Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gordion Hotel - Special Class

Tunali Hilmi Caddesi Buklum Sokak No:59, 06660 Ankara, Turkey

#58 of 173 hotels in Ankara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 222 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mini bar was off, the tv only worked when the lights were on, no rooftop bar/terrace available, old smell in the room, horrid breakfast and door key had to be renewed everyday to be able to enter the room

    Hotel in a great and central location. The bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (i) WiFi speed was almost zero. It was not even good for checking emails (ii) The room was too small. (iii) Bed was uncomfortable. (iv) The hotel was too noisy especially at nights with their wedding and other gathering services. Their music was so loud that it was like being played in the room! There are many good hotels nearby. We were kind of mislead by the other reviews when booking this hotel, probably posted by the hotel itself!

    The only plus with the hotel is the location if you'd like to go shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as clean as I expect. For ins service room did not use the vacum to cleaning the room floor. It was hard to take a shower because the sump was blocked and let the water and foams went hardly. At lost I paid a different price as it says on booking.com because the hotel manager said that the rate of the dollar has been changed and you must pay more...

    The location was great and there were a lots of cafe , resturant , pub around the hotel. Also there was an exchange behind the Gordion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door key never worked and we were forced to activate it in the hotel reception every time we got back after beeing out. Loud music playing in the500 building one floor up which almost made the walls shake until 12 a clock in the night.

    There were nice big beds. Large spaced and comfortable toilet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk was polite and tried to be helpful but despite the repeated request for a hygienic kit, I did not receive it at all. The room was dirty, dusty with hairs on the floor. At night from the corridor there was a noise caused by the service. Breakfast is local catastrophe, reluctant staff, lack of cups, maximum diluted juice, tragic taste of instant coffee

    The hotel is in a neighborhood full of restaurants and bars

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central heating was not well adjusted and the hotel was too hot, in every corner; rooms, restaurants...

    The location of the hotel is great; close to many restaurants and shops and night life. The hotel serves a decent breakfast. There is a parking lot just across but expensive, use the valet service from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After my plans changed forcing me to leave a night early, Booking.com forced me to pay or the 4th night anyway, even with several days notice.

    Great Turkish Breakfast. Rooms are very nicely appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee! Instant coffee is never as tasty as the real thing.

    All of the staff were great--helpful and courteous. Loved the building's architecture, especially the lobby where that was inviting when we met friends; nice outside tables. Breakfast was very good. I look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and gym were closed. The old city was a bit far from this hotel. A new WiFi password was needed every day from reception.

    Large room with stylish furniture and nice bathroom. Close to restaurants and bars. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small. Not the same on the photos. And I arrived In the same day and I left after 3 hours because it was extremely noisy and are not friendly to change the room. It was a weeding party and they never care about the other costumer. They took my money without staying even a day. Worse place I ever booked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no tea or coffee in my room I always travel with sachets so not a big problem, the cups were to small and there was no bottle opener in the room and no plug in the bath, I'm sure I would have got these things if I asked but I would like for them to be there without me asking.

    the bed was very comfortable, I don't normally have the air conditioning on but it was set at the correct temp for me so perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was helpful when we asked direct questions, but was not overly friendly. A bit far from the sites we wanted to see, so it tended to take longer for us to get places (though cabs are pretty cheap if you want to get places faster).

    Great breakfast, facilities are clean and very welcoming. Close to lots of great restaurants in the Tunali Himli area, and Kugulu Park. Easy walk to Kizilay, where you can catch the metro to many parts of the city.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast . Room size.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Treatment of employees The hotel does not commit to per-booking online And take an extra amount

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dislikes.

    Very comfortable and clean. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction early morning at weekend.

    Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dirty fridge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im all satisfied with conditions in this hotel, didn’t expect such perfect service in turkey. Clean rooms, beautiful design, affable personnel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A conditioner not working. No entertainment. Communication skill of front office

    Clean. Value for money . Location. Quite good hotel for the price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool construction

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i thought I ask transfer from airport to the hotel but no one came.to take me.

    staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    very good location, room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Nice, comfortable and convenient hotel, ideally located near restaurants and bars

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Carpet

    Position

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi

    Ok breakfast,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but the vegetables were not fresh.

    Comfy for a 1 or 2 night stay.At the middle of the city.Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed does not see much, obscured view by other apartment.

    It's a very good for value hotel , highly recommended. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have been better.

    Location was great, Nice decoration & staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was elegantly furnished and its decor gave it a special character. Breakfast was excellent with wide variety on offer.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little old hotel. Breakfast may be better. Especially filter coffee shall be better.

    Nearly all.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've been very disappointed staying here. Certainly the WORST experience in my entire life. The Hotel was very noisy until 2 a.m. due to a private party, and the night receptionist was extremely rude in responding my complaint. This is the last time I stay here. The personnel were used to be polite and helpful in the past.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was a bit disappointed. First one of the reason i choose this hotel was the pool (it was close) and i choose combine work and travel but the internet connection was really bad. Bathroom was a bit old too.

    The hotel is charming. I love the furniture and the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dreadfully weak internet connection, no matter the time of day. Housekeeper did not replenish toiletries. Only Turkish-language stations on the television.

    The hotel has a very elegant, old Ottoman style of decor. Textiles and fittings are lovely and tasteful. If you are a traveler who seeks sleek modernity, this isn't your type of place. Breakfast room is pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great. Staff is always willing to help. Wonderful breakfast in the morning. Staying in Gordion hotel is always the highlight of my trip to Ankara.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pool was not working. breakfast could be better. safe in my room was not working, they promised to fixed it but they didn't'.

    Location is perfect. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My Turkish is non-existent, will have to brush up. Staff do well with English, though not all of the speak with high proficiency.

    Staff members are exceptional. It's classy hotel and staff. Small but the service surpasses that of any major hotel chain in the states. Personnel are reminiscent of classic European grand hotels. Breakfast is a service ction of local fruits, vegetables, and breads. Eggs are available. Simply put, anything is available upon request. The location is the best. You can walk to major shopping outlets, local shops and retail stores a few steps from the front door. The property is in reasonable walking distance of the embassies as well. Hve dinner on the streetside terrace or walk until you find your hearts content, as restaurants are numerous in this neighborhood. Price was of exceptional value. I reserved via booking.com, €540.14 total. This included 8 nights stay and clearing the mini bar of all candy and snacks at check out. Also a fanta and coke for our cab ride to the airport. Cab rides are expensive. Hire a car, its cheaper. I have no feedback about shuttle service. The management team was outstanding as well. True professionals under pressure, will gladly take time to explain the bill is in Turkish Lira, not Euro. Lol! True story. I will gladly stay again when in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very conveniently located with many restaurants, cafes, shops, rent a car offices and banks nearby. Comfortable, very cosy and clean rooms. You won't wake up at 4 o'clock in the morning from cries muezzins. The district is rather secular and european-like.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi almost didn't work. I Mean it worked generally, but there was a problem to connect to it. Laptop failed to connect, with the 10-min help of receptionist we managed to connect via phone, but next day the same problem occured and I had to use my 3G modem. It was very inconvenient.

    Situated near 2 good shopping and a restaraunt streets in a secular district of the city, so even going alone at night I felt safe. The room was very good as well. Generally comfortable. Suitable if you first time in Ankara, as not far from the center.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and did not use the wi-fi. So I don't have any opinion about these categories.

    The location is perfect. Lively neighborhood of Kavaklıdere, pubs and restaurants everywhere. The room is nice and quiet and spacious enough. The bed was comfortable. There is a free parking place for the guests who arrive by car.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very convenient, walking distance to restaurants, car rental, etc. Staff were helpful and entire experience was what we needed for an overnight in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast far below expectation, e.g. just Nescafe in hot water that itself smelled/tasted like tea...in a country with a great coffee tradition.

    Good Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only tv channels in turkish. Breakfast improved since last year but still relative poor.

    Fine decoration in the lobby and the rooms. Large rooms, comfortable bed, economic mini bar. Very close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to get to by car due to all of the one way streets. Also additional time is needed due to traffic in the area. Allow an extra 15-20 minutes for this in evenings and mornings if traveling out of the downtown area. Room was clean in general, but detailed cleaning is missing with dust build up in corners of carpets,

    Place is very nicely located near all of the restaurants shops and bars in the area. Staff was very nice and helpful, and decor ; breakfast and room amenities were nice. The DVD player and selection of movies available as well as a reasonable mini bar cost are nice touches as well.One of the nicer hotels of the dozen or so stayed at over the years in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They showed lost of pictures of their indoor pool, booking.com also had lots of picture of indoor pool, which was closed without any reason. They did not had any answer or it, I think we wasted our money on this hotel.

    Only reason for booking this hotel was their indoor pool, which was closed for winter without any reason and that information was not on their or booking.com web site. My kids were very disappointed and very sad about that.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Mad energy saving lighting system in the bedroom corridors that only gives you 10- 20 seconds of light. Very female unfriendly and threatening. Breakfast service poor

    Front desk staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    water brackish for 1 day - no apology, staff not helpful; no heat control & I was told to open the window ... washroom not cleaned - hairs in tub, fingerprints on mirrors; phone broken; breakfast poor warmed over food; a basic place to stay but why when there is a Ramada next door or better cheaper places nearby; was totally amazed that a hotel so unresponsive was included on this web site; if this is booking/com quality ... i'll use another site

    location; AVOID this

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Even i swtched off the heating system in the room, it was too hot for two nights in a row.

    Great decoration and furniture in the lobby and the room. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect, hotel is professional.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is average and could've been much better

    Very nice hotel in a trendy area. I strongly recommend !

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, helpful staff. Relaxing hotel just minutes from Ankara's busiest shopping street.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    size of the room

    location, people, decoration

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Need Kleenex in bathroom

    Close proximity to restaurants Good breakfast buffet Excellent front desk staff

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was so dusty because of the carpet. Bath tube needs a renovation.

    Location. Design & decoratioın of room and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi access did not work in room which can be a hassle for business travelers

    Beautiful hotel- good location

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The gym.

    Location. Breakfast. Large room. Service. Hotel Interior. Prices.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Small curtains: they can't cover the window. Breakfast could be improved. Poor wifi connection

    Free parking, quite big room

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great decoration, awesome atmosphere in the middle of the city.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The pool and spa didn't work

    It's near the down town...and everythings else was nice

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    WONDERFUL HOTEL.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms require a tea service!!!

    The staff were extremely helpful - breakfast was good!

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Receptionists seemed losted

    Historic connection

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    WiFi speed and anten ;Breck fast is not perfect

    Price when it have promotion !

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen is very very bad

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak wireless! Simple breakfast

    It was clean

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Couple

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Slow service at check in and check out.

    The lobby was comfortable and our work team could meet and enjoy a drink and food at the end of the day.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Browse Gordion Hotel - Special Class traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: