Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Turkey hotel reviews
  3. Marmara Region hotel reviews
  4. Istanbul hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Great Fortune Hotel & Spa

Reviews of Great Fortune Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Babi Ali Caddesi Basmuhasip Sokak No:11/13 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34110 Istanbul, Turkey

#715 of 1,520 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 999 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2019

    7.9
    Bedroom didn't feel like a 4 star, but at the right price location is great for sightseeing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room largely very clean, but not spotless (someone else food left in mini bar / coffee stirrers used). Standard room was fairly basic and a bit tatty on finishes in the main area (laminate flooring very chipped and door lock didn't work). Wardrobe only half height. I stayed in a superior double on a different stay and felt it was better maintained.

    Staff lovely. Fantastic location. Bathroom nice. Breakfast & room OK.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2019

    8.3
    Proximity to Blue Mosque and shopping district in Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Family Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Connecting room was small ( with kids room) and wifi on top floor was tempermental.(may be it was on top floor) Breakfast was good but need improvement.

    Proximity to Blue Mosque and shopping district in Old Istanbul. Very friendly staffs and helpful Manager and team. Was there for anything.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2019

    7.9
    Great value great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast let’s this hotel down completely. I think they must sub contract this to someone. We stayed for 3 nights and only had breakfast 1 day. We went for breakfast at 9.30am and breakfast normally finishes at 10.30am and we were told bread had finished. There was no hot water in the machine. There isn’t a lot of variety at all. No fresh fruits or yogurt no toaster so was very disappointed. But there plenty of places near by to eat so that’s what we done. I think the owners should really look into this issue.

    The location was absolutely great. 1 minute walk away from McDonald’s and 5 min walk from Burger King. The hotel is just off the main road so you avoid the noise. The staff are great as-well especially Gokhan, Sencer and Mert. Top guys. If you need any information or help they are the main guys they can’t do enough for you. Guys this is Abdul from 1st floor room next to the lift

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2019

    5.4
    IT WAS OK. NOT BRILLIANT LOCATION WAS SPOT ON
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast OMG IT WAS SHOCKING. If you like your breakfast do not go to this hotel. There was 1 member of staff serving us. Hardly anything to choose from no Juices nothing.. we have to ask for spoon knife etc it was CHAOS!!!! The room was ok not brilliant not like it was described in the pictures it was small.. not worth the amount of money we paid as we had to eat breakfast outside after the first 2 days off hell.

    The location was spot on.. when you come out of the everything’s just there.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2019

    4.2
    The only things that I can note is its near to Blue mosque
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel services were very poor you have to call them for everything. The breakfast menu doesn't anything for describing and the services of the restaurant was as poor as you imagine. We asked twice to use the sauna and swimming pool, which said they could not be used due to disinfection with chlorine. We reserved a triple room for 3 adults but they gave us a twin bed room with an Extra bed. However they changed our room after 1 night but they gave us another room as same as previous but a little bit bigger!

    The only things that I can note is its near to Blue mosque

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2019

    7.1
    Great location but basically somewhere to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Balcony - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel has no bar or restaurant (basic breakfast provided) and we were unableto get a proper double bed. Two singles pushed together.

    Location is great, short stroll to the Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Byzantine Cistern and Topaki Palace. Also, plenty of bars/restauranta within 100 metres.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    10
    Great service, helpful staff and nice spa in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good, maybe the quality of the breakfast could be improved. Better coffee and tea and fresh orange juice would make so much difference.

    The hotel was great! Room well equipped with AC and comfy bed. Perfect location in the heart of the old city, from where we could easily access all main landmarks and attraction. Nice spa with Turkish bath and massages. We get great spa couple treatment deals, which made the experience very good value for money. 5 stars to the staff that was always helpful and recommended us the best places to visit and an unforgettable night cruise in the Bosphorus. Special thanks to Gokhan and Sencer for being always so kind!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    6.3
    Best location and service but dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaning, room size, terrace need to be renovated, tables are shaky and better breakfast please with real coffee and juice.

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. Gokhan at reception gave us good tips as to the places to see and excursions.The location is the best, but cleanliness is very poor.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2019

    7.9
    Excellent location close to main attractions and tramway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was merely a selection of some cold cuts and not managed professionally. The room was somewhat congested.

    Excellent location close to main attractions and tramway. Nicely decorated lobby

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2019

    10
    I am very satisfied, and for sure if i come back to İstanbul it will be my choice again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the home service and the hole staff were perfect 👍👍 The room is wide and very comfortable The spa was an awesome experience to spend a free time ( rest after shopping) The location of the hotel was perfect, not too much close the the noisy street, but close enough to everything ( restaurants,metro station and mosques) The breakfast was good I am very satisfied, and for sure if i come back to İstanbul it will be my choice again

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    9.2
    The stuff are very friendly , especially Gokhan and sencer ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stuff are very friendly , especially Gokhan and sencer , they were very supporting all over my stay , the property is very clean and very near to major historical places as well surrounded by all kind of restaurants , very near to bus and taram stations

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    10
    The hotel is located in strategic and central position far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good, but I humbly think it could offer a little more.

    The hotel is located in strategic and central position far from chaotic city. Spa access was really great. Internet connection was always working.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2019

    4.6
    I wish we didn't choose this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The breakfast !! Horrible: not good at all. There wasn't any fresh typical products or fresh juices. They didn't have proper material to keep the food fresh (eg. the cheese) : they just put random ice under the plate. And WORST THING EVER : seeing some patients who had just been operated (bald men come to Istanbul to implement some hairs), the clinic is just a few steps away from the hotel : disgisting! - They don't respect your privacy : the guy from the reception took my phone number from my booking reservation even though I told him I didn't want to give it to him! He sent me text messages on Whatsapp >> Disrespectful! - The room is small and we didn't have enough room for 2 + the suitcases. - The spa is not as beautiful as shown in the pictures : we don't have free acces to the turkish hamam. The sauna is cold and the swimmingpool pretty small.

    - If you want to visit Sultanhamet, it's a great place to stay. Near lots of restaurants (touristic though!) - The bed is comfortable

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    9.2
    The location is just perfect, right in the heart of the old...
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, it was good as expected

    The location is just perfect, right in the heart of the old city and short walks to many of the major sights. It’s also convenient for public transport if you want to go further afield (and you should; Istanbul is just a stunning city)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2019

    10
    Great hotel, Amazing location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/A

    I stayed here for my birthday during the month of May and really enjoyed myself. The staff were so nice and welcoming, they gave be a lot of advice on where additional sites and areas to visit. On arrival upon finding out it was my birthday they gave me a free room upgrade which was amazing! The location of the hotel is perfect it is literally a 5min walk to Haga Sophia & The blue mosque, as well as other areas of interest. You can see the Haga sophia from the breakfast room. The hotel is also a 3min walk from the tram line so there is no need for taxis when sightseeing unless you want to pay extra. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Istanbul for the first time like myself. Also a special thank you to Gokhan and all the staff at Great fortune who made me stay pleasant :)

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    10
    Short and intense.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airport shuttle was late to pick us up from the airport, but then they offered us a car with driver for free to get us around Istanbul. We didn't even have to complain! We appreciated their gesture.

    We didn't have breakfast properly because we checked out very early, but the reception offered us sandwiches for the road and a box of Turkish delights as gift.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    8.8
    The location and staff were excellent and contributed to a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The close proximity of hotel room windows to other buildings. Some of the condition in the restaurant - being renovated and the lack of light in the shower. This didn’t take away from the comfort of the room, however.

    The staff was amazing. In particular, we loved the greeting by Roberto who explained the vicinity and the main sights. And the receptionists including Soh and Golkan, and three more that took care of us during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2019

    10
    I have been very pleased with my stay at the Great Fortune...
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been very pleased with my stay at the Great Fortune Hotel. I must thank the special dedication he has had in Śah with my person. Thank you very much!!!

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our first room was very loud (multiple aircon u its were above the room) and small. But the staff was helpful and gave us another room which was good.

    Very good location, great hammam experience

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    4.2
    Disappointed. It is far, far bellow 4 stars hotel standards. Wouldn't recommend at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are way to small - first room we got was size of a prison cell. We paid for upgrade (+40% price) to move to a barely decent size room (4th floor). I am really not spoiled but even new room was nightmare due to small size - you could barely turn around. Bathroom was so inadequate so that you keep bumping things around. Even the bathroom sink could not be used normally - it is so miniature that every time you wanna wash face or brush teeth you just splash water all around. Wardrobe was way to small for 2 people. Sound isolation is non-existent, all the time you could hear people from other rooms. We had a big balcony (back side view was quite ugly) but it was very dirty, chairs and table was covered by pigeon feces and nobody clean it for 4 days. Generally cleanness of room is on low level, which in combination with quite old and worn out furniture doesn't provide any comfort. Wi-Fi is very weak and unstable. We didnt have any wi-fi signal on 4th floor. Spa was just a joke. You don't get bathrobes in room and you even need to bring towels from room to spa. In spa there is a sauna (wasn't working), Turkish steam room and very, very small pool with quite cold water. Whole pool area is so small that there is only 3 (three) beds around pool. I just don't understand how spa can be used by more then 2-3 persons. Totally disappointing. Breakfast options are quite limited, just a few meals and while it can be ok for 1 day stay, if you stay more days you will find it quite boring and inadequate. Definitely it is not 4 star hotel - its rather 2 stars hotel with nice location

    Kind stuff always ready to help. Nice location

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    9.6
    It was my first visit to Istanbul, and the staff at Great Fortune were really amazing. Then front o
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi could have been better

    It was my first visit to Istanbul, and the staff at Great Fortune were really amazing. Then front office personnel were wonderful.... courteous, friendly helpful and prosessional. The guest relations executive Roberto went beyond his call of duty to help and guide me with tours and visits to the important sights... not to mention his ability to find me transport at the last minute. The housekeeping staff were great too, prompt and efficient, the rooms were clean and well maintained. Exceptional service .... I would recommend Great Fortune to anyone who visits Istanbul, not only because of the excellent service, but also the excellent location.... everything is in a radius of 10 minutes walking. The only problem was the wifi.... thye need to work on obtaining an efficient network

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    7.1
    The staff was nice. The location awesome. The walls were paper thin and there was no Internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were paper thin. We could ear our noisy neigbours. Also, the breakfast was not very good and there was no Internet at all except on the lobby.

    The staff was very nice and the location awesome

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    9.2
    The hotel is an an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel is an an excellent location. 2 minutes walk from the tram and 5 minutes from the blue mosque. The staff are so helpful, especially Sah who was on reception - he made our stay even better by always greeting us with a smile and asking us about our day. He helped us with all matters : getting a taxi to the airport/ giving us directions. All staff even at breakfast were lovely too :) the rooms were minimal but clean and served their purpose well :) we will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    4.6
    I enjoyed only location :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would be fine if the hotel is rated up to 3* for more reasonable price, but it's far away from 4* hotel. Facilities and service is poor: 80cm beds, tiny bathroom, cleaning just upon request (clean sink and make up bed incl.). Spa is small pool with a little bit cold sauna (I guess 75C) without a shower and you don't even get a sheet or towel there and need to bring your own :-O. Definitely no fitness/gym in this hotel, don't bring your work out stuff (I did :-)). Breakfast for gluten free is very poor and instant coffee in Turkey (really?!?!). Staff is smiling, that's nice, but not very helpful to be honest.

    Great location, right in the middle of Istanbul Old City. Walk distance everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    10
    A beautiful well equipped hotel very close to local tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing :)

    The friendly staff, the generous breakfast and the well equipped room. We had a lovely time thanks to everyone here at The Great Fortune! We would definitely recommend to our friends and will hopefully be back next year.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2019

    6.7
    Location is great as well as the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was so tiny you need to jump over the bed to get to the other side. The Uzbek reception staff impolite, unhelpful.

    Location is great as well as the breakfast. The Turkish staff that was in the reception very helpful and polite.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2019

    7.9
    People that are working in reception and in breakfast are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and the wardrobe is only for 2 jackets . If you have 2 suitcases you don't fit in the room .

    People that are working in reception and in breakfast are very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    4.2
    Very DIssapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was really bad everything was tasteless, even the coffee was bad!the room was dirty , under the bed we found carbages from the previous Guests.the room was small with zero sound insulation! The swimming pool we went 2 times , both time the water was cold and they told us to come back tomorrow but they never fix it! The reception Guy was rude and ironic all the time. Extremely unprofessional behavior from him. We are really very disappointed from our stay in this hotel ! its not worth it the money at all .

    The location of the Hotel is good. The Destination manager is a very nice guy and really helpful .

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2019

    5.8
    Décevant ! Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My arrival was a kind of disapointing because I have called one month ago the hotel to ask for rooms on the same floor as we came as a family they told me that it wasn’t a problem. When we arrived they didn’t have the same speech with us. They wanted to give us one room on the ground floor (the floor that I told them i didn’t Want because of the noise) and one on the 1rst floor because they said it was busy. Then we went on the 1rst floor to see the second room there was a free room just next to our room so we ask this room. I don’t know Why they didn’t give us directly this room as they knew we wanted two rooms on the same floor (doesnt change anything for them..). Anyway, when we enter the rooms we found dust on the beding and on the tables. I asked to the maid to clean the dust and she looked annoyed. And when i said what I saw to the manager, he gently came with me but looks like he didnt trust me as she already cleaned the room before he came. The cleaning was not good for a supposed 4 stars hotel. The bed sheets were not changed everyday because we found the same make up stains on the bed sheets (I think we slept in the same bedding for the entire stay). There was also some gnats in the bathroom. Also, she Forgot to add toilets paper tubes some days. Furthermore, the pool was cold, impossible to swim in that water which is a Pity as i chose this hotel for its spa. Moreover, the hotel was badly sound-conditioned, I could hear our neighbors like if we were in the same room. And the hotel was on work so one day I was awake by the noises. Nevertheless, we also met great people like Shakh who was very kind to us, helpful and who tried to assist us for every problem we met. He was competent. And the location is great, close to everything ! No goodbyes or any sentence when we left the hotel from the Guest relation manager. To conclude, It doesnt worth the price and taking into account the bad cleaning doesnt worth its 4 stars.

    Localisation.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    10
    It is in a great location and the hosts are really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are really great and big, bathroom are clean i like every thing about it

    It is in a great location and the hosts are really good specially reception. And had really good time in my stay .

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2019

    10
    We really enjoyed our stayed at Great Fortune Hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All is good.

    Our room is big and beds are very comfortable. We liked the spa and food. All we can say that everything at the Great Fortune Hotel Istanbul is super great.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2019

    9.6
    Great location and staff in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was awesome and the small but providing sauna/steambath/pool in the basement of the hotel was more then sufficient and we really enjoyed using all that. Staff was extremely helpful, going the extra mile

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff is great and the Hotel is near to all the historic monuments, as well breakfasts is delicious thanks to Mr Sah was very friendly and helpful i really wanted to go back soon.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    10
    All the stuff was excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the stuff was excelent. Sah in the rception was very helpful and make us feel like home. Also the spa center is great and is definitely worthy a visit.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2019

    7.5
    Location is great for tourists who visit for the sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was tiny. To turn the building into a hotel they had to add bathrooms in the rooms and in our room the bathroom just took half of the space. They could hardly fit a bed in the remaining space and it was almost impossible to navigate in the room.

    Location is great for tourists who visit for the sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2019

    9.2
    Best part is their service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Luxury Family Suite - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very very small. But because of govt issues it is not allowed to make big family rooms . Breakfast is okay

    Best part is their service. The staff is super friendly. Especially gokham. Sha. Ismail. All helpful and they can arrange everything for u. House keeping service is great as well.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    9.2
    Highlight of this place is its location to main attractions area..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room but I guess in the city so this is reasonable rate.

    Staffs friendliness, location is very superb close to main attraction areas such as blue mosque, aysa sofia, top kapi and others.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    10
    Great service! amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast!

    the staff are amazing! i arrived late but the smile was still on thier face. SAH was very accomodating & very helpful. He exceeded my expectation in terms of customer service. The bell boy sanjar was extremely pro active. I can personally vouch on the service of this hotel. Breakfast could be improved in terms of choices of food being served. more intercontinental.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    10
    The cleaning service was beyond expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast service was great but could be improved.

    The cleaning service was beyond expectation. Great hotel service. Front desk reception was very friendly, always smiling. When returning to hotel daily, towels were clean, bedsheets were cleanly put, room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Great Fortune Hotel service was by far the best hotel experience I have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was amazing, not much to be improved as the hotel service is great.

    Everything was amazing, Great hotel service. Housekeeping was beyond expectations. Reception was very welcoming Sah and other receptionists were very very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    10
    Great botique hotel, great staffs and very convenient location. I would revisit without a doubt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could be more variety. The outer look and entrance could be more presentable. Some furniture could be modernised. the street is lacking from sufficient lights however not a great issue considering this is the ancient side of Istanbul.

    Staffs were touched by helpful staffs of the hotel. On arrival, the reception staff provided us with cup of Turkish tea, comforted us by offering seats at the lounge and introduced to another staff (Name: Recep) who deals with tourism aspects. Recep is extremely knowledgeable and experienced individual who understood our needs by asking few simple questions and briefed us with a comprehensive map. Next day, we met the Manager (Name: Gokaan) who reassured us by welcoming and asking if everything was good since our arrival. The room facilities are four star style (comparing to a few four stars I have visited in the past). Price and allocation of the hotel were tremendous.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    4.6
    not what we expected
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) Our special demands werent fulfiled, at 10:00 in the night we had to change room. 2) Very small room, no hangers for the clothes, no chair, glass wall to the bathroom !!!!! 3)Terrible smell of sewer every time someone from the rooms above flushed the toilet. We slept with open windows....... 4)Nothing except a beer in the minibar. No water. I asked the reception for at least water. I waited for an hour and then I went myself and bought 2 bottles from a very near shop. But it was very cold and 10:00 in the night. 5)The douvet had brown markings( god knows from what....) 6) terrible view. 7)No sound proofing on the walls. We had loud neibours yelling and talking until 3 in the morning 8) No place for the luggage 9)The television wasn't working properly, no batteries in the tv control. 10)When we returned the first night it was only one pair of fresh towels instead of two.I shared a towel with my wife, no problem. 11) Breakfast was the cheapest someone can find. Many things, but of the poorest quality. 12) The price was sooo much above quality. 13) The elevators where sooooo small and half the time we stayed we used the stairs because they where out of order. 14) I think i can tell who is really polite and who pretends to be polite.(this refers to the staff)

    The location was the best someone can choose. Very easy access to major tourist places for someone with limited time. Top quality marbles in the hotel. The best toilet seat

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2019

    8.8
    Generally a nice hotel with excellent service provided by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Generally a nice hotel with excellent service provided by the receptionist, especially sher!! Only downfall was the breakfast was not as expected, so ended up having breakfast out. The size of the swimming pool is abit deceptive, as it is really small compared to the one in the picture. However, over all I would say it was a good experience within the hotel!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    8.3
    The staff entered the room to fix the wall paper while we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff entered the room to fix the wall paper while we were not there, when we didnt ask for that and without informing us. We couldnt use the spa facilities because when we arrived there was a woman (covered) and apparently she asked for no men on the facilities while she was there. I dont think it was included a private access to the spa on her booking, or a restricted time of using the spa in ours.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2019

    8.3
    Staf of reception ar kind and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant in the 4th floor was not so comfortable and It was diffcuilt för car pass in front of Hotel becuse street was narrow .

    Staf of reception ar kind and helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2019

    10
    This hotel in the center of the city has the perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel in the center of the city has the perfect location for a stay in Istanbul. Also has a very kind staff, specially Şah. I’ll recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    7.9
    Nice Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast! even though the view was awesome at the roof but due to the limited option, I requested an omelette and was told it is an extra, so just decided to leave and have a breakfast at Madu.

    Location, customer oriented staff, Sah was a nice person, even with the inconvenience I encountered at the beginning by having a very small room in the first night as I am travelling with my family, he showed a willingness to help and compensate, thanks for the Turkish delights.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    10
    Our trip was lovely and the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our trip was lovely and the hotel was great. Staff was very helpful and nice, perfect location, good food, good facilities. We will sure come back. Thank you for everything!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    We stayed at great fortune hotel for 3 days and extended for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better with wider range of local food.

    We stayed at great fortune hotel for 3 days and extended for another 3 days. We did enjoy our stay, the location of the hotel is very good and is very close to main city attractions. Spa facilities are quite decent with good massage options and steam as well as sauna rooms. Shah from Reception desk was exceptionally friendly and attentive to all our needs.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    Property located in great place very convenient to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Property located in great place very convenient to all attractions on this side of Istanbul. Reception Shah was very helpful and assistive.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    10
    Wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    N/a

    Excellent environment. Very professional people. Great staff. Sah especially was very helpful. Was always there whenever we needed any help. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    8.8
    Location was fantastic.
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in two rooms. The first one was very small. The second one was good.

    Location was fantastic. Breakfast was good. People at reception desk were very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    10
    It is very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in great fortune hotel 4 day also I would like ke say we really enjoyed definitely we will come back to hotel also there is good and nice guy is Shakh he is from Uzbekistan thank you for everything and mr Mert

    It is very nice hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    Excellent place in Istanbul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is good!

    The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They invited us a coffee when we arrived, an excellent gesture that we liked. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast very varied and delicious. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.4
    Almost all staffs were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taxi or car can not stop by hotel entrance. Road is closed all time . You have to walk 50 to 70 meters with your lagguage to to get to hotel entrance. Whashroom is vey disappointed . No privacy at all . Unless if you live in the room by yourself. Breakfast little choices with only about 6 to 7 tables So you have to wait in very small and crowded area to get a table. The only thing make this hotel exists is the staff . They are very friendly.

    Almost all staffs were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    Close to all the tourist points of interest but away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room on the bottom floor very noisy we think due to aircon. We were moved when we complained to a room on the 3rd floor which was good

    Close to all the tourist points of interest but away from main drag. Close to a number of good restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.2
    We had an enjoyable time here in Istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facilities could be maintained better. The air-con display was not in English and it kept blowing out hot air for our first 2 nights. The toilet could have blinds for families - as the glass is translucent. Breakfast could be improved, we had the same mains for our entire stay. No complimentary water in rooms :(

    All the staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating - especially Shakh, Golkhan, Abdul and Sangar. The reception staff were approachable and gave us clear information whenever we needed help. The hotel location is good and accessible to major attractions. Love the hotel concept. Breakfast view is a bonus, good view of hagia Sophia.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    10
    It was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is perfect everything that is a must see in Istanbul is just 5 minute walk. The staff was very friendly they were really helpful, especially Gokhan and Bayram they even called me a cab back to the airport.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    This hotel is very perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in Great Fortune Hotel SPA Old City it is very good also not expansive and staff is very cool one of the good guy is shakh he is reception I would like to say thank you for everything

    This hotel is very perfect

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    10
    The stay was comfortable and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was good but can be improved.

    The room was very clean and the staff extremelly friendly. Mr Shakh and Mr Gokhan were at the Reception all the time, allways willing to help and provide you with the necessary information. Mr Ismail and Mr Mirzo were also very kind. Last but not least, the spa center was excellant. Thank you very much.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    7.5
    Fast free WI-Fi, pretty helpful staff, very good location,...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small room, very small wardrobe, phone didn't work, TV didn't work (but was replaced), not very hot water hot in the shower.

    Fast free WI-Fi, pretty helpful staff, very good location, clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    9.2
    They all know how to do their job and their really efficient. You only need to ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Because I am really complicated, the 2 simple beds put together I suppose.

    Sanjar ha ha. (Name of the employee who showed me my room) And of course his colleague (you didn't tell me your name sorry).

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    10
    Great stay in the heart of Sultanahmet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the beds could be a little softer. Just a personal preference.

    I have to admit I was a bit worried as what to expect. I found some conflicting reviews, and I didn't know which to believe. The moment we entered the property I felt it was going to be alright, as we were nicely greeted, and the staff took real interest in making us feel comfortable. We had received a nice double room at the end of the hallway, and the front desk came to make sure we settled in alright and everything was to our liking. It didn't stop here, they took real interest in making sure we had everything we needed, throughout our stay. One day we called them in our room because we couldn't figure out how to make the heat work, and they quickly served us some tea, while they fixed it. Breakfast was very good, with plenty of warm food choices, plus the regular milk, cereal, jam, cheese, tomatoes, etc. The hotel is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet, off main street within short walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, and lots of stores and restaurants. I would choose to stay there again in a blink of an eye, and I will do it very soon. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Near to the main attraction, walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Try to contact the Hotel and request their assistance for the parking when u arrive to the hotel. (Otopark near to the hotel)

    Near to the main attraction, walking distance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was good nothing bad to say

    Staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Shah and Sangr they always went the extra mile and helped. Made our stay extra special.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    10
    Very good personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double or Twin Room (No Window) - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good personal. It was feeling, that I am their guest, like I am at home of my best friends. Especially I would like to thank 2 guys ( one was in reception and his friend, who showed me my room): they are very correct, pleasure, professional, helpful, take care of guests, answers on all questions & advising. I do not know exactly their names, but it seems they came from Uzbekistan for getting experience in hotel sector. Thank you so much, guys!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing not like the pictures on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very basic. Meant to be a superior triple room. One mirror in the room which was in the bathroom. No lamp. Two odd coffee cups. Coffee not replenished by the cleaner. No balcony as stated. The breakfast room was dire. Dirty, crowded, cold and the roof leaked water onto my husband as we ate breakfast. I don't usually write reviews but I want to let others know this hotel was definitely not as I expected from the pictures on booking.com. In fact this is not the first time I have been very disappointed with what booking.com advertise. Definitely over priced. I will not be using them again.

    The location and the staff, particularly reception staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.8
    The worker are very nice, very polite, spa was very very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First night we got a small room but then they move us to a better room to accommodate the baby cot better.

    The worker are very nice, very polite, spa was very very nice, location is perfect, within walking distance to a lot of tourists places

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    We can’t wait to return to this hotel in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Na

    The staff was great the service more than expected the breakfast is out of thi world so tasty and a lot to choose from the location is perfect near to tram 5tl and you can be anywhere in Istanbul

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.7
    The location, It was close by a short walk to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were too small for 4 people ( 3 adults and a baby). They put 3 large single beds in a double bedroom then called it “family room”. The staff didn’t change sheets everyday (just when we asked them to do so). The toilet didn’t work and they fixed it only after 4 days of our stay!! In breakfast room we asked for omelette and they prepared it for us and “forgot” to mention that its for an extra charge!!!

    The location, It was close by a short walk to main attractions such as “Hagia Sophia “. The spa and hamam were good too, had a great bath and massage.

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    We were allowed early access to our room which was a great plus, plus. Location is absolutely superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds should have been made up earlier.

    Location was great as all the great sights are within walking distance and the reception staff were most helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    9.5
    Super nice employees and lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The employees were great, helpful, nice and always smiling and lovely. So impressed over the hospitality. 10 starts for the employees : Emrullah Shah Gőkhan Cleaning were perfect and everything we needed to were available. Also the tours were available because of the help of the employees. The location were perfect also. The breakfast was quite poor but I guess if you pay more for the stay you will get more variety.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, with amazing and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice hotel, with amazing and helpful staff. Especially staff named Shah in reception helped us a lot . We would like to give 10 points to this hotel

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is very clean, beautiful decorations, the breakfast was perfect, I loved it❤️

    Perfect area, Sultan Ahmet Mosque and Hagia Sophia are just 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel, Grand Bazaar and the Egyptian bazaars are 10-15 minutes walk, beautiful area, streets, lovely, friendly stuffs and basically all Turkish people are very helpful and most of them speak English very well. I just loved it! I will definitely go back! Thanks for everything! ❤️

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    4.2
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connecting Family Room - Free Access to Spa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny rooms. Rooms very very noisy specially when a hotel lift going through the room. Had sleepless nights. Poor facilities at the hotel. Very old and need moderation. Smell of damp in the room with mound on the walls. Even we had a roof leak on our second last day. Cold breakfast with lots of people with bandages full of blood on the head which put you off the food.

    Perfect location. Friendly staff with smile on the face all the time. Welcome was good with a drink and freshly baked in-house biscuits.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Great Fortune Hotel & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: