar, shops etc but location far from noise. Really relaxing time and very silent place if you want to live your journey peacefully. I loved everything it has been a great time and staff is wonderful. I will sure go back to the same hotel . Don't miss the small pool on the roof best time ever had! Thank you all for your great work! All kind and very friendly! Manuela Janoha

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    The staff was very friendly and they understood our need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was hard to get to with car... lots of stairs to get their. I liked Sidi Bou Said but if you have a companion who have arthritis sidi bou said will be very challenging for them. and one of the terrace views were overseeing an Islamic cemetery which was a bit disturbing.

    The staff was very friendly and they understood our need to change the hotel due to my mother health status without charge us for the next day stay. I loved the view from the terrace at the evening. and they offered me a nice cup of tea without extra charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent, needs a tiny tune up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the shower stops and totally cuts off for about a minute on intervals and this isn't reasonable (can easily buy a reserve tank!!). I also didn't like that I requested a sea view and balcony room and didn't get it and didn't even get an answer about that.

    Location, authenticity of the building, breakfast of course, in house staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi wasn't all places of house like was in description of hotel. It was unsteady.

    Viewpoint in roof was nice, like in the roof on Tunis. View from window also nice if you like graveyard :) Location of hotel good for people, whom enjoy walking on stairway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside the window was constant . Local people or tourists were gathering and made a noise till late at night and early in morning . Tv had only channels in German

    The staff were very friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    3.8
    Out of date and rude
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arriving, my partner checked the room and was 'challenged' when he asked if the room could be cleaned as the bed had hairs and croissant crumbs in it. The reply, "it's only a few hairs" ... Rude staff. Upon returning to check if they had cleaned it no one answered the door!!! Couldn't stay there. Hilarious!!!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.5
    Boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is too cold. I think is quite expensive for the service.

    Good location and good terrace. The staff is good, specially the boy that works at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    Never again and never recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Awful experience. I was attacked by dogs they kept in front of the resident. So awaful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    3.8
    Room design
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude They force me to pay cash Don't think is legal

    Room design

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    It’s cosy you feel like at home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s cosy you feel like at home

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.4
    The cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was racing a grave yard.. we had to carry our very heavy luggage a far distant from the taxi to the facility..

    The cleanliness..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Excellent customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing rooftop view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good. The room is nice and the owners and employees are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.2
    The toilet and swimming pool are dirty
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and swimming pool are dirty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent for vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Peeeeeerfecr
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, staff was very nice and beautiful view, Lovely room!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.9
    Fresh fruits, coffe, fresh juice, jogurth, tea
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, waste pipe smell

    Fresh fruits, coffe, fresh juice, jogurth, tea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Friend staff , beautiful architecture, clean rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friend staff , beautiful architecture, clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.8
    excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    still problems with wifi connection and TV in the rooms upstairs

    excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    3.8
    bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the site is almost inside a cemetery

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    5.0
    The bed was soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    EUR 80 in Tunisia are *a lot of money*. And we're talking about EUR 80 to sleep close to a cemetery (not visible in the pix) in a dirty town. The structure is renovated, but... The right price would be EUR38, not 80. Moreover, the woman tried to charge us the VAT in addition to the price I booked for by booking and obviously I refused to pay it.

    The bed was soft. Just this.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    8.3
    Lovely bed&breakfast in idyllic Sidi Bou Said;
    • Solo traveller

    Internet only worked in the courtyard; tea making facilities and a bath robe would have been a great extra

    Lovely bed&breakfast in idyllic Sidi Bou Said; modern, simple, handpicked interior design; tasty breakfast; fantastic rooftop; in regards to previous comments: my spacious room had sea view and it was possible to heat it via the AC

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    10
    perfect location, a piece of paradise, very clean and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi is not strong enough and not available everywhere, sat tv offers only 5 french programms

    perfect location, a piece of paradise, very clean and hygenic rooms, very friendly staff, creative and delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    8.3
    Atmospheric Dar in stunning location.
    • Couple

    Only accessible by foot and steep stairs with small flight of stairs within bedrooms.

    Atmospheric Dar in stunning location. Excellent and friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.9
    Very good location and friendly personel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit expensive for what you get. The noise of a dog all night long.

    Very good location and friendly personel. Very nice roof top terrace with a small pool.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Great location as located in the middle of the Sidi Bou Said...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi Works week, but its ok...

    Great location as located in the middle of the Sidi Bou Said, special tnx to Baheeja & Amel for their great assist & let me feel at home during stay at Dar Fatma.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Staff was nice and breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At least more than one price category should be applied to all double rooms. My room was quite tiny and located right near the patio, which, in terms of size, soundproofing and privacy, must be different from the rooms on the 1st / 2nd floor. That's somehow not fair enough.

    Staff was nice and breakfast was great. Although the (or only my) room was quite tiny and located near the patio, everything inside was clean and make us feel very comfortable. The location is at the top of Sidi Bou Said (near the lighthouse), so the view at the rooftop is fabulous (if you not care about the cemetery near it).

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    9.6
    An excellent little boutique hotel in a great location at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent little boutique hotel in a great location at the top of the hill near the old lighthouse. An amazing view from the rooftop terrace. Located within easy walking distance to both the 'old' & 'new' town.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.3
    Hotel location for Sidi Bou Said Visitors,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor hot water in bathroom during our visit in December, no wifi in the room

    Hotel location for Sidi Bou Said Visitors, Breakfast, Room view, Roof terrace, Old Tunisian house decor, Quiet, close to good restaurant and famous café

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to access if travelling with large luggage.

    Fantastic location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    Nice staff and wonderful bay view;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No restaurant inside

    Nice staff and wonderful bay view; good position and high quality room

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.2
    The bed, the terrace, the view, the breakfast, the kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so much water from the shower.

    The bed, the terrace, the view, the breakfast, the kind people working there.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Loved everything about this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved everything about this place!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    9.2
    the breakfast was really nice, for all tastes,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the breakfast was really nice, for all tastes, the room was spacious and comfy

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.6
    Every thing.
    • Couple

    Every thing.. The meditarrean, arabic style.. Blue and white. everything was clean and location is awsome.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Staff Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff Excellent Owner Excellent Great Location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Perfect Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect Location! Beautifully decorated historic building and lovely staff! I definitely come back

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    I loved the hotel interior and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked English TV channels and maybe an armchair in the room.

    I loved the hotel interior and style.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    8.8
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The location was perfect. Behija was also a kind woman who made my stay at the hotel a pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    9.6
    Decoracion, servicio, privacidad, ubicacion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decoracion, servicio, privacidad, ubicacion

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Dar Fatma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: