Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hippodrome Hotel

Mimar Mehmetaga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#720 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1061 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.8
    Overrated old Ottoman style building
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in another building??! Which was very moderate. Old furniture including beds, bathroom etc. Everything was old and dusty.

    The location absolutely perfect. 10+ Free parking!! ASK for room 704. With a terrace on the roof. Sea view!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    I would stay there again on my next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super breakfast, bathroom and showers were good. Clean towels available. Cable TV was average. Could only watch BBC news in English. Value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location with restaurants and shops all around. Lovely and clean room. Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were put in Hippodrome apartments across the road, and had to go up 3 flights of stairs, which was not really suitable as there was no lift and we both had medical issues, although the reception staff did carry our cases upstairs. Paid extra for superior room with sea view and there was not much of a view.

    Spacious room, with 2 bedrooms Lovely breakfast down the road in the Premier hotel, with stunning views

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    nice clean ok for two nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shabby

    breakfast across the street was good. hotel a little older could use some updating. a little shabby. people nice. room big on top floor with deck. no lift from third to 4th floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, beautiful rooftop Terrasse at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though the hotel is very close to the Blue Mosque, the rest of the town is a bit far away, about 20-25 min walking to the Galata Bridge.

    Great value for money, beautiful rooftop Terrasse at neighbor hotel for included breakfast and clean and large rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Could not have wanted more
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I looked around a lot in the area and I'm super happy that I choose the Hippo. Staff were super helpful. The breaky at the roof top hotel near as a deal was outstanding. For the price and location it was 4/5.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the pictures, the hotel seems to be brand new, but the property is old.

    It is in a good location, 10 minutes walking from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. Breakfast is good, but its in another hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    The perfect hotel, we had a top floor room with personal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a bit difficult to find the hotel on the street. closed to hotel apartment advertising with the same name.

    The perfect hotel, we had a top floor room with personal exit to the terrace. The view was amazing, from one side perfect sunset view to Blue Mosque, from another the see view. The breakfast was organized in neighbor hotel wit absolutely beautiful terrace for Blue Mosque. For breakfast - multiple kind of chees, watermelon, omelet, bakery etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The switch for the bathroom is in the main room, not at the entrance to the bathroom. Strange layout of the hotel.

    Location is great, if you want to see the main attractions. Breakfasts on the terrace with wonderful view of the Bosporus and the Marmara Sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Partner hotel across the street where breakfast is served on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Partner hotel across the street where breakfast is served on rooftop terrace seemed slightly more upscale. Breakfast buffet and terrace very nice. A restaurant across the street from Hippodrome, The Cozy Garden, had unexpectedly good food and very pleasant wait staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    People were nice, the breakfast in the other hotel with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    People were nice, the breakfast in the other hotel with a great view is also good. The hotel is really well located and the transfer service from the hotel to the airport and vice versa works very well, really on time and the price is fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for 2-3 days! Very helpful and honest staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stuff very helpful. Clean room. Very close to all TOP 10 sightseeing places. Located in the old town. Breakfast in a very nice terrace with sea view. Quality of food superior comparing with a lot of tourist restaurants in the area. Very good place to spend a longer weekend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Cheap. That's what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is unfriendly and gives you false information. The Bathroom is tiny and A/C didn't work.

    The price shows what you get. A cheap room in a central area. So you should expect the best, because you will not get it. The breakfast is good, even it is in a different Hotel 50m from Hippodrome Hotel. But it has a nice view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff is polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old and the rooms are tiny. The reception is in a different building and the restaurant where the breakfast is served is in a third building. The breakfast is average.I have stayed in a better hotel in the same area for much lower price.

    The staff is polite and helpful. You can park the car in front of the hotel free of charge!Free wifi!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Not bad for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have not been offered the room i saw in the pictures (twin room) but upon questioning I was offered to be relocated to the same room, which was a bit late as we had already settled into the room we were offered in first instance after a tiring journey. Also, as we were not in the twin room, an extra single bed was squeezed into the place which ate up a bit of the walking space in the room (see pic 10/53 and imagine it with another single bed next to the wardrobe in it).

    The receptionist (Arif) was very good and helped us find good restaurants (authentic and economical) and tours which were difficult to find for us, being on a short trip. Also the location was perfect for families with kids and elderly people. It is almost at the back of Blue mosque and only steps away from Araasta Bazaar, with all the facilities literally at your door step (money changer, restaurants, convenience store etc.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location, near the tourist attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one thing, breakfast menu was the same every day.

    I stay for 3 nights, two first days the staff move us to Apart Hippodrome Hotel. The room was not big but it's ok and value for money. you can walk around the hotel for meal and shopping. Good location, near the tourist attractions, can walk 200-300 meters such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and near the tram (Sultanahmet station) The last day, the staff move us to Azade suite&premier (upgrade), the room was new and good, value for money. Good rooftop view which is the area for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    A great trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It just felt a bit basic, though. But that was fine with me. Istanbul is so beautiful that you don‘t want to spend a lot of time in your room. And it wasn't expensive.

    The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The big treat was that breakfast was in a hotel across the street, on a roof terrace, from which you had a magnificent view of the Marmara, the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia (and the breakfast was good!). There are plenty of restaurants nearby for eating. And the hotel was quiet (much appreciated by me) - even though building work was going on next door (which should soon be finished).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.7
    The location is the best thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet smell bad, it’s like the sink was clogged and the smell didnt go away even we called the housekeeping to clean it

    The location is the best thing about this hotel. Very near to Sultanahmet square and there are a lot of nice restaurants around it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    if next time any chance to go again....i will choose the same hotel room to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the time when i was going to check out the lift didnt work and no one informed me about reception desk number....i took my luggage bymyself to the first floor

    I really like the balcony...the construction of the room was very nice....seems like tipical turkish styel ...i like it...and people are vert kind

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early checkin would have been good had to wait for 3 hours as hotel was full..but staff supported us in many ways they shifted us to another hotel which was apartment and it was also very good. We had flight at night and wanted hotel to refund us for 12 hours would have loved if they refunded my money

    Breakfast was excellent and it was available in good quantity, staff was excellent specially the old man in apartment reception... Abla the housekeeper was an excellent lady... This hotel in best location go for it without a doubt. All restaurants nearby and sultanhamet masjid very near also tram station too close just walking distance. Wanted to book again but rates of hotel now double as season started

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.2
    Bad Experience and Very Expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While I booked the hotel the price mention on booking.com was 542 SAR for 3 nights but soon after entering the credit card details, they charged me 742 SAR. But again the surprise is the hotel charged me 785 SAR which is very high amount compare to the actual price quoted. So this is called cheating... I tried to explain the hotel staff but they said I should have carry the proof which is insane .... anyway, now I stopped making reservation through booking.com.

    I like nothing in this hotel. Except the breakfast which was just OK.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Excellent !! Highly Recommended :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect. Friendly and polite staff, very clean & comfy rooms, nice breakfast, and EXCELLENT location "less than 5 minutes walk to sultan ahmet area. Highly recommend it to others. I'll stay in the same hotel if I visit Istanbul in the future. Thumps Up hippodrome!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    I miss this place already
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall our experience was very positive. Some minor comments would concern the wifi connection which sometimes fell away and the bathtub could use a technical check. Otherwise, nothing to complain about!

    We had a wonderfull stay at Hippodrome hotel. The staff was warm and welcoming, from the check-in personnel to the cleaning lady. The room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable. The hotel has an elevator. It's perfectly located in a quiet area, close to the historical sites and close to tramline T1. Breakfast was served on the roof terrace of a hotel on the opposite side of the street. It was a buffet style breakfast with both sweet and salty options. We really enjoyed our stay here and I would certainly consider booking here a room again when I go back to Istanbul. Which is very likely. :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice and clean place but there are still things that could have been improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a wake-up call, it didn't happen. The airport transfer was provided as agreed though. The staff is very helpful.

    Overall, the hotel is nice: central location and good room but for $30 one might find a better option especially when traveling alone. I arrived after 1 pm, the room cleaning was still in progress.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Very good place in heart of Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel staff was great, at the breakfast you can enjoy wounderful view. Peace and quite place even in the heart of Sultanahmet part. Rooms are very good, clean and everything is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    Very much enjoyed my stay . Would recomend it even if the rooms are small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception could be more friendly and helpful.

    Location is excellent close to main touristic sites and very well connected with public transport. Enjoyed the very good and fresh breakfast on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location breakfast was at hotel across the street,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for pick up from airport but plane was late, we had to get a taxi, they didn't explain that the shuttle bus only picked up at pre arranged times

    Fantastic location breakfast was at hotel across the street, but had stunning views and the food was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Definitely visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the hotel were very polite and accommodating. The hotel was good value for money The rooms were very clean The hotel is well located for visiting all sites. The breakfast was very enjoyable and great variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    We got a different room but it was okay, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much noise, they were renovating the building next to us, so we couldn't sleep at the morning

    We got a different room but it was okay, excellent breakfast, amazing view from the terrace

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi and internet speed in this building was terrible, we had to sit in the lounge to get anything done.

    This was a our second visit and we were placed across the road in another building. This room was bigger than the last with chairs and coffee table. The decorations in the room were actually pretty cool; and even though there was some unfinished renovations in the bathroom, it was still very nice. Breakfast was still great and the staff were just as friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a lot of construction happening in the street at the moment and the sound travels into the room. Windows looked out at nothing, but a short walk solves that.

    The 24/7 desk was really helpful, the staff were friendly and easy to talk to. The room looked great, plenty of space too. The bathroom was modern and the bed was really comfortable. Location is great, short walk to some of Istanbul's main attractions. Breakfast was great, even though it is in a separate building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfort bed and quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff members can not speak English. Location is good but window view is not so good.

    Comfort bed and quiet area. Nice breakfast on rooftop of hotel where you can have a view of sea and blue mosque ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    My trip was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, sheets, bathroom, no tissue box in the rooms, only toilet tissues It’s not nice when you want to have your breakfast to go out of the property to another, quality food is not as expected.

    You can reach it very easy Cozy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location so close to all the main attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was average and had to walk across the road to access it from a different hotel. It did have nice views from this building though.

    Room was comfortable and had everything you would expect. We had a top floor room which had easy access to the balcony unfortunately it was to cold to take advantage of it. Bed was also comfortable and not street noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    I’ve stayed at Hippodrome several times over the last three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was disappointed that during this stay I asked for a late checkout but was denied it even though the hotel was not full (low season). I had to show the receptionist that I was a genius account holder at booking but his tone was indifferent and he said late checkout means an extra night. That was although I had extended my stay for two nights and the manager, who intervened later and offered 30 mins to one hour extra, said I should extend the stay through them not booking. Quite strange! Not sure I could go there again with such an attitude from the hotel.

    I’ve stayed at Hippodrome several times over the last three years. Location is awesome. Rooms are small but cozy. Clean and well organized place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Beyond my expectations. Worth each single penny we have paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect as per their rent.

    Staff was very cooperative. Breakfast buffet at rooftop with the view of bosphorous was awesome. Worth each single penny we have paid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.5
    A great experience in this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff must educate the guest about do and don't.

    Everything which was promised was provided.Staff was good, Location Excellent, Complimentry breakfast good and above all property rent was very fair.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    6.3
    Great staff, but not the expected room and hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel does not give you the room they promise in booking.com. When we arrived to the hotel we were told the hotel was full, so they needed to give us a room in their partner hotel Azade Premier (or simething). The parnet hotel is a quite old and the room is not even similar to the offeren room in booking.com.

    The staff was super nice and the breakfast is good enough to start the day. The location of the hotel is the best in Istanbul. It is super close to the blue mosque and to all the historical places in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same everyday and very basic. The double bed hurt my back whereas the single beds which my kids slept on was much better.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    It is a good small boutique hotel as expected in Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price to the comparative hotel and taxi guy did not know where to drop us so dropped in hippodrome from where we had to walk 500m at midnight with luggage.

    It is a good small boutique hotel as expected in Old Istanbul. breakfast is good with view of Bosphorus

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    breakfast time , was the moment that we love to enjoy every...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Signal for wifi was not too strenght.

    breakfast time , was the moment that we love to enjoy every single minute of the roof top breakfast with unforgetable views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    I will not recommend this hotel regardless of the price they offer. Try to find a better one nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was awful. It had mold and strongly smelled like sewer. The water could run only through the shower but the tap swithing knob was broken - just awful. We had no choice but to find a local hammam sauna and go take shower there for extra price. The room was much smaller from what was advertised in the booking, it was very old but fine. The toilet sink cleanliness was fine, but i had to move my legs to a side to close the door - the door was too close to toilet sink and very inconvenient. We could hear all kinds of noise every night like someone talking or something hitting a wall. Also, the prayer from Sultanahmet mosque was traditionally turned on in speakers at 7 am every morning and it was so loud. So the windows insulation was poor. Also the wind was heard sometimes quite loudly at night.

    The bed was very comfortable. Nice view from the terrace - the sea and the mosque. A cleaning lady did actually come every day to clean up the room and arrange the bed sheets. She also brought new soap. The hotel staff was helpful about taxi and wifi problem thing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Pretty decent hotel, which is a great spot for solo travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The bathroom had a couple issues (door wouldn't close properly for instance). Moreover, the hotel mini-bar wasn't as stocked up as regular hotels, and I could've liked a small writing table in my room to help me work on during my stay.

    The view from the room and the terrace was actually quite great, which made up for certain drawbacks attached to the hotel. The breakfast was actually brilliant (even though the breakfast menu doesn't change). The staff was pretty cooperative and took care of all my needs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Would appreciate if they had more facility with walk in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would appreciate if they had more facility with walk in showers. Furthermore, the ground floor room given to us was close to the kitchen and cleaning closet and was noisy. Dumpsters should be further away from the windows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Everything went smooth check in/check out, payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room could've been slightly bigger.

    Very quiet room, no noise from streets whatsoever. Towels have been changed daily! Breakfast - buffet like, many food to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Location and staff was helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Breakfast is at a close by hotel across the street. The view is wonderful and the breakfast is good. The breakfast personnel is not welcoming. One of them asked me to free up the table near the window (where the nice view is) and not stay too long as they have many people that day. Another stared at me each time I went for a coffee refill as the cups were too small. The girl waitress is nice. The young guy is rather rude.

    Location and staff was helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.7
    It was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I don't recommend this hotel to a family , the room was small , in 3rd floor with no elevator in the building , there was no soundproofing and you could hear everything in streets or the next room. The Wifi was bad specially at night.

    It was ok. The staff were kind and helpful ,they upgraded my double room to deluxe with Terrace. Location was perfect a 5 mins walk to most nearby attractions (Sultanahmet Archaeological Park , Blue Mosque , Hagia Sophia Museum) also you can find everything you need nearby (supermarkets , restaurants & cafe's..etc)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Hotel was basic, but clean and secure. I would recommend staying here as it was very good value for money. Breakfast at their sister hotel was very nice with a range of foods, however the views of the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus were incredible. A brilliant way to enjoy morning coffee!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Would recommend to anyone. Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing as we were very comfortable and enjoyed our stay.

    Close to Markets, restaurants, Cafes . Would recommend to anyone. Lovely place. Hope to stay longer next time. Very comfortable and clean. Concierge booked our tours and shuttle buses to and from the Airport which was very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved itx
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was good except there was mould in the grout and it was a little difficult turn the shower on as it was over the bath with a screen! The spa bath was great

    The fellow was super helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Location is very good, room was good and had a lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Services were not that great. we stayed 6 night and sheets of beds was changed once. the heat was not working although the weather was cold. and they didn't have enough quilts. Baby bed was in very bad condition and didn't have mattress

    Location is very good, room was good and had a lot of space. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    The staff and the location were perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty - there was a hair ball rolling on the floor. The bed was broken and uncomfortable.

    The staff and the location were perfect. The price was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    Friendly staff and near restaurants/shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night long there is some knocking sound. Guests in the patio conversation and smoking can reach our 1st floor room. Breakfast is served in another sister hotel; inconvenient but has good view. Property and room is somewhat aged.

    Friendly staff near restaurants and some shops

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    This shouldn’t be rated as a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most probably Because the room was booked through Booking, we were assigned to Hippodrome Apart which is s very tiny motel, not hotel. The room lacked the minimal facilities. Nothing was served in the room ( no water, no coffee, no tea), even the water heater and empty cups and glasses were filthy! Cleaning was bad. The bed covers were fixed only, not changed. There was no staff on the hotel, except in the evening. You could find a sweet old guy, but unfortunately he didn’t know English. Very noisy at night!

    Only the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great breakfast and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little small and there was some work happening outside so got a little noisy during the day. And the showerhead was a little loose so had to hold it constantly.

    The staff - very very cooperative. I forgot my neck pillows in the closet and they safely kept them for me for ten days. They even allowed me to store my luggage in their lobby for a few hours 10 days after I had checked out. That was a great favour they had done for me. THE BREAKFAST WAS AMAZING. It was such a lavish spread with an amazing view of the Blue Mosque on one side and Marmara Sea on the other. The location was excellent. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the Sultanahmet Square, and had many cute cafes and restaurants next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Not worth for the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not working and hotel has not at all tried to repair it... Rooms are congested not at all fit for a double room. There is NO proper room service. No drinking Water is given.. Kettle is not clean..

    Only best thing is the location to the mosques is quite near and to the tram 🚊 service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Good area and best place for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very slow. Communication in english with hotel staff was difficult.

    5 mins everything is available. Blue mosque, sulimania mosque are very near

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    thank you i enjoied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location is very excellent and hotel manager very supportive , find out solution to get room near each other ----------------- solve my problem and looking for customer satisfaction

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Room was big, clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was super.

    Room was big, clean and comfortable. Staff nice and helpful. Breakfast very good but in other hotel (30 m away) - in therase with nice view. I recomended this hotel :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Awesome location and views. Bad hygiene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was specious (room 407) and the views from the terrace are amazing and good for relaxing. The staff is friendly (nothing out of the ordinary, just friendly). The hygiene in the room could be way better. The floor was dirty, the bathroom a bit moldy and there were a few ants walking around. The bedding and towels were clean.

    The room was specious (room 407) and the views from the terrace are amazing and good for relaxing. The staff is friendly (nothing out of the ordinary, just friendly). The hygiene in the room could be way better. The floor was dirty, the bathroom a bit moldy and there were a few ants walking around. The bedding and towels were clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    2.5
    Worst experience ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was gloomy and depressing. The rooms were extremely small. Air conditioner was barely working. Breakfast was not in the hotel, it was in another hotel (Azade) which was about 50 yards away. There was no bell boy, reception man was doing everything. The elevator was big enough to accommodate only 2-3 ppl at one time. The pictures shown on your site were fake and there was nothing near that in the actual hotel! We will never recommend this hotel to anyone or we will not stay there at all.

    There was nothing to be liked here! It was dark and dingy and not all what we had expected. Not worth staying at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Right in the city centre with sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel transfer we booked was 40 minutes late, had to call and wait in the airport extra time

    Great location in the historic centre, 5 minutes walk from Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. Had a room with a view over Marmara sea and balcony. Clean, comfortable, friendly staff, breakfast on the terrace at the neighbor hotel with sea views. Good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.8
    It's in a good location behind the blue mosque and in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were different from the pictures shown on the Booking.com site in a different location.

    It's in a good location behind the blue mosque and in a market area where food and other shops are close by.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Good for the money, but pictures aren't what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures on booking.com did not match any aspect of this hotel. There was mildew in the bathroom. I was there for five nights total and the sheets were never changed. One day no new towels appeared. The internet was hit and miss, mostly miss.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable and the elevator worked. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Great location and spacious room and helpfull staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room and location.. the blue mosque and aya sofia were a few minutes away.. the room was spacious and clean. The bathroom was our children's fave, a clean one and a spacious bathtub to play in.. the staffs were very helpfull.. thank you for your help about the shuttle driver..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location near sultanahmet square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location near sultanahmet square. We were having breakfast in the other hotel, it was a terrace situated on the top of the hotel with great sea view next to the our hotel. I enjoyed the meals. There are a lot of restaurants around the hotel with ancient architecture.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    The place is VERY conveniently located to the major tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is VERY conveniently located to the major tourist attractions,e.g. Blue Mosque, e.t.c...and good and various picks of eating places. The Receptionist was friendly ( though limited with English)and helpful as to suggestions to visit, maps , getting taxi ,..e.t.c..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    4.2
    No elevator/lift ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They don't provide free water bottle in room .... There is no elevator in their Hippodram Aparrtment and the steps are very narrow to carry big luggage ... Room are smaller than their showed picture ..

    Near Historical places ...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.9
    Hippodrome hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the third night we're moved to -1 floor room, with poor air conditioner and windows right under the ceiling. People were walking right next to our windows. First two rooms were perfect, nice view, nice rooms!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.2
    Perfect Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast can be improved.

    Although hotel is situated right in the heart of Sultanahmet, it's location is not overcrowded and is in the european streets style. Hotel staff were friendly and eager to help. Also we had the luck to be ugraded to better rooms. Wi-Fi signal is good. The terrace, where we had breakfasts, has a beautiful view on Sultanahmet Mosque and the Sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    3/5
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not very clean I expect more , first night I had a single room I asked for quite room my room was in the lobby next to the reception very noisily, I can rate the hotel 3

    Hotel location is excitant you can find everything around

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.3
    Perfect Location , amazing view , Polite Staff and friendly clean room the staff action is not so
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the staff action is not so fast , there was a problem that there is no door for bathroom and i asked twice to fix it and no one responded

    Perfect Location , amazing view , Polite Staff and friendly clean room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room can be a bit small for those who carry big luggage.

    The fact that it's near to the tourist spots in Istanbul. You can walk to Suleyman mosque in 10 mins. The staffs are very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    4 nights in istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are grumpy sometimes..

    The rooms are nice and clean..and the breakfast is good and the locationtions is perfect..5 min walk from tge tram station

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    A memorable day in sultan Ahemat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was bit haphazard. But in the end we landed a awesome room. View from room was a street.

    The place was amazing surrounding the glorious history so Islam and Christianity.we were offered a room in Azade hotel which was clean and tidy amaxing bed size and cozy comfort.cable connection was HD but in Turkish. Reception people speaks good english.Breakfast was at roof top of Azade and was excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hippodrome Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: