Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Horn Hotel 4 stars

Ebusuud Cad. No: 26 Sirkeci, Fatih, 34410 Istanbul, Turkey

#828 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1189 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    a worm and kindness especially in the restaurant from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 7 nights

    But, Ali at the reception was not helpful especially in the last day and during checkout.

    a worm and kindness especially in the restaurant from "WAAD" and "TIKA" and their supervisor who were very friendly with my kids. thanks to them for all the service delivered.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Brief but Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small and some of the hotel’s structure seems old and needed some updating.

    The view of The Bosphorus in the early morning light from the restaurant is lovely. The room was comfortable with the gorgeous gold ceiling design right above the bed. This hotel is perfectly located. Not smack bang in the middle of the busy tourist sights, but a merely 5-10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazaar, the Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia and less than 15 minutes to the Spice Bazaar; and any other main site in the centre of Istanbul. The staff were very eager to help and went out of their way to ensure I had a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were small.

    The Staff was amazing. The Reception guy/manager ALI was really helpful and professional. The restaurant and support staff were very cool. Particularly the Syrian lady Ward was very helpful and she took care of our kids as well. The location was very nice and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was good with bosphorous view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Great helpful staff in a reasonably priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and a bit cramped. There is only one elevator on the hotel, this can be problematic at times

    Great, nice and helpful staff especially Waad and Seckin Kaya. The location of the hotel is a walk distance from Hagia Sophia and Sultanahmet mosque, and the Gulhane tram station is a minute’s walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom is very small and very old. It is far from being a 5* hotel. It’s more like a hostel. Everything in the bathroom looks very old and bad maintained. Size of the bathroom?.....let’s say I could not even stretch my hands from left to right, cause I would have hit the walls. The rooms light switch is right behind the pillow ..... so when you sleep, you basically turn on and of the light every time you move. Breakfast .....horrible. You don’t wanna know where the coffee machine water comes from...

    Location View from the breakfast place..only the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The night receptionist was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist was really helpful. He helped us organise a midnight cab ride despite having scarce availability of cabs during the odd hours + festive season. Really helpful and kind people at the hotel. It made us felt at home :) do make sure to explore the rooftop terrace! Really laid back atmosphere and we really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.3
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall smells of old age and the bathroom is of very low standard. Too much noise from the tram way, you can barley sleep.

    The hotel claims to be 4 star, but it's not. The rooms have very old walls covered in wallpapers. The bathroom is tiled without bathtubs. There's so much noise, as it is along a busy road and tram stop but not soundproof...I will not stay there next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location near city centre, everywhere possible to walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room and bathroom, size is not for 4star hotel.

    Good location near city centre, everywhere possible to walk. Amazing terrace for breakfast with best view in Istanbul. Quite big breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Stuff was really kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was really kind. They helped us to get around the city with the little time what we had and told, where Are the best places to eat out. Even more, as we had to leave early in the morning, they called us just in case yo be sure that we arrive to our flight on time and had a sandwiches for breakfast for us, as we couldnt stay until breakfast time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel's location is perfect near the metro station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit small.

    The hotel's location is perfect near the metro station where u can go to topkapi and grand bazar either walking or 5 mns by metro. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, the staff were amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was a bit annoying but expected since it’s located in the heart of the city.

    The staff were amazing! Very helpful, cheerful and approachable!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location for tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we booked the room we didn’t know that the economy rooms are located in the basement. The Booking post should be clear about it. Thankfully the staff gave us an upgrade. Also internet is slow. But to be fair it was slow in every hotel we stayed in Turkey.

    It was very close to all sightseeing places. So very central. Breackfast was ok. We’ve stayed in other hotels that have a lot more variety. We got an upgrade on our room so that was very nice. The staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Location wise it is excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were very small. Bathroom layout is not good. The hotel needs some renovation work as the decor looks shoddy.

    Location wise it is excellent. Cafeteria has a beautiful view of the Vosporos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 2 people with an extremely small closet , no view from the room window ( if to rate the view under zero), internet connection was fluctuating from good to poor, bed sheets were never changed during our one week stay..

    Good location 5 minutes walk to Hayga Sophia, nice and helpful staff, great view from the restaurant, near the tramway station and many restaurants and souvenirs shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location very helpful staff, in the centre of all activities you need
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The shower and the noise

    The location of the hotel is fantastic, the rooms are comfortable with good facilities. The shower was not easy to control hot and cold water. The noise during breakfast time on the 6th floor was too much. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I would like to stay again in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.0
    Needs a revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small, the toilets were not up to the standard, the TV was very small, the towels were old, the lights in the rooms are minimal and some didn't even work.

    The staff were all good, accomodative and cheerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need renovation. Bathrooms are too tight even in Suites. The impression you get from web is that hotel is great. It is reasonable perhaps due to resort location. I had the best room but it was noisy.

    Location is wonderful. Staff is cooperative. Environment is cosy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    The location is very good and within walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration could be more modernized

    The location is very good and within walking distance to the Hagia Sofia and mosque. Breakfast is good but expects More varieties and fruits

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    The location was good but not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The objects were damaged and it was not worth the money. We had drinks that were opened before in the minibar and we had to pay fot them too!

    The location was good but not the best

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Centrally located decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Im afraid it was not 4 * hotel, maybe 3 *. DeLuxe room was truly tiny. Bathroom facilities should be updated. A bit too noisy area.

    The view from restaurant was incredible - to the Golden Horn bay. Easy access to the Old Town sights and harbor. It was good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    2.9
    Not satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The services, and the room services staff steal My wife make up bag , when we reported it to the hotel reception they didn’t do nothing about it , I wouldn’t recommend this hotel at all .

    The area and location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, otoman style architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, otoman style architecture. You have a nice view of Istanbul from the terrace. The senior man from the reception was very kind, smiley and helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.4
    When I did the check in I was surprise about size of my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I did the check in I was surprise about size of my suite ( it was small room ). Without respect the receipt employee try to convince me that my suit. After time of argument the decide to change my stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Good place to stay for couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited specially during daytimes, Rooms sizes are small and seems different sizes from the online images.

    Location is Very close to transportation , most landmarks and restaurants.... Breakfast to some extent was good,,,, Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Overl all was good place to stay in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    We book one day to try iit but next day they say we don’t...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed small and the bathroom tiles is so old and when you sleep some things hatch you

    We book one day to try iit but next day they say we don’t have room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and welcoming, they exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The staff were very accommodating especially Segkin and Iba at the Golden Horn Hotel. They were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was very nice and location was 5 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    Fortunately it was only one night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms do not do justice to the photographs - they are very, very small as was my shower room. This hotel is not truly a four star property more like a two star. describing it as a four star is misleading.

    its location in the old town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Had a great time , it was sorrounded by shops of all kinds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room wasn't that big for a deluxe room .

    Location was excellent as it was near to blue mosque and also has a tram station nearby. Staff is excellent and very helpful, especially Seckin who was exceptional. Airport pick and drop was also provided if you are willing to pay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Always welcome staff at the desk and restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House keeping is always loud in the early morning.Also noise from the street if your room window at the front of the building, windows are not tight closing unfortunately.

    Always welcome staff at the desk and restaurant

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.6
    unluck
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was the worstest one. we were three in the room, and the room was more for a single. mini bar empty and doesnt worked. the clima was bad. clean, no.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location but needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water, then low pressure when hot water turned on. Heater didn't work. Window was broken in our room. For a suite it was pretty basic.

    staff was really helpfull. location was excelent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    2.9
    Watch out! Fake reviews!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty, cigarett-smelly hotel, Did not get reno in the last 20 years. Breakfast is poor, staff is not very helpful and most of them does not speak in English. They even do not say hello when you enter their hotel. WATCH OUT!!! Fake reviews!!

    2 min walk from the Ayasofia.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    Photos and descriptions in booking.com are not always informative!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a suite for 3 nights which in booking was looking very comfortable and wide. However when we arrived we got like a typical room called "suite Gulhane" with very small and old bathroom without many items that booking.com included in the description.

    The location is very good The gentleman "Sechin" at the restaurant was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    the hotel was within walking distance to the blue mosque and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much to eat for breakfast, only cereal and scrambled eggs. the room was really small, the sink was leaking. when we first got there, there's hair on the bed which looked like pubic hair

    the hotel was within walking distance to the blue mosque and hagia sophia. breakfast at the rooftop with sea view. the staff was really helpful explaining the tours around the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Very impressed with the customer service. Very helpful staff. A very good experiance. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bigger lift would make lift abit more easy.

    Customer Service. The hot water was not working in the morning of friday but was repaired when i phoned the reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    7.1
    Location was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the rooms were disapponting. As small as i coudnt find a place in the room to put my baggage .

    THE resturant & its view was good,, staffs were good as well ,location was awesome .breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.0
    Only good thing is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, Room size, room rates and no cleanliness. No value for money you pay. I found much much better hotel with same rates nearby.

    Only good thing is location. It is next to Gulhane Tram station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    I had a nice stay at this hotel, i would recommend to everyone who wants a pleasant stay for a good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say that there is something i didn't like. I was a little disappointed by the view i had from my room.

    I like that i had a warm and clean room, quiet area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is close to all touristic attractions, 5-10 min. walk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    2.5
    1.Unsafe 2.Terrible management 3.Rip off 4.Poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    How this hotel managed to achieve 4 stars is beyond me. We were a family of three that booked a standard room. Having travelled to many cities we know what to except when inquiring a standard room for three. However, this room was a disaster. To begin with the room was extremely small. It was a room clearly meant for one and had three single beds forced into it. There was barely any room to move around. Two people could not cross paths at the same time. Suitcases just about fit into the room. To add, the room had no basic working facilities. Such as a working shower, a working phone, a working kettle and a working fire alarm and sprinkler. After three nights of complaining, we had a phone and kettle given to us. However, as there was no space, the phone was plugged between two beds on the floor and the kettle by the bathroom! There was no way of even using it and to them this was a solution! In addition to that, we complained about the size of the room and it being a safety hazard. After three nights of suffering in that room they decided to upgrade us to a bigger room for our last two nights as they realised their fault. However, when we arose the argument of a compensation they began creating excuses for their mistake. The reservation manager argued that it was our fault for not booking a deluxe suite. Seriously!? So anyone who wishes to have a comfortable stay has to spend triple the amount of money. Ridiculous. Further to that, we asked to speak to the hotel manager and surprisingly he disappeared and was nowhere to be found for the last two days we were there. In conclusion, this hotel is a rip off. The management is unprofessional, inconsiderate and money hungry. I DO NOT recommend this hotel.

    Good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    Overall it was a good experience staying at Golden Horn Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room given initially was very small that we could hardly move, but on our request they changed the room the next day which was much better. The bathroom was very small though.

    Location was very good. Many good restaurants nearby. Very close to tram station, Bosphorous and other places. Good hospitality.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Its 2star hotel very small room .
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small room its 2star hotel not 4star, toilet was very bad too noisy you can hear your side room Tv sound , i was trying to change my hotel but they told no money back .

    only breakfast view was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    anyway this hotel is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor equipment of the bathroom (no condition, no shower gel,no body lotion), also bathroom ventilation is very bad, hairdryer is too old. slippers are too cheap.Guys it`s not comfortable to wear it. Windows in the room are too old also and the wind and sound comes in. no free water at check in((( breakfast is a little bit modest

    Good comminication with the staff, always friendly pretty good view from the terrace close to main public sights (you can go by the walk) and transport (tramvay, marmaray)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as i arrived i gave passports , he asked me several time to pay . The room was in the basement with laguage room , was without window , hardly they changed , we got a room with double bed , i slept on floor on blanket because they refused to give me mattres . Any how is last time

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    My honeymoon was terrible
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t the room i booked, badtube was full bodyhair. Tv wasn’t working.. everywere bugs. WiFi doesn’t work at all.. no water in the morning every morning, no batteries in remote controll. No enough Curtains to cover the window... i asked for an double bed, there were 3 small beds.. there was an big whole in the curtain.

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this hotel is definitely not a 4-star hotel! very disappointed by the quality. the room was not very clean and many things were missing seems like the room was not prepared at all! also the furniture is very old and damaged. the room have zero sound proof as i could hear everything. definitely not coming to this hotel again!

    location was great and close to many nice places and the restaurant view was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.1
    good value for what we paid, great stay in this unbelievable beautiful city ISTANBUL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms were so very small and i wish they would be bigger , but i guess in Istanbul all the hotels are like this.

    the location was excellent just 10 min to all touristic attractions, the sea view from the restaurant was very beautiful , nice staff ,they offer free tea and coffee every day from 15:00 till 17:00

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.3
    Everything else beside small room was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small, and after long journey we expected a bit more. Breakfast could be better.

    Everything else beside small room was okay. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Good.Love to come again with atleast ten days stay.Insha Allah in July.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is only humble suggestion that your receptionists must inform the customers on arrival that hotel can arrange your trips as well.

    Your all staff is cooperative and friendly.we liked your breakfast but please add some Pakistani dishes as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location, literally 5-10 mins walking from topkapi palace, archaelogical musuem, grand bazar, blue mosque, etc. Lots of restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    3.8
    4 starts hotel? yeah, right more like 0.5 star!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dirty: old furniture in some cases broken and with nasty stains. It seems that the floor was not cleaned, wallpaper was peeling off. Noise isolation equaled to zero, you can hear everything that is happening in the hallway.

    The reception offered a decent service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude. The hotel is not if 4*, at least not the room that i’ve checked in. I’ve asked for a double/twine room with extra bed and they put it al three beds like one. In the room it was space just for one person to stand and if you want it to get to bed you had to jump. The “bed” it was actually right in the window. The ceiling isn’t high, so a 1,80 m tall man it won’t be able to make a decent shower.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    the staff was really helpful, the breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the wifi connection in our room was really poor, we had to go down to the lobby to use the internet. on the top floor it was really poor connection

    the staff was really helpful, the breakfast was good. cleanliness was good and the location direct in city. it was safe as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Home away from home... would return everytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since it was my 3rd time here, İ guess İ like everything, especially the staff which is very helpful and nice. Thank you Aydın, Ali, Talip and everyone else İ don’t know the name of... you made me feel like home!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.1
    The bed was comfy and the staff where nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view out of the window was a brick wall with old wood pieces outside. No food served only breakfast no drink served. The room wasn't like the pictures very deceiving

    The bed was comfortable. Staff were nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel. Will definitely stay next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a quiet part of the city but only steps away from all major attractions excellent hotel and the breakfast with the view was the star of the show. Rooms are small but we'll worth it considering most time spent outside

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    The best staff, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs maintenance work to be done, some facilities are old and damaged.

    Staff is very kind, helpful and always ready to provide everything you might need; Breakfast was perfect; Cleaning service worked on our time-frame, finished before we were back from the breakfast, never knocked when we were inside the room; View of the buffet for breakfast was just amazing; Location is really good, close to the tram station, boat station, all main museums and sightseeings are nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    4.2
    Nothing special in the hotel room is a small one elevator to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    small room one elevator to all Hotel Bad wifi Bad TV channel list very expensive

    Nothing special in the hotel room is a small one elevator to all Hotel bad wifi connection bad TV and WC

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    Not again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value of property price totally not equal to its size and advertised delux pictures, WiFi so poor that I couldn’t use it, shower was very bad

    Location, employees kindness

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel at a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too compact and lacked basics such as bottles of water earbuds showergel and bathroom mats

    Close proximity to all the tourist spots and transportation..good view of blue mosque.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.2
    Exhausted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy. No quiet. Couldn't sleep. Everything in the pictures has been dressed with fancy linens that you will not find there when you stay there. The exterior, it doesn't look as nice any more, it's not floodlit outside. the marble is a bit cracked, the gold leaf on the stairwells is coming off, also the room you will get is much smaller than those shown in the pictures. Those shown are premium suites, not the general rooms they give you at standard price with window. You will note that many of the booking.com review are from locals. Perhaps a large network of cousins or maybe dummy accounts. This is not a four star hotel. The staff are however very good. Food is fine, top floor view impressive. Problem is they have installed card entry locks on all the doors which you have to slam to make them shut, hence all doors in the hotel banging morning, noon and all through the night of this 24hr city. They then start cleaning the rooms at 7 am. Pretty inconsiderate (I was raised in a hotel my father owned and we used to start after breakfast time) - the chamber maids are doing their job, so lots more door banging, slap on 7am. So if you're looking for a bit of a lie in on your holiday...forget it! My recommendations to this hotel would be 1. To install door closers on all rooms. The noise level from the doors banging shut is extremely loud. 2. Change the locks to soft closing locks as the locks themselves are part of the problem 3. Don't send the maids round till after breakfast..... 7am is far to early

    Decent rooms, good service, great view, but very noisy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Ok, but I would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small,no place for luggage,wardrobe extremely small. AC not work properly.In bathroom no shower gels, for a 4* hotel it could provide us with a shower gel at least.The shower holder was broken and the water pressure was too weak. Only one elevator, Rooms not sound isolated an9d I was waken up during the night cuz of the noise otside. Breakfast was little poor. The man who welcomed us on it was smiley and friendly

    Location is great, everything on walking distance and the tramway is close. There is a happy hour with cookies and coffee/tea, wifi okay most of time, part of personnel was nice. The top area for breakfast had amazing view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location close to some of the main attractions as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel could use some renovation/restoration as visible from the lobby and our room where some of the wallpapers was coming off. We took a suite on the 6th floor which was nicely decorated and had an amazing view, but being close to the stairs that led to the restaurant meant we were able to hear people coming and going as well as the sound of dishes in the mornings.

    Excellent location close to some of the main attractions as well as train/metro stations. Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.2
    Mix bag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, apparently an upgrade to the Deluxe room but nothing about it was an upgrade. Only a single bed light worked and a single plug. Lacked in space and the bathroom was tiny! Lastly the air con would constantly make funny noises even switched off.

    The helpful memebers of staff who would provide for you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing .

    The staff were awesome, especially the man who looked after us at breakfast. Great place to stay in the heart of everything in Sultanahamet !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable and dingy. We shifted to another hotel, only the lounge was spacious and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bedroom (no walking space ) , small bathroom and tiny wardrobe which had a bed right next to it so it hardly opened.tiny TV.

    Only the terrace restaurant but the cleanliness of the utensils was doubtful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Hotel! Extremely well located, very nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the staff was super nice, especially Mr. Seckin who was always extremely caring and concerned if everything was going perfectly. A special thanks also to the sir in the reception (unfortunately i can't remember his name) that helped us since day 1 with all the important things to see in Istanbul as well as helping us with all the things on this trip. Amazing Hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.4
    do NOT book this hotel, it s not how it looks in the pictures!! booking should take it off its list.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the hotel is NOT how it looks in the pictures, probably the pictures are at least 10 years old. the hotel overall is kept really bad, electric wires coming out the walls, cleanliness was terrific, found hair on the toilet towels, dirty shower etc. food horrible. the hotel doesnt actually have a bar, it s closed. just the restaurant was open for buffet in the morning. no alcohol served. staff quite rude. room was really noisy, and it had only a small window which was facing a fire escape stair. do not book this hotel, considering the price you can get hundreds better hotels in istanbul.

    the location as it was close to the history center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    9.2
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are really friendly,helpful and nice especially MR.Talip which is good man and he is really honest. He gave us a lot of wonderful info about city,historical places, restaurants and even taxis and prices. It’s really worth it and Highly recommended 🙌😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    I gave it a 4 star because many people do like these simple hotels. Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think these were build intentionally as hotels, car alarm went off in the street two nights and woke us up. Windows to the streets are not insulated as good as they should be. Rooms are very small and one can hear sounds from hall way and rooms.

    Location, simple , roof breakfast restaurant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel, perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect, everything is in walking distance. Wonderful staff too, very friendly and would always ask if we need anything. Especially a big thanks to Luba and Mr Seckin for being so accommodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    breakfast was better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I put the towels on the floor to be changed and they hung them back up. I had to request for them to be changed again.

    breakfast was better than expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one thing the breakfast is little bit poor and lacking pastries and croissants

    Clean and comfortable rooms, perfect location very near to sultan ahmet and 2 min to metro station ... staff are super especially the man serving in restaurant name ciçken and also the blonde waitress very helpful...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location in Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any electric kettle and tea inside the room, and the fridge not cool enough. We requested an iron but they didn't have one. If not mistaken, they said there was a laundry shop nearby. But we didn't tried it.

    The location is really near to Blue Mosque, Topkapi, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Grand bazaar and Spice bazaar. You can walk less than 20 minutes to all the places I listed and less than 5 minutes to a nearby tram. There was a pharmacy and souvenir shop in front of the hotel. View from rooftop during breakfast was amazing and we received good service from the restaurant chef, Seckin Kaya.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    Not as advertised and not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved Suite but room was tiny and not up to expectations. Bathroom was also tiny and cramped and shower water pressure was weak. Nothing like photos on booking.com. Room was not soundproof as advertised. Every single minor noise could be heard and we couldn't sleep at all. Window was facing another room so we didn't have any privacy. We had to keep curtains closed all the time! TV was hanging on the left edge of the room and couldn't be moved so viewing it was uncomfortable. For the price we paid I would have expected much better. When we complained they didn't offer us any help just saying that hotel was full and they couldn't do anything about it. I would not recommend the hotel at all to anyone looking for comfort.

    Excellent wifi and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.3
    Touristic Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - No Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rather shabby, but clean. Breakfast was not to my taste - not very European. Also no English channels on TV.

    It is very convenient for the main tourist attractions, and ready for transport once you've worked out how to buy a tram ticket. 10TL buys a rechargeable card with 4TL of credit on it - enough for one journey. Gulhane stop is at the end of the road. Main airport is 50 mins away, but costs less than 6TL to reach.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Golden Horn Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: