Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gul Sultan Hotel

Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik caddesi No.9 Sultanahmet Fatih, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#8 of 67 B&Bs and Inns in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place, in the heart of the old city.
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place in a wonderful location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful views from the terrace. Excellent hotel for a city break in Istanbul.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    Ignorant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small for double and staying with a child. It seemed cramped and no where to put our stuff, the throw over used as a duvet had a rough texture and not cosy at all. Outside noisy pubs and loud music all night, not ideal for family, toilet looked like it was purposly fitted towards the kaba in Makkah, as it is fitted slanted on a straight wall directly facing the prayer direction in Makkah which is forbidden in Islam.

    The hotel seemed new and clean, also it was a close walk to the blue mosque around 5mins. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear people talking from other rooms. Not that they were loud, just the sound travels a lot here.

    Location was great. Walking distance to a lot of the main sites.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel very well located near the important sites to visit. Small but clean and comfortable rooms. Many good restaurants nearby. Polite staff. Varied and tasty breakfast. I kindly recommend this hotel and we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    It’s a small hotel in a convenient location closed to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in my room is noisy after turning on for a while and the toilet couldn’t flush after my second day but the staff has tried to help fix it.

    It’s a small hotel in a convenient location closed to all the major tourist attractions. As it is an old building in an old town, the facilities and the building condition may not be as good as the new hotel. However, the staffs are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    A hotel worth a rating of 10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is very excellent in terms of location, cleanliness and good hospitality especially the owner and manager of the hotel Mr Hamet is a very wonderful person and he is very friendly and helpful and his treatment is very excellent for the guests, also the hotel is very close to the historical sites of Istanbul such as Sultanahmet Mosque, Hagia Sophia Museum and Topkapi Palace. I would recommend to any tourist who would like to visit Istanbul to stay at this wonderful hotel. I wish the hotel management continued success and progress

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room even though cleaned daily however the toiletries especially the shampoos weren’t replaced once finished. A safe should be available “No safe in the room” These are the only two things which i would say should be looked after ... Other then that all is good and would recommend this hotel especially if your on a budget.

    -Location is impeccable for SultanAhmet sites and walking along the bosphorus -Price is good -Staff are accomodating

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Very Cozy, in the center!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the city center, clean, small hotel especially good for transfer passengers. 100 m far from Topkapı palace and sultanahmet. Too many nice small restaurants around the hotel. The owner is friendly, I would prefer again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place, clean and tidy, nice staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much. TV a bit old but to be honest I barely used it.

    Good breakfast, location and staff really nice. Also one of the cleanest hotels I have ever been.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Overall nice and clean locations we recomand it for shore
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Satelite antena and/or receyver or conections problem,they can not fix it over five days...of course we whas not in Istanbul for stayng in the room and whatching tv,but...

    Wery clean room,perfect location,very nice staff,good price...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place for a stay in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing maybe worth mentioning is that in my room there was no window. For 1-2 nights it is very ok for longer maybe not so much.

    The hotel is placed in a wonderful area close to the old town of Istanbul and full of little cafes and restaurants. It's vey nice and clean. It was great to have a breakfast on a roof terrace with a view on Aya Sophia. The stuff is very positive and superhelpful. I definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff. The location is excellent. Really close to the historical center. You can have breakfast enjoying a beautiful view of Hagia Sofia and the Blue Mosque. Good size bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations. And do get that wonderful breakfast! <3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not for us, but for some people it might be a problem that they have pretty steep stairs, and also the tourists in the street can sometimes get loud as there are a lot of them in the area. So, if that's important for you, consider that, but otherwise, we were very happy there!

    Simply perfect! Location, the staff, the interior. It's very cozy. They cleaned the room every day. The breakfast is just amazing: it's traditional and it's huge, and it's on a terrace overlooking the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia! The staff were super-friendly and helpful, always ready to recommend something of simply have a chat. They also allowed us to keep our luggage in the hotel after the checkout for a really long time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent location and centrally located to everything. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia are less than 5 minutes walk away. Many restaurants on the streets serving excellent food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Everything is great except the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Seems like there was no noise insulation at all, you can hear every move somebody is doing in his room, also the hotel is right in the city center so there are always people partying outside all night, quite loudly too.

    I really enjoyed location — right in the city center, 10 minutes from the T1 station (1 hour by metro from the airport), 5 minutes from Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. We have also walked to Beyoglu by foot (approx. 30-40 minutes). Staff was great and welcoming. Room was small but clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The property is located in a lovely of old town area, close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    The property is located in a lovely of old town area, close to tram station, main road, tourist attractions. You can walk just a few minute to those place and surrounding with local restaurants. So you can grab some nice dinner time with a great meal. Staff very nice and willing to help, breakfast also nice I loved it :) For my next vacation, I would love to stay there for more days of course! Sirinart T. Thailand

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money, very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a street with some bars that have very loud music at night. It is not very disturbing if you have the air con on but we still hear the noise.

    The hotel is very nice, good value for money, located near many historical sites like Sainte Sophie. The room is not big but very clean. The breakfast is good. Hamit, the receptionist is very friendly and helped us many times during our week in Istanbul.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it is an older building in the touristy part of town, you can hear some noise from the outside and neighbouring rooms. It wasn't too bad but I am a very light sleeper.

    Having previously stayed in another hotel in the same neighbourhood at around the same price range, this one was much nicer, cleaner and had better staff. The staff were very nice and helpful. The beds were comfortable, the wifi and fridge worked fine, lots of hot water, satellite TV. The Hagia Sophia was about 200 yards away, easily visible from our room window. All around, I was very happy with the place and would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    A great week in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are quite basic in what they offer so don't expect every comfort. Also, there is no laundry service as far as I could tell, but that didn't bother us much as we brought enough clothes for the week.

    Hamit and Fatih were very helpful and friendly, even when we asked for tea to eat with some fresh turkish delight up in our rooms! They are quite knowledgeable about the surrounding area in Sultanahmet although we did a lot of research beforehand. The breakfast is also very good, with a nice mix of traditional turkish dishes, cheeses and meats. The menemen and fried peppers with yogurt were especially good (also the marble cake!) and it always helps to have breakfast before a long day of trekking around the city. Though the actual rooms were very simple with only the basics, room service was good with fresh towels every day. Hamit kindly organised our shuttle to and from Ataturk airport and so our journey was quite stress-free.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I enjoyed my stay in Gul Sultan Hotel, clean and cozy, Excellent Location and great value of money, I will sure stay in this Hotel in my next visit to Turkey Really all appreciation to Hamit for his great help, patience and continuous advice in my trip

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Istanbul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not have any problems so suggestion is just to keep the services at the same brilliant level.

    Very friendly personnel of the hotel, delicious breakfast, rooms clean and cosy, very convenient location for access to touristic attractions. Will certainly recommend it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.6
    Good location, warm room, really helpful owner, he helped...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But don't remember how breakfast was not included anymore on bookings system, so adding fees for breakfast, we were really out of budget.

    Good location, warm room, really helpful owner, he helped with printing pages which was really really sweet. In all, it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    The location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Amazing. The stuff very friendly and helpful.

    The location and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Staff have been professional and frendly at the time my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff have been professional and frendly at the time my visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very good value for money. Staff really helpful. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better, the hotel would have provided kettle for tea making

    Its central Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Woderful, very cooperative owner/manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Woderful, very cooperative owner/manager. It is a family run hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from the street.

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice toilet design.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    Awesome view from top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome view from top floor. Very tasty breakfast (up there). Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Hamit was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamit was very friendly. Nice sea view from terrace. Location between amazing small ancient streets near Yaya Sophia.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly receptionist. The location is unbeatable. My room was windowless, but it saved me from the street noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly city and people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly city and people. Staff in hotel for 5 stars!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Great homely hotel with helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote for the TVs didn't work

    Very comfy beds , good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    I recommend this place to any one thinking of going to turkey
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was amazing expecially the exterem gentle of Mr. Hamit and cotinous support and advice thank you soo much it felt like home

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    We travelled from Dallas, Texas (USA) to Turkey for first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing you will not like about this place. It's a wonderful place with wonderful people! 10/10!

    We travelled from Dallas, Texas (USA) to Turkey for first time. This place is run by a wonderful owner who is very helpful, always available, and friendly. From the moment we walked in till we left, it felt like home. You will feel like you are with close friends. The place is very well located and the hotel staff made it wonderful. Excellent hearty and hot breakfast with made to order omelettes. Don't think twice..... Just book and stay at this place over others in the area. Thanks again to the owner and his team....very helpful, caring and available 24/7. Even tracked our flight and kept us updated on our ride back to airport. My wife and I will certainly stay here again.... Thanks Hamit (Owner), Musrafa and others on the team including the breakfast lady and the cleaning lady. All wonderful people. In Turkish We want to say Teşekkür ederim!

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    8.8
    Fabulous view from the breakfast room on the roof-Blue...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fabulous view from the breakfast room on the roof-Blue mosque to the left and Hagia Sophia to the right and Topkapi's walls as well. Reception staff so welcoming and helpful and great just to chat to.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    7.1
    Nice place, nice staff, good breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rather noisy inside in the evening (unpolite customers, noise from the lobby). Most rooms give on the street, noise and disco nearby. Wifi erratic and weak

    Nice place, nice staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Great value for the price.
    • Solo traveller

    Great value for the price. Very clean. The concierge, Mr. Hakan, is lovely and very helpful. The terrace is terrific and the location is perfect. The best medium price hotel in the area. Very good choice.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff couldnt have been more helpful from the second I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff couldnt have been more helpful from the second I stepped in the door. well located in the best part of Istanbul. the breakfast was very rich.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    10
    I visited Istanbul with my husband in March 2015.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I visited Istanbul with my husband in March 2015. We were staying in Gul Sultan Hotel for 4 nights. We are fully satisfied our staying. The staff was always polite, kind, friendly and regardful, thank you, guys! We asked to organize a private pick-up service from the airport, and everything was well organized, we have got to the hotel in 20 minutes after leaving the Ataturk airport. The only one moment that can disturb some people is an active night life near the hotel. Sometimes music from restaurants is loud, it might be a disturbing moment for the persons with sensitive sleeping. We have no problems with sleeping so it didn't disturb us, we slept very well after long walks in Istanbul streets. But you can take advantage from this moment - you may have fun right near the hotel=) When you enter the hotel you feel the smell of cleanness, I liked it at once. The room was compact and very cozy. The bedclothes was always new, clean and fresh, as the towels in the bedroom. There was a TV with a lot of channels, a fridge, a hairdryer - everything worked well. Breakfasts are tasty: tea, coffee, eggs, sausages, vegetables, cheese, yogurts, pastries, fresh bread, jams, corn flakes - everybody can find something he likes. Beautiful view from the terrace on the upper floor. This hotel gives you a perfect quality for a reasonable price. We will be happy to stay here during our next visit to Istanbul! It was a great time!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Very nice small hotel , close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice small hotel , close to everything. The staff was really kind and helpfull. When I arrived I had a problem with the driver and the receptionist spoke to him and solved it. He even carried my heavy luggage to the room. The room is on the small size, but has everything you need. Comfy bed and perfect windows, no noise coming from the street. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. I will return here for sure!

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    9.2
    The location I like the most to be honest .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The WiFi signal was weak and the Internet was slow in the room.

    The location I like the most to be honest . The hotel in general it's simple and comfortable. breakfast food was great.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    10
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator, but staff helped us with our bags.

    Great location; Friendly and helpful staff; Clean and comfortable rooms; Solid breakfast; Great free WiFi;

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Location, charges, cleanliness, environment
    • Solo traveller

    Beds was a little short

    Location, charges, cleanliness, environment

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    9.6
    Nice street, good service, healthy breakfast, small and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice street, good service, healthy breakfast, small and comfortable room. Fair price.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.3
    everything staff confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    some noise from the street

    everything staff confort

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.2
    good location very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the road outside is busy with the restaurants till quite late

    good location very friendly staff very clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Location and helpfulness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location and helpfulness of staff

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    5.4
    The staff was very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It too noisy the neighborhood to sleep in the night. The room is not clean.

    The staff was very nice!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Stuff was very helpful and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Stuff was very helpful and kind

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    8.3
    Dedicated and sincere staff that made up for any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No lift but the staff helped to carry luggage up to the rooms

    Dedicated and sincere staff that made up for any shortcomings.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: