Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cave Hotel Saksagan

Kayseri Cad. Okul Sok. No:1, 50180 Goreme, Turkey

#125 of 138 hotels in Goreme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 45 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    This hotel needs a serious upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks very old. So are the furniture, appliances and bathroom. The room was fairly clean as far as day to day cleaning but had stains on the carpet, bathtub and toilet are discolored looking dirty. The towels and bedsheets smelled like cloth that doesn't dry properly and acquires this unpleasant smell. No warm water was available in the evenings. My wife did not take a real shower for 2 days as the water was cold. I believe the water is heated using solar energy but if people use it there is no replenishment of warm water once after sunset. The room is very dark with only one lamp functioning. The button to turn it on or off is at the door so you have to walk to the bed in the dark. The TV is old and does not work. Not sure why it's even in the room as it wasn't even connected.

    Breakfast was good. The location is great, the only negative being the loud call for prayer and 5 am that comes from a mosque but that is something that's unavoidable anywhere in the city although if there were an AC the windows could be closed so the wake up call would not be so loud. Owner is friendly and helpful. The room is cheap but as all the negatives I wrote about above indicate, there is a price to pay for that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cave Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Well located. Really Nice staff. ALL my gratitude for them. Mr. Numan, the kid who Works at the reception... ALL Nice and friendly people. Try to Help you ALL the times. Thanks for ALL guys.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    Repair the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Repair the room.

    Not cleaning everyday. Very low light. small washroom. Property was not maintained. Location is excellent close to city center. Staff is helpful. Room maintenance is very low. It needs lot of repair.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Staff are helpful in providing traveling information.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cave Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are simple and old. Not very clean really. But it worths the price as a short stay for trip.

    Staff are helpful in providing traveling information. Location is good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    The staff was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is very small, it’s even hard to get in :) Some equipments needs repairing (table, shower). There is no shelf in the room. But anyway, if you don’t expect a 5 stars hotel room, it’s really good.

    The staff was amazing! They gave us everything what we asked for an even more. The terrace is very nice to eat breakfast and enjoy the view. The room is like a cave, so it’s not too warm at night even without air conditioning. Bed sheets are clean, there is tea with electric kettle in the room. Very good location and really interesting, unique experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old room and furniture If you want to clean the room you must let the owner know it.

    Reasonable price Good location near by restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great staff and great location,the host is so great that...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Great staff and great location,the host is so great that give us so many great and advice and arrange the greatest tour for us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place with helpful and gentle host
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Numan is an excellent hotel manager, he helped us all along the way from reservation to our stay. Breakfast on the terrace is wonderful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    A very good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Was what we want, A place to relax and sleep after walking at Cappadocia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi connection

    The breakfast The vintage and cave room that we have The location The view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Cave is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes

    Good, but not clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Perfect hotel at a perfect price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugely friendly and helpful staff, great hotel for a great price. Right in the heart of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV has 3 Turkey programs only with very bad quality. Remote-control station was not. Entry to bathroom is 1.4 m height less. Extending of room on less half day costs as all day.

    Location!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    5.8
    Location easily accessible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The rude attitude to a an elder person was appalling. I had requested for an early checkin since was travelling with senior citizens and small kids and reached with overnight bus journey. Due to heavy season this was not possible which is understandable but had expected bit of consideration. The room was received past the expected check in time and no updates in between on when can we expect the rooms. Definitely never booking this place again

    Location easily accessible

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    We're two young girls from Singapore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! No bad experience.

    We're two young girls from Singapore. Reservation was smooth and quick. We were greeted by Numan and Rahim on our first day. All the staff were warm and friendly. Treated us like family. We were lucky to have met them on the start of our trip in Turkey. We looked forward to the breakfast everyday! Thank you for having us!!! 10/10 would come again!

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant suggested for a meal was impersonal and not very good food nor value for money. Hot water not available at all times.

    Very friendly staff. Experience of being in a cave was great.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.5
    Hotel is lovely, with a terrace with a nice view of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Front desk is unhelpful when it comes to tours that are not booked from the desk - when I requested for a phone to call the travel agent with a late pickup, the front desk told me go to the town to make a call (instead of using the front desk phone). The front desk also asked why I did not book the tours from them and repeatedly put down the agent I booked (when they picked me up late).

    Hotel is lovely, with a terrace with a nice view of the area. Location is good - next to Goreme town centre.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    6.7
    - helpful and friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - the "cave" room (artificially made) was extremely cold (beginning of June) and very moist, definitely not recommend for asthmatic people - WiFi signal was very weak in the room

    - helpful and friendly stuff - breakfast - good location for making trips to see the rock formations

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.9
    Rahim is the greatest staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owner of this hotel is not good. We asked him to late checkout but he responsed us with rude manner.

    Rahim is the greatest staff. He provides you everything that you need. He has a great service mind.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Everything is wonderful in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything is wonderful in this hotel! The room is clean and unique! Staffs are very friendly and kind. Rahim prepared the early breakfast for us which was really kind! Cannot forget this wonderful memory

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In fact, we were evicted from our room by hotel's manager. This situation is scandalous. We had in hand listing of our booking (4 nights). We presented ourselves at the appointed time (I let hotel know beforehand about our late check-in). But, when we crossed the threshold of our room, we found total discrepancy between de facto interior and its description on "Booking.com". We found no tv in the room, no good view from the window (in fact, our window faced the corridor). Sanitary engineering was rusty, furniture was dilapidated. Hotel's manager asked us to wait till next morning. He promised to exchange the room for another one. But, in the morning, we found not another room, but another manager. That man refused absolutely to relocate us. When I tried to show my displeasure, that man just declared: "I cancel your reservation". We had to leave the hotel and to waste time, looking for another hotel in Goreme. I've never been confronted with such a terrible attitude of hotel's manager towards hotel's guests. And I recommend: avoid this hotel!

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    8.8
    The place was nice and cozy close to the bus depot and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The place was nice and cozy close to the bus depot and a short walk from everywhere. My room had the most amazing view first thing in the morning when the balloons were in flight.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.9
    Great breakfast, friendly staff and nice outdoor spaces...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tv with an anoying and contínuous noise. No air conditioned.

    Great breakfast, friendly staff and nice outdoor spaces (shepherd environment).

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff is friendly and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The replenishment of breakfast is slow and limited selection.

    The staff is friendly and courteous.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    The location was perfect, staff was so friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was perfect, staff was so friendly and helpful and accomodating!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not the cleanest of room, but then again it's a cave hotel..

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.2
    The professional and helpful management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The professional and helpful management

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: