Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gulec

Uckuyular Caddesi. No:22 Bodrum / Mugla, 48400 Bodrum City, Turkey

#17 of 57 hotels in Bodrum City

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good staff! Very close to the sea. 2 minutes walk. Very close to bus station, so it's comfortable and cheap take a bus to airport. Clean comfortable room with ac and tv and hairdryer Very relaxing and peaceful place with nice garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were three people, they converted a twin room to a triple room by putting an extra foldable bed that was not very comfortable and there was no place to move in the room. There was no balcony. The room was too warm without aircontioning (luckily there was an AC but if you dont like it you cannot sleep). Breakfast could be better.

    It was a very clean and simple bed and breakfast. Location was great. Staff were very nice and helpful. Inner garden was very cozy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a minor problem on the wall, underneath the A/C which the paint on the wall was coming off and spreading on the bed in tiny pieces and white dust

    The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel is located in a lovely garden with a green fresh environment, it's like no other place, so close to the beach and surrounded by all amenities you might need

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the Stuff was nice and friendly but the breakfast lady was very rude. I wanted to make porridge for my 1 year old boy but she said there is no microwave there and didn't allow me to use the hobb as the customers are not allowed to go to kitchen. She said she can't do that for me as she was busy. All fair enough but she was extremely rude and no apologies. So I couldn't feed my baby. He could only eat some bread for breakfast.

    The hosel is very central. Close to every where. Also 5min walk coach station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. Bed very comfortable and breakfast basic but enjoyable in the lovely shaded garden. When I couldnt work out how to get there I asked and someone came to walk me round from near the bus station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Highly recommend this establishment.

    Great family run hotel in city centre. Staff were extremely pleasant & helpful. Breakfast in the garden was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, modest but adequate accommodations.

    Within walking distance of marina, castle, beaches and resturants, as well as the bus station. Enjoyed the pleasant courtyard garden where breakfast is served. After arriving by bus unclear where to go, we phoned the hotel and one of the staff came to meet us and walked us back to the hotel insisting on carrying our luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is cozy warm and friendly place where the owner Mr Kamal greets his guests every morning during the basic lovely breakfast in the beautiful central garden If you are looking for a friendly basic facilities and you feel at home this is the place Location is super near bus station and near the marina

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit small, which makes it difficult to dry clothes after the beach sometimes. Our window was close to the breakfast location, but we slept very well, and the place remained super calm.

    Great personnel! You are always welcomed with a smile at this family hotel. The receptionist explained us about Bodrum and made sure everything was going fine. I traveled alone with my sister. The garden is great and truly relaxing, a real peace haven, in the busy and touristy Bodrum. For the backpackers, the hotel is ideally located at 6 minutes walk from the bus station (otogar). The breakfast is also good and the rooms comfortable with AC.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of.

    Set few minutes away from the harbour and to the shopping and night life area, this family hotel is plonged in a beautiful garden where we had breakfast in the morning and a chat before bed in the evening. The staff is amazing and always available to accomodate needs.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kindness and warm staff very hospitality. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a very tight squeeze for a family of four.

    Great location and incredibly helpful owner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can be slightly noisy for an early sleep because its close to the main street.

    Friendly and nice host. Has a nice garden between the 2 buildings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff. Great location for exploring attractions and not far from the beach. And we got a present too :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathroom needs a little updating; specifically the shower.

    The garden area outside was lovely; we ate breakfast there and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful. excellent location. special thanks to Mr. Kamal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Quick response, No tips

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden breakfast area, the very helpfulnand friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom is too basic

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent, helpful and hotel very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not have a swimming pool.

    Friendly and welcoming staff!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful, friendly and generous owner and staff.Handy location for restaurants and bus station.Nice breakfast in garden courtyard.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    should be mini-bar

    quiet place

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    you have to pay for coffee at breakfast

    Staff were very helpful. Even gave me a little souvenir!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The extremely welcoming staff made me feel at home. The garden is beautiful and calm and smells jasmin at night.. I will definitely come back !

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Especially the staff was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    convenient position for walking.Owners tips and assistance with transport and personal help with a forward booking .Value for money in a popular tourist area.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good Turkish breakfast, nice patio/terrace, handy location, wonderful staff. We arrived the day of the flood, so impressed how quickly mud, debris from hotel was cleaned up. No electricity & no sleep for the owner that day, incredibly well managed. Great stay!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bath room is small, and easy to make the whole ground wet after showing.

    great location, only 6~8 min away from otogar by foot. So many cute kittens around, nice garden. The staffs are nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We reall enjoyed our stay here!! The staff were so friendly!! The owner went out of his way to answer our questions and help us and the lady serving breakfast was so pleasant and attentive!

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It ain't fancy and that's just fine. I have zero complaints.

    Wonderful owner! He was so warm and helpful. He gave us a map and orientation and pointed us towards a great restaurant and boat trip. His warmth and hospitality are unparalleled from my experience. The garden is a lovely breakfast spot...shaded by trees and totally charming. And the flowers are wonderfully aromatic at night...such a great welcome treat each night after a long day of exploring. The location is a short walk to the bus station which is really convenient for the airport shuttle or for catching a shuttle to the beaches. Simple clean and no fuss! It's all we needed! If you plan to spend way too much time online than you might take issue with the wifi. But get over it, go outside and be damn thankful for the experience of staying in Bodrum for a great price and with the nicest host. All in all, this was an insanely awesome value and I will be returning.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there in August 2015 and paid 60 euros per night. We found the hotel a bit overrated. The rooms are too basic and not very well cared for. We had three lamps in the room and only one of them was working. The tap in the bathroom was leaking. There was NO FRIDGE in the room. I think, you don't have to pay 60 euros for a room without a fridge.

    The staff is helpful. The garden is nice. The hotel is not far from the sea.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kemal and staff were lovely - always very friendly and helpful. It was very close to main strip, without being to close with noise, etc. Bed was comfortable. Room was basic but had everything we needed. Breakfast was good typical Turkish style.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't expect much from the rooms. It is very small and old. The breakfast was not fresh at all and nothing to eat.

    The location is very centric, just 2-3 min walking to sea and the bar street. The staff is very friendly and helpfulas well. Wifi was good in the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room for three was actually a room for two with an extra single bed on the middle. We didn't have enough space to walk down the bed.

    The location. And the people working there always with a smile.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was my first trip to Turkey so I didn't know what to expect. I booked this hotel because I wanted a place to unwind, away from the usual hotels with all if the refinements but no customer service. This hotel is a breath of fresh air and provides quality accommodation in an environment that is welcoming and sincere. At the end of our stay we returned home fully relaxed and the hotel played a key part in this. A real home from home.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at the Gulec on two separate nights in different rooms either side of a trip to Datca. Located down a quiet side street, it is right in the centre of the town. The beach, market and the bars and restaurants are all an easy stroll away. The rooms are basic but beds are comfortable, air conditioning works well, showers good and very clean. We enjoyed the breakfasts, served in the delightful courtyard garden by their friendly staff. Great budget hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - nothing..it is good value for a lovely experience

    - lovely home style hotel, - central, - Typhoon will always locate parking for you - just ask in advance, - lovely garden to have breakfast, - lovely staff, - clean place, - some rooms a little cramped with double bed + 2 large suitcase,

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not the cleanest we've experience but it's By no means dirty.

    Location was pretty good. Walkable from otogar and to the shopping street along the coast. Breakfast was in the hotel garden and was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a bad experience but make sure you book in a car space if you r driving and good luck getting to the spot with all their one way traffic!

    Close to everything. Great garden to have breakfast. Interesting little shop nearby selling life jackets for the Syrians! Helpful staff who suggested a trip around the peninsular in our car. Make sure you book a space if you have a car as space outside the hotel is restricted .

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike, the rooms were as described - basic but clean.

    Fabulous family hotel run by Kemal and his team Seyoa, Hatice, Tayfun and Furman who really couldn't do enough for us. Typical Turkish breakfast served outdoors in the peaceful shaded garden. Comfortable clean bedrooms with quiet air con. Minutes walk to beach, bars, cafes, restaurants, shops and market,

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Less than10 minutes walk to bus station and beach. Room very clean. Owner very nice, let us check-in before11 am, offered us apple tea in garden. Helped us to buy bus ticket to Selcuk. Highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - room cramped with double bed, - hard to use power points - bed covers points - they need power board, -

    - central location, - free parking, - lovely garden, - staff...especially Typhoon, - cost was reasonable,

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi did not work in the room

    beautiful garden for breakfast. Staff is extremely friendly. location is very good with a few smaller shops just right outside the hotel and the main shopping streets, beach and sights within 5-10 minutes walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is walking distance from the otogar, and well signposted. Our room was spacious with screens on the windows so no problems with insects. Great garden for breakfast. Tayfun at desk was very helpful and cheerful.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were there slightly out of season but would recommend the hotel. The staff were friendly and would help with things like directions, recommendations, transport, organised trips but never in a pushy way. The garden in the central courtyard was beautiful and a great space to relax in during the day. The hotel was central but quiet and there were beaches nearby which you could swim from.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi had serious reliability/flakyness problems whilst I was there, bordering on the unusable. There is no pool of course, so if you want a swim you have to go to the beach which will take 20-30 mins by bus.

    It's very close to the bus station and the main tourist shopping area. Castle is in walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing for the price it was excellent

    Very reasonable and lovely garden and very pleasant staff. Even though season had not really started the place had plenty of guests who all seemed very helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great, clean place away tucked away in a quiet (but central) part of Bodrum. We had a great stay and explored the peninsular with the help of our hosts. The rooms are simple, but clean.. We don't need a big tv - we're on holiday in Turkey!. Breakfast in the rose garden was a great start to the day.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Very close to city center (just 5 min. by walking) - Nice garden inside the building, you enjoy your breakfast between the flowers and trees. - Clean rooms - Friendly hotel staff - Quality / Price ratio is perfect !

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Low shower pressure at times, but other rooms had good pressure. Smallish room but ok.

    Breakfast and drinks in gardens Good location. Kind and considerate Hosts.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel Gulec is simple, clean and extremely restful. I loved the simplicity of the furnishing and the open windows and not having a TV staring at me from the wall.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good.

    Good location: 5 minutes from bus station and market and, in the other direction, from the sea. Quiet, comfortable room, and breakfast in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't reach our room which was frustrating.

    Pretty cheap, family run. The receptionist guy was pretty helpful. Great location right in old town.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    I stayed with my cousin from Australia. She has hypertension; and her bp raised that night The receptionist helped us with finding an antihypertensive at night.Thanks to the guy brought it by motorcycle.The owner also recommended us reasonable-priced but good local restaurants. The local private beach is so near and the cafe was OK,as well.We were really delighted with the sparse Turkish breakfast ,our spacious room with a fantastic garden view.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They locked us inside the hotel in the morning and we couldn't get out. It took us like 15 minutes to find someone to open the door we found it dangerous in case of fire.

    Garden. Situation. Really friendly staff. Pleasant phone call from the owner to ask us if everything was ok

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a very nasty conversation with the owner on the phone, so we couldn't stay there as it was cold and dark and we had small children with us. His hotel was the only one in the area which still didn't have electricity in the evening, so we only paid up when he threatened us with the police.

    The location was alright and the receptionist was nice, even though he could only speak Turkish

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was really friendly and did their best. Very nice garden, natural atmosphere. I prefer this place to most of the 5 star hotels in the area.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfort, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise from street and next door early in morning was annoying. Bathroom was too small.

    Staff were smily and helpful. Aircon worked perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff.breakfast.the garden and room.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff,great location and relax garden

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insistent request for cash payment

    Central but quiet location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff and location

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, close to the center and to the otogar. Staff is also very friendly. The room was small, but clean and very calm.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The garden is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, friendly staff and clean. Good breakfast served in a lovely outdoor courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too cramped for all us.

    stayed one evening only. location close to bus stop and ferry port. The beach, castle and restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, lovely garden, nice people, quiet rooms, good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None

    The staff and location are excellent. Wish could stay for more days in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All things were great!

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was not good.

    Perfect location.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything from the location to the hospitality were great.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, surroundings, friendly staff, helpful advice

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - I love the place :).

    Friendly family run hotel, breakfast in nice garden, it was very clean, lovely place.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: