Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apex Hotel

Mimar Mehmet Aga Caddesi Amiral Tafdil Sokak No : 24 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34410 Istanbul, Turkey

#417 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect walking distance to everything even few mins from blue mosque. Staff are very very helpful and English speaking. Rooms are clean tidy and comfy. I recommend apex to everyone very good price and beautiful breakfast included on the rooftop

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location beautiful traditional rooms nice and clean and comfortable. Staff are brilliant and very helpful. All English speaking I will use again and again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    almost perfect...no complains...thank you again Apex hotel

    According to my wife who stayed with her mother....the stay was great...great location, very helpful staff who got them to a friendly hotel near by since they were full with a very reasonable price...overall, ver enjoyable stay: thank you apex hotel on my wife's behalf as well as mine!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe little bit old building but it has its own special atmosphere :)

    The staff were amazing, helped us with everything we needed. Location was also perfect for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location just 4 min slow walking from Blue Mosque. Very helpful staff. You can order food delivery from wherever you like and have your dinner on the terrace on top of the hotel enjoying partly Bosphorus view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The locations was quiet and great to wander around. the hotel is charming, comfortable and well maintained. The owner was very friendly, polite and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. I highly recommend staying here for a wonderful trip to Istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no sign on the street with the name of the hotel and gps led us to the street that intersects with the street we were looking for. It is difficult to find the addresses because of the language.

    The room was clean, the bed was big and the mattress was confortable. Breakfast was ok, enough. The hotel is close to the attraction places.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was great. The location was very good. Staff were helpfull and kind. Special thanks for Mr sercan and the lady who does the cleaning every day. She was so lovely and kind. You can feel like home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We did not stay at the hotel, because it is not as described and the photos are not realistic or maybe they are old (from time when hotel was new)... Now it is ready for renovation and the breakfast is at the balcony in the winter. Only comment from the stuff is - ,, What do you expect ,,

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel, great location, great host! The host makes you feel so welcome and is really helpfull! The rooms are also fine, so i really cant understand the bad reviews... Doesn't seem honest to me. But ok, i don't have to look for another hotel. Apex 👍🏻

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic quirky place ideal for a low budget high visual experience managment excellent right next to blue mosque great wifi and breakfast on the roof

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hi everyone just to say i stayed at the Apex Hotell for one week with my wife and Daughter and it was Exellent. They really made me feel at home with there hospatality it was very nice they were very helpfull and the Breakfast was great.The hotel is very close to the Blue Mosque and all the other Tourist Attractions.And a Special THANK YOU to the Manager MASHAALLAH for all the help he gave us Whilst staying at the hotel.Will come again and many thanks to all.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would highly recommend this hotel the hospitality was excellent and the staff were very friendly and polite. Rooms were always kept clean and was a pleasant environment to stay in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    There was a good selection for the breakfast and very helpful staff if there was anything missing they would bring it. Very local to all site seeing ameneties

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice guy on reception.Only too ready to help with any queries. Good selection for breakfast.Cant fault it for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    View from the roof top

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel

    location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Nice place, Nice staff , Good position

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very clean room and the interior is nice decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities and equipments was damaged and old

    The Location was super

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok

    Near to blue mosque Decorations of the room makes you feel like you are living in antique place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs better maintenence.not well kept.

    Location..3 blocks from blue mosque.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    overall excellent experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I like everything in Apex hotel. It's really great. Specially the man in the reception he is really good man

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Calm place

    very Professional Attitude by owner's son who was managing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place with amazing people!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is amazing, he is very friendly. The location is good. The terrace is very cozy and pretty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sarjan the owner was very accomodating.He was exceptional helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor.One day no electricity from 6pm until next day afternoon. no generator available.

    Only reception guy was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service very helpful staff especially Serkan.rooms clean and tidy and most importantly comfortable. I will use apex again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is extremely friendly and caring guy. Definitely would come here again! Loved the accommodation as it's in the central of Istanbul

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cool staff :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    v like the owner of the hotel hospitality love n care.n managment n dedication.he is a fantastic personlity with all qualities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff security politeness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything especially breakfast with sea view.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to go to a different hotel for the first night as our room wasn't available, but it was in the same street and nice room. The room is certainly not soundproof and the calling for morning prayers sounded like it was inside the room even though the window was closed. Also somewhat worn hotel, since it's about 130 years old.

    Great location, nice staff, relaxed atmosphere, and good value for money. Really nice view from the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was really cold in the room the first night but we told it at the reception and then it did not happen again.

    Love this location in Istanbul! Hotel was good located, stuff was really friendly. Great value for good price!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is a bit small but you can't expect more when you're going to that area

    Staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was good and the place was technologically advanced.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel, great location in historical area. Staff is great and polite, Eren on reception, lady who prepares vary nice breakfast and hospitable owner. The room was clean. Breakfast on the rooftop. On one side is a view of sea.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very old rooms with antique furniture! Litle rooms! After de first day there was no hot water, also no energy to warm rooms! We need to go to another hotel!!

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    we spent one week in this hotel, it was amazing ! people who working there are so friendly and helped us about anything we asked. rooms are very clean, good breakfast with amazing view from the terrace, free coffee and tea inside the rooms. amazing location, we visited almost everything by walk. we totally recommend this hotel if you want to enjoy Istanbul, best from Barcelona, Hemo.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was too tight for 2 small sized people.

    Breakfast provided with different dessert most days. Historic sites located within walking distance. Taxi service provided but for a fee.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - anything i felt missed was done once i ask for

    -Upgraded to bigger room because of a baby -care is instant if anything is needed -breakfast with Bosphorus view

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel had a fantastic location, fantastic staff, the rooms were very clean and very comfortable. they just make you feel home. A terrace for breakfast with the mosque view si really great. The Blue Mosque, The Hagia Sophia Basilica Cistern Grand Bazzar were just 10 min away with walking. great restaurants and great caffe bar in the area. i stayed for 4 days and absloutely would choose the same hotel in my next visit. A big thank you to the owner Sercan who was very helpful in everything we needed. Great Job.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A fantastic way to end my two month holiday with beautiful, palace inspired decor, delicious food, a peaceful yet central location and the friendliest, most helpful owner ever. A four-star hotel with better than five-star service.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My family and I had an excellent stay here. The location is excellent and Sercen and his staff were very helpful in helping us plan out our day. They were very knowledgeable about the city and very honest. If we needed anything We would just ask the staff and they would be so helpful. Having breakfast daily on the terrace with a beautiful view was another thing that I will not forget. We felt like family and we intend to return back to this location when we make future visits. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything was great location is amazing the best in Istanbul the area is so safe staff really helpful definitely I would recommend to stay there.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, within 5 minutes of walking distance to Arasta Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, 15 min walk to Grand Bazar, 5 min walk to Bascilia Cistern...loads of great Restaraunts, Cafes, shopping places, metro links all within minutes of walking. Also few minutes walk to Sea if you fancy a stroll. Great Shisha gardens around. Apart from the location, Sercan, the owner, is a fantastic host. A truly great guy who cannot do enough for you. We travelled in a car( which was rather an expensive make) Sercan drove with me to different car parks to find a secure parking for me. When we weren't satisfied with the security of these car parks he very kindly moved his own car and gave me his space in front of the hotel. Gave us lots of valuable advice on various things. I needed some specific information on something, he was kind enough to find out this information and then let me know. The hotel itself is great. It's not the Ritz or Savoy if that's what you're after but it's a lovely little gem with a fabulous cozy feel, a truly Turkish feel I'd say. The room we had was a good size, there was a kettle and fridge. Breakfast on the roof terrace is great with views of the Sea and Blue Mosque. The front patio with a water fall feature is great and lovely place to sit if you just want to relax. The street of the hotel is very small and quaint. All the staff are fabulous, smiling and very helpful. I would have no reservations in recommending this hotel and will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms a little small and in need of a bit of love.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, location very close to Blue Mosque and other sites, very nice breakfast, roof terrace. Was told that the owner was taking back charge after having outsourced management of hotel for a couple of years with bad results. Wants to bring back of the level-quality of service, and I believe they are on the right track! :)

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    This was my third stay at this hotel. The owner is so nice, he is a real host!! Also Very helpfull and funny. This cosy small hotel seems to has been renovated recently, and it looks even nicer than before! New floors, wallpapers, accesories and i also had a room with a new bed

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing. Everything was perfect!

    Such an beautiful classic hotel and the hotel owner is a real host. We will definitely come back again! The place Sultanahmet is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    electric outlets fallen or missing. Electric wires exposed. Very old and dirty looking carpets. Bathroom light was burned when person in charge came to fix it a big noise was followed by a black out! Lavatory was cracked and not really fixed to the wall (wobbly). No elevator. A word from advice stay very far from this hotel.

    Location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free kettle, tea & coffee facilities. Paid E15 extra for our 8 night stay for a tub with kettle, cups, saucers, plates & cutlery.

    Location very good. Close to Vavin Metro & many good restaurants, Patisseries & Supermarket. Rooms have a very small kitchenette.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small but we got what we paid for!

    Location location location ! Everything within walking distance and the best breakfast we had in Turkey in 5 destinations.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we liked everything and was truly value for.money only wished we didnt travel with so much luggage then wud have not felt the room size small for us to walk around.

    The owner of the hotel Sercan was a really helpful and great host. For someone visiting Istanbul for the first time he guided us well with all shopping partying eating places and most importantly hiw to handle the taxsi guys in istanbul considering they really con u most of the times. He also guidedbus well with bargaining techniques for grand bazaar and spice bazaar. thanks again sercan u were really a great help.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Recommend to undertake faster steps to avoid noise if it happens in future especially for guests that require quiet room.

    Location is perfect.Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They are small hotel, is not luxury but stuff is very kind and usefull, the rooms are clean and breakfest is good. They situated near everything you need. Very cleanest, charming and quite part od Istanbul

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Laid-back, very friendly and helpful host. Location was great, walking distance of Blue Mosque/Hagia Sophia/Topkapi Palace. Quiet street, but loads of nice restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small hotel and the breakfast for 7 days , always the same there's not too many choices

    * The hotel always with a good smell in the room , corridor and the receipt * People are so nice with us , the receptionist gave us his ' Istanbul Card' to use it during the stay and a map *Staff always smilling

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing really - even slept through the Callings from The Mosques

    Location great - right beside the Blue Mosque, plenty bars and dining out places , can't comment of breakfast as we missed it, basic accommodation - just what we needed and cheap as chips

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    In need of some loving care, bathroom full of mold, toilet rocked. Sockets hanging from walls. floors uneven under ragged carpets. Library is just one shelve of books ( maybe 14 total). Breakfast buffet is a very small selection, in a small terrace room with torn dirty plastic tablecloths. In need of a lot of loving care.

    staff was friendly and helpful. Location was Great. Beautiful old building.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Buffet breakfast is served on the rooftop. Since my booking mentioned "buffet", I expected more. However, I was disappointed with their buffet breakfast. There was coffee, tea, drinking water, bread, hardboiled eggs, marinated olives and crudités. I'm not sure if this a traditional Turkish breakfast, but the options were disappointing. By 10AM, my friend and I decided to head out again. Upon our exit, I saw Mili, the manager, at the reception, and we greeted each other 'good morning'. I asked him if there will be housecleaning, and he said yes. Outside the hotel, my friend and I stopped by the garden for a brief photo-op/selfie. A few minutes passed, Mili went out to the garden, smiling and asked me if it's OK to move us to a different room because there's a new booking for triple sharing and he can only give the room we're currently occupying to the new booking customers. He sounded kind (at first) and asked me again if it's OK and they will do the transfer of our stuff to the other room. I acknowledged his query and replied with a friendly smile that I'd like to stay in the same room because that's what was given to us, and with our things messed in the room, it would be of total inconvenience to transfer, plus with the limited time in Istanbul, we don't want to waste a few more hours just to re-pack our things because we need to transfer room. With my reply, Mili's smile went off and I could tell from his face that he didn't like my response. He said, OK and that he will check. He went back inside the hotel. Then after a minute, he went back to me again holding a copy of my booking details. At this moment, his approach wasn't of good stance. He was bragging to my face that the room I booked was the budget room and not the room where he gave us when we checked in so my friend and I should be transferred to the budget room in the ground floor.

    Location in Sultanahmet; strong wi-fi in all areas of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My friend and I stayed 3night in this terrible hotel first of all the rooms pictures doesn t match with the reality, the room's wall is dirty (humidity) secondly we received the booking confirmation with the amount of 210 TRL and the receptionist asked us for an extra 50TRL . The staff is unfriendly and doesn't speak English

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Low cost..comfortable

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Completely satisfied!

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Excellent hotel with the best friendly staff. Its 3 min walk from blue mosque. Ideal for families.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked this hotel very much. Great location ,nice rooms and delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice people. Large and clean room. Great location, nice breakfast on the rooftop. Good value, We highly recommand it !!

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing,,everything was great

    Ambient, location and the staff also the owner very excellent and helpful, will be back again :) Thank you so much ..

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful historical building great location verry nice Staff and owner and Good breakfast we totolly recommand this secret jewel

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Apex Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: