Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Saint Sophia 4 stars

Alemdar Cad.no:2 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#52 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 948 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    We cannot recommend this hotel enough! It was the best decision to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. The room was spacious and clean and all the amenities in the room were free, even the items in the mini-bar. The location was fantastic. The breakfast was delicious. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Overall great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit difficult to access by car.

    Great Location for sightseeing. Very close to tourist attraction. Free Mini bar. Very clean room. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.5
    Great location, nice hotel, needs work in the maintance of rooms and service needs to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs a lot of maintenance work within the rooms. bathrooms are falling apart. Service needs to approve. Breakfast needs to improve.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    We had a wonderful stay, we found the location convenient,quite ,staff friendly,helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found only one concierge that could understand English which was a little frustrating when we needed help

    The location and quietness of the area, the size of the rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great Location and Superb Service
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is excellent close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and Topkapi palace. The staff are excellent especially Murat and Kenan who helped us so much when my husband got sick and stayed at the hotel the entire time we were there.Rooms are nice and clean and breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Incredible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location: just few meters from Hagya Sophia. Nice spacious rooms, very clean, with modern design, fresh furnitures and appliances. In reality rooms are even better than shown on pictures. Comfortable beds. In-room safe-box. Complimentary minibar, coffee machine with coffee, refreshed daily. Despite our some doubts, windows proved to be sound-isolating so that no noise from the tram comes inside. Breakfast is much better than in the other hotels and will definitely satisfy all types and ages of tourists. Service and employees are very friendly and helpful in any question you may have which really makes you want to come back here again. You can take a bicycle at the hotel free of charge. This is absolutely the best place to stay in Sultanahmet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Location of hotel is amazing! Recommend you stay here if want to be close to major sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only complaint would be that we wished there was a proper ramp outside the entrance of the hotel. We had a 2 year old toddler in a stroller so we found it abit of a hassle to go in and out of the hotel if she had fallen asleep in stroller.

    Location was excellent - short walking distance to major sights such as Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque & Topkapi Palace. A little further away was grand bazaar. Tram stops within walking distance. All the staff were very welcoming & warm. Special mention to Kenan, another gentleman at the concierge who took over from Kenan, Aslam (trainee), Ramzaan and a gentleman at breakfast service with name beginning with T.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Magic oasis in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was brilliant!

    The staff were incredibly friendly and made fantastic restaurant recommendations and bookings for us. The room was enormous and so conveniently close to all the sights. The breakfast was a feast and set us up for the day. Would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Boutique saint Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything we were both happy with it all.

    Staff very friendly situated minutes to major sightseeing attractions and good eating restaurants close by.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Even though the location , cleanliness and the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would not consider this a negative per say , but just a tip for the other guests. The location is at an incline and as per policy for all the hotels in the area, taxis and other cars are not allowed on to the main road. The pick up and drop off point is a few steps away . It might not have been a concern for us at all if it was just my husband and I , but with senior citizens and and infant accompanying us it was a bit of a challenge . Nothing too inconvenient though as the staff was always there to assist us.

    Even though the location , cleanliness and the breakfast buffet was wonderful , I think the best aspect was the staff hospitality throughout our stay. Every member of the team tries their best to help you out. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to discover the area at leisure as all the sites are walking distance. You will find the best restaurants and cafe’s just a few steps away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Location 30m from the Hagia Sophia, close to everything on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location 30m from the Hagia Sophia, close to everything on the Golden Horn. Wonderful Staff, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is a key feature, both in quality and atmosphere. Rooms comfortable with every amenity one might require.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Great location, awesome service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing we didn't like. It is a fantastic hotel.

    It has the perfect location, close to the Tram and the must-see places: the Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Blue Mosque are just a short walk from the hotel. The service is great, they make sure you are comfortable and enjoy your stay. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Istanbul stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit small

    The location of the hotel is almost perfect near the tram station and many tourist places. The street where the hotel is located is amazing. I have to say that I never met a hotel staff as kind, polite and supportive as Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Simply a wonderful hotel in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a big issue as we are married but the bathroom could provide a bit more privacy.

    We absolutely loved this hotel. It was in the ideal location for exploring the old town as well as catching a tram to other locations. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was outstanding, and the staff was quite helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Location is nearby every thing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small Hotel is too smal You can hear the sound of the cars and sound of the tram in your room I have booked a taxi thru the hotel Taxi drive was a theft I payed him 100 TLR and he took my money and hide it and he told you have payed me only 20 TRL Hotel reception was informed. No action has been taken

    Location is nearby every thing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Amazing experience, very recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - None

    - Mr. Kenan at the front desk provides the best experience and amazing knowledge about Istanbul. - Great breakfast selection. - Amazing location in the middle of Sultan Ahmet area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    There is not one fault to this hotel, right next door to Aya...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not one fault to this hotel, right next door to Aya Sofia literally a minute and three minutes walk to the blue mosque which I didn’t realise when I booked so a nice surprise. Right in the centre of this side of town, tram is outside the hotel to go to the other side of town, supermarket and laundry all nearby, excellent value for money, breakfast was great (see pic below), staff super friendly including the trainee. Rooms and bathrooms were in superb condition- it is boutique. Super clean wifi excellent. Go for it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central, comfortable and staff very friendly and helpful

    Great room with balcony comfortable bed with nice shower room. Central to all tourist sights. Friendly helpful staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel with an exceptional staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was too close to the bed, but otherwise our room was very comfortable.

    Boutique Saint Sophia is located steps away from Istanbul's most popular tourist attractions. The location was ideal and the staff's attentiveness to all of our needs was exceptional. We hope to return to Istanbul one day, and if we do, we will undoubtedly stay at Boutique Saint Sophia!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay in clean, friendly hotel close to all major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good. I would have liked the breakfast staff to be more attentive re the coffee. You had to ask for a refill but not always easy to get their attention. Asking customers if they would like a top up would be a step forward.

    Terrific location. Very clean - excellent housekeeping. Omelettes made to order every morning Water and drinks in minibar replaced every day free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.0
    Great property. Highly reccomend. Service exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful but needed a little revamping. Floorboards had suitcase marks on floor and the superb marble in the bathroom had turned yellow in places. Minor work will certainly help the hotel gain the Wow factor.

    A beautiful boutique hotel. Service is exceptional. Complimentary afternoon tea and mini bar included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect place to stay in the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door is made of glass....so lacks 100% privacy....could be a sensitive issue for some families. The bathroom door in one of our rooms wouldn't close fully - there was an almost 1.0 inch gap and this did bother us quite a bit. I would request the management to fix this as it causes a lot of discomfort if there are other people in the room when you want to use the bathoom.

    Great location. Couldn't get better! Right next to all the historical must-see sites, lots of restaurants, nice buzz till midnight, safe to walk around. Kenan at the reception was awesome...the most courteous, friendly, helpful person I have met at a hotel in a long time. Very nice friendly staff in general. Very good airconditioning, good shower pressure, comfortable beds, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - Uber can not enter or understand as hotel has no entrance on main road, you have to walk 20 meters to get in. Breakfast can be improved for the price

    Location - Near to old and new city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located at restricted zone, taxi cannot drop off in front of hotel, difficult for guests with heavy luggages

    Great location, close to most major sights, all within walking distance, lots of restaurants nearby. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could be improved

    Staff is very helpful and friendly Location is great, very close to important attractions Rooms are a liitle small, however tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, great location and a nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication is not very good. Don’t bother with the airport transfer as they messed up both of ours and left us wandering around the airport for forever looking for the driver that wasn’t there.

    Comfortable, great location and a nice breakfast. Price is pretty good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    I would recommend this property to anyone visiting Istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment. Everything was perfect.

    The location of the property is excellent. Everything is just a few meters away. The breakfast was awesome. The staff is splendid. A must for anyone visiting Istanbul.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi cannot arrive during the day to the hotel, so taxi driver must call the hotel to organize pick up near from the hotel. Not a problem but good to know before.

    Very nice personal. Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfort and affordable luxury in Istanbul's best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Location, comfort of room, staff very courteous and efficient. Outstanding location just behind the St. Sophia Mosque and other important sites like Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con in my room was pretty inadequate. The first night it did not work at all and I found out they knew about it when they checked me in. :( It was fixed the next day and worked fairly well. But we were still hot.

    It is a beautiful property in a great location. The street it is on does not always allow cars so getting there can be a bit tough. We had to walk a short block. Which we did not mind at all. The staff was excellent. They have a lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay at St. Sophia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not typically one to leave reviews but the staff at this hotel more than deserve my compliments! From the minute we walked in they took great care of my wife and I. I had mentioned that we were celebrating my wife’s birthday and they had prepared an amazing cake for her! The rooms are spacious and clean with very nice showers! Good breakfast and incredible location in Sultanahmet, minutes from every major attraction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location in the immediate proximity to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the immediate proximity to the main sightseeings, good service, friendly staff, good breakfast, very cozy hotel with nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    location near sigths, room, service, hotel style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    a little bit noisy in the room, because noise outside. view from the window not perfect. some hotels have panoramic roots etc. but generally u satisfied by hotel

    location near sigths, room, service, hotel style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    LOVELY BOUTIQUE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception staff were more than amazing and nothing was too much trouble - huge compliments to them all! The breakfast was out of this world - again the staff superb. The location was perfect for us. The room a wee bit small but we were gone most of the time. Also no tissues in the room which we found strange.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    I want to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wish we could have stayed longer.

    We could not have been closer to the old city attractions. The hotel was new and modern and clean and attractive. The staff was very helpful and attentive, especially Lokman and Aslan at the front desk. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and very well situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We took an Uber from the airport, and the driver could not quite find a way to get us to the hotel; he did try, and finally dropped us off nearby, and we used Google maps to get there. We had a similar experience coming home from dinner in a taxi. The Basilica Cistern is within a block, fyi. When we departed, the hotel called a taxi for us, and the staff helped us walk our luggage about 100m up the block to meet it. Other than that, it's a great hotel.

    This is a great hotel in a great location. The room and bathroom was modern, the bed was super comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for stay in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    We stayed at the hotel for four day in late May, the location is excellent for all the main tourist attractions of the old town, and also midway between Gulhane & Sultanahmet tram stops for venturing further afield. Staff at reception and breakfast room couldn't have been more helpful, room was comfortable and quiet, lovely place to stay in Istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel- totally worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing. Perfect location close to hagia sophia. Really nice breakfast. The staff is kind and they help you to hire good tours around the citiy, they recommended us wonderful restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Can’t recommend highly enough - will tell family & friends to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff went above & beyond - I was upgraded to a deluxe room for no reason, which was an unexpected surprise, at no extra charge. I was told upon arrival to treat the place like home & that they would look after me, as if I was family. The location was fantastic, everything was within walking distance & the staff went out of their way to help with any questions. I couldn’t have asked for more.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    I found this hotel just right for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One can always use a bigger room. The patio arrangement isn't totally protected from rain by the awnings/umbrellas. There are many friendly outdoor cats, not my favorite, but the staff mostly kept them away. some patrons fed them. no no.

    The staff and their fun, helpful, gracious hospitality was the best part. "We know this isn't your home, but we hope you will feel like it is while you stay," they said. I did. They prepared us for the assault of merchants on the street and answered every little or complicated bit question thoroughly. The location, too, is superb, unless the loud prayer call bothers you but after the first one that surprised us, it wasn't a problem. I loved the terrace where I could sit and write and notice the Istanbul life of this area: the noisy ice cream man, the many kinds of people and dress, tourists and workmen, and ladies and kids strolling by. In the nearby hookah bar where I had dinner one night, patrons donned a fez and scarf and performed a spontaneous dance for the rest of us. A delight! The breakfast spread was fantastic: fresh squeezed juice, and choice of coffee, meats, cheeses, breads, dried fruits, vegetables, eggs any style, amazing! We slept through it once and i regret it. I recommend Boutique St. Sophia for those who want a simple small intimate hotel, not fancy, just good. I will return to this hotel if I get to return to Istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, and well located hotel in the heart of the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff is more friendly and helpful than any hotel I've stayed at in many years. The room, although not overly spacious, is modern, clean and met all of our needs. The location, just a 3 minute walk to the entrance of the Hagia Sofia, restaurants and the tram system,, is a definite bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great starting point to explore Istanbul Old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could offer more privacy.

    Good breakfast, polite and professional staff, fairly fast WiFi both in lobby area and in the room, and great location for tourists exploring the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with a stuff. I was traveling with friends, who stayed one day longer than me. My friends were checking out the next day a receptionist told that I still need to pay 15$, even though I payed the whole price for my room the day before. The problem is, that he didn’t give me any payment confirmation and we couldn’t prove if we payed or not. In the end result my friends payed 15$ for me again (it was the same receptionist) and then the receptionist told: I believe you and gave the money back. But still it was very unpleasant situation.

    Great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location with kind staffs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we suffered by noise from next room every early morning...

    The location is very close to the Shopia palace and blue mosque and two tram stations Sulthanahmet and Gulhane. Extremely recommended!! Staffs are very kind, can communicate to English without any barriers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Very pleased that I was in a situation where I could see and do things I had missed in past visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Steps to all the sites in Sultanahmet and the tram stop. Could not have been better situated. As a woman travelling to Istanbul on my own this time, I specifically selected this hotel for its location. Lovely modern renovation of the mansion. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Could not have picked a better place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    FRIENDLY RECEPTION STAFF
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On fairly late arrival we were given bad advice re restaurants... so many in close vicinity ( which we only realised the next day)yet we were sent to the other side of town to one of those typical touristy restaurants

    FRIENDLY RECEPTION STAFF

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    It makes your stay and experience exceptional!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we can count as negative... everything was perfect.

    We just returned home from this place yesterday and it has been a thrilling and most comfortable experience. The place is literally the Center of everything and not just the city. The staff is super awesome and gives you the best advices for your visit and takes so good care if you. This the safest place to stay at, you can just stroll about anywhere at anytime. The most important attractions are like max 1-3 min walk away and I mean ALL of them. Metro stop/restaurants/Bazaar all just a stone throw away and also he wifi was great for us. We had a wonderful time and I really give it to the hotel and it’s staff for making our 4 days so much worth it, will recommend this place to anyone in a heartbeat. Always ask for suggestions for them and remember if you like to click pictures without a flood of people around attractions you can just get up early and go take pictures it’s all clear till 8 or so ...thanks to the location it’s possible everyday :) Quick tip: Blue mosque is closed till 15th may but even when open, plan in a way that you do all three (Topkapi,hagia sophia,blue mosque) one each day so you get up early and be in line like 3 mins before it opens so you will not be stuck in humongous queues :) or you can get a guide which the hotel can easily arrange for the best experience. Thank you everyone at the hotel... we will be back for sure !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Staff is very friendly and helpful in everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast is same choice in everyday and less choices to choose.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful in everything. e.g. transportation, restaurant suggestion, tour guide, and many more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Customer service;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t sleep until your neighbors are asleep- which is funny, I know- the walls are very thin, you can hear the door closing and opening, the door knocking will feel its your door. People talking the corridor is audible. The tram outside and all the noise around it!

    Customer service; staff were helpful and courteous. Proximity to all areas in the old city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Great property, somewhat overpriced for what is offered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive for the facilities available. Location is very close to historic sites but not as much to where the action is. Room is big but quite empty.

    Nice bathroom, good breakfast, welcoming and helpful staff. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    We will definitely come back
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer wasn’t powerful enough. Bed could be a little more comfortable.

    We had a great stay in this hotel thanks to professionals working at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Overall a beautiful , great valued place to stay in the heart of the Old City of Istanbul
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small thing but no room service for dinner and also non existent mini bar in room

    Staff were so helpful in organising transport and suggesting restaurants Very welcoming

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Because of the location, it can be a bit noisy if you want to have your windows open. Hotel is right on main street next to main attractions. Tram line runs by hotel and the restaurant next door tends to blare music until about 1130-1200 at night.

    Great location, great staff! Staff was extremely helpful and very accommodating. Hotel is literally next door to Hagia Sofia, and within 1-2 minutes walk of main attractions. Breakfast is OK; nothing fancy, limited options, but sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No taxi access ,we had to walk carrying our stuff to reach the hotel.

    Great location , my room had a small terrace litterally facing Hagia Sofia which was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    I am an experienced traveller, and will give an honest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above. It’s pretty extensive

    I am an experienced traveller, and will give an honest review of my experiences. We arrived to a very welcoming smile and a lovely smelling foyer by the receptionist. This really did make me feel at ease, although on the first day, this is where my comfort with the hotel Stopped. The room was incredibly, incredibly small, and right next to a bustling street, which was very disheartening when we arrived. This alone would have been acceptable, because ultimately, the dimensions are listed online (although the pictures can be a little deceiving) and the hotel is smack bang in the middle of the best part of town. What was unforgivable however, was the dirty feel of the room. The walls, pictures, toilet roll holders, floor, bed cover, bin, menus and desk all had either dirt or stains on them, which made us feel very uncomfortable. With all of these things wrong, I don’t think it could be much different In other rooms, and if it was, I wonder why we drew the short straw. This got me down on my first day in istanbul, but I picked myself up :) On the second morning that we were there (we stayed for 4 days and 5 nights in total), we were served the complimentary breakfast. The salad, cheese plate and a plate of nuts and jam are delivered to each table separately (you also have the option to order eggs, which is nice!). I ordered a cheese omelette, and decided to make a start with the salad, only to discover a cucumber had already been gnawed at. As you can imagine, I was pretty disgusted, and brought it up with the waiting staff, who assured me “it hadn’t been eaten”, before very quickly ushering the plate away and replacing it with a fresh plate of cut vegetables’ (pic attached, you decide). I knew I wouldn’t get far making a fuss, and the breakfast hall is located in the foyer, so I decided to wait until the evening when breakfast had been cleared to bring it up with the hotel staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Amazing location and a charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A teeny bit hard to get to via taxi, or get a taxi from - due to traffic restrictions. Also showers leave bathroom floors pretty wet.

    Amazing location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    I enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of traffic noise when tram goes past as well as the prayers from the mosque can be heard late.

    The location was fantastic, close to all tourist attractions. Room was very nice, especially the shower. The bed was comfortable and the outdoor area for a beer or wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall the stay here was awesome! Definitely will come back again.
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast served was good. Pillow and bed is super comfy. Front desk staff is superb! They are friendly and always ready to help 24/7. The location of the hotel is also strategic, which is just next to Hagia Sophia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Istanbul - long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    In the old part of the city, close proximity and easy walk to majority of key historical landmarks. Very comfortable hotel, well maintained, excellent breakfast to start your day and ALL staff were amazingly helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Unforgetable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are comong in a Car, there is no direct access to the hotel. The taxi had to park 100 m away

    excellent view on Sultan Ahmed Mosque and Hajja Sofia

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Great location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great little hotel close to main attractions and public transport. The staff were friendly and helpful and always happy to help with any of our needs. The rooms were warm and well equipped. We had a lovely stay and can highly recommend the Saint Sophia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    A perfect stay for a travelling couple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A great small hotel located in great location of the old Town. Staff went out of their way to assist in directions or any questions. Rooms were well designed and a comfortable retreat after a long day of seeing the sights. Breakfast each morning was a perfect mix of cheeses, nuts and breads, plus a small mix of cereal and eggs to order. We will definitely stay again on next time thru Istanbul.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location! It took just 3~5 minutes to reach to the attractions and nice restaurants. The room was exactly the same with the photos of Booking.com. It was well-designed, spacious and clean. Breakfast was not so much variety, but there were good quality cheese, vegetables and we could also order eggs. One more: at night, reception staff was also a bartender of a small outdoor bar, he was really polite, kind and helpful. It was nice to talk with him.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    To be honest the receptionists and all the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    To be honest the receptionists and all the staff were friendly with us. Lukman and Ramazan these two guys really deserve to rewarded from the company. Because i am always traveling overseas, but I didn’t find people taking care to my family like what they did. Thank you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    You expect excellent and you get even more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That was may second stay with a large group of 20 people. Again, the service was amazing, the people super friendly, the location as perfect as it can get. Looking forward to my next stay. <3

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing could be better. If we were quite silent at our room, we could here when bathroom was used next door. At December the rooms were quite cold even though A/C was at 26 degrees. But it wasn't such a big deal.

    If you're staying only few days at the city and you want to see the main attractions, this would be perfect choice. Hagia Sophia is right backyard, Blue Mosque very near and also whole Sultanahmet is reachable by foot. There is also bikes available for free. Breakfast was served in person and there were couple of warm dishes, eggs of your choice, yoghurt, bread, vegetables, sweets and cereals. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    We had a fabulous short break in a wonderful city and will go back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didnt like.

    The location of the hotel was superb. 10/10. The staff couldnt do enough to help us and give us tips where to visit and what to look for. They went the extra mile and even produced a birthday cake for me when they found out it was my birthday. The hotel facilities were excellent and the rooms comfy, clean and piping hot water. Free wifi in both the room and reception and complimentary coffee and cakes after a long day out sightseeing was a bonus. I cant praise the staff enough and will definately return again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Delightful hotel, perfect for enjoying this wonderful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only criticism would be that the elevator was a little slow, but after the hearty breakfast each morning, I probably benefitted from climbing the stairs!

    The hotel is perfectly located for tourist attractions, it is very clean and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. A very nice touch was a lovely cake presented to one of our party on their birthday! We can happily recommend it to any future guests and will be booking another stay soon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Location is perfect, but be ready to wake up at 7 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that confused me is the bathroom: it's not a detached room but a space, separated from the main room with glass/plastic doors. For the people who know each other not very well it might be an issue.

    Location is perfect, but be ready to wake up at 7 a.m. due to the prayer. The room was comfort and clean. Breakfast - delicious and substantial. Staff, facilities - very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no facilities for in-room dining or anything for lunch/dinner/snack if someone wants to stay and relax at the hotel and not go out. Although it does not impact due to location, but having the option for having food apart from breakfast at hotel always good.

    The location, the décor, the breakfast! All excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    One of the most comfortable ideal-located hotel that I ever stayed in anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think they allow call for prayer service in Haghia Sophia so it can be loud, but it will be like this if you are near a mosque. Taxis are not allowed on the street of the hotel because of the tramline (or because if is the street in front of the Haghia Sophia or Blue Mosque). You should use google map to find the nearest hotel on the other side of the tramline street. Go to Boutique Saint Boutique from that drop off spot. Going there may be a little frustrating but leaving the hotel us easy enough as one of the staffers will assist. Uphill cobblestone street to hotel entrance (15m).

    Excellent breakfast and coffee. 50 meters to entrance to Haghia Sophia. Very roomy rooms. Excellent service and very gracious hosts and hostesses. Almost ideal place for 1st timers though it was our 2nd time to Istanbul.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Everything was amazing especially the location near to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing especially the location near to everything you need and close The the mosques. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Were definitely coming back .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Great headquarters to visit Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. The opaque, thin, separation between room and bathroom is not great in terms of privacy.

    Good location, within walking distance of many sites, modern clean comfortable rooms, abundant breakfast, great staff, good wifi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    The design of the room is awkward.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The design of the room is awkward. The bathroom is separated by foggy glass, no hermeticity. You turn on the light of the bathroom and the whole room is iluminated. No noise reduction. And this was supposed to be "deluxe". The street is for trams. You have at least to carry your own luggage a 30 m slope. In our case, and don't know why, we had to carry 4 pieces about 150 m plus the hill.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Functional stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 'room with a view' of the Hagia Sofia didn't really have much of a view except for a part of one of the minarets. Breakfast spread could've been better. We ended up eating yogurt and watermelon every day.

    No nonsense hotel with good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boutique Saint Sophia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: