Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kaftan Hotel

Akbiyik Caddesi Amiral Tafdil Sokak Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#103 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 629 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good area to stay in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very kind and professional employees are working there. Very helpful and kind, the room is quiet small but its very clean. The breakfast was ok, everyday the same but everythings available. Very nice view from the breakfast room. Very kind ladies are working in the kitchens. In conclusion it was a nice stay and i can recommend it. Thanks to the service. Kind regards from Germany

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    As above - great place to stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives - will stay there again.

    The staff were fantastic - I stupidly left my phone in the taxi and they did everything they could to get my phone back - which they did. I can't thank them enough :) - The location is excellent too!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few small spots and stains on the linens, small marks on the wall. Breakfast didn't taste so fresh, sometimes the bread was stale and the milk was warm. It was free though so if you don't like it you can just skip it.

    Very helpful, friendly and smiling staff. Loved the decor of the rooms! So much more personality and nicer than typical hotel sterility. All the facilities were nice. Great location in the old town, easy walk to major attractions and tram to the rest of the city. Lots of nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location everything is within walking distance but the street is still fairly quiet. Staff are great and everything was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money, even if you're on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - extremely small room/bathroom - hard mattresses, sheets and blankets are of very low quality - only 1 out of 3 lamps worked in the room, the receptionist said it would be fixed. that never happened - wifi is really bad (connection drops and very low speed)

    the only good thing is the location, otherwise it's not really worth it. I won't really recommend it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great location in best area, super friendly and helpful personnel, great price to value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was good enough for Facebook, google etc but too slow for uploading pics tot the cloud but this was the case everywhere (cafes, restaurants etc) Couple times the room was noisy because of inner yard sounds . Soundproofing was very low. But it was ok as we stayed there for two days only. Breakfast was very basic but ok for this price. Had fresh fruits. Unbelievably Terrible coffee from the coffee machine ))))

    Amazing personnel! - We came 4 hrs before checkin time and we're deadly tired. The guys allowed us to take available room (for free) that we could rest. - they were super polite, friendly and welcoming ! Helped with every request we had. Amazing location - it is located in one of the best area of Istambul. we walked for two days exploring the downtown, so this area seemed the best to us - very stylish, cozy, not overcrowded with tourists, with great restaurants, 5-10mins walk from the main landmarks. Great price to quality - we were looking for cheaper option and this hotel was a really great option taking into account all factors above and below. Would go to that hotel again and would recommend it for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Stay at Hotel Kaftan, Istanbul, Turkey
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing what to not like

    Everything. Although it has small rooms, there are moder rooms and very clean. Cleaning was done everyday, also towels wrre changed every day. Breakfast was incredible and you had a lot from where to choose. In the garden you have free tea, water and coffee.5 min walking from Blue Mosque

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Terrible service, would not return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a triple room months in advance and was given a double room with the chairs and table removed, then a fold away bed added, we complained and were told that the tribe room was occupied but we could have it the next day if we paid extra. We had to ask for towels and bedding for the third person, then found that the double bed only had a single douvet, when we asked for one to be brought up, they delivered another single douvet and e petted us to put the cover on it.

    The location would have been great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The good location, excellent manager and collaborators, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    The good location, excellent manager and collaborators, it was very clean, and the rooms are just what you could need. Beautiful city, that you for all ! Thank you for the delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    The most amazing thing about this Hotel is the extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room cleanness can be better.

    The most amazing thing about this Hotel is the extremely friendly and helpful staff. They are just great! The hotel is also located in a perfect area of the city and the rate was more than fair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Will definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit too cold

    The staff is very nice and friendly, really loved staying there. Will definitely stay there again if I come back to Istambul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Such friendly and hospitable staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly and hospitable staff! Great location, with walking distance to the Blue Mosque and markets. The rooftop restaurant area is great as is the garden in the back. Would 100% recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice, cozy hotel in super convenient position. Excellent staff, excellent price for value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was super small and....low. It was difficult for me to wash my face (i'm 190cm), but shower was large enough (but I had to bend my head to get it) More attention to details (tent hooks were broken, bathroom mat was wornout) and to cleaning partners (some towels weren't so clean once changed, but they brought me three new ones every morning). I had breakfast only once because breakfast wasn't so varied and the room is really small. I understand that being a small hotel it's not possible to have plenty of food, but I would have appreciated more options on cakes. Having a small breakfast room means that if it rains it's not possible to open the window to aerate, and you get out in the morning already smelling.

    Staff super friendly and helpful (they borrowed my adaptor and mobile charger for the whole week). The small garden is nice, quiet and super relaxing. The hotel is small but very nice and cozy. Internet was pretty slow but it always worked (in old Sultanahmet is not so obvious)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    My friends and I very much enjoyed our stay in Kaftan Hotel and recommend it to everybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super!!! Friendly host and personnel, hospitality and warmest wellcome, great location ( just 5 minutes walk to the historic heart of Istanbul), sea view from the room and from the terrace, cozy and clean rooms, very tasty breakfast and the opportunity to have tea or coffee in the garden or the terrace whenever you want. Strongly recommend!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    The place is great, it has one of the best locations in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing was that the room was small for one person with only mico wardrobe. However the bed was good size.

    The place is great, it has one of the best locations in istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not that big but otherwise perfect.

    Nice terrace next to the lobby for a morning coffee or tea (their treat!). Good location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Gem of Sultanahmet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size was small indeed, but the +ves are so many more.

    Most helpful and friendly staff; mostly quiet; excellent breakfast spread; lovely location walking distance from the major attractions of Istanbul; lovely restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Great location, couple of blocks from the Blue mosque .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, couple of blocks from the Blue mosque ... close to everything. It was charming and the staff was really really helpful ... breakfast was great .. I barely do reviews I had to it for this place.. definitely coming back here. I forgot my sunglasses at the room after checking out.. when I went back for them they were waiting for me outside and also they called me right away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    In this hotel I liked the stuff only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are horrible, very small and uncomfortable. We found a cockroach in the bathroom, killed it, but it stayed over there for 2 days, so imagine how they clean over there. Safe is old and unsafe, so if you have some money with you, be prepared to carry it with you all the time. The room is small. No one will change for you toiletries, unless you ask. The same about bottles of water. The plug boxes are broken and totally unsafe for use. Generally the hotel is overpriced. For this money you can find more professional hotel. This one looks more like advanced hostel or homey hotel. Yes, stuff is very nice and location is great. But that’s it. I wouldn’t come back here for sure.

    In this hotel I liked the stuff only

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    the staffs were really helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staffs were really helpful and friendly. One of them did help me to print my boarding pass. Overall, it was a nice place to stay and very close to everywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly great location for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi seemed to be turned off at midnight till the morning and there was loads of tv channels but none in English.

    Staff was very friendly and hotel was in a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Budget hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms , good for few hours of sleep .

    Excellent location . Good for money when I searched hotels near to Blue mosque . I think almost all hotels in that area of same standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Love the staff and the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the staff and the service. Breakfast was diverse and the view from the terrace was great even on a cloudy day. I wish they had an elevator though so my mom could join us for a meal at the terrace for breakfast but there were plenty of restaurants just outside the building so it wasn’t a deal breaker. It was also close to the the blue mosque, sofia h., cistern, etc. Public transit wasn’t necessary. Even the walk to the pier was fun. Thanks for having us!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Kaftan si the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, nice and clean room, hotel location is great, delicious breakfast with beautiful view. We were really satisfied and delighted ;-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    The breakfast was excellent, the staff was amazing, really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff was amazing, really helpful and the rooms were great considering the price. The location was incredible as well, 5 mins to Sultanahmet. They even upgraded our room, for free!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Love it! Would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 flights of stairs to breakfast. Steep stairs. On a hill. Taxis can never find it.

    Warm. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Room cleaned daily. Central to sights. In the heart of Sultanahmet. Amazing view from breakfast room. Great information when asked . Map provided. Uber can find you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Helpful staff, great location (in a five-minute walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was not a problem for us at all, but if it matters - the walls are extremely thin and the budget-rooms are literally tiny.

    Helpful staff, great location (in a five-minute walk from Sultanahmet square and tram-station), good breakfast on the terrace with a pleasant view, small "garden" with free tea and coffee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    The breakfast is really good and gives us the real Turkish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is really good and gives us the real Turkish experience. The staff makes everything to create an incredible experience. The location is close to the major tourist attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice cute little property and relaxing stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in the basement room because of number of people in family and we could hear talking noises from the garden back door which was a bit annoying but tolerable. The mattress was not as comfortable as we expected but it was still Ok to sleep. The WiFi was not as great in the basement room. TV only played one channel which was Ok because we didn't care too much about the TV. For the breakfast, it is served till 10.30 and we were there around 9.15 or so every day we stayed but scrambled egg seem to run out every day we were there and we had to ask the breakfast lady to make more, and our last day the breakfast lady took the egg pan with her and never refilled it. This the only complain we had about the breakfast, otherwise the selection and variety was good.

    Excellent location and excellent staff, specially Ayden was very helpful. Breakfast was good. Most of the attractions are very close walking distance and Tram station was 5 minutes walk although we ended up taking the hop on hop off bus tour and were able to negotiate the rates. We were able to have our extra luggage put in the lobby and Ayden was very helpful for that and for everything we needed. It was raining 2 days we were there and there were Umbrellas in a bucket beside the exit door to take which was very convenient. The garden in the back was nice to sit and enjoy free coffee and tea. Bottled waters was provided for free first day our stay and we were told that there will be charge from the next day, we ended up buying the bottles from outside for the rest of our stay, which was quite cheap (2 Liras for the big water bottle from close by but we noticed 1.5 on the main street shops as well)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Thrre days like a Sultan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff are very kind and professional, they can help you in whatever you need. The hotel is located in the heart of the city. Hotel is small but friendly. You feel like at home. Breakfast is not bad and it is served on the terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Small and very cosy hotel in Sultanahmet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and very cosy hotel in Sultanahmet. Perfest for short and romantic stay in Istanbul. The rooms are decorated with painted wood. Very warm in the vinter. Aya Sofia and other places of interst are very close. The next street is full of nice restaurants., but the hotel is in cool place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes Wifi connexion isn’t good and sometimes you can hear people from others rooms

    all personal are very nice, the breakfast is excellent and location is really good. Also you can take tea and coffee as much as you can for free

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    9.2
    The location is the biggest advantage, very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is the biggest advantage, very close to the blue mosque and Hagia Sophia, also walkable distance to tram station. There are many eateries nearby to explore. The rooms though small are very cosy and perfect with all amenities. Buffet breakfast at the rooftop was good. The managing staff needs a special mention

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Super friendly staff, perfect quiet location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff, perfect quiet location in the historical part, everything is within walking distance, great breakfast on the terrace with amazing view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    If you are short of money this is probably your best option...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast not good.

    If you are short of money this is probably your best option in Istanbul. The location of the hotel is perfect and the area is very quiet and safe. The service in the front desk is amizing, they are super nice and willing to help you always. The hotel in general is clean. Rooms a bit small according to price, of course, but very confortable and equipped. Super recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Group
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is ok

    Has a great location. Room was clean with an awesome decoration and bed comfy. The staff are lovely. Very good value for money. Nice terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is clean and healthy environment, so the hotel is...
    • Group
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    The hotel is clean and healthy environment, so the hotel is well located in downtown of Istanbul. The hotel staff is helpful, kind and friendly, especilally, Aydin. Many thanks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice place. 10 minutes walking to Sultanahmet square. Room is small, but clean and has everything you need. Included breakfast is various and tasty. Price is very reasonable. So, I recommend :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location in the best area of Istanbul & great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The walls are very thin, so could hear my neighbours. Luckily, it didn't interrupt my rest as I could sleep well, but can imagine that those who have issues with sleep could be disturbed by the noises. The receptionist before my leave to the airport wasn't positive about my airport shuttle bus schedule and amount of time I had left for security and boarding at the airport. He kept saying, that 30 minutes is not enough to get to Atatürk International Airport and I might miss my flight because of the queues for the 2 security checks. Fortunately, after collecting all the passengers, the shuttle bus got to the airport withing 30 minutes and the 1.5 hour I left for everything at the airport was absolutely fine.

    I liked the location a lot (5 mins from the Blue Mosque), the terrace for breakfast with beautiful view to the sea and lovely sunshine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in lovely room but in basement so make sure you ask not to be there, as noisy from people in the garden, and no windows

    The staff were so friendly and helpful in every way, even gave us coffee and cake on roof top terrace for free whilst we were sitting up there in the sun enjoying the view. Organised Hamman and massage for us, picked up and dropped off at hotel and less than half price of nearby ones, and just 10 minutes taxi drive. Awesome location, easy walk to blue mosque and masses of lovely restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious. We drunk tea in different cafes and restos but the one we drunk in hotel was the best. Friendly, helpfull people. We even used their istanbul card for cheaper public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was bit small for us but we only stay for a night before leaving to Bursa.

    The staf was nice. The room decoration is very creative. Breakfast buffet was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice staff, gave us good hints about sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from the center, had to travel about 10 minutes from the Sultanahmet station.

    Very nice staff, gave us good hints about sightseeing. The breakfast is consistent, with a lot of local fruits, sweets or specialities. Beautiful view to the sea. Prices are lower than in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Small but cosy hotel within easy reach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi connection is not bad but sometimes was unstable.

    Now it's my favourite hotel in Istanbul. We appreciated desserts for breakfast, 24/7 tea and lounge zone in the garden, small but cosy rooms. The bathroom fitments are good and new, no inconveniences with the shower. The room was cleaned every day during our stay, every day we had new towels. Guys on reception are friendly, multilingual and open for a small-talk. Thanks to them for good advice on sightseeing and places of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    I like it :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room is super small but still nice :) Walls are very slim so you can listen all your neighbors doing in the rooms and how they are walking on the hall.

    People, hospitality, view from the top, food, room - everything is clean and white. And the inside garden is incredibly nice with tea and coffee 24/7

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Best location, totally worth for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, so my mother had it tough with the stairs.

    Staff was friendly and helpful; there was a nice terrace with tea and coffee 24/7. It made it very nice and homy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    value for money, comfort and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there was a cattle in the room would be perfect for tea or coffee lovers.

    Very rich breakfast, eat as much as you can, variety was incredible vale for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    I think it was the best choice for my budget, 24 euro for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was the best choice for my budget, 24 euro for night. It was quiet and small hotel. I liked my cozy room. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesnt have elevator, so it was good that I was given a ground floor room.... however, the breakfast is served at the roof top, which has a pro and con. A pro because u get to enjoy the view and fresh air. The con, climbing the steep stairs and not friendly for those with knee injury or knee problem or if ever with kids ... also, need to be careful at the breakfast door... it needs a little brace or railings... the fitting of the towel holder and the tissue holder falls Down everytime I touch then. The cleaner staff should be reporting this to the maintenamce and do not wait until Guests report this kind of things. Overall, concerns are minor. Worth staying here

    The hotel is nice, clean and serves breakfast. Considering the price and the free buffet breakfast, it is worth staying here. The location is also decent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Hard to imagine better for this price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager was awesome: polite, friendly and always ready to help. He gave us a lot of useful advice. The location is perfect, you can walk from there to see Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace and other historical sites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Good location , all staff are welcoming, clean room, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location , all staff are welcoming, clean room, nice view from room (3rd floor) to sea and from breakfast room, value for money. I think we will stay in Kaftan next time again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful breakfast views :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel! Well located near the main sites of Sultanahmet area, and a short walk from the tram for connections elsewhere. In a quiet neighborhood of mostly hotels / residences, very peaceful. Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are well decorated, excellent showers, and a nice little back garden. The breakfast is impressively diverse and expansive, Turkish deliciousness, and served in a sunny room with great views of the sea and city. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    A week in Istanbul at Kaftan Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Hello, I stayed for a week in Kaftan Hotel with my family (sister and parents), we had a wonderful stay, the personnel is absolutely wonderful, kind and so helpful. The beds are comfortable, AC system works well, TV, WIFI, Hair dryer in the bathroom, towels, slippers and amenities provided. It is close to sultanhamet mosque, Topkapi palace and Arasta bazaar, close to the tram which is very well connected and 15mins walking distance away from the Grand Bazaar. The breakfast buffet is very diversified with great food quality, they bring new dishes everyday, the ladies working there are so nice and helpful and the view is beautiful. You also have a terrace with tea and coffee at your disposition on the ground floor. I insist and the helpfulness of the personnel, the whole team is so kind and makes everything for your stay to be great. We are coming back to this hotel for our next stay in Istanbul, the city is absolutely beautiful and a week is not enough to see everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Strategic location, safe and quiet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are excellent! They are very helpful and are always smiling! The hotel location is great! It is within a 4 min walking distance to Istanbul tram station yet very quiet and safe! The hotel is very affordable and it has exceeded my expectations. Even the Local Turks have said that we are very lucky to stay in one of the best, if not the best, hotel in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Perfect to stay during the first visit to Istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Breakfast menu is the same every day.

    Perfect hotel for the first city visit. Friendly&high professional administrators will help you in any question. Hotel situated close to main transport lines, water&historical places.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally place is excellent. Location is great, staff is super. Special thanks to Yunus who met me and checked in, manager Aydin and Ruhin who is willing to help any time. Big choice of food at breakfast time. All tourists attractions located next to hotel. And view from the hotel is amazing. Rooms are so clean and fresh towels every day. And best thing is this place is SAFE! Definitely I ll book this hotel for my next visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Really nice small hotel minutes walk from the blue mosque extremely nice staff - a must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lights in the room didn't work, room was a bit stuffed with a smell of old! With my asthma it didn't help much.

    The staff were extremely friendly helpful and they went an extra mile to make our stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a city trip, very good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast was Turkish style, maybe not he biggest variety, but still they changed 1-2 dishes every day.

    Accommodation was clean and had all facilites one may need, the employees were very nice and helpful and were not shy to give some hints for Istanbul in general. The "budget room" that I booked was small, but sufficient and more or less clean. Overall I would say it's okay. The hotel may not be easy to find at first, if taking the tram you have to drive to "Sultanahmet" station and from there one it's less than a 10 minutes walk (walk between Sultanahmet mosque and Hagia Sophia, it's close to the "Meşale" cafe). They have a small and nice terrace where you can accomodate yourself with free coffee and tea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Recommend to stay and duscover Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very cosy,clean and neat.It is located in the heart of old city.Staff is very friendly and ready to help. Breakfast is great, the view from terrace is magical on the Bosphorus.It's a great place to stay and spend time in Istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    6.7
    Basement room with cigarette smoke access
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the basement near to laundry room. Only smallest window near the ceiling, which was always open because of the wet smell in the room. This window was near the backdoor terrace where people were seating up to the middle of the night and smoking. We could hear everything in our room and could smell cigarette smoke! It was hard to get asleep because of that.

    Personnel is smiling and helpful. Breakfask is served on the upper floor with awesome view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Worth a second stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot even though it was cool outside. There was a smell of cigarettes in the room on the first day which had gone by the second.

    Stayed for second time before leaving Turkey. It was just as good as last time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.8
    Situated in an ideal place with helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not suitable for people with mobility problems, there are no lifts up to the floors and there wasn't a fridge in the bedroom.

    The staff were very helpful and it is set in a quiet cobble narrow street and it is very near restaurants, market and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Clothes Storage No rooms soundproofing Small rooms, but it's okay 10 mins from Tram station

    Breakfast is perfect Stuff are very friendly and helpful Free Tea stuff all over Rooms are very clean and modern View from Breakfast roof

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff, great location, beautiful sea view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the rooms

    Super friendly staff, great location, beautiful sea view!!! We loved it ❣️

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast lovely staff, Good location amazing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast lovely staff, Good location amazing room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    the location is excellent and the service is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location is excellent and the service is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Location, clean, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, clean, staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, good service and comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better , e.g orange juice really bad!

    Staff very friendly, good location and nice view from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Good stay overall
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly and helpful. I liked the place where they are having a breakfast overlooking Bosphorus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and front desk employee. Everything was really great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room a bit small but adequate

    Good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Everything all right
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good are

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect would definitelly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We hoped there’ll be a rooftop bar.

    Excellent location and exceptional cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kaftan Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: