Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arena Hotel - Special Class

Sehit Mehmet Pasa Yokusu Ucler Hamam Sok. No:13-15 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#711 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 360 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like how open the balcony room was from windows outside. Also the AC control setting was confusing and worst, facing straight at you sleeping. I didn't like how they said they upgraded us and gave an older style room whilst we requested new style. Though it isn't too far - the cobbled street makes it difficult to go with a buggy.

    I liked the hospitality of the staff and varying rooms they have - old style and new. Staff provided with adapter and arranged taxi etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet and our safe box had problem, but it was fixed by staff immediately. there is an issue for noses coming from outside of hotel that I think it is normal for all hotels in Istanbul. You need to have ear plug if you want to sleep well. If you need room with balcony you need to ask before that they prepare it. There was no option for this when booking and we did not know we need to ask for it.

    breakfast specially turkish coffee and tea, helpful and friendly staff, there is a taxi service by reception that it is very helpful. If you have any issue they will fix immediately. Welcoming attitude and fluent English of staff. Good location and busy area that you can walk to see plenty historical places and walk back home without any issue.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and very helpful and accommodating. Greeting us with Turkish tea and Turkish delight. Great choice of food, spacious room with a bath!!! All for £13.50 a night!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-fi connection is very bad in the room - needs to be improved. People smoke in the terrace where breakfast is served - it is unbearable for those who do not smoke.

    Hotel location is great - it is just in a 5-minute walking distance from the Blue Mosque and tram stop. A good choice of food for breakfast. Room was nice and clean, but not exactly what I expected looking at the pictures posted on booking.com.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation was very comfortable. The location was good, very close to the Blue Mosque complex, although it was initially difficult to find. The hotel offered good breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the breakfast but I don’t normally eat that early So it didn’t impact my trip.

    Ulas and sukran were amazing. Their attention to detail during my stay was faultless. Ulas went far beyond what you would expect from a manager and helped me put my sightseeing in order. It was like staying with friends which after a long trip was truly relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    We loved the warmth and friendliness of the staff, cleanliness and comfort of our family room, bedding, towels, toiletries and great location to a lot of sightseeing spots. The breakfast, pastries and especially different kinds of breads were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is So much Different from the Foto... The Hotel is situated in the middle of a hill... In an Alley and surrounded with building ... Going to the Room You must go down with Lift, walk the corridor and again You must take another Lift... Breakfast is Horrible... Booking an Excursion from the same Receptionist for 70 Euros each Person, 5 Places all nearby to the Hotel, and only walking... And more, waking Me up at 9.00... Which I could easily done It by Myself at My chosen time... Unbelievable...!!! But they were Good enough to return all the money...

    The Staff is So Helpful... Queen Suite is the One You must choose... Nice and Cozy... Booking an Excursion by Boat from the Reception was all worth it...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel as a surprise holiday for my parents and siblings- they came back saying they loved it! Staff were super friendly and helpful! Thanks!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    where the hotel was situated on a very steep cobbled street not very good who have difficulty walking like my partner and myself.

    the staff and facillities were very good and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was poorly cleaned and very noisy. i could not sleep during my whole trip as it was poorly designed and the room was in basement and please do not be fool with hotel photos as these photos are not related to this hotel but for the nearby attractions.

    Location and one member of staff called Aziz

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was tricky

    The entire staff were adorable.Buffet breakfast was ample and enjoyable. Felt like home. Sukran the manager and Ulas the front desk manager were simply adorable. See

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in the most popular tourist place of Sultanahmet. This is one of my favorite accommodation options: a small cozy family hotel. The first time to find it is not easy in the labyrinths of narrow cobbled streets. Upon arrival in Turkey, stayed in the Imperial Suite. A spacious, comfortable room ... but no more. The declared wine / champagne and chocolate were absent. There is even a microscopic balcony. On the way back my trip again booked here, but already an ordinary room. The price is lower by 15 euros and the difference is palpable: modestly, closely ... but clean. The beds are comfortable. Breakfasts are surprisingly very decent and varied. The rooms have a standard set: shampoo-conditioner-gel. Working powerful hair dryer (compared to what was applied in 5 stars Kusadas this wins 100%). Attentive and caring staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was extremely nice and helpful - specially Ulash in the front desk (i have no idea how to write his name). The location of this hotel is just perfect, it is the best choice if yo´re visiting Istambul.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff who did not even assisted us to warm the milk for 2 days

    Everything was great except the attitude of one of the youngest staff in the hotel we requested hot milk to drink our coffee and he said , it's like this with arrogance, we reported the issue to the other staff and they said that's unacceptable, the other staff were professionals . We like the location the calm the cleanliness and the breakfast but unfortunately we have to have our breakfast with cold coffee , because the staff refused to help heat the milk . It was the first time as a world traveler I had cold coffee in breakfast, and for me breakfast is not a breakfast without warm coffee .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were friendly and cooperative. Our only complaint was the iron. There was no iron and we had to daily ring reception for an iron. Seemed as thought there was a shortage of irons because the iron would be taken and the. Brought back on request. Also it was a very poor quality iron. They could provide a good basic steam iron for every room.

    Staff was very friendly and catered to our every need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the room was very bad water was falling from the ceiling the refrigerator and the TV were not working and the worst thing that the manager told me you are getting what you paid for really she was very rude but after that i had other room from a kind front desk he offered to change the room next day it was better but it was under the street where i was hearing every car passing by my room window at night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The breakfast can maybe be improved on a bit.

    Very central close to blue mosque. Rooms in new wing was refurbished. Very nice decor and everything comfortable and spotless. Quiet area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very poor. Would not connect a wifi call. But ok for messaging and email

    The best thing about this hotel are the staff. They are so friendly and informative

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service (cleaning) - the only thing that was done were the beds and towels were changed. No vacuum/floor cleaning.

    Amazing atmosphere and hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Traffic noise was inside room. Limited breakfast items, kids not went for breakfast after the first day. down the hill location. It was family connecting room, fit for 4 adults and 2 kids. we were 4 adults and 1 kids but they charged extra for 1 kids.

    Comfortable bed space in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    would be nice to have more shelves in a wardrobe the restaurant is a bit small to accommodate everybody at breakfast time

    =staff is really friendly and helpful. =rooms are fully renovated and clean (queen suite), and the building itself is fully renovated and has two lifts, but at the same time still keeps the spirits of an ancient mansion it used to be. =exceptionally white fresh towels and bed linen. = nearest kinder playground - Kadirga Parki (ask a receptionist for directions) - only 200m away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom big shower wasn't working, but it wasn't a big deal overall.

    Great location and amazing service. Walking distance to all the main sites that we wanted to visit in Istanbul. The reception was great, explaining best way to get to all the sites, advice and prices, very knowledgeable. Breakfast had vast variety. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is close to the main sights (only one station to Sultanahmet) of the city. In addition, it is located in quiet neighborhood and there are a lot of supermarkets and restaurants nearby. The interior and friendly staff of the hotel makes you feel like home. It was pleasant to stay there. Thank you for your hospitality and attention.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were not as clean as they should be! The breakfast does not contain much varieties.

    The place is nice overall. Nice furniture and good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really bad: it was just under roof and really uncomfortable. The shower sometimes didn't have hot water and very weak.

    The location was just perfect with view on Bosfor and 5 minutes from Blue Moscue and Sofia. The staff was friendly and helpful, helped to get luggage to the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not receive any complementary plate of olive oil dishes or coffee and cookies as is stated on the website. When we booked we booked for the restaurant on site and the website also stated that you receive 25% discount on drinks between 17.00 and 19.00 every evening. When we arrived we were told that the restaurant were only open for breakfast, so that was very disappointing as we expected a restaurant .

    The staff were very friendly , especially the guy that helped us with our luggage and helped at breakfast. One of the nicest people we met.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasnt completely clear about costs. We had to pay for the tramsfers they offered on arrival (just wished i knew i needed to bring extra money before arrival.) Breakfast was okay too.

    It was pretty and had a nice heritage around it. Everyone was very polite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was below the road Level facing cars and people passing by, the bath drain cover was broken, the room was too cold at night. We asked to change the room and other rooms where worst, the breakfast was repetitive.

    Location, clean room, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was that our rooms were a little smaller than we expected and right beside the street, but the location of the building was far from the crowded streets so, fortunately, there were not so many cars and was quiet enough

    It was very near of all the highlights of Istanbul. The staff was friendly and helpful and gave us all the information needed to have a perfect time. The rooms were clean and every day they changed our towels and completed the cosmetics. I recommend the facilty

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The TV installed in each rooms should cater to more English channels having News,entertainment,music,and movies.Provision of milk powder sachets along with tea and coffee sachets will help in catering to everybodies tastes.Provisioning of a small bucket in washroom will help in upping the comfort coefficient.

    The warm cozy rooms made the stay comfortable.The breakfast was awesome.Its quite close to Sultanahmet tram line making travel easy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have booked the room with balcony but after reaching the hotel they told us balcony room is not available however they have changed our room next day. But this was not good experience. The manger of the hotel some lady I don't know her name, she was very proud and have very taunting attitude as i feel we are living for free.

    Unbelievable small and uncomfortable bed very very small room even very difficult to breath some time. Location of the hotel was ok and breakfast was also ok but not very good.. But pictures are different from reality. We asked the hotel to send the airport shuttle and hotel confirmed us they will send but on airport we have wited for an hour but nobody cane to pick us. Anyways awful experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No parking. Room soundproofing could be better.

    Hotel has a great location, 2 minutes away from the Blue Mosque. King size bed was extremely comfortable with huge bathroom with jacuzzi. Breakfest was included and was great with a lot of varieties in food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would prefer more international things to the breakfast buffet.

    The breakfast was really good. The coffee maden by the machine was one of a kind. We stayed about 3 nights at the Imperial Suite. It was very confort with amazing beds and really great decoration. The man at the reception was speaking good english and explained us all we were wanting to learn about the city, the hotspots, the malls, the tours that worth in the city. The location is fantastic, just two corners from the Blue Mosque. The guy that helped as with the car and the luggage was one of the most kind men that I've met. The hospitality was very very good. Thank you for everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely nice staff! Very helpful and welcoming. Room was very clean and confortable. I left before breakfast started and they made a sandwich for me on the way and let me have some coffee before leaving.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The outside area for eating breakfast is smoking free. this is not free as it would be nice to sit out side and enjoy breakfast without being passive smoker. I suggest that this area also be smoke free and those who wants to smoke let them smoke out side. Best wishes

    Dear staff at Arena hotel! I booked at your hotel upon the recommendations previous customers wrote and indeed you deserve every positive feedback you've got. One thing I found is best in your staff that you take once problem and make it your own. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality and your great service delivery. We definitely will be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the restaurant there wasn't any AC hence was a little difficult for me to eat there. However I took my coffee and cookies in my room. :)

    The room was great especially the AC. The soap was perfect for someone with skin sensitivity and perhaps they will consider selling as hotel gift! :) The breakfast was great and a lot of food. I loved the fruits and yogurt and the coffee and the cookies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleanliness of the rooms and bathroom. A smile from the more senior members of staff. Affordable laundry service would really help, especially for families with children. when we booked the trip (7 weeks in advance) we emailed and called the hotel to inform them that we would be arriving early, it would have been nice if we received a response. When we arrived at the hotel we had been travelling for over 24hrs with some younger children and were told that our rooms would not be ready for another six hours, although I understand it is not always possible to check in early it would have made a massive difference if we were offered some breakfast considering it was breakfast time as opposed to wandering around until we felt it was reasonable to go back to the hotel to try and check. luckily we ended up waiting until 1pm rather than the 2pm check in. A small situation that could have been dealt with better.

    The location of Arena is fantastic if you want to be near any of the important landmarks in Sultan Ahmet including many museums that are not as busy as Topkapi or Hagia Sophia but just as brilliant e.g Islamic History beside the Hippodrome. I would recommend using Istanbul Attaturk airport if you'd like to get to this area also way closer than SAW and far easy to commute especially during peak traffic times. The Hotel itself is retains much of the old architecture and in some ways gives you a feeling of being in the ottoman period. The surrounding streets are quiet which is great if you want to be central but want to get away from the hustle and noise of a city. The rooms are small ( we took two triple rooms as we are a family of six) but comfortable and cosy. Breakfast is a local feast if you're ready to try something new with plenty of food on offer, the fresh bread and fruits were a joy! The two twins that work there were a pleasure to meet,they work relentlessly and always have a smile to accompany it, definitely appreciate their hard work, thank you. An overall comfortable place if you want something more traditional and close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best of the hotel must be the photographer!! I have booked by booking.com frequently, and up to now, the pics of the hotels gave a realistic impression of what your'e gonna get. But not at this hotel. I booked 2 rooms according to the pictures on booking.com. As I was at the hotel, they showed me 2 rooms at the basement, with a wall in front of the windows. As I mentioned, that all the pics at the site of booking.com show light flooded rooms, and I want to have at least a bit of daylight, they showed us 2 more rooms in another floor again with walls in front of the windows. I finally accepted two economic rooms in the top floor, where I could see at least a bit of daylight, actually being anything else than satisfied. I tried to offer a compromise: to stay only one night (allready paid), and to cancel the two other nights. They simply refused it in a more than unfriendly way, accusing me, that it was my fault, I could have booked a superior room. bathroom was not clean, sink had shreaks and was loose I cannot recommend a stay at this place.

    breakfast was ok, and part of the staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi connection was very very bad expecially in the evening (did't work at all) Not easy to reach if you don't know the area

    The position,close to all monuments

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very poor.

    Except for the wifi which was very poor everything else about the property was just fabulous. Excellent location, friendly staff, delicious breakfast and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plumbing, internet and noise were a few issues. It took several attempts to get the the toilet fixed. Even then, the fix was only temporary. The 'sensitive pump system', as described by a sign above the mechanism, kept failing to turn off allowing the toilet to flush continuously, which was noisy and irritating. On the final day, electricity in our building was off at 4am. They apparently had a generator (judging by the sound and diesel fumes) but it took about 5 hours before it was turned on. Internet was patchy and required two logins to access. Sometimes it required two logins every time we came back to the room. Sometimes not. Sometimes not working at all. All very confusing. Finally, our beautiful room had no sound proofing: we could hear our noisy neighbours' every words, screams, squeals and shouts (and I'm sure they could hear ours). The windows were also not soundproofed. I had requested a quiet room but we were on the main road facing the loudspeaker of a mosque, 100 meters away (which did not really annoy me as they had a very sonorous muezzin and I couldn't recall being awoken by the dawn call). But the major dissatisfaction was the management. The manager seemed overwhelmed, stressed and not in the best mood. Getting the toilet fixed seemed like a special favour, as did getting a smile from the manager.

    Cleanliness: 10/10. Spacious room, beautifully furnished. Very comfortable king size bed. Good location: just a few mintues from the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. Turkish breakfast was substantial with plenty of variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quality is good but far from ideal. Very small room for a king bed + single bed (a cot). Air conditioner is weak and loud, it took hours to get 25C. Lack of electrical sockets.

    Good location, walking distance to the Blue Mosque. Cozy lobby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the internet connection was erratic.

    the location was great. access to the blue mosque, hagia sophia, basilica cistern and topkopi palace was just a short walk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible Internet that was worse than dial up. Noisy children in room above who stomped and shouted till well after midnight on first two nights.Sickening smell outside room that smelled of rotten sewer.

    Being given quieter room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a small cozy hotel in a beautiful location, nearby the sea and the old part of the city. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed it. Being located near the tram station was a huge advantage as with the trams you can go to almost all directions in the city pretty easily and fast. Aside from all that, we were really impressed by the staff's hospitality. At one point Mr Hassan, one of the managers of the hotel, changed our dollar to turkish lira with the highest rate we ever had. That we didn't expect at all. Also we would like to thank miss Shokran for her kind and warm hospitality. For us, overall, it was a beautiful experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. No complaints about anything.

    Loved the history of the building. It has a lot of character. The fact that it is privately owned and smaller than corporate hotels made you feel that you knew the staff. The staff never said no to any request and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. They even started breakfast earlier so on the morning of our check out so that we could get some breakfast before we left. Another great thing about the hotel is its location. It is a short work from the Blue Mosque and Ayasofya and other small gems that you discover as you walk around the lovely neighbourhood. We will define come back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The emptiness in the hotel. No fault of their own. The impact on touristism in these times was deeply felt everywhere in all the hotels and cafes. Therefore staff numbers are cut to a bare minimum to survive. The city of Istanbul is full and still buzzing with locals and tourists but no many from Australia, come on Australians! It is still such an amazing, wonderful and exciting city which we love and want to return to, and we would still highy recommend visiting. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly. There is so much to experience on so many levels in Istanbul, particularly the old part of the city around Sultanahmet. Could have stayed for months.

    Susan and I loved our room. Leavy trees views from the window and glimpses of the sea. The air was fresh and the light was great. Even though the staff numbers were at a minimum the truly did their best to cater for our needs and were very generous and thoughtful, which was deeply appreciated by us both. We felt safe everywhere we walked and travelled around Istanbul. Such an amazing city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi was erratic!

    Very comfortable bed in a large bedroom with a really good bathroom. Very friendly staff. We were made to feel welcome and were very comfortable throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you depend on reliable wifi you might contact them first and check if it has been improved. We were able to send a few messages but else it was slow and spotty.

    We had a wonderful stay at the hotel. The staff was super friendly and helpful and made great recommendations! The hotel is very near the city centre (5mins walk) but still very quiet. The breakfast is minimalistic but gets you started for the day. We would definitely go there again!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Location could be a little problematic for the elderly as the hotel is located on a slope - Sadly they were not nice to us in terms of giving us additional time on our departure date as our flight was late at night. I requested multiple time for late check out from the Manager but he refused. Even though the entire hotel was empty. It was only us a family of three with an infant and another single traveller. I know of other hotels which easily accommodate such requests from their customers even when the hotel maybe booked.

    Great Location Good breakfast, nice variety . especially Mehmet's scrambled eggs The staff were very friendly and and pleasant Mehmet , Efe, Mozlam were extremely helpful. Efe was helpful in many ways and made our stay nicer. Sefa whose shift was during night was also cordial. The manager Mr Tarjan was cordial too, it was nice to meet his family as well. Also got to meet the owner Mr Ahsan. We had a good chat about Turkey and its history. He showed me around his hotel providing details of the history of his hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location of the hotel is in the heart of old part of Istanbul. You are litteraly 5 minutes away from Blue Mosque and Haggia Sofia, as well as Topkapi Saray. Hospitality of the staff is remarkable, especcially concierge Efe Uysal, who welcomed us, and took care that during our vacation in the hotel we feel like home.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay a lot in hotels for business trips and very rare for leisure. That stay made me feel like VIP and it was exceptional. What made it exceptional - PEOPLE working there, good food (I like Turkish cuisine, special thanks to Mazlum - chief), history of the hotel (that hotel has impressive history) and hotel location (all sightseeing places within 5-7 min walking). At the day of check in we had small issue with our room. After 6 hours flight I was tired and exhausted. Turkish hospitality and of course Efe's (manager at the reception, very nice, professional and charismatic guy) good problem solving skills made me forget that small issue. I was upgraded to imperator's suite room, manager allowed me to check out late in the evening, I was given free tickets to Dervish dance and of course for my entire stay I was surrounded with friendly atmosphere. I highly recommend that hotel if you want to feel special and be in the heart of Istanbul.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Location and staff were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had the suite with a big and comfortable bed. Moreover the staff was very friendly! Definitely recommend !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect.5 min walk to Sultanahmet square. Staff is very supportive.I absolutelly satisfied by everyghing during my stay in the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is very kind and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi could be much better

    Big Room Perfect location, 5 min away from Blue Mosque

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Imperial suite and queen suite was only large good rooms They have No separated bedroom and sitting area

    All Staffs was very kind

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    good hotel for your budget.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the location. But was not that bad!

    Everything were great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport transfer is a bit expensive.

    Hotel is clean, comfortable, staff is friendly, close to the main attractions.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ever about arena hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay ,very clean,quite and classy .We visit again to feel the hospitality of this hotel.The receptionist was so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and staff are amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    The people in the hotel and the Room is always clean. Attemption is really great. Very close to everything. And bufet is really nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 20 nights

    the staff vary friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No View)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small nd just the window was too high so cldnt see the sea.

    It was situated in a quiet spot. Away from the hustle nd bustle.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast, the bed and the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location close to famous attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Imperial Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every things were disaster.

    Nothing to be mentioned.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friemdly anf helpfull staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hassan, ulaz and all were very friendly and best guys. Sweets at the counter

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Arena Hotel - Special Class traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: