Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avicenna Hotel

Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sokak Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#808 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t cleaned very well. The bath tub didn’t work and the furniture was old.

    Location is perfect. Staff is very friendly, helpful and nice. Breakfast was good. Minibar it was full.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not clean.

    Only thing that is good about this place is location. But for one 4 stars hotel and 8.8 rating is not good enough. It was not really clean and they did not change bad sheets during 5 days stay. I was in hostels which are more clean and this is supposed to be a 4 stars hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible, only few plates of cheese and olives, brown liquid that was called coffee, and yellow coloured water called orange juice...

    Proximity to the Aya Sofya, the staff was really friendly, beautiful terrace with view over Bosphorus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is very plain, and they dont have fried egg but lots of cheesea... the room is small but it is acceptable with this price.the water is small in the bathroon.

    the staffs are nice and the location is very good. you can enjoy the adventure nearby to see the places, shops, reaustants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection failed failed some times.

    The hotel in general was very beautiful, with a vintage look. The location was excellent, near all the tourist attractions. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was kind. The breakfast was very good and in a very pretty room. They allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel and use the toilet after we checked out. I fully recommend the place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute, clean, beautiful place with friendly staff. 3 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia Museum. Metro Sultanahmet 5 minutes. Wonderful cozy cafe places around. Many souvenir shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -bathroom could be cleaner -not all staff speaks English

    -good WiFi -fantastic location -helpful staff (however, they misunderstood my question when I asked about the currency they will charge me with and I ended up paying triple exchange rate - FYI they charge in Turkish Lira, not Euro as they told me)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super uncomfortable beds, unpleasent and sad looking guy in the reception. Looked like he was paying us to stay in the hotel. When we were checking in we were asking for a room with sea view, when we asked a 2nd time he was super rude and told us something like “I wouldn’t say no 2 times if I had this room”. In the end, we said ok and after 5 minutes he decided to show us a room with sea view, apparently he was reserving for some “special guests”. Hair dryer didnt work for 2 days and they couldnt fix it although they said they are working on it. Most important, it is super uncomfortable and old beds. I’m not a person looking for the best beds in the world, but I assure you won’t be comfortable with those, making sounds will make you not move and super hard feeling will give you some pain in the morning.

    Location is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location in the center, near Sultanahmet mosque, thought if you are not used to athan (that can be heard, for example, at 4:30am) I would not recommend it to you. Spacious room and comfortable bed. Room was cleaned properly, everything was fine. Good breakfast that you can have inside or outside. Helpful staff. Good value of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which I stayed in needed a lot of TLC. The safe which was advertised to be in the room did not have a front door making it pointless. Our balcony door would not lock easily and would only close a certain way.

    The staff were really friendly and the location is ideal as it is only a few minutes walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was smaller than I expected and wall paper was a bit worse for wear, breakfast got a bit monotonous after a couple of days

    The hotel is located in the old city a few minutes walk from Sultan Ahmet, a great location. The room was smaller than I expected, but very comfortable, the bed was excellent with clean cotton sheets. There is a kettle and 2 cups in the room, but no tea or coffee so you must take your own or do as we did and order tea to the room for 10 lira (£2) The bathroom was very small, but a good hot shower, plenty of space in the shower cubicle and bathroom was clean. Maid service was daily. Breakfast was a choice of fresh salad, selection of cheeses and sliced meat, olives, fried potatoes, boiled eggs, delicious fresh breads, condiments and small selection of cakes, choice of tea or coffee and fruit juice. All the staff were polite and the guy on reception during the day was very helpful. This hotel is very good value for money, it is simple and clean, perfectly adequate for an enjoyable trip. It's location is really fantastic Ps we had a room with a balcony, we could see a lot of old disheveled houses with the bosporus in the background, but hey that is old Istanbul!!! There is also a nice balcony on the top floor with better views. I would stay here again. PPS There are some lovely cats that came to visit us on the balcony, very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything specific except perhaps more choice at breakfast

    Location was fabulous and the hotel was really good value. Very much liked fact that room had balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very cramped, we had to dance the can can to get into the bath/shower, the balcony was tiny and did not have a roof therefore useless when raining. There was a strange sort of built in bed bolster above the bed which kept falling out of the wall, not dangerous but annoying.

    The location was good, close to the Blue Mosque, restaurants and other attractions. Breakfast was varied, but you had to get in fast for the good stuff, or be satisfied with bread and spreads. The crockery and cutlery did not seem to be adequate for the number of guests and we constantly had to request cups plates or knives etc., to use.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is simple but very worth it compared to the price. The hotel team is very friendly and helpful, the location is amazing! 2 blocks from blue mosque and other touristic points, couldn´t be better!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception guy called fysal he was impolite and rude and he wants to force us to use his friend taxi. This is not good to steal form your customers and i will never booked again to this hotel and i will tell my family and my friends to not booked to this hotel due this guy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of any. The stay was great.

    I like how your staff are so accommodating; the food was also great but try to add variety. I also like the room, it is very neat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the juice for breakfast should be improved. The orange juice tasted like water. Everything else was quite well.

    The hotel is in a very good location near many historical monuments. They clean the room every day and have comfy beds. Breakfast is varied enough. It was a very nice stay for us.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Good.... I requested a late check out and It was given to me free of charge... Breakfast is normal, staff good, and location is amazing. If I complain about anything I would be lying.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was very good. I liked the location very much. I was 5 min walking distance from Ayia Sofia and the tram line so it had access to any part of the city. The staff was polite and the room very clean. We enjoyed our stay and if we return to Istanbul we would go to Avicenna Hotel again with pleasure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deco becoming a little tatty and tired.

    Staff were lovely made us very welcome. Any issues were rectified ASAP. Overall I would book again and recommend to others x

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was falling apart - shower leaked and didn't work properly Balcony was uneven and floor lifting In need of an urgent refurb Bar had no one serving and when looked in fridge was filthy and full of insects! To make things worse hotel charged an extra £285.00 for a room and still awaiting refund!

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It'll be perfect if you have clothes iron in the hotel.

    The staff is friendly and nice. The room is comfartable and the light is little bit romantic i guess ><

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was absolutely sick, slow and bad. I was not able to send an email or a whatsapp message! Very bad. We were at the second floor ( apparently every floor has its own wifi ) but it was absolutely useless. The room needs a renovation. The breackfast was very poor regarding sweet plates. There were some salt dishes but they were like salads-tomatoes-olive, and this kind of staff, nothing regarded like a common breakfast. Just one person was speaking english at the reception.

    So, the hotel's position is surely very good. It's walking distance from Sultanahmet Mosque, from a little bazar, and from a street full of restaurants and pubs. I have booked a superior double room and it has a sea view. We had a little terrace. The room was cozy enough. It was nice but old. It was clean but needs a refresh and a renovation. Staff was very kind even if just one was speaking english.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Card for unlocking the door didn't work so we were asking staff everytime.

    Tasty breakfast, big and comfortable bed, clean big room with balcony, fast wi-fi ...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not very comfy and ceiling was leaking water after the rain Mostly cold breakfast, only boiled eggs and vegetables served as hot food

    We loved the Location, the bedroom with Seaview, and very friendly and professional staff including the manager of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I went up to the hotel restaurant to eat one night but found it to be closed with a sign on the door which said to contact reception. I decided to eat out instead, as I would have felt awkward having the restaurant open just for me and to eat alone! However, from what I saw, the restaurant did have a wonderful view. The wifi was a little patchy at times which was sometimes frustrating, but not the end of the world!

    The hotel is located about 4 minutes away from Sultanahmet Square with the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. There is also a tram stop on the square which whisks you away to Karakoy and further on to Kabatas (where you can get ferries to Prince's Islands). The Grand Bazaar is 12-15 minutes away to walk to, and Tokapi Palace/Guilhane Park are about 6 minutes away. Basically, location is great! Breakfast is simple (some cereals, boiled eggs, chicken, cheese, cucumbers/tomatoes, oranges, honey) but enough to get you through to lunch. My room (307) was an odd shape and small, but clean and comfortable, equipped with a nice powerful shower and no issues with hot water. Really appreciated the complementary bottled-water refills too. Staff were excellent, despite varying levels of English. They were all very kind, very friendly, and very helpful/accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basically a single room which they had squeezed an extra single bed in. Was fine for one person but would have been uncomfortable for two. Also the bar and restaurant are no longer open.

    Very friendly staff and the location is excellent. Good price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not professional The room and bathroom aren't that clean The staff not helpful, offering you very expensive deals Water shortage

    Very good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed a good clean. Small room and no outlet for kettle near where it was kept.

    Staff friendly and helpful if slow. Bed was nice, average breakfast but palatable. Restaurant upstairs wasn't open when I was here

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like that they were always coming to knock on my door even when i put the do not disturb sign,One of the workers once opened my door with a master key card while i was in and trying to take a shower.Asides that,nothing bad,its all perfect

    The bed was comfortable,wifi was good,had breakfast just once and it was nice.Its also just a short walking distance to sultanahmet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not veey clean- thd closet had clothes and shoes from previous guests which weren't removed ' the bathroom fan made noise and the room had a very bad smell' also, electric power kept turning off and on, We also changed the room but the smell remained

    Location is very good less than 5 minutes walk to the mosque area

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loudness in hallways and the rooms next door...

    The people at reception where very friendly and helpful with any kind of questions, also roomservice was excellent!however they should put more isolation between rooms and doors, because you here everything that is said in hallways and rooms next to yours, sometimes even very loud... Advice... Take some eartabs with you... But overall I would visit avicenna definitely again! Thank you for the nice stay :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel have an amazing location near to all attractions and Transportation. The employees are very polite and helpful especially Caner ( Jalal ) and Veyele.the hotel is cozy and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was spotless and there was a good supply of hot water but the basin and shower, though completely functional, were showing their age!

    This is a very friendly hotel for a solo traveller. The Hotel Manager in particular but also his staff were very helpful indeed. The location is excellent being within about 6 or 7 minutes walk of the historic centre of the Old City. My room had all I needed. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. TV had BBC World News programme. Booking a transfer from the airport to the hotel via the Hotel website worked very well indeed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to work on the lobby, it's not comfortable, especially that they don't accept you receive any visitor

    The staff was friendly and helpful, the place was nice, clean and cozy. I liked it a lot

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst Wifi and Breakfast and the stuff of all Turkey. The hotel itself seems fine, but you can find better breakfast options in cheapest hotels or hostels around. Pretty unfriendly (day time) front desk reception or manager he calls himself. No elevator (this is partly acceptable) but, you need to carry your bags to upstairs , the stuff won't even care or offer to help. The staff was only friendly when you are interested in buying somethings from them, or extending your stay, otherwise you are on your own.

    The marble stairs were alluring.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My neighbor was very noisy and used to smoke in his room, The staff speak loudly in the front desk which makes the whole floor noisy. The front desk staff speak very little English

    The location is very good, it is close to every where. The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Rooms now really need an update - Restaurant closed or not, no staff when I was there - Only one of the front office staff speaking real good english - Warm dishes at breakfast, where not kept warm, burner under the dishes was not turned on :-)

    It was the fourth time I have stayed here. The times before, there was always some main complaints. This time it was very different ! A very warm and friendly welcome of a very good english speaking gentleman. Got all informations and even got the room I wanted. (Ground floor, with a balcony to smoke. Room #B2). This time the room was very clean and everything was working. Hoesekeeping has really improved a lot ! Room cleaned fast after I left it. Breakfast was a little worse since the last time. but maybe because it was off season. But still worth for that price. I booked the room way in advantage and the price was amazing ! Double as single use 90 € for 3 nights including breakfast !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet is a bit slow.

    very comfortable place and the area is so silent . close to the sultanahmet mosque. some rooms have a bosphorus scene, as the room i got. it was so relaxing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection needs improving There isn't a lift if you are travelling with children, buggies, or lots of suitcases, Bad shower pressure.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - poor wifi - terrible coffee at the breakfast

    - perfect location (close to Blue Mosque but in quiet place) - very good breakfast - nice light decoration above the bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When I have asked for a shuttle when I just arrived in airport a member staff had informed me that the hotel had not this service despite there was an outsourced service that could be indicated to me.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    $100 disappeared from the hotel safe. I was confused as to why my code would not work and had management reopen, when the same thing happened AGAIN the next day, I assume that someone who worked for the hotel had the general code for opening any and all safes and could reopen the safe and thus remove the money. What he/she could not do was reprogram the safe with the code I had used hence the reason why I was locked out of the safe twice. It was not an issue with low battery. I brought this to the management's attention and was promised a response. None has come. Other than that the hotel was a good budget option with a good location and a very decent breakfast and a computer terminal to send emails and print boarding passes. I have never had a similar problem at any other hotel and I gave the hotel three weeks to respond. No one however ever wrote back to address my complaint despite taking my email address, giving me theirs (I wrote three times) and also send messages through booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the utilities (lamps, wall lights or air-con) in the room are not working. Some nights I had difficulty in sleeping because of that loud water pipe sounds coming from the bathroom. The room is quite small, not much walkway space.

    Walking distance to many nearby places (Sultan Ahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum & Topkapi Palace). Breakfast is included. Clean room. Located in a less busy street so night time is more quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    I wish I could understand booking.com rating system. I have stayed in hotels in this location many time that were totally inferior to the Avicenna but higher in ratings? This is a lovely hotel with great staff and fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every thing was tiny including room and bath room. The beds and sofa was highly uncomfortable as their mattress had outlived its life. People with backach should avoid this hotel

    The location was excellent and staff was very courteous and responsive.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I had was quite small, and the washroom smaller still. However my from my second night I was moved to a slightly larger room with a better layout.

    Staff were very welcoming and helpful. I arrived very early and was invited to have breakfast before checking in. The location is excellent for sight seeing in sultanamet and everything we wanted was in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room dirty and they said that they would do a deep cleaning in the next day and that avicenna wasn't a 5 star hotel... then they gave us another room.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at the hotel on a previous occasion. Based upon the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, I recommended it to a friend. We had two rooms. Although her room was smaller than mine, we were comfortable. We had no plans to stay in our rooms all day.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sweep the floor, taken out dirty glasses and rubbish each day. They should have cleaned the bath, sink and toilet every day and mop the floor

    Everything was fine except for the cleaning of the room. They came in but never really cleaned the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find one negative point it would be the view from the balcony in the standard room. However, this is a minor point and does not change my overall opinion of the hotel.

    This excellent hotel is in a quiet position yet only a couple of minutes' walk from the Aresta bazaar, Sultan Ahmet square and the team stop. Beautifully decorated and efficient, discreet service. A very well run front office. A special thanks goes to the staff. A good hotel with bad staff becomes.a bad hotel. A good hotel with a good staff becomes an excellent hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist wasn't very polite. Very limited in room dining menu that is not functional after 3pm! Sad but true. Since they don't have a in house cafe or restaurant, one has to walk out every time hunger strikes. Air conditioning was not always working well and they had to keep fixing it for us.

    The best part about this place was its location. Just walk out of the hotel in to the main bazaar to feast on delights and sights. Numerous dining and shopping options right outside and yet the hotel is located in a quite corner. Very pretty location. We loved it. And its a very quite and a pretty walk away from the main attractions like the Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace. Lovely! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The Wi-Fi didn't work in bedrooms.

    Unlike previous reviewers I thought the breakfast was excellent. The room was big and I loved the quiet location. The reception staff were polite and helpful with bookings and information. I will be back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel restaurant overview very amazing. You see all Marmara Sea and Bosphros. Historical, amazing if i have a more time i stay again same hotel and drink same coffe! Staff is amazing and very helpfull. Breakfast saloon atmosphere and breakfast is amazing. Thank you very much Avicenna!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were incredibly helpful - 24 hour reception and always willing to get me what I needed, be it a lighter, a spoon, or any other diva request I had. Very friendly, gave us lots of advice about the city. Warm and welcoming. Absolutely great.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It as nice enough for a short stay. It was hot and the aircon didn't work very well.

    It's in a central area close to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell

    Location and view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy doors

    The place near ayia sofia

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best Hotel Ever... We wanted a Sahur, they brought it to us :) Very clean, comfortable... Nice staff...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying for to store baggage at the last day

    Location of hotl

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the terrace was unrepaired, the bathroom so small

    the position and the sea view, the staff very very nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.. room .. lighting in room .. very very small bathroom.... not very well maintained rooms

    Just the location was near the major attactions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, staff, atmosphere, breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff understands English much less. No escalator.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location close to blue mosque

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not quite well isolated from each other.

    Location is extraordinary, staff was very helpful and the hotel is quite cute.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to work on there cleaning for the room and bathroom

    Location Location Location Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, big room, clean, warm and well designed. The stuff was kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was rather poor ....became a little bit better day after day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar: not enough stock and old tariffs on the menu. Unfriendly (smoking) barman.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not that clean

    Location and price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast huge let down - nothing hot and super limited.

    Staff were helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty furniture, dempness scent, settle of two person in room for single, absence of snickers

    Location, design, summer garden

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No slippers in the room. No teapot, coffee and tea.

    The location is great! The bed is comfortable enough. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avicenna Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: