Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ege Palas 4 stars

Cumhuriyet Bulvarı No:210, Alsancak, Konak, 35220 Izmir, Turkey

#39 of 101 hotels in Izmir

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 471 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym set up is a little cramped but still managed a good workout while we were there

    Everything was great especially the room size and the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When arriving at this hotel we were greeted with the smell of the drain in the bathroom, when enquiring at the front counter why our room smells like this, we were told that Izmir's sewer system is old and has problems, the bed was very old and uncomfortable and you could feel the springs on your back, the decor needs to be updated urgently. pillows need to be upgraded immediately.

    The view of the harbour from the balcony was amazing, the breakfast was very good and fresh everyday, the location of this hotel is excellent, in the heart of the City and walking distance to the shops and public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nowhere to sit and put your feet up (other than the bed) after a day of walking.

    Very comfortable hotel, great for a city break. Lots of shopping and culture. Great view of the sea and the ferries going across the bay. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice and hot flaky croissants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But they had a disco in the sourroundings that played very load music between midnight and 5 am, so we could hardly sleep. When they get rid of that, it is a super location!!

    Great breakfast, nice view, good location and super staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The policy of not allowing food and beverages from outside. .. not that it was actually applied but I did like seeing the posting

    Great location and amenities. Clean and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grouting along the edge of the shower was bad and black. Needs urgent attention but otherwise a powerful shower.

    I was recommended to stay here by a friend who lives in İzmir and said this was a top hotel in the city. They weren’t wrong! I found it to be a most comfortable stay!! The room was very clean, comfortable, large and I had two great night sleeps. It was pretty much the standard I’d expect from a 4* hotel. The views over the sea and the city from my 16th floor balcony were incredible!! Breakfast was good. Not as much choice as I’d expected but enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. The third day of my stay no one from the cleaning staff showed up to make up my room (unexpected from a 4-star hotel). 2. EVENT: during a night visit (not a stay over) of a local Turkish female friend, once in my room n.92 I was immediately called by phone from reception and told to pay extra money for my friend's visit (80TL..) as well as to get her personal ID so as to register her. As a result, I went downstairs to the reception so as to talk personally with the receptionist and kindly ask clarifications about it. He firstly told me that this was one of the hotel's rules but then, once asked to show me such a rule per written, not finding any document ascertaining such a thing, he called the duty manager Mr. Ismail Akoglu who somehow explained me that the booked room was a single room and not a double one and hence I had to pay the difference.. Well, I tried to explain him that my Turkish friend was going to stay a few hours with me and it was not my intention to take her in the hotel for the whole night as well as "hiding" her from the hotel control. In conclusion, I payed twice 80TL (hence 160TL shown in attached photos) for just "hosting" a local friend in my sea-view room for a few hours per time (total twice). I'm pretty sure that such a not-written rule applies only to European foreigners (called yabanci) who are not confident in speaking a good Turkish. Such a thing never happened to me before during a year living in Istanbul. I experienced really an uncomfortable situation...my Turkish friend felt very sorry and unpleasant to find herself in such a situation in her hometown. Never again in Ege Palas.

    1. Acceptable Turkish breakfast even though borek usually not fresh, menemen not tasty and especially sucuk yumurta missing from the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was adjoining and the door was quite thin so I could hear the conversations.

    Breakfast room is bright, airy, clean and has a great view. Rooms are large and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is for the second time I have stayed in this hotel and both time they requested more money than was written in the reservation voucher in T L and this is the only hotel that I had this problem with .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi works very badly, you need to login every 5 minutes which includes passport number and room number, TV did not work well for international channels. Air condition did not work at all which was a nightmare to sleep. If you open the window then a massive noise is coming from a busy street. Room temperature was 27 celcius which was too hot for me to sleep.

    Nice breakfast, perfect location near the sea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location near the coast where you can see the sunset veiw from the window of your room while you are in your bed .it was very clean and tidy .high class hotel.where you can find evey facilities near you.it is also near very famous quarter. STUFF where very cooperative and lovely and speech English fluent special Miray Kirmhadm .I highly recommend it .The roof top bar and restaurant was wonderful with panoramic views of both the city and see with good and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was very, very good. Tha staff was helpfull. We could leave one trunk in the hotel while we were travelling by bike, untill the and of our holiday. That was no problem. Room was large and has a good bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tough time in regulating the room temperature.

    The hotel is offers a very good comfort and an excellent location. The breakfast is traditionally Turkish but good quality and so suitable to western stomachs. The wifi works well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely detest the showers. No matter what, one always ends up getting a cold shower from a kind of separate element that is for some reason fixed on the ceiling. I was about to tear it down in a fit of outrage. This must be a malicious joke of some kind. But all else was good indeed.

    Excellent location and gorgeous sea view. Spotlessly clean. I always stay here when in Izmir.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The laundry was in my room at the appointed time. So I told the staff I do not have laundry. However, the staff told me that I left the laundry in the room. I checked again and told the staff that there was no laundry. The staff told me that I called the laundry person, and after some time the laundry person brought my laundry. The front desk staff did not apologize to me. Even though I had to go to the room twice and check it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so close to everywhere. A little noisy at nite maybe because it was a Saturday. The staff was excellent. The only thing that bugged me was the glass elevator was a good idea but the glass was not very clean.😜

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to ship a box to Ankara, the staff took it and after 1 day my friend in Ankara had already received it, I payed a very low price when checking out. Very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right in the area most visitors want to stay in when in Izmir. Fast wifi in the sea-view room. Since I was leaving very early the next day, before breakfast hours, staff sent me off on their airport transfer service with a "lunch box."

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once I arrive to hotel, I found a room with two beds which I have ordered queen size bed with extra fee. I was told they don"t have queen size bed room.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet had problems. No indoor swimming pool. Gym room was very small and not very well equipped.

    Staff are very kind, polite and helpful. Breakfast was good. Very clean hotel. Very beautiful sea sight view Very good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stuff, place, hotel, ..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the shower tray could do with a non slip base also some type of rail to hold on to when you wash your feet

    the hotelstaff were very helpfull

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fine sea view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property to old needs to refurnished also the air conditioning was to noisy and some time hot

    The sea view rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location, clean rooms, various breakfast. English-speaking stuff is always a plus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell from toilets/bathroom and breakfast offerings should be improved

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean & nice room Good breakfast Nice view from the rooftop bar and upper rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ATTITUDE OF THE FRONT DESK WAS NOT POLITE

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly, room has no sea view As stated, bathroom smell, door lock is not working

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very poor

    Teras

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception is not speaking English

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelt bad.

    Breakfast, location, large room, free parking.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    is getting out of shape with time:)

    best location at the heart of Izmir

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not clean. They did not replace the content of the minibar. Rooms very noisy

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location with good view of sea. Breakfasts are rich and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit tired.

    Breakfast was very good. Location was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning

    Location Free car park

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two of the bathroom faucets were out of order...

    The view was excellent, the personnels were very friendly, the location is wonderful...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasnt working fine in a hot summer day

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit dated, but comfortable enough. The location and the views more than make up for the lack of a trendy style. The room was warm due to higher than average temperatures and the cooling setting on the air conditioning was locked, but opening the balcony door cooled down the room enough.

    Excellent location with amazing views in the seaside rooms on the top floors. Good wifi (did not work the first time I tried it, but staff fixed the problem immediately), good-sized room, helpful staff (brought a different pillow within minutes when I realized I was allergic to the down pillows they had in the room), decently stocked breakfast opened till 11 on the weekends. Fantastic valued for the money, especially with that view!

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a great thing, but the safe was out of order when we first enter to the room. Although we were at floor 17, music at the top floor (20th) could be heared from our room.

    Scenery, rich breakfast. Receptionist upgrade us to a sea view room without any extra money. One night we have our dinner at the balkony with a bottle of wine (promotion, very cheap). We had a chance to try Izmir's legendery boyoz at the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Having to log in so many times to the WiFi with passport number then room number? Wardrobes and drawers very dirty. Toilet seat loose hence causing dirt to gather there. Not enough English speaking channels on TV.

    I liked the location as very central and could walk everywhere. Although noisy after midnight if you are staying on the city side. Kettle in the room. Car park free. Breakfast included and big selection. Room service good and fast and food tasty.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complain at all.

    Double Room with Sea View. Beautiful view indeed. Comfortable bed, clean and warm room (it was really cold outside), nice shower, big breakfast with great variety and great location, literally 2 minutes walking from all the bars and restaurants of Alsancak.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the Valet parking, Old style charm in a modern building, comfortable room, balcony with Bay view and great location in the centre of Alsancak entertainment district on e street back from the Kordon

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no late check out , must be at 12 ! no welcome drink.....

    NICE LOCATION , NICE SEA VIEW , excellent place for walking downtown.... upper floor seaview rooms are reccomended.... check inn lasy very helpfulll.... Good breakfast , good 4 star level , not 5 !

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    check out 12... not +2 hours... no welcome drink ....

    Location fantastic , check in helped us A LOT ! Very good sea view at the upper floor... nice breakfast .... classical 4 star decoration and room , not 5 star , but necessary all things are avb and enough.... some rooms are renewing ... I didnt try that one , should be much better...

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was not properly cleaned and had a bad smell we were not informed about any facilities of the hotel (breakfast was included in the room rate but noone has ever mentioned) staff is unfriendly

    room was spacious and location is great

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Solo traveller

    No fascial tissues in the room, when we asked for it, it seemed they never heard of that invention. We had to ask for toilet paper.

    Overall it's good. They need to work on some basic details though such as educate their house keepers to leave more toilet paper in the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As i went inside the hotel when i wanted to check in receptionist looked at me strangly like i cant even afford the room and asked do i have a reservation here which was surprising! When we went to the breakfast around 10:30 there was food left but there wasnt many choices to choose and as it was the end of the breakfast they wasnt adding anything. But otherwise it was ok.

    Room service in the middle of the night was good! Food was great and they bring it to the room really fast.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was not cleaned properly, even asked to do so, the same day wasn't their attention. The rooms were renovated but not in cheap way, some of the stuff has been changed some remained as it was, no carpet for instance which doesn't look right and transfers the walking noise of the room upstairs. Pillows and the bed were not good at all. as I knew the hotel since many years, despite its name and fame I was disappointed by the service provided.

    No doubt the location and not all but some helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no lights at all by the make-up mirror was a tad annoying

    location is extremely central - beds very comfortable- sea-facing balcony was a great bonus- relatively decent tv channels- excellent view- friendly staff with a helpful and professional attitude

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charged 60 TL more than 20 USD for a beer in the room fridge. Ridiculous!

    Excellent location and view

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    So clean and close to the seashore, comfy beds etc.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    this hotel needs a pool

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    terrible reception stuff

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Get a room wıth a sea view its Well worth it!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom door makes huge noise

    Location location location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the wifi

    the view the big room

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They charged me and accused me of breaking a hair dryer in the room

    Great view

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Balcony was not clean enough that is why I couldn't enjoy sea view.

    Location and view is perfect

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price

    Location breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sea view was incredible!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the view from the window

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the cleaning, and the reception

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street construction made driving to hotel difficult. Hopefully this will be improved in the future.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything the staff especially this hotel deserves more than 5 stars

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Colour scheme, but that is just a matter of taste....

    Breakfast, staff, view, restaurants and bars in vicinity

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breackfast room really hot and crouded, the Street where you go out quite bad

    really good room, clean and confortable

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Ege Palas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: