Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kalyon Hotel Istanbul 4 stars

Kennedy Cad. No:34 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#634 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 940 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    nice place, excellent sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the yellow taxes called by the hotel staff were not up to the task. I think the hotel needs to pick them more carefully. they need to use their meters, also need to take the customer to the places the costumer wants and not the places were the taxi driver receive a commission.

    location, sea front restaurant, and café. airport suttle.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    It was a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool, restaurants need more varieties on food.

    Fantastic location. Historical places and restaurants are walking distance. Staffs were cordial enough. Rooms were clean, Aircondition was alright. I think if they incorporate some additional features like swimming pool, gym, sauna, massage then this hotel will be perfect enough to get rating over 8.5.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Stayed in Kaylon Hotel on the first visit to Istanbul give great memories and lasting memories.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the front of Hotel is Beach and in the back side of Hotel is Blue Mosque.In the area of Blue Mosque we will found many Restaurants and Cafe. We can also ride tram to explore another side of Istanbul.

    Location not traffic and near tourism spot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Lower your beds and get normal beds for kids and toddlers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible breakfast (and this is Turkey), wifi could have been better, staff speaks just the abc in English. Baby beds provided is a funny nightmare my kid had to sleep with me in my bed. The beds are set at about 3 feet from the ground, seriously, guys, what are you afraid of - Chucky? Almost had to use a ladder to get into bed and i had to barricade my bed with pillows and what not, to keep my baby from falling off.

    Windows in rooms from ceiling to the floor, location (for me personally), clean rooms, though the staff barely spoke English I could feel their good intentions except for the kitchen staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Average stay, would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pokey, putdated decor and lacked basic facilities such as clock, qibla direction, fridge was non functional and toilet door lock did not work. Staff seemed abrupt and nothing complementary was given.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    It was a pleasant stay in Kalyon Hotel, with clean room and lovely staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    zero

    We stayed in Room 159 and we find the hotel staffs are very gracious and attentive to our requests. We believe the staffs are the hearts of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for many of the old city tourist locations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant poor and not used. Airport trsnsport difficult to find at tge airport but good once located.

    Front desk staff very helpful and efficient. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    A generous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping should take care of the regular needs of guests such as, water bottles in room. - Breakfast variety can be improved

    - Staff are helpful. - Location is on a walking distance from Sultanahmet. - Price is fair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No umbrella during raining season. It should be in each room considering the weather conditions. Surprised to hear that hotel is out of umbrella despite I booked a suite category room. Hotel asked for a deposit of 20lira for a basic socket pin. Look I don’t mind depositing but it give very bad impression to me at the very first hour of my stay and which made me uncomfortable. For a suggestion, believe they should keep it in a room and at the time of checkout should ask the guest to wait in lobby for 5-10mins and check the room if this along with any other stuff is missing.

    View from my room. Very refreshing. Good staff and management.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for business and tourist purposes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable too firm for me.

    I like the location and good views from the hotel and restaurant. The rooms are very convenient for business purposes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money, hotel star rating should be revised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor and dimmed lighting A/C heat was ok but the room was big and there were not enough (radiators) Some extra light stands were at the corner but no power socket Even the water kettle had no power socket nearby View was hindered by some wall for the smoking suite Small hotel, too expensive for the experience The staff seemed a bit disoriented on guest welcoming The whole hotel just felt cold and unwelcoming

    The grill we ordered from their restaurant was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    Big room with good space.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is freezing even though they turned on the AC for us. Noisy road every time cars passing by, even the windows are closing.

    Big room with good space. Friendly staff with great service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    never be the same again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not same before . this is my 4th time i stay and never make any upgrade when i asked for connecting rooms they said u have to reserve it before months

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.3
    High Price for Very Small Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Small Room! Expensive in comparison with other hotels on the same road. Not new (Renovated): I don't see why they asking for high price?! You have to pay much More to get sea view and a (Normal) size if room.. Otherwise you are stock with the back view of the hotel which is not satisfactory at all

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a horrible check in experience, we waited in the lobby for more than 2 hours + the room wasn't clean.. their house keeping was their weakest department.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Other than that, the location is super, and their price is very much budget friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room is not that good

    This is the 2nd time I stay at this hotel because The location and the staffs are very helpful & I will comeback again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Was wonderfull staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thing , every thing was perfect

    Kalyon is my best hotel in Istanbul .. Last time I've been there was forth time For me, I give Exelent for team work Especially front desk implowee They were so nice , kind and helpfull Thank you ppl I will be the permanent costumer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    Great Location and Sea-View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big windows on the room were filthy, a fact that the wonderful sea view was not deserving. They gave us a broken baby crib for our first night.

    It was adjacent to the Marmara Sea where you can see the entrance of the Bosphorus. Blue Mosque and HagiaSophia were in 10 minutes by foot. The view from the sea side rooms was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    The location was more than good, it is right next to the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most disappointing was the communication with the hotel staff. At the check in they didn't have our room ready, after waiting for 3h we were asked to wait for 15 more minutes that turned into half an hour. At the check out it took them more that 15 minutes to give us our bags, although they were right next to them and we had our confirmation ticket.

    The location was more than good, it is right next to the sea, and the view is incredible. The hotel is very near the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    Good view, Good breakfast but overall an average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was typically a bit aloof. Probably understaffed, especially felt during breakfast. Walk to Sultanahmet area is a bit tedious through narrow lanes with fast traffic - families with small kids may find it inconvenient. Room temp seemed a bit too warm for us.

    Excellent view of the Bosphorus from the room. Breakfast spread is good. Not too far from Sultanahmet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Make sure you confirm your request before you stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess all the rest. Not friendly people. Very bad bed. Not clean. Many other things:

    There is a historical wall in the parking area. Some rooms conceded sea view while you see only that wall. When I changed my room, I really loved the view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    3.8
    Pre marriage arrangements in Turkiye August 2017
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This year August 2017 , I booked a room for my fiance to arrange pre marriage procedures while she stayed at Kalyon Hotel ,as last year September 2016 we got engaged and very much enjoyed our stay at the kalyon . This year August 2017 was very different indeed and became a nightmare for my fiance, her mom by other guests slamming own room doors ,having own TV volume so high gone pass the early hours of the morning. Sleep is very important especially when one have official legal appointments to attend, and be focused with completing paperwork for 2 forgeiners to be allowed to marry in Turkiye. I received an telephone call from my fiance from Kalyon Hotel saying other guests are slamming doors gone past midnight and volume on TV so high while I was still in England, UK. I called the hotel and asked what is going on , I was told they are checking out. I didnt know the real problems until I stayed and many times I went downstairs to the duty management at Reception to ask for order in the Hotel about door slamming, People talking so loud in the corridors gone pass midnight, smoking when it's meant to be a non smoking hotel inside . Not very pleasant when food smells like cigarette smoke. This year August 2017 " the worst deal ever in history " and we won't be recommending Kalyon Hotel to anyone,especially getting married arrangements and asking for the invoice to be in joint names ,as it's important for my fiance uk visa application.

    Location, etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.0
    Pre marriage arrangements in Turkiye August 2017
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other Guests on purpose slamming own room doors , own TV volume very high gone pass 1am when one is trying to get some sleep to go to an official appointment to be allowed to get married. Constant communication with the duty management at Reception about slamming doors in the early hours of the morning, etc as my fiancé has insomnia and I don't but I find many times being woken up by selfish guests having no manners . We stayed last year at kalyon and didn't have any issues . This year August 2017 I was in England when I got a telephone call from my fiance from Kalyon Hotel saying other guests are slamming doors gone past midnight and I called the hotel from the uk to ask what is going on . I didnt get a satisfactory answer nor an apology nor a discount off my bills . worst of all an complete nightmare during our stays and may not stay again as a result of our experiences during an important time of our life's to get married in Turkiye! ! Got NO support from Kalyon Hotel management !

    Location great ,etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Best location, comfortable rooms, good service but limited facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant needs to improve its menu. Although the restaurant has a very good size hall and a big outdoor terrace (both with beautiful views of the Marmara sea) and the food quality and general level of service is fairly good, menu is very limited. after a meal or two, one looses the temptation to go back there again. I could never understand why the hotels with all the basic infrastructure in place, drive the guests to eat out. It was a really a shame to see the restaurant nearly deserted each time that I dinned there. Breakfast was not exceptional but was fairly good. However on the last day, they suddenly put a price tag on an omelet (which earlier was included in the breakfast). It came as an un-pleasant surprise. Although it appears to have a larger real estate than any hotel in the vicinity, the management has not made much effort to create any lounging facilities (where one could sit, sip coffee, watch TV and relax) or any activity of interest for children. Other then the main hotel lobby (which is fairly large) there is no place where one could lounge. So there are basically only two things which one could do there i.e. either stay at your room or go out.

    Over a short period of two weeks, I stayed at this hotel for four times. I was able to experience multiple rooms. My current review therefore is more informed opinion than the earlier one. Two of the suites I stayed in were very good. Number 231 is the best, so I recommend the readers to try and demand 231. Junior suit however is simply a bigger room. Normal rooms (I did not stay in any but was able to look inside an unoccupied room) appear to be slightly smaller than what you would expect anywhere in the world. Hotel's biggest strength is its location. It probably has one of the best locations in Sultan Ahmet. So close to all the historic monuments and at the same time offers a sea front view. Connectivity is excellent. Though hotel does not have a dedicated concierge team, their front desk staff is very helpful in arranging for taxis and airport transfers. Taxi station is nearby so the taxis appear very quickly. Keep in mind that this is not a luxury hotel, however the management has maintained the property well and rooms are very comfortable. If you keep your expectations realistic, you would enjoy your stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel with good rooms but basic facilities at the edge of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would say that I did not dislike anything in particular ("Did not like" would be a strong statement) however the hotel menu could be improved, some common areas and lounging facilities could be developed. Would certainly improve the hotel status.

    Hotel has an excellent location. although the facilities at the hotel are fairly basic, the rooms quality, decent staff behavior and well connectivity with most tourist attractions in the old city make it a a good place to stay for families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    4.6
    Poor facilities high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smell very bad when i was turn on the air condition. The second room that they give us because of the smell that we had in the first room was smaller and also it wasn't so clean.

    Breakfast was poor. In the photos that i saw on internet was much better but only on the photos.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    The room (junior suite with sea view) was just the right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The traffic on the road outside the hotel is fast, though that's not the hotel's fault.

    The room (junior suite with sea view) was just the right size for our family of 4. The top tourist attractions are 10 minute walk away. Across the road, the children enjoyed playing on the rocks by the water. We had originally planned to move to another hotel for the second part of our stay, but changed plan and spend the entire trip at Kalyon. The staff were always happy to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to take a taxi at some point to reach to hotel by public transportation. One of the staff members was rude and made a big deal about me bringing two small bottles of water of a particular brand that I like to my room. He said we have water in minibar (they didn't have my brand) and if I bring something else he will take it from me. That was unprofessional

    Price was good. Location was ok but had to walk around and a lot on high slopes and bumpy roads to reach to main attractions that was the main reason to pick this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, amazing location, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    If the hotel had a passage towards the back (access to the backstreet which leads to touristic sites) to avoid circling the hotel to get to the Sultanahmet Mosque

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Average hotel with perfect sea view and friendly & helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not really comfortable. The overall looking of the room was not really good. It needed a major renovation. The breakfast was very basic.

    Sea view is great Location is good and one can easily reach the old city easily Staff were very friendly and helpful They offered Suhur in Ramadan on request which was a great service actually. We liked it very much :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there is no entrance from the back of the hotel to go blue mosque. My parents can't walk from the hotel to the blue mosque area because it is not that close and it is at the downhill.

    The hotel understands the timing of our flight and we check-in early. other than that the view was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    nice hotel, excellent location, most of the staff are not very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were not very friendly in most cases. also even though I travel a lot and normally book with free cancellation, this was the first time I had to pay the full amount in advance, other hotels in other countries would use the credit card for guarantee of payment but Kalyon insisted on taking a full payment. I checked out after 2 nights, they promised that the money would be refunded the next day but it took more than 2 weeks and several calls for that to happen, fortunately when I called I was answered by a very helpful and kind lady (her name is Eetbash).

    location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotelwith little facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window glass is not hiding the inside of the room during daylight , the window is not soundproof you can hear all the traffic noise.

    The staff of hotel very polite and helpful, the location and the sceeniry of the sea. And morning breeze.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    6.7
    Good for the money and away yet close to the right places
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the sea .. the road inbtween (the sea and the hotel) was noisy for me .. the rooms wall is thin ... So imagine what you could hear for other rooms

    Well in this review I give it the friendly staff I can not say much about anything else cuz I come to the hotel at 2 am every day .. but the staff was super

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    over all - Good choice excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location far from tram and Metro Cleaning needs improvements free airport to hotel transportation is not clear and they will not provide. they need to be more clear on booking.com

    See View on Panoramic Rooms Breakfast Staff are friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    Excellent location. Excellent facility. Friendly staff. Amazing breakfast. Quick service. Just book it without hesitation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel near to everything especially sultanahmet area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect hotel near to everything especially sultanahmet area (fatih) and in the same time suitable for relaxation not in the noisy areas. View is amazing so I recommend the panoramic sea view rooms.staff is very cooperative, professional and respectful especially reception, returant and housekeeping.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.9
    Great location - great reception staff but room service needs sorting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff left our bedroom door open- I'm questioning this we were just told it wasn't a problem even though no staff were visibly present! At checkout we were charged for items we had NOT had from the mini bar.

    Great view from room. Good sized room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Superb hotel at historical location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb location. Very close to tourist areas but at the same time away from the crowd. Nice sea facing location with some historical walls within the hotel compound.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice place by the sea, and not too pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service was overall pretty good, especially in the restaurant, but one day the room was not cleaned.

    Location is perfect - 10 minute walk to Topkapi, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, and a tram line that connects with other tourist areas. Plus its right across the street from the Sea of Marmara which provides a great spot to run without battling traffic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise coming from the street during the nights and early mornings. I would recommend sound-proofing the windows

    The view of the sea. The closeness of the sea. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.6
    A great hotel that has easy access to the ferry terminal as well as the heart of the City
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on the main road and so it can suffer from a bit of traffic noise at night.

    Excellent location - 30 minute walk from the ferry terminal. Friendly staff on arrival and a good price.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the food quality and variety in the restaurant was not acceptable . I forgot my mobile international adapter charger in my room 123 and left on 23/01/2017 and I called After two days, asking about it they said that the housekeeper may be taken it !!!

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    + staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Squeaky uncomfortable bed - Room service menu clearly show wider range of food, but when u call to order, they only have club sandwich or soup, not even the refrigerated deserts are available. Worst part is, after ordering the sandwich it never arrived. Very disappointing. - Rooms are definitely not sound proof, you can hear people in the next room, and any door that closes near your room. Worst part is cars driving by the hotel can be heard as well. - Internet connection issues, even though its free and open, it is still bad.

    + staff very friendly + Lobby is spacious and accommodating + hotel location is excellent, very close to everything; within walking distance of the blue mosque, Bazaar, museums, restaurants, and all night cafes. Best of all Ubers are can find the place easily and can reach hotel in 3 ways, and is near a marina for renting out boats + great value

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    the location is near the old village and the staff is so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast never change and so limited choice for ordering in the room

    the location is near the old village and the staff is so hospitable and welcoming

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    Not a very good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff are not very helpful, Airport free pickup is not clear and can be called as fake, the atmosphere inside the hotel is boring, the price is high compared to the hotel level

    Breakfast, Sea view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    9.2
    Awesome 4 days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were not to many buffet options for breakfast.

    The staff were very very friendly and helpful in ever sense. They were supportive and informative when you ask them anything. The location is very nice, not noisy and on the sea side directly. It is also not to far from the city centers. With full mouth I advice you to stay there. The hotel was very clean and organized.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Enjoy the experience of the Bosporus and reclaim some relative quiet and space every night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat removed from public transport. We didn't realise that taxis were cheap until late in our stay, so best to use taxis OUTSIDE of peak hour traffic. Our attempt to reach the airport in a taxi going home was farcical - blocked traffic everywhere. We had the taxi driver take us to a metro station - rail transport is very efficient.

    Given an upgrade by the receptionist to a junior suite. Grateful for the gesture as the extra space and sofa helped with making a family corner. This is the first time I've traveled with security in mind. This hotel fit the bill as it has a large space separating it from the road and is removed from the densely packed tourist hotels closer to the mosques and tourist area. I booked on the premise of looking over the Bosporus and was disappointed. What an amazing view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Views over the Bosporus were great and despite the main road...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote from public transport. We didn't realise that taxis were cheap until late in our stay. So best served by taxi.

    Views over the Bosporus were great and despite the main road outside, was relatively quiet. Having a large tract of garden helped to remove us from the hustle and crowds in the city itself.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Needs some reflective glass for Windows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all my room was smaller than what i reserved because the execitive rooms has partial view on sea, and the bed was really small. One more thing is that wall size windows gave us no privacy since the hotel is two floors only, so the people walking on the street can see everything inside our room and we had to close the curtains most of the time.

    Very good view on the sea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice service-great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and restaurant are poor, but there is brilliant fish restaurant just 300 meters up, called Sur Balik

    Perfect location, perfect service, it was not taking long time for them to react on requests

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.5
    Very near to main historical areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it's very near to the main historical areas, it's away from all metro lines or underground if you plan to visit the rest of the city.. you should move by taxi only

    Very near to main historical areas. View was excellent. Staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.5
    Quiet hotel good if you want to visit the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had dust on the boiler remains of urine on the toilet seat while everything else was clean i assume its a rare incident, the hotel restorant was average or less it was quiet.

    Its location is great and sea view is good and most of the manuments in the old city are very close by a great parking space in the front and the staff were nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay and see the Blue Mosque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    el internet wifi no fue nada facil de configurar en iphone 6 s plus. No pude usar el wifi. There is no a easy way to access the wifi.

    el lugar en realidad me gusto mucho, buenos servicios, atencion excelente. Breakfast was great, excelent services and attention.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Engagement in Istanbul
    • Couple
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price should be competitive out of season to include Breakfast or half board, as breakfast and other meals are extra.

    My Fiance and I were given a choice of rooms. She wanted the view of the ocean instead. I agreed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    8.3
    we arrived in 9:00 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the break fast not having alot of things and no change everyday

    we arrived in 9:00 a.m. so when we request for early check-in they gave us. second thing that we request to change our room to one bigger , & they gave us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    if you love to wake up to a sea view, this is the hotel for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - rooms were not sound proof, if fact the walls were very thin, and you can easily hear naighbors - hotel was out of power adapters - elevator is located at far end side of the hotel, while our room was on the complete opposite side, not a big deal, just inconvenient - since our room was at the end of the hall, we had bad wifi signal. we asked the management to fix it, but nothing happened - beds were a little too stiff and unfomfortable

    + large windows are beautiful and we liked opening them and enjoying the nice weather + beach scenery was amazing, will definitely stay here again + staff very friendly + Lobby is spacious and accommodating + hotel location is excellent, very close to everything; within walking distance of the blue mosque, Bazaar, museums, restaurants, and all night cafes. Best of all Ubers are can find the place easily and can reach hotel in 3 ways, and is near a marina for renting out boats + great value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    5.8
    Not worth the money.....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy on the 2nd floor Staff couldn't be bothered to ask guests to stop slamming their doors.... Food menu was better on the ferry boat! Staff at reception acted like they own the place Would I stay again? NO.

    Room was clean...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't like it much

    The views is excellent on Marmara sea and location also good not far from Sultan Ahmet. Cleanness is excellent as well and the hotel is very quite, staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Kalyon hotel for Second time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass of Facade to be less reflective from Out/IN , Sound proof to be maximized thru AC / ventilation openings

    This is my second time on kalyon hotel, and as evaluated before .. I can consider services completely satisfied, and nothing negative during 15 days of stay .. we enjoy breakfast which seems accurately prepared and you had many collection of species as a traditional breakfast, for location we did not find any difficulties in access of old city or even new istanbul as teram station Serkeci, Sultan Ahmet took only 15 mins taking into accounts that we had a baby wheel with us during access , but consider that the earned value of staying in kalyon hotel location approached he optimum one which you try to find during your stay in Istanbul .. consideration of room in front of Marmara sea , Facade gave you interaction with the sense of silence and relaxation .. at night go for walk along with beach to release your self .. at morning select your destination to old city and go ahead , or you can select journey thru bosphorus/green borsa/Spanga , you can access Egyptian bazar easily and Sulimaniya mosque .. Finally i would like to thank room services and kalyon team for care and organization which give much more effective attraction to hotel services. For visitors which think to select Kalyon i,ve advised : don't hesitate to select the hotel to discover istanbul much better. Regards.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    4.6
    Poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC poor Lobby is hot no AC (they operate a 1 box unit during the hot day for few hours all day and switch it off most of the day Bath tubs showers poor Sound proof between rooms and their bath rooms are very poor (I can hear every sound and people talking in the next room

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    10
    very safety and very clean very near to sultan ahmad the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very safety and very clean very near to sultan ahmad the hotel in canter of Istanbul the stuff very helpful the stuff of reception very helpful very lovely

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    8.3
    Lovely stay. Would love to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in the hotel restaurant was expensive and didn't have much variety. But we didnt care as we wanted to eat outside and there were many small food shops nearby.

    The location couldn't have been better we got the sea view rooms and the view was beautiful. Very near the sea and city centre. So many nice cafes very near. The staff was very helpful guiding us correctly. The rooms were ok in size but cleanliness was very good. And the staff would immediately see to our needs. We were very relaxed and very satisfied. I would definitely recommend everybody to this hotel. ..and already have to my other friends

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Sea view and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old need some care to check bathroom and all accessories and clean mores

    Sea view and location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have free breakfast for all because it is not that good

    The view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    EXCELLENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    SHAME THERE ISN'T A POOL

    EXCELLENT hOTEL, IN GOOD LOCATION, HAVE USED IT SEVERAL TIMES AND WILL DO SO AGAIN.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    pleasent stay with nice view and friendly hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    everything the view is marvelous and the reception staff are very nice and helpful the location is near the blue mosque

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Great breakfast. They allowed to check in early. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Very good locations, the staffs are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Room City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good locations, the staffs are friendly and helpful. Great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Value of money and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety of breakfast buffet is not with minimum requirements

    Value of money and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing nearby walk

    View

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    The location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Super. Turkey a great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basic unlike the other hotels I stayed in which gave a greater variety.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    Sorry you are bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Very bad staff & very bad facilitis

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Good view for the sea, very professional and kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good view for the sea, very professional and kind staff

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Kalyon Hotel Istanbul traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: