Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Gordion Hotel - Special Class

Tunali Hilmi Caddesi Buklum Sokak No:59, 06660 Ankara, Turkey

#58 of 173 hotels in Ankara

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no possibility to use a computer in the hotel. My cell phone was not working properly, and I had to go to another hotel to be able to use internet.

    The location is excellent, close to a lively part of town with many restaurants, cafes and shops. The room was spacious and quiet, everything worked and it was clean. All in all, for this rate, it is a very good deal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.0
    Outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mini bar was off, the tv only worked when the lights were on, no rooftop bar/terrace available, old smell in the room, horrid breakfast and door key had to be renewed everyday to be able to enter the room

    Hotel in a great and central location. The bed was big and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    3.8
    Avoid this hotel!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    (i) WiFi speed was almost zero. It was not even good for checking emails (ii) The room was too small. (iii) Bed was uncomfortable. (iv) The hotel was too noisy especially at nights with their wedding and other gathering services. Their music was so loud that it was like being played in the room! There are many good hotels nearby. We were kind of mislead by the other reviews when booking this hotel, probably posted by the hotel itself!

    The only plus with the hotel is the location if you'd like to go shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.7
    It was good at all but did not met my expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was not as clean as I expect. For ins service room did not use the vacum to cleaning the room floor. It was hard to take a shower because the sump was blocked and let the water and foams went hardly. At lost I paid a different price as it says on booking.com because the hotel manager said that the rate of the dollar has been changed and you must pay more...

    The location was great and there were a lots of cafe , resturant , pub around the hotel. Also there was an exchange behind the Gordion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.1
    A decent staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door key never worked and we were forced to activate it in the hotel reception every time we got back after beeing out. Loud music playing in the500 building one floor up which almost made the walls shake until 12 a clock in the night.

    There were nice big beds. Large spaced and comfortable toilet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    4.2
    I would not recommend this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the front desk was polite and tried to be helpful but despite the repeated request for a hygienic kit, I did not receive it at all. The room was dirty, dusty with hairs on the floor. At night from the corridor there was a noise caused by the service. Breakfast is local catastrophe, reluctant staff, lack of cups, maximum diluted juice, tragic taste of instant coffee

    The hotel is in a neighborhood full of restaurants and bars

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    7.9
    In the heart of the downtown Ankara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The central heating was not well adjusted and the hotel was too hot, in every corner; rooms, restaurants...

    The location of the hotel is great; close to many restaurants and shops and night life. The hotel serves a decent breakfast. There is a parking lot just across but expensive, use the valet service from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    7.5
    excellent except for my interaction with booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After my plans changed forcing me to leave a night early, Booking.com forced me to pay or the 4th night anyway, even with several days notice.

    Great Turkish Breakfast. Rooms are very nicely appointed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    10
    A wonderful small to mid-sized hotel with a very courteous and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee! Instant coffee is never as tasty as the real thing.

    All of the staff were great--helpful and courteous. Loved the building's architecture, especially the lobby where that was inviting when we met friends; nice outside tables. Breakfast was very good. I look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    8.8
    Very classy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool and gym were closed. The old city was a bit far from this hotel. A new WiFi password was needed every day from reception.

    Large room with stylish furniture and nice bathroom. Close to restaurants and bars. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    2.5
    The room is very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very small. Not the same on the photos. And I arrived In the same day and I left after 3 hours because it was extremely noisy and are not friendly to change the room. It was a weeding party and they never care about the other costumer. They took my money without staying even a day. Worse place I ever booked.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    8.8
    the bed was very comfortable, I don't normally have the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no tea or coffee in my room I always travel with sachets so not a big problem, the cups were to small and there was no bottle opener in the room and no plug in the bath, I'm sure I would have got these things if I asked but I would like for them to be there without me asking.

    the bed was very comfortable, I don't normally have the air conditioning on but it was set at the correct temp for me so perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast . Room size.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    2.9
    Very bad and uncommitted hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Treatment of employees The hotel does not commit to per-booking online And take an extra amount

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and friendy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No dislikes.

    Very comfortable and clean. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    7.1
    Staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Under construction early morning at weekend.

    Staff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    7.5
    leiwand
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    dirty fridge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    10
    Im all satisfied with conditions in this hotel, didn’t...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Im all satisfied with conditions in this hotel, didn’t expect such perfect service in turkey. Clean rooms, beautiful design, affable personnel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    7.1
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A conditioner not working. No entertainment. Communication skill of front office

    Clean. Value for money . Location. Quite good hotel for the price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool construction

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    9.2
    it was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i thought I ask transfer from airport to the hotel but no one came.to take me.

    staff was friendly and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    9.6
    excelent location, good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    very good location, room, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2017

    10
    enjoyed my stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Nice, comfortable and convenient hotel, ideally located near restaurants and bars

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2017

    6.7
    Good traditional Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast Carpet

    Position

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    6.3
    Ok breakfast,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad wifi

    Ok breakfast,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    8.8
    Comfy for a 1 or 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good but the vegetables were not fresh.

    Comfy for a 1 or 2 night stay.At the middle of the city.Nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2016

    9.2
    It's a very good for value hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I stayed does not see much, obscured view by other apartment.

    It's a very good for value hotel , highly recommended. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    9.2
    Location was great, Nice decoration & staff
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast could have been better.

    Location was great, Nice decoration & staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    5.8
    I've been very disappointed staying here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I've been very disappointed staying here. Certainly the WORST experience in my entire life. The Hotel was very noisy until 2 a.m. due to a private party, and the night receptionist was extremely rude in responding my complaint. This is the last time I stay here. The personnel were used to be polite and helpful in the past.

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I was a bit disappointed. First one of the reason i choose this hotel was the pool (it was close) and i choose combine work and travel but the internet connection was really bad. Bathroom was a bit old too.

    The hotel is charming. I love the furniture and the atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2015

    7.5
    The hotel has a very elegant, old Ottoman style of decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Dreadfully weak internet connection, no matter the time of day. Housekeeper did not replenish toiletries. Only Turkish-language stations on the television.

    The hotel has a very elegant, old Ottoman style of decor. Textiles and fittings are lovely and tasteful. If you are a traveler who seeks sleek modernity, this isn't your type of place. Breakfast room is pleasant.

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2015

    10
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great. Staff is always willing to help. Wonderful breakfast in the morning. Staying in Gordion hotel is always the highlight of my trip to Ankara.

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2015

    8.3
    Location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Pool was not working. breakfast could be better. safe in my room was not working, they promised to fixed it but they didn't'.

    Location is perfect. Value for money.

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2015

    10
    Staff members are exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My Turkish is non-existent, will have to brush up. Staff do well with English, though not all of the speak with high proficiency.

    Staff members are exceptional. It's classy hotel and staff. Small but the service surpasses that of any major hotel chain in the states. Personnel are reminiscent of classic European grand hotels. Breakfast is a service ction of local fruits, vegetables, and breads. Eggs are available. Simply put, anything is available upon request. The location is the best. You can walk to major shopping outlets, local shops and retail stores a few steps from the front door. The property is in reasonable walking distance of the embassies as well. Hve dinner on the streetside terrace or walk until you find your hearts content, as restaurants are numerous in this neighborhood. Price was of exceptional value. I reserved via booking.com, €540.14 total. This included 8 nights stay and clearing the mini bar of all candy and snacks at check out. Also a fanta and coke for our cab ride to the airport. Cab rides are expensive. Hire a car, its cheaper. I have no feedback about shuttle service. The management team was outstanding as well. True professionals under pressure, will gladly take time to explain the bill is in Turkish Lira, not Euro. Lol! True story. I will gladly stay again when in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is very conveniently located with many restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very conveniently located with many restaurants, cafes, shops, rent a car offices and banks nearby. Comfortable, very cosy and clean rooms. You won't wake up at 4 o'clock in the morning from cries muezzins. The district is rather secular and european-like.

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    8.8
    Situated near 2 good shopping and a restaraunt streets in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wi-fi almost didn't work. I Mean it worked generally, but there was a problem to connect to it. Laptop failed to connect, with the 10-min help of receptionist we managed to connect via phone, but next day the same problem occured and I had to use my 3G modem. It was very inconvenient.

    Situated near 2 good shopping and a restaraunt streets in a secular district of the city, so even going alone at night I felt safe. The room was very good as well. Generally comfortable. Suitable if you first time in Ankara, as not far from the center.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    7.5
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and did not use the wi-fi. So I don't have any opinion about these categories.

    The location is perfect. Lively neighborhood of Kavaklıdere, pubs and restaurants everywhere. The room is nice and quiet and spacious enough. The bed was comfortable. There is a free parking place for the guests who arrive by car.

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2015

    10
    Hotel was very convenient, walking distance to restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel was very convenient, walking distance to restaurants, car rental, etc. Staff were helpful and entire experience was what we needed for an overnight in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2015

    7.1
    Good Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast far below expectation, e.g. just Nescafe in hot water that itself smelled/tasted like tea...in a country with a great coffee tradition.

    Good Hotel.

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2015

    9.2
    Fine decoration in the lobby and the rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Only tv channels in turkish. Breakfast improved since last year but still relative poor.

    Fine decoration in the lobby and the rooms. Large rooms, comfortable bed, economic mini bar. Very close to the city center.

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2015

    8.8
    Place is very nicely located near all of the restaurants...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to get to by car due to all of the one way streets. Also additional time is needed due to traffic in the area. Allow an extra 15-20 minutes for this in evenings and mornings if traveling out of the downtown area. Room was clean in general, but detailed cleaning is missing with dust build up in corners of carpets,

    Place is very nicely located near all of the restaurants shops and bars in the area. Staff was very nice and helpful, and decor ; breakfast and room amenities were nice. The DVD player and selection of movies available as well as a reasonable mini bar cost are nice touches as well.One of the nicer hotels of the dozen or so stayed at over the years in Ankara.

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2015

    5.4
    Only reason for booking this hotel was their indoor pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They showed lost of pictures of their indoor pool, booking.com also had lots of picture of indoor pool, which was closed without any reason. They did not had any answer or it, I think we wasted our money on this hotel.

    Only reason for booking this hotel was their indoor pool, which was closed for winter without any reason and that information was not on their or booking.com web site. My kids were very disappointed and very sad about that.

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2015

    6.7
    Front desk staff helpful
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Mad energy saving lighting system in the bedroom corridors that only gives you 10- 20 seconds of light. Very female unfriendly and threatening. Breakfast service poor

    Front desk staff helpful

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2015

    4.2
    location;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    water brackish for 1 day - no apology, staff not helpful; no heat control & I was told to open the window ... washroom not cleaned - hairs in tub, fingerprints on mirrors; phone broken; breakfast poor warmed over food; a basic place to stay but why when there is a Ramada next door or better cheaper places nearby; was totally amazed that a hotel so unresponsive was included on this web site; if this is booking/com quality ... i'll use another site

    location; AVOID this

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2015

    9.6
    Great decoration and furniture in the lobby and the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Even i swtched off the heating system in the room, it was too hot for two nights in a row.

    Great decoration and furniture in the lobby and the room. Very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.6
    Location is perfect, hotel is professional.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect, hotel is professional.

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    7.1
    Very nice hotel in a trendy area.
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is average and could've been much better

    Very nice hotel in a trendy area. I strongly recommend !

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, helpful staff. Relaxing hotel just minutes from Ankara's busiest shopping street.

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    9.2
    location, people, decoration
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    size of the room

    location, people, decoration

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2016

    10
    Close proximity to restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Need Kleenex in bathroom

    Close proximity to restaurants Good breakfast buffet Excellent front desk staff

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was so dusty because of the carpet. Bath tube needs a renovation.

    Location. Design & decoratioın of room and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2016

    10
    Beautiful hotel- good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi access did not work in room which can be a hassle for business travelers

    Beautiful hotel- good location

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    10
    Location.
    • Solo traveler

    The gym.

    Location. Breakfast. Large room. Service. Hotel Interior. Prices.

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2015

    7.5
    Free parking, quite big room
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Small curtains: they can't cover the window. Breakfast could be improved. Poor wifi connection

    Free parking, quite big room

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2015

    10
    Great decoration, awesome atmosphere in the middle of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great decoration, awesome atmosphere in the middle of the city.

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    9.6
    It's near the down town.
    • Solo traveler

    The pool and spa didn't work

    It's near the down town...and everythings else was nice

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2015

    10
    WONDERFUL HOTEL.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    N/A

    WONDERFUL HOTEL.

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    5.0
    The staff were extremely helpful - breakfast was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms require a tea service!!!

    The staff were extremely helpful - breakfast was good!

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    8.8
    Historic connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Receptionists seemed losted

    Historic connection

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2015

    7.9
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Great location

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    8.3
    Price when it have promotion !
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    WiFi speed and anten ;Breck fast is not perfect

    Price when it have promotion !

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2015

    7.9
    Kitchen is very very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen is very very bad

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2015

    6.7
    It was clean
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Very weak wireless! Simple breakfast

    It was clean

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2015

    7.5
    Location is good
    • Couple

    Location is good

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    9.6
    The lobby was comfortable and our work team could meet and...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Slow service at check in and check out.

    The lobby was comfortable and our work team could meet and enjoy a drink and food at the end of the day.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: