Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Izmir Palas Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Atatürk Bulvari, Konak, 35210 Izmir, Turkey

#41 of 101 hotels in Izmir

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    9.6
    The location of that hotel is one of the best if you look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The A/C in rooms are somewhat old and makin sound. They need to be renovated . it s not a big deal .

    The location of that hotel is one of the best if you look for an hotel along Alsancak coast side. You can reach every place by walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay, even though it rained both days! Just the breakfast was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast buffet was large, but there was not anything of any quality on there. The cheapest orange juice(concentrate) over cooked scrambled eggs, dry cake and a large selection of tasteless bread. Poor quality yoghurt and lots of yoghurt pots with who knows what in them, no signs. Cheap marmalade sachets. The breakfast severely let’s down the standard of the rest of the hotel.

    The restaurant below’ Deniz’ Is excellent...beautiful food, wonderful service. The hotel has lovely size rooms, very clean and nice shower rooms. Housekeeping is good. We had a sea view room and it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    6.7
    No, the eggs were reconstituted, just bad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were rather small, but It was the toilet it was so small we had to squeeze to sit on it, the towels were dingy gray and had holes as big as cantaloupes. The only thing nice I can say is the location and view is great.

    No, the eggs were reconstituted, just bad!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    10
    The hotel, which is in the middle of Izmir, literally faces...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel, which is in the middle of Izmir, literally faces the sea. Very big terraces of top floor with spectacular view. Helpful and kind staff, breakfasts have large variety. Close enough to walk anywhere you like in central Izmir. Definitely will stay again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel in the heart of this amazing city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe just a bit more choice for breakfast

    Hotel was in an amazing location, right by the promenade. Decor was quirky and the room itself was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2017

    3.8
    Old, smelly, stinky Hotel with perfect view and location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really old furnitures and not clean. Bed cover, curtains and chairs had many dirt mark on them. They were made from match fabric and really old. Poor shower and leaking water in bathroom.

    Very nice view and good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2017

    8.3
    Great location - Great place to stay, lots to do & see....We would come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast room was soooooo hot we cooked!

    The bikes! They were good quality, well serviced - Came with locks so we rode out many days & nights........Locked up the bikes ate, drank, site seeing & rode home along the sea front (Bike lanes all the way along & easy to take bikes on river boats) Great way to site see & get about

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.3
    average
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room size, elevator, view, bath (not complete closed class water come out during shower!!!), no floor drain point,

    location, balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    Location is excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    But needing a bit better services

    Very good location Very good view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    7.1
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great view. Great Turkish Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.6
    View of bay from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    View of bay from room Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    10
    ENJOYED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CANT THINK OF ANYTHING

    LOCATION

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    8.3
    great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    great location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    7.5
    Very god veiw
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reach hotel by driving car traffic fvery defficult

    Walk way beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    7.5
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the socket next to the bed which was allocated for use of hotel guest wasn't working

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    4.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    road closure, parking space

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    10
    Great hotel for this value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to remark

    The personnel was nice and so helpful, I got a perfect room with terrace, and view in the bay... what else can one need? Just great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel for business staying. The staff are very helpfull
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You can find everything you would like to eat at breakfast. Quite rooms. Amazing view. Amazing location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    6.3
    it's fair place, good price, at sea side. Worth money if no strong requirement.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    seemed old, not so updated

    the balcony is nice

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2017

    7.9
    magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    magnificent view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2016

    7.9
    Central location in front of the sea.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Central location in front of the sea.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    3.3
    Very poor quality and a depressive room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room and bed and furniture qualities were the biggest disappointment

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    10
    I look forward to returning to this well placed, comfortable hotel were service is the watchword.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not stay long enough!

    A perfect place to stay as long as you want good old fashioned. Modern plastic it is not; solid quality it is.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    7.5
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed

    The location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2016

    10
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    9.2
    everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2016

    8.8
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    5.8
    the location is excellent
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    staff were very not pleasant, no smile

    the location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2016

    9.6
    The room with a sea view was very large.
    • Solo traveler

    The upstairs bar had smokers in it... maybe needs regular staff there.

    The room with a sea view was very large. I could work at the sitting area. The balcony gave an extra dimension.View was stunning of the harbour and Kordon. Everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was excellent. Staff very very helpful and spoke English. Good security too. Felt very safe.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Awful breakfast. Me and my friends had to throw it out after eating!! The A.C was not working well, we asked them to be fixed, nevertheless it was still hot and we had to keep the balconey open through the night to get cold air.

    Friendly staff. Great location

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    6.3
    the veiw ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast buffet was the worse I have seen in all of turkey . when I booked on line I noted I would pay in cash and when I got there they had already charged my credit card. The phone in the room was not working and until I left the next day it was not repaoired

    the veiw , the location the vallet parking

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2016

    10
    This is like our second home in beautiful İzmir.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is like our second home in beautiful İzmir. Sea side rooms have the spectacular view and my favorite time is watching the sunset from the balcony. Staff is very friendly and very proffesional.

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2016

    9.2
    Very good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    wifi connection at times didn't work at the room but the staff was always helpful to help solve this issue

    Very good location, friendly and helpful staff, clean room. I would definitely recommend it for business travellers

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    7.9
    The location is in the middle of restaurants and bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Although I had asked for a double bed, they had first given me a single bed and only after complaining they changed my room the next day to a room with double bed.

    The location is in the middle of restaurants and bars and the sea view from the room is incredible! The open buffet in breakfast is also very nice!

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    7.1
    The view, balcony, size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was not so comfortable, although the rooms was refurbished, inside the hotel was pretty old. Balcony should be cleaned as well, was so dusty. Breakfast room was small and squeezed.

    The view, balcony, size of the room

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2015

    10
    -location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - soap and shampoo in the rooms

    -location - view from the window - service - free breakfast - free valet parking - room - decor - historical building - muffins and free brunch tea - Loved this hotel ❤️

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2015

    7.5
    Sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I gave to receiption man my drugs and i told him put in the refrigerator my drugs according to the order from doctor It should be kept in the refrigerator but unfortunatley they didnt put and finally were corrupt , and we had to re buy

    Sea view

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    10
    Breakfast room itself could have been on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast room itself could have been on the top floor. We had a room with sea view. But at least for those who didn't.. And, tea or coffee could have been served at the table..

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi no way to get connect, bathroom too small you cant get a confortable bath. Eleven or needs your room card to run. AmEx payment is not accepted

    Location

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Strange and inconvenient Wi-Fi access.Signal isn't stable, some devices can't connect. The staff pays no attention to Wi-Fi complaints.

    Wonderful location

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2015

    4.2
    Location was ok, staff were helpful.
    • Group

    There was a huge building work going on in the hotel which we were not informed. They should've just shut the hotel during this time. Tiny elevators, Very poor breakfast, bad quality facilities. I had to change three rooms in two days stay. First room, there was a water pouring down from AC on to the bed side lights. On the second room after half an hour listening to sledge hammer on the top my head phoned the reception and they said this will continue during 10am to 4pm including the weekend due to refurb work in the hotel. so finally moved back to my third room. Then I cut 2 nights short our stay moved to another hotel. I have no idea why this hotel has four star. Apart from the location I cant really find any good thing to say about this hotel. Waste of money. Would never stay again

    Location was ok, staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2015

    7.5
    Location of the hotel is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the first three days of our stay,there was a renovation in the highest floor causing a terrible noise going on from 8:30 am to almost 7:30 pm. We had to warn the desk to keep the working hours shorter.

    Location of the hotel is very good. Sea view is excellent. Close to public transportation.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2015

    8.3
    Pretty good choice if you get nice deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    No leisure facilities as swimming pool. Power saving - no phone charging while you away from the room. No dinner available to order at 22 45, restaurant closes at 23 00. Bit odd strong smell, not bad thought, I guess its chemicals they clean room with.

    Pretty good choice if you get nice deal. Room is large and comfy furnished balcony even better. Don't miss out on roof bar with nice views. Near train station, not far from long distance bus services. by the coast.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    7.5
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are a little bit old. For example our bathroom door didn't shut properly. We informed the reception immediately but they fixed it one and a half day later. Other than this, it was clean, tidy and okay.

    Location is great. A recommendation: Eat at Deniz Restaurant (hotel's restaurant) best in town!

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2015

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poor breakfast Very poor Wifi Lazy staff, nobody speaks English Every request has to be made 2 or 3 times Airconditioning doesn't work untill half May

    Location

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is in a good location for access to food and drink...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Even though the hotel website claims that every room has a balcony ours didn't. After looking at the information on Booking.com we were also expecting a bath, which we didn't get. We were guven a corner room which had a strange set up with the bed out from the wall on all sides and positioned diagonally into the room causing it to take up a lot of space for no reason. Also water was leaking onto the bathroom floor from somewhere which made the room musty and damp. However, the worst part was the wifi. In our room the connection would drop out several times per minute, requiring us to log in all over again each time. This was more annoying than having no connection at all.(The connection was perfect in the breakfast room).

    The hotel is in a good location for access to food and drink along the 'kordon' and has one of the cities bicycle hire stations nearby. Buses and taxis are also very close by. Staff were very well presented and friendly.

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2015

    7.9
    Location on the bay, easy access to Alsancak, Kameralta, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The A/C did not function. Traffic noise from the 2nd Cordon on the city side was very bad.

    Location on the bay, easy access to Alsancak, Kameralta, and the ferry.

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location, very nice staff, clean .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Wifi is the only problem in this hotel, signal is very weak, sometimes none. You have to go to the lobby to get good signal.

    Perfect location, very nice staff, clean . I have tried other hotels in the area, but this one is my favorite. I've stayed here many times and will go back again.

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2015

    5.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had 2 rooms. In both, Bed were rock hard, the most uncomfortable of our trip. Rooms had a musty, moldy smell. Water ran out of shower onto the bathroom floor-probably the source of the smell.

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2015

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is not quote new so some areas might loo a bit shabby even though everything is clean.

    Good location. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I got seriously sick during my stay and needed some not obvious medicaments urgently - they were very helpful in finding me a drugstore close to the hotel that would be open at 2am, called them to check they have all I needed, wrote the name of the medicaments in Turkish and got a driver for me to go there and bring me back to the hotel. Very much appreciated!

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    9.2
    Roomservise
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Roomservise

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    9.6
    easy to reach easy to park a car
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    outside garbage bins smell , they should ask to municipality about changing the location of that !

    easy to reach easy to park a car

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2016

    5.4
    They don´t have an Airport shuttle, on their Website is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    They don´t have an Airport shuttle, on their Website is mencioned is not true. No bar and no own restaurant

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    7.5
    Sea view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Difficult to communicate in English.

    Sea view

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2016

    8.8
    WONDERFUL LOCATION
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    WIFI VERY POOR

    WONDERFUL LOCATION

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2016

    6.7
    Location and historical decoration of the corridors
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast buffet

    Location and historical decoration of the corridors

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2016

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs renovation

    Location

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2016

    7.5
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2016

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: February 29, 2016

    7.1
    very central
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I booked the seaside but fully booked, they gave city side

    very central

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    9.6
    The breackfast is not like a 4stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The breackfast is not like a 4stars hotel

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2016

    7.1
    Location and staff was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast. Noisy rooms. Rooms needs refurbishing. Room smell smoke.

    Location and staff was very good

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2016

    10
    Location, service, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    None

    Location, service, facilities

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2015

    6.7
    Good location just in front of the sea with nice view from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very old facility not properly cleaned.

    Good location just in front of the sea with nice view from room.

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    5.8
    great view on the ocean side, great location, fair service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    horrible pricing for an old hotel, not so friendly staff, unclean rooms

    great view on the ocean side, great location, fair service

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2015

    8.3
    The staffs are very professional, the room is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The staffs are very professional, the room is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2015

    5.0
    air conditioning did not work;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    air conditioning did not work; room was very warm

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    All good

    Location

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2015

    10
    Everythıng
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothıng

    Everythıng

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2015

    7.9
    Very good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very friendly staff, only the bag carriers were nice. Loud traffic

    Very good beds.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    5.8
    Good location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    He staff were unfriendly and unhelpful

    Good location and views.

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2015

    4.2
    Only the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff at the reception.

    Only the location!

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    9.2
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast could be improved.

    The location was great. I always felt safe. Bed was comfy. Balcony was amazing.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Izmir Palas Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: