Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kupeli Hotel 3 stars

Eminsinan Mah.Gedikpasa Hamam Cad. No :4, Fatih, 34470 Istanbul, Turkey

#924 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast - boiled eggs, bread and cucumbers/tomatoes sliced. coffee was ok. room was ok but not very clean. needs renovating.

    location is great - just near the Grand Bazaar and Tram stop. small supermarket is just few steps away. staff is good, but sometimes difficult to speak English.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, worse than expected - when some food was eaten it wasn’t even added more. After 15 minutes of start we couldn’t get some sausage and even yoghurt.

    The place is good, close to the sightseeings. Guys in the reception are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty good hotel for the leisure trips. The hotel is near to all main sights in the old town and also to tram station that makes location perfect for those who comes to Istanbul for the first time. Room is clean, condition works good. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    very nice; it was a nice short stay at Kupeli hotel.Room was cleaned enough and price was too cheap for their quality.Location was perfect.Staff was so helpful and well English spoken. l will come back and choise this hotel again. l can recommed this hotel .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked initially for a small room which was what we had for the first night, but it was too small, at the back of the hotel and was not too clean. We spoke to the management about it and they managed to find us a room at the front of the hotel for an extra charge. See earlier comment.

    It was a small hotel with helpful staff, the room for the second and third night was very comfortable, clean, quiet and looked out onto the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seriously don't bother with the breakfast its not worth the money, 5 to 7 euros is not worth what we got. take that money and buy from a take away the water cut off midway through my mums shower, she was not happy, but it wasn't a common occurance. the water was fine for most of the trip IMPORTANT; dont get the economy room its absolutely tiny, the standard room is so much more comfortable, there actually space for the luggage.

    The staff were very friendly and even recommended cheap shopping areas to us. its a good place to stay if you're always going to be on the go, so if you just need a bed and bath. it was very cheap compared to other hotels so you get what you pay for. the location was great, it was a 10 minute walk to the grand bazaar and 10 minute walk to the blue mosque. and best of all it was a 2/3 min walk to the cemberlitas tram station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's location was fantastic. It was a 7 or 8 min walk to the blue mosque and everything else you needed was close by. We had a basic room which was basic but comfortable, great value for such a good location. The staff were good and let us drop our bags off early.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don not like cleaning lady behaviour in our room. Firstly, she trow away as trush some of our bags without asking. She can not do that, eaven if she thought that is trash. We lost those bags and didnt get anything back. Secondly, we had to bag to clean our bed and bathroom, and to change towels. I think it should be done in more better way. Hope they will improve it.

    I really liked location of this hotel because tram station and important monuments are really close to it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean and nice, everything you could ask from a decent hotel in the heart of Istanbul. Definitely do consider staying here if you are visiting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They nearly cant speak english. Room not look at all as the picture. They gave me wrong time when i came, so i lost an hour and did not get breakfast. They not drive the hotel professionel. The light at room go out same sec u remove ur card and light in hall is not on. When u move around in darkness it open, but so short u not get time to lock ur door with the key. Only water in shower in evening, guess if many take shower there will be no water. View from window was a wall 20 cm away. The TV had only local stations bad picture and it hang so bad, 5 cm higher in one side than the other. Refridge cud not be use. There was 3 bed in the room, the picture shows only 1 big bed. The hotel and room is old and dirty, there is mess all around. Not place to charge a phone in room, not if u plug the refride on.

    Location is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a window which has an air conditioning propeller on its other side. It was unbearably noisy. You cannot switch it off. When booking, make sure you wont get that room!

    Excellent location. 10 minutes walk to Blue Mosque. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad.

    The staff is SO kind and helpful. It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. Rooms very comfortable, and the location is great, really close to some of the main attractions in IStanbul (Hagia Sophia, blue mosque). Excelent price-quality ratio. Undoubtely, i would stay in Kipeli again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good room with good bathroom. The bed was large and the room space quite big and clean. Breakfast was good though could be improved with more varieties of cereals. Was given an hour extra to stay. The staff liked to smile.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old and dirty, nothing to do with the photos. Very poor breakfast. For the same price or a bit more we could get a much better hotel in Istanbul. We will not come back.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The worst service, poor breakfast, rude and unfriendly receptionist girl!!! Towels were spotted and dirty even the same after renewed. That's why not recommended!!!

    Great location, nothing else!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in room. Curtains did not cover windows in overlooked room. Heating very poor and only on for short time.

    The clean room helpful check in staff the easy access to sites. Comfy bed good duvet which was certainly needed (see blow). Had free wifi but it was slow which meant face time/skype was hard.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The bathroom is not clean and hygiene unfortunately as you would have expected from an hotel. I found a cockroach in the last day. - My bathroom had a sewage smell on the 5th floor. - The TV contains only Turkish channels. - Internet is very basic, you can just check your e-mails.

    - The staff is friendly and helpful. - Location is near several historical areas. - They can call an airport shuttle to pick you up from the hotel. - They kept my bag in the hotel on my last day after I checked out. - My overall experience was just ok since I can't expect much from 19€/night in the heart of historical Istanbul.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    theres nothing to like, because i paid for an economy room my sheets only get changed every 3 days, the maids don't clean they just change towels daily (just one maid) for the entire hotel, the minibar was absolutely empty and the fridge didn't work, the television had 100 turkish channels and one music channel in english, the staff couldn't be bothered....it almost felt like they couldn't wait for us to leave so they wouldn't have to tend to us anymore.

    absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sheets and overall the room was not as cleat as it should be.

    More clean sheets and clean rooms in general.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not clean at all.

    Near to Blue Mosque. Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and the best staff 👌🏽

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very very nice. The hotel was clean and very good for the value. We enjoyed very much the stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suddenly no water three nights, no warm water, the shower was'nt clean, lots of fungus.

    Staff was Nice. Good location.. Cheap

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    + location and safety; + friendly and helpful staff; + speedy Wi-Fi; + clean room; + good value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place highly recommended Reception is very helpful nice and cooperative and excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need to improve customer service.

    Hotel clean and room facilities excellent

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was worst. Especially they do not know english. Not helped with my problems.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if I had stay only one night it was really amazing. Looking forward to go back...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bargaining regarding the tour packages even though we are not interested.

    Not a best place but it is fine .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There r fungus in walks. Very small room. Pictures r totally different.

    Only location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Good value for money, helpful staff and adequate facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy room is too small but also too cheap .

    Best location , staff and value .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy ,breakfast started after I left at 8 am .,but for 30.00 did not expect much

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I always think that it's good to give constructive criticism so I have to say that the breakfast isn't very diverse, for someone who stays more than a weekend. We stayed 6 days and the offer was the same every day. I think you could work on that.

    Staff was great, always ready to answer our questions and give tips about the city. A big thank you to Suleyman, the nicest guy, who was always available and welcoming during our stay. Location is great, in the heart of old town. Istanbul is a safe and warming city, so don't worry if you don't see much movement around the hotel area during the night.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive food (outside service from reception) and not that good Internet not always working

    Friendly and helpful staff Close to attractions and transportation

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a very pleasent stay at Kupeli Hotel. We travelled with a baby and the staff were very helpful and happy to supply us with whatever whenever we needed it. Mazlum and Dilan were excellent hosts and our 20 month old son enjoyed their friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - no towels in the bathroom, when we realized was like 11 pm - we called reception, they apologized and said that they will bring immediately towels - nobody brought despite we called again - breakfast annouced to be till half past ten (info from reception desk) - we came 9.45 and it was already closed. They brought small breakfast to our room when we complained. - one room we got had window to wall of the next building (it was like a tomb) - when we checked out we asked reception to call a taxi for us to bring us to bus station. They did and this driver returned us fake 100 TRY when we paid. We realized when we wanted to buy bus ticket and they said that taxi is doing this. Such a hotel should provide trustable taxi not a cheater!!!! Shame! - they were not able to provide us any invoice of our stay.

    - Location - Possibility of late check out (14.00)

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast room is not very clean. Choice in breakfast very poor. A lot of building refurbishment around the hotel's location.

    Ok for one night when in transit in Istanbul.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit small and there was some noise coming from outside.

    The location of the hotel is really good, just close to the main street sultanahmet, you have a tram station on the street behind the hotel, loads of restaurants and the main attractions in a 5min walk. The cleaning was really good and the staff was nice. The hotel has a transfer option to the airports and it's really useful. We enjoyed our stay at kupeli.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1. The room did not provide iron, kettle, cup, spoon set to make own hot drinks, especially at night. 2. Noisy, especially at night.

    Location nearby the tourist spot.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small and noisy

    Kind and helpful staff, hotel located just next to the tram station (easy to find and to reach). Nice terrace. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poorly maintained and dirty. One guest came up to breakfast and showed everyone photos of the cockroaches in her room (the hotel apparently made arrangements to pay to move her to another hotel). Very small room - bed pushed against the wall. Light and fan in bathroom didn't work, so they had rigged up a lamp over the mirror. No international TV channels and TV old, small and hard to see. Mini fridge didn't work. No blanket or duvet on the bed, just a very thin throw. Breakfast very limited, only hot food was boiled egg. Staff were smoking on the terrace with the doors open so the smoke was blowing back in to people eating breakfast! Staff not really interested I felt. Couldn't find my booking for over 10 minutes. Not good value for money

    Location OK, fairly quiet, close to interesting areas. Air-con worked well despite broken remote.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor and repetitive. No cups, glasses and bowls already at 9h. Room view (looking into a wall), constant noise coming from a generator or something irritating (for rooms opposite to main street)

    Recepcionists were great, friendly and hospitable. Location is very good, close to all must see places.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception manager greeted us angrily as we had taken the wrong transfer - despite us following the man with our name on the sign. He accused me of lying. The glass shower screen fell off onto my wife and the shower head and wall mount fell down as well. We were overcharged on leaving by 18 euro as well!

    The location was great. A short (hot) walk takes you to the blue mosque and the grand bazaar.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    * small room but it's common unless you are ready to pay 200+ USD =)

    * very friendly stuff (helped print tickets) * location near blue mosque * wifi was working good (morning) * all day long free tea in room * street side coffee tables * clean room and new bathroom

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi wasn't strong in the rooms, but good in the lobby.

    Location was 10 minutes' walk to main sites. Even better, staff really went out of their way to help. They asked us to mention that they were very handsome; true but we really liked their friendliness.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I can't fault this place. The location, breakfast, the room etc were all perfect. But the staff are really what make this place great. They were so helpful and nice :)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All the cool restaurants, bars and clubs to go out in are in Beyoglu/Bosphorus which is far from this district

    Very close to all the historic sites

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Just 5-7 minutes walk to the Hagia Sophia, the Basilica cistern Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar etc., 1 minute from main street. Very friendly, helpful, hospital staff - will support your positive impression from the nice city. Especial respect and thank for all the help to Deniz. Denis and Olesya

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was a building construction next to the hotel which was noisy after 11 p.m.

    Exceptionally helpful people working there. Aladdin was loooking out for our wishes :) all time. The receptionist arranged last minute taxi to the airport willingly and even organized a shared ride to save money for both families.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room too small, Wifi not always working

    Good staff, nice price, Great location!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Leaving Istanbul

    The location is so nice. All Main place's are near. I have checked the price every where this was the best hotel in price.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel very very good

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , cleanliness and staff are the best ! Thanks manager,Ms.Demet for nice conversation .

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very near to metro access Walking distance in tourist spots

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location, price and internet. We arrived late at night and a nice guy his name is Muslim and his friend were more than happy to help us.

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surruning area

    Wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff, always willing to go the extra mile Good location, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff. clean and friendly environment. Best location in old city.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were great and the location was a bonus, easy to get around. Our friends and we would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome location! Near the Grand Baazar, very good services. We enjoyed the stay and for sure we will come back! It was exactly what we looked for!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was good, the breakfast,the room(although it was small) Bulent and all the staff at the hotel was excellent

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Group

    No parking

    Staff were nice and very polite,felt very comfortable.I recommend people to go and enjoy their terrace.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel's location is great. The staff were so helpful and nice. Excellent service. The room was always clean. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very small, same was TV .

    The staff was really helpful. The location is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Helpful and friendly staff with excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too little space. Rooms can be more spacious.

    Helpful and friendly staff. specially front desk officer Mr Bulent.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff, good location, clean, all is fine.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The best staff ever! All of them were very friendly and kind. great location.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel doesn't match to 4 star hotel, maximum 3. The breakfasts are poor.

    The location is great, the personal is super nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Rooms and location

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Only Turkish TV channels but it is not so important

    The bed was confortable

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Kupeli Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: