Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Le Monaco Hôtel & Thalasso 4 stars

Boulvard 7 Novembre, 4000 Sousse, Tunisia

#10 of 31 hotels in Sousse

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    Location was fabulous as we were right on the beach, plenty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was woeful and the breakfast was a case of ‘eat it or leave it’. Hot water was inconsistent in the room and didn’t enjoy 2 single beds joined to make a double.

    Location was fabulous as we were right on the beach, plenty of eateries nearby and next to the night spots.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    A place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seems very outdated. The lack.of electronic key cards met the person I was sharing with had to come.back at the same time as me. The WiFi is terrible and bed uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.6
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wasnt good there were no beds at the swimming pool, no entertainment for the children, the bar was awful my partner was with us and they refused to let him in as he was Tunisian I was very disappointed in my stay here if it was not for the 2 men working at reception this hotel would have got no rating at all from me. Its a shame as it could be a great hotel.

    The only thing I liked was the reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very well situated, and the beach is right out the door! My room was very comfortable, clean, the wifi worked ok, there was a lot of hot water, and the refrigerator and stove also worked well. The Medina is close and in walking distance. The staff was especially kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    I was not happy in this hotel, my reservation was for 5 nights but i left after first night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is no mini bar inside the room they are not giving daily free water bottles Hotel location is far from restaurant

    Breakfast was not good limited items cold food staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    3.8
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blankets in room and when we had to fetch the blankets ourselves they were dirty and stained. Breakfast would just about feed a mouse. Would NOT recommend staying here at all!

    The smell of the soap

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Great location, awesome room and view, bad internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some members of the staff were friendly and absolutely helpful (someone in the reception desk really "went out of his way" to help us sort out a problem), but most of the staff are not only cold, they are actually unfriendly. The building is in serious need of repairs and maintenance, there is no wifi in the third floor. We first were told the wifi "would start working tomorrow", it didn't and finally someone was honest enough to admit there are no routers on the 3rd floor and offered us to change our room to a floor with wifi (only two floors have wifi access). So we opted to connect in the lobby, it was so bothersome to change room (repack and unpack again), and our room had a super nice view we didn't want to give up. They don't change or refill shampoo or soap.

    Located in Sousse's nicest tourist hotel strip, close to la Corniche, to the main tourist attractions, in front of the beach. The rooms are big (they're actually apartments) and have both great natural light and full black out possibility in the night. Kitchenette with fridge, microwave and stove.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    The cleaning lady was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!! Poor poor poor breakfast... at 10am the team was already taking everything inside and client was still arriving. Very poor in variety. Reception full of smoking!!

    The cleaning lady was amazing. It was the only thing positive!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    2.5
    Wished I stayed bit longer in jerba and don't ever spend a minute in sousse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rude staff,never come back again and not recommended for travellers to spend their holidays and spend their money on a such rubbish accommodation.

    Nothing to like about this hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.6
    4 star is actually 2 star at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a lot of tlc. Breakfast is not good and located in a japanese restaurant that you would never have thought would be the breakfast room. Location is horrible, we struggled to find the place and it's in a really odd part of town. The bathroom is horrible, toilet seat was broken and water kept running into the bowl because the flush mechanism was broken. The shower over the bath I horrible because the shower head is in such an awkward place it causes water to splash everywhere. Linens are old andenough torn. There is no iron apparently in the whole hotel so I had to use my flat iron to iron my clothes. They ask that you leave your passport or 20 Euro at reception as a key deposit. I find that ridiculous. The list of bad can go on for much longer to be honest. I will never go back orto recommend this hotel

    Not much to like

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    I would like to return here soon
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is not perfect but good. Wi fi is slow.

    Amazing place, location is perfect, staff very friendly, perfect price with perfect services, best restaurants and shopping centers

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Room Space , position ad it were many Food Places around the...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast was poor and without many thing for Europeans in the small place and it's wasn't without 'strange' flavours.

    Room Space , position ad it were many Food Places around the residence. Very Close to the beach ( it was better cleaning maybe the sand for exhample ) with very welcome staff also at the bloowing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    The location was good, rooms were big sizes and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the breakfast restaurant was really unprofessional, never had a smile, always complained when we asked for something. We had to pay extra to get a seat on the beach, that is misleading and should be mentioned on the site.

    The location was good, rooms were big sizes and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Friendly, efficient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service only for breakfast. The beach club is not owned by the hotel.

    Had a spacious and comfortable apartment. Near the beautiful city centre and waterfront.. The staff was very welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    3.8
    I don't like the way u hve to pay fr the gyem the seim...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    I don't like the way u hve to pay fr the gyem the seim pool poor u have to lie on the top of the sand no chairs u cant use the- park is nt linked to Monaco like every thing else wasn't nice excepte the staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    great place but horrible beach.
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beach is not enjoyable at all due to some type of a rain water drainage valley pouring left over rain water into the sea through monaco's beach which causes a horrible smell and green water!!

    the place is cool and the staff are so friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    5.8
    Alaa Dawood visit to Sousse, Tunisia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Normally four stars hotels giving 2 free bottles of water plus tea & coffee items, this hotel does not give which is bad Mini bar has no items restaurants are far from the hotel i will not book again in this hotel

    The breakfast is not good, items is not enough Normally four stars hotels giving 2 free bottles of water plus tea & coffee items, this hotel does not give which is bad Mini bar has no items restaurants are far from the hotel i will not book again in this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed the stay there.the staff was excellent and I would go back to there and stay again
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent. The room was nice and clean. The WiFi and satellite was great. The view was good. Walking distance the shopping centers.we

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    5.0
    Never ever again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all, only at reception desk. Receptionist charged double amount on our credit card (explaining that our card was invalid) and then tried to double charge us in cash. In total instead of 59€ we were almost charged 236€.

    Room was spacious and breakfast was nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice people, nice location and a relaxing milieu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are rooms for improvements. There are safety boxes in reception area costs 15 TND ( approximately €4) they are opened/closed by two keys -- one stays with the receptionist and another one is with you. It goes against the idea of "safety box". It is recommended to change it to digital system. 2- It is better to change the bathroom curtain bar -- it does not hold firm and water makes the floor messy...

    Location, friendly and helpful staff and clean place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    Good location and staff , but no wifi inside the room and poor breakfast .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi inside the room as they said when booking . Wifi only available in the Reciption . And breakfast is relatively poor .

    Location and staff are good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.1
    Room, beach, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No electeiciry the last day of stay

    Room, beach, pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice and Comfortable Stay
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is No more varieties for breakfast . You have to pay extra to access the Gym and Beach Facilities

    The Suite was really big and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Close to beach and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was not up with its sun lounges

    Close to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    worth staying in Budget price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    worth staying in Budget price...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fear of terror attack

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    S
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    S

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Nice staff good hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff good hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    i booked dinner but not available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booked dinner but not available...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money got what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a little cleaner

    Friendly staff good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Poor experience overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No power nor water the 2nd day. Not very clean, service very average. Poor experience overall.

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    the receptionist guy hicham is very friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the receptionist guy hicham is very friendly and very professional, and we would definitely visit him again in the future

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    A calme and familial hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A calme and familial hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Close to everything in the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    6.3
    Access to swimming pool and beach blocked, which was a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to swimming pool and beach blocked, which was a shame.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Room, pool, hotel location
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff reactivity, wifi network

    Room, pool, hotel location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Very clean and well equipped place for a family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No parties and animation activities during night time.

    Very well equipped apart

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.0
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac ...plus no reply to service

    Need maintenance for ac and better service for room full night in this hot ac was not working we call nobody come

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.3
    i will not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1-blocked sink in the toilet !! 2-no soap ! 3-no bed covers ! 4- 72 euro for 1 night The horel deserve 1 star maximum !!

    No noise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    lovely staff and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    brakfast

    lovely staff and clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and awesome staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff and awesome staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    The location is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bed is not stable fawlling down during sleep Poor wifi

    The location is nice It's very quite

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    4.2
    Cleanness towel , not changeable at all during hotel stay ,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cleanness towel , not changeable at all during hotel stay , breakfast are very bad not fresh , with bad dishes , clean less glass and staff as well not friendly interacting .

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    10
    The hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    The hotel was great!!! All the staff were kind and helpful and speak fluent English. The rooms are clean. They also helped us to rent a car and even the director himself helped us in our car trip. This is the best hotel that you can find for that money in Tunisia! Also Sousse is a great city (believe me, we travelled cities neatby) thank you Nisrine and Sami!!! :)

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    The hotel had everything I needed and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hot water takes a while to get hot but it's great once it does 😊

    The hotel had everything I needed and very comfortable. The staff were so lovely and nothing was too much trouble . Excellent value for money. Cleaned every day . Great location right on the beach . Yes I go back again 😊

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.1
    Apartment was huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness a bit hit and miss , got better once I gave a decent tip but had to ring down for towels a number of times. Bedding was'nt big enough for bed which was huge so sheets kept coming off in the night.

    Apartment was huge. Great views. Breakfast OK. Good choice of restaurants in the hotel complex so didnt have to go far for a cheap decent meal. Staff friendly and helpful once you got to know them particularly the night time reception guy and the waiter at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    5.0
    I liked the room thats all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilitys we couldnt use so it was lucky the hotel was right on the beach the bar is really small not much of a social venue for a big hotel the inside pool was out of use and also the other facilitys they advertized u couldnt use so i wouldnt go bck to this hotel

    I liked the room thats all

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    2.9
    noting,,,,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    employees has so rude,hotel has no maintenance,room has old and not clean all,towel and blanket is smells,, omg bad experience,,,never recommend this hotel,,,every night drunk people scream and making nose,,there is no law this hotel

    noting,,,,

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    2.5
    very dirty, staff for bed in blood and hear, room fool of...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    very dirty, staff for bed in blood and hear, room fool of dust, in restaurant dishes were dirty ... i never see something like this in my life!!! never go to this hotel, talasso-therapy they dont have.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    3.8
    There was a nice comfortable bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not as friendly and welcoming as other hotels we've stayed at. We booked and paid for a suite with a double bed. When we checked in, we were given a room with two single beds. At our request this was changed. The room was not clean to an acceptable standard - the rugs look as though they've not been cleaned since they were purchased ! The bedding had stains and there was no duvet cover - we had to request a bed sheet ! The breakfast was appalling - stale croissants and cold tea/coffee. We didn't go back after the first day ! The warm indoor pool and spa facilities were closed during our 10 day stay which was a real shame. We paid £34 per night for our stay and what we paid matched what we got. I wouldn't stay here again and if you like a nice, clean, warm room - I wouldn't recommend you stay here either !

    There was a nice comfortable bath.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    5.0
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I Fouad pepole paying 25% of the amount I paid for the same room

    Location only

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is undef maintancd which makes it look so not professional. Beds are not comfortable and not that clean.

    Location. Big room

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly staff and excellent location

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    2.9
    Zero
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    MY VIEWS AS ABOVE . VERY BAD HOTEL

    Zero

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    3.8
    No thank.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No thank, just give you this not.

    No thank. Just give you this not.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    7.5
    Good value stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value stay

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Le Monaco Hôtel & Thalasso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: