Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Modern Sultan Hotel

Alemdar Cad. Zeynep Sultan Camii Sk.No:13 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34110 Istanbul, Turkey

#165 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 326 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Very hospitable people it didn't feel like a hotel buy rather a home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything!

    More of a home than a hotel! Aziz aabeh and Cabir aabeh were extremely helpful and constantly assisted us. Tea/coffee and drinks were in abundance. Liverpool fan (can't remember his name) was kind and kept our luggage after we checked out and went for an excursion. Abla was always attentive during breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    1. Clean and rather quite room with A/C, fresh breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. 2. I booked 3 nights and got 1 soap (that was ok) and only a shampoo (as for me, not of the best quality) without a bath gel and a conditioner. Other toiletries were also in shortage or absent at all. 3. Nescafe coffee for breakfast. Turkish coffee upon request only and sometimes they do not have it.

    1. Clean and rather quite room with A/C, fresh breakfast. 2. Very central location: just in the city center: 5 min to Agia Sophia (go there at 9AM to avoid lines), main shopping streets (if you want to do shopping it is worth visiting shopping centers since in the city center all is much more expensive). 3. Some of the staff were very hospitable, smiling, attentive and helpful: a) I booked an airport transfer via the Hotel - many thanks to the hotel manager who helped me to do that in the last minute since Uber appeared to be very expensive; b) my special thanks go to the hotel manager - a very sunny person (unfortunately, I do not know his name) - who helped me to look for dried dates upon my arrival in the late evening, was ready to help with all the questions and trip-related issues. 4. Very good wi-fi, taxi is very expensive in Istanbul and if you cannot reach a place you need by public transport, use Uber (which is still expensive but less than taxi). 5. I recommend to book an Airport transfer via Hotel to reach Ataturk Airport or the Metro. Uber in this case may not be reasonable. If your flight is to/from Sabiha Gokcen International Airport, it is worth taking HAVAbus which departs/arrives from/to Taksim bus station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Small Hotel with a Great Location and Staff ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lovely small Hotel, nice location, and the staff are really nice, Aziz is very good, Sabri is very friendly, and Maria does a very good job to make every guest Happy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    the staff was very helpful. They treated us like family and we felt at home. Its not all about money. They cared more about the service and what we needed and wanted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift in the hotel and climbing 3 floors is not easy for everyone.

    The location is great. All major tourist attractions are within walking distance. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Modern Sultan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed sheet/blanket smelled very musty and there was no fitted sheet on the bed--only one flat sheet draped across the mattress and a thin blanket on top--so by the morning, the sheet has inevitably shifted to expose the mattress. The shower was also a bit moldy.

    As everyone else notes, the staff is very warm and friendly at the Modern Sultan. The location is terrific and the room had a nice view of the Hagia Sophia. The breakfast is good as well, although, with only 4 or so tables and a start time of 08:30, it gets crowded quickly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    5.8
    Staff was good breakfast was nice location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was very poor and i got 4th floor room with no lift so very difficult to go and come back

    Staff was good breakfast was nice location was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a wonderful place to spend a vacation in Istanbul. Being in the heart of the city, made our visits to touristic sites very easy. Mr. Aziz, you are a special and wonderful guy. Big thanks to you and the hotel's staff for the exceptional service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Would never stay anywhere else in Istanbul! Boutique hotel is exquisite jewel - home away from home!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was not a single thing that I did not like -- and the view, both night and day from my room of the Haghia Sofia was breathtaking, just spectacular.

    Breakfast lady was so accommodating and bright/cheerful and such kind service. The proprietor, Salih, and his assistant, Atakand, were more than kind, and hospitable, ... had great conversations & +++ knowledgeable re Istanbul history & vicinity. So kind when I came home too late ... they fed me! Friends forever!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    What a fantastic place to stay! The location was just perfect- so close to everything you want to see in the area but tucked away down a little street so it is quiet as well. I had an incredible view of Hagia Sophia from my room. The staff were so lovely and friendly and went the extra mile to help. The bed was comfy and everything was nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast: First day was very good, the last 5 days was almost the same. I would recomend to add varieties to the breakfast

    Grate place, very good location,very friendly staff always helped in a different issues, very good owner. Thank you guys.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Fab hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fabulous. It was close to all the attractions in the old part of the city such as blue mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapı palace amongst others. All attractions within walking distance and 2 tram stations nearby. Lovely clean hotel and well looked after by Sally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    1. Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Staff. Staff of the hotel was just awesome. Sali, Atakan, Aziz, all the guys were very friendly & flexible with (all) guests. I truly felt myself as at home. Also it was a pleasure to enjoy the gatherings on the terrace outside, will miss that. 2. Food. Breakfast was very tasty & variety of food was surprised me. Also you can always enjoy traditional Turkish tea & coffee. 3. Location. 10 out of 10. Close to all "must visit" sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Like this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very close to aya Sophia and the blue mosque, friendly staff, very helpful, buffet breakfast, clean room, great value, highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic place with superior service and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts were kind of meh: typical eggs-sausage-veggies kind of stuff. Turkish delights were rather rare and disappeared quickly. But hotel food would be the last thing I'd consider in Istanbul - 'cause there are SO MANY awesome food courts around (leave aside chestnuts and grilled corn). Why would you want to eat in hotel? Besides, they serve good turkish tea for breakfast, if you wish. So not really a complaint. just a warning. Another thing is sometimes smell from the kitchen can get to your room at the morning. So if you don't like french fries - beware. One more note, the hotel offers rather cheap transfer to airport, but only at specific time slots. So if you need to leave really early (like 4am) - they can call for personal transfer, which would be much more expensive. But again, it's not a complaint, but rather a warning.

    This place offers brilliant service for its price. Just understand, that small hotels like that can't provide you giant rooms and luxury bath-tube. The room is small, it's not new - BUT everything is very clean (they were doing housekeeping and changed towels every day, when we were leaving to explore the city), there is large enough bad for two, nice view to Hagia Sophia (if you're lucky) and unbelievable sea gulls songs in the morning (and at night - so prepare yourself). Now, the location is also pretty good - 5 mins walk from the tram station, and - what is more important - it's right in the middle of quiet alley, so car noises won't disturb you. There might be occasional rambling in case of nearby constructions, but never actually bothered us and did not last long anyway. And finally, the staff is extraordinary! Very open, hospitable people (with fluent English), always happy to offer you some fresh turkish tea or coffee. Really, I've got feeling, I was staying at my friend's house. We spent fantastic weekend at this place and would certainly choose it again! Thank you, guys!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with excellent location, friendly staff, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some variation in breakfast menu would be nice, although there were lot of items. Housekeeping everyday on request only, seemed more of a hostel than hotel. Door lock missing, that is a necessity. Lighting in room very dim for reading, had to request additional light, which was provided next day.

    Excellent location in the old city, most attractions are within walking distance. Hagia Sofia is literally around the corner. Tram stop also nearby, excellent connectivity to the rest of the city. Lots of eating options. Small family run place, friendly staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    The most central hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I don't know if it's normal procedure in Turkey, but our room has been cleaned only once in 5 days...you can imagine how smelly it was when we left.

    The view from the window of our room was stunning, beautiful Hagia Sofia. It is so close to the main touristic spots you will not believe how easy it is to get around. Staff is funny and nice, really helpful, even late at night. The breakfast was also nice, not super diverse but still good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    great location and very tasty tea in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was really disappointed with a shuttle service from the airport. We ordered a private shuttle for us (4 people), but it was another family traveling with us. It would not have been a problem, but the bus made a big D-tour dropping them off. All in total it took around 1 hour to arrive from the airport and at least 30 minutes from it was lost because of this D-tour after dropping off another passengers. We needed as well to wait for our shuttle to come (around 20 minutes), it didn't wait for us on arrival. I expected a better service, considering that we pre-booked it and it costed 25 euro.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful and they spoke on several languages. It was a tea and coffee that we could receive any time, I liked it a lot. Nice breakfast. Amazing location - close to Hagia Sofia and Blue mosque, as well the tram station was nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Exceptional hotel located in the heart of Sultanahmet and a short walk away from all the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rarely say this about a hotel - nothing.

    The hotel is in an excellent location in Sultanahmet, only a short walk away from the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque. The breakfast option is excellent, plenty of choice and all very well prepared and presented. The staff are exceptional, very accommodating and welcoming. The room was immaculate and perfect size for me as a solo traveler. I will be staying here again when I visit Istanbul.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    i'd come back in a heartbeat! great breakfast and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some construction next.door caused noise during the day but clearly beyond the hotel's control.

    Amazing breakfast, staff went out of their way to be helpful including weighing my luggage and getting me off to the airport before 4:00AM. Very clean and quiet. Room darkening blinds helped.me adjust to time change. Good water.pressure in shower even on the 3rd floor. Great value for $. What more could I ask for?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    I chose this hotel because of its location to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I chose this hotel because of its location to the main historical attractions. It really has a very good location. Small, cozy, with its own special flavor and energy. But the most indelible impression was made on me by people who create this atmosphere - feeling of warmth, care, kindness and tenderness. I am grateful to you my friends - Salih, Aziz, Maria, Atajan for your kind caring attitude. During my stay at the hotel I felt like at home, among relatives and friends. If I come to Istanbul again, I will definitely stay only at the Modern Sultan hotel. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a well decorated spacious room. Wonderful view, kind,friendly and helpful staff, so near to everything. Wifi was free and we never had a problem with it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.0
    Very good location, with great view on Aya Sofia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, on photos looked bigger. Only espresso and nes coffee.

    Very good location, with great view on Aya Sofia. The breakfast was very good one!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    My stay was very comfortable and I was relaxed .Thank you all staffs there .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like every thing in Modern Sulatn Hotel .Really every one is helpful and respectful .All staffs are nice .I like the room the breakfast and I appreciate the customer service given by all staffs .I wish them all luck and success and sure I will come back there .

    As I went Istanbul and stayed in modern sultan hotel .I found it as an excellent one .The location is very nice close to every thing .They way staffs are very friendly they are showing smile all of them and any question they answered with pleasure .They show me every thing .In addition I found all the respect from them I felt as I am one of them I approached them easy as they are friendly and smart especially salih and the two others .One has a bear and the other one who is sitting in the reception sorry I forgot their names but really they were very kind .Breakfast is very nice I found every thing delicious and sweet and even staffs who prepared breakfast are very kind and smart really and they asked you which kind of coffee you like .The room is very clean the same as bathroom .Also the decoration in the room I like it .The WIFI signal is very strong i didnt find any obstacles to call or use internet .Thank you very much all staffs of Modern Sultan Hotel . I like your service .I will come again there and stay in the same hotel .Thank you for the hospitality .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, great location, great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a) My room size - definitely quite tiny and cramped and suitable for a single person only. I could never tell from pictures tho' I think they include room sq. ft in description - good to pay attention! b) No desk etc in room c) Few trashcans - and small ones that exist. d) Nice to have advertised 24 hrs tea availability - tho they always made it available on request. Better to make it a feature...

    a) The staff - esp the hardworking ever-smiling Atakhan at the front desk - awesome! b) The Location - perfect! I had a window view of Hagia Sophia! c) The breakfast! Great effort - good selection! Thanks. d) Help with carrying luggage and storing it till departure. Appreciated! e) Locker in room. f) Great TV selections. g) Reliable airport pickup/dropoff facility.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    I had one night in IStanbul waiting for my next flight.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had one night in IStanbul waiting for my next flight. The hotel exceeded expectations for the price I paid. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was really good. The personnel was extremely welcoming and helpful. I did not have warm clothes with me, so they borrowed me a jacket and directed me to the nearest shop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    lovely house ,highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location and staff there are very helpful and kind. There's 24hours free tea and coffe, that's really thoughtful and even after you check out you can still sit down and enjoy a cup of tea. Salih is a great man with sense of humor,very happy to chat with him

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent. The staff is very helpful and warm hearted. The room we stayed in was furnitured very well. The breakfast wad also really good, with lots of things to choose from. I would definitely stay there again in my next Istanbul trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my bad luck that the room smelt of cigarette smoke & I was a bit uncomfortable because of this. However, they offered me room freshener immediately, as all other rooms were booked & I couldn’t be shifted to another room. In a nutshell, if the smell of smoking doesn’t bother you, modern sultan hotel is ideal place to stay for a couple of nights

    The location was excellent The staff and Salih are very hospitable and helpful The bed was comfortable The breakfast was good They allowed me to check out an hour late, and allowed me to keep my bag safely in their premises after check-out Salih was kind enough to guide me to the route for the airport, and also made me wonderful milk coffee

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed a perfect stay in Istanbul thanks to this hotel’s staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift, so if you are assigned to 4th floor rooms, it is a little bit tough to take your baggage into the room.

    Everything! Breakfast, staff, service, etc. And location is perfect to see around Sultanahmet district.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no elevator, but that wasn't a problem for us.

    The location is perfect, just by Hayia Sophia and next to tram. The staff was very helpful and especially Salih! We have travelled a lot, but he is the best owner we have , he went out of his way just to make our trip memorable. The room was perfect for its money. We will definitely come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs may not be for everyone, though I had no problem with them.

    I paid for a single room but got upgraded to a double room with amazing views to Santa Sophia. The guy at the reception is the nicest you can find, he was really helpful giving information and even lent me his Istanbul transport card for the day. The room was clean, warm (welcoming cause outside was freezing) and comfortable. The buffet breakfast was really good as well. I had just one day here and hoped I had more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Great choice for Sultanahmet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar belonging to the hostel next door can be a little noisy at night. I'm a light sleeper and it wasn't loud enough to keep me awake but you could definitely hear it.

    Lovely small, family run hotel right in the heart of Sultanahmet. 2 mins walk from all the main sites and easily reached by public transport. Spotlessly clean and very kind, helpful management. Fantastic value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Felt welcome, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift wouldve been nice sp if youre on one of the top floors.but its a small hotel so not too much bother i guess.

    The staff was super. Very child friendly, good variety for breakfast and we even had our family room upgraded free of charge!a special thanks to staff member Maria,who looked after us like family. Would def stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Would've loved to stay longer at the Modern Sultan.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was complementary but not always stable. Would've liked tea and coffee facilities in rooms.

    Good location, nice people. Helpful front desk. Good breakfast. Small and cosy hotel. Quiet enough at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable, friendly and a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was lovely! The lady serving the breakfast was very pleasant too. The hotel staff were very kind and nice. They gave good directions and helped with the luggage up and down the stairs. The only thing which wasn't really that good was that there was no lift, and older folks might find it a hassle and pain to go up and down.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Value for money close to all the top places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Topkapi,Hagia Sophia, Sultanahmet mosque all at walking distance.Lot's of restaurants around, tram is very close to the hotel.Breakfast was excellent.All the staff were very helpful esp Sabry Hatakan and Maria.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    The best hotel, all was clear and close to center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel, all was clear and close to center. If I will come back that will be only in this hotel. Breakfast was great.My family was happy,Thanks a lot Sabri.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    -Perfect location: extremely close to all major places of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -Room was much more smaller than it was shown on the photos and described in Booking.com -Room was shabby. Renovation is needed

    -Perfect location: extremely close to all major places of interest -Very pleasant staff -Good breakfast served by friendly hostess in the clean cafe -Nice view from the window -Quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Best service in turkey
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is basic but the atmosphere is home-like. The team in the hotel will do everything to make your trip fantastic by all means. I would like to thank Mr. sabri. He is continiously looking forward to see you happy in your stay. The rooms are like most rooms in sultanahmet size is not of great size. It is clean and neat. Location is great as it is near to everything. But above all the small things that matter. Service os extraordinary and will definitly come again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    I had good experience staying at this hotel. I received more what i paid for, very close to all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very cooperative, speak English, breakfast was made up to my test and needs.

    its fantastic, more than what we paid for, very close to almost every good visiting place. Easy accessibility to the transport all around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    A Gem for a Small Budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs additional lighting such as a pair of bedside table lamps & a functioning light above the bathroom mirror.

    Aziz, the owner/manager is very accommodating. Modern Sultan Hotel is just 5-10 minutes walk to Istanbul's main tourist attractions like the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern & the Grand Bazaar. The hotel bed is quite comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Favorite hotel in Istanbul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved absolutely everything!!! Aziz and Omer super friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and in quiet place so you can sleep and no one will disturb you, but close to the main attractions, just 3 min walk. Great view! Definitely will stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Welcoming Host & Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a faint cigarette-smell in our room. It probably would not bother most people... I'm hyper-sensitive to cigarette smoke.

    Aziz, our welcoming host, really understands Customer Service and how to make Guests feel welcome. Because our trip was unfortunately so short... we had to plan very well, and he did everything he could to make things run smoothly. The locations is convenient to so many amazing monuments.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice staff:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noize Not clean up garbage:(

    Nice staff:)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast wasn't that good enough

    the quite, and the facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect

    The view in the room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    like a small home not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no elevator no fridge no kettle not very good location bad facilities

    like a small home not a hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed comfort. Bed sheets are not soft.

    Location. View.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    A cosy and clean place in the center of the touristic sites in Istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt like at home. Mr. Aziz is such a kind and wonderful person that makes someone feel as if he/she is a member of the family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very helping, cooperative and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very helping, cooperative and friendly. I liked the hospitality and recommend the same for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, walking distance to attractions, tram, restaurants, boutiques. Good Wi-fi and A/C. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Extremely wonderful staff and excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely wonderful staff and excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Interesting building, great views and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great location and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    clean, nice and friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi condition was not great

    clean, nice and friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Istanbul.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel in Istanbul. Nice place, wonderful staff. You feel like you’re home. For sure we will come again to the Modern Sultan Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Everything was great! The staff / owners very helpful and accommodating. Customer service is beyond compare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is perfect :for its location, the room is very nice and comfortable.the personals are atte
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    more night to stay there :)

    breakfast was good , bed was more comfortable .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location is excellent! Owners are awesome and did everything to help me with shuttles, tours, etc... The bed is really confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Thank you hotel staff for great days in Stambul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small, but there is no space to enlarge it

    The location for tourists is excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly, the Location - perfect, close...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly, the Location - perfect, close to transport and all the sights and the room was comfortable and clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Excellent siteseeing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all is OK.

    Excellent siteseeing!!! Very kind and polite staff! Tasty breakfasts. The best location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite small.

    Staff are friendly and helpful. Great location. Close to tram station and sightseeing places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location close to transport and all the sights. Super friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent staff. one of the best Hotel I ever been.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming and friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Welcoming and friendly owner. Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    the BEST!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff was very friendly and accommodating‼︎

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Great hotel for solo tourist and first time to Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    missed no TV

    everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some breakfast items were finished too early. Breakfast could be better.

    Good value for money. Very helpful staff. Comfy room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Thanks for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thanks for everything. The location was perfect and the staff really friendly and helpful. We will come again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Everything just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Everything just perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs

    Good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff and plenty of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was leaky. But it has been fixed by staff

    Nice staff and plenty of food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    mantap 👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Location, Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Location, Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Modern Sultan Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: