Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ottoman Hotel Imperial-Special Category

Caferiye Sok. No.6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#385 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room + 1 Additional Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be cleaned better and also the smell of cigarette is predominent but i felt this was the case in most places we went so maybe its a norm.

    The staff is really nice and helpful and the property is very well located at the heart of Istanbul's main sites. It is also very quite and relaxing at all times of the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite old, and ours unfortunately next to the elevator. There was a lot of dust in the room and one time we had no toilet paper for use. Despite this, the room had everything wat you expect in a hotel room.

    The hotel was at a beautiful location, next to the AyaSophia. The reception was always friendly and happy to help. We liked the complimentary water bottle everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location: difficult access (pedestrian street), but the beautiful view of Ayasofya more than compensates the trouble. At the heart of historic Istanbul.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserve a suite but they give me a normal room then when i told him they give me room like a suite but it is not beause they don’t have a terrace and it have stinky smell so i wasn’t happy in the hotel only i was happy in the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Restaurant was reached by stairs which I find a bit difficult. The hotel has no accessible rooms but did provide a ground floor room when requested.

    In the heart of the old city and within easy walking distance of the major sights. Staff were all helpful and courteous. Good choice of food for breakfast and restaurant was excellent. Wife especially liked the choice of pillows.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is fairly basic, in terms of the choice on offer. Carpets will need to be replaced in the not-so-distant future, as they look tired. Because of its central location, it can be noisy around the hotel until relatively late in the evening, although this is unlikely to prevent the guest from enjoying her sleep.

    The hotel is located right behind Aghia Sofia, and offers an ideal staring point for a tour of the city centre (indeed, it is difficult to imagine of a better location). It is also within easy reach of the Ataturk Airport, as it is no more than 500 metres from the Sultanahmet tram station. Staff was, overall, friendly, the room was reasonably sized, and the level of comfort was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too small, not enough space even to put bags. You can clearly hear people talking in the room next to you. I realize it is an old building and boutique hotel.

    Excellent service, super accommodating staff- reception man Erhan could not be more helpful and polite, next (few meters) to Hague Sophia. All historical sights within 10 min walk. Excellent breakfast. Overall, great value for the money I spent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is very close to the blue mosque and many important landmarks in Istanbul, taxis or cars cant go up to the doorstep. The nearest road is also closed to traffic some times of the day. Dont fret- it only takes about a 5-10 min walk to get a cab.

    The hotel's location is simply awesome. You are right beside Aya Sofya and 2 mins away from Sultanahmet. The Blue Mosque, Million monument, Grand Bazaar, Archeaological Museum, Basilica Cistern, Sultanahmet Park, Museum of Islamic Science & Technologý are all within walking distance. Plenty of restaurants and bars nearby! The breakfast was good and would have done dinner at Mahtab restaurant (food looked delicious) but the Iftar menu was too filling.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is understandably older and a bit worn. The rooms are quite variable.

    The location is excellent. The staff are very kind and they try really hard to please. Soaps, etc were nicer here than at a luxury hotel where we had stayed in another city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower too small and tight . Size of bed too small . I requested for a double bed which was made by joining two beds and was uncomfortable while sleeping as the mattress kept on hurting.

    Location of the hotel and the staff cooperation . Polite and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was great.

    Excellent location near everything. Price was amazing! Staff was super friendly and helpful. Bed was comfy and bathroom was spacious and clean. Had a view of Hagia Sofia across the street from my room and from the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on a noisy tramway. For me no problem, but for sensitive people it may be hard to sleep.

    Incredible position (in front of Aya Sofia!), kind staff, very good breakfast, nice building

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent customer service, very friendly staff, very clean room, location just few steps from Aya Sophia. Excellent breakfast buffet with loads of varieties.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the receptionist who replaces Mr.Erhan should change his attitude to be more friendly the hotel has no car parking ,this could be disadvantage to who come with car

    Excellent position nearby most important attractions . The staff especially Mr. Erhan in the reception who was really kind,generous and of great help. The wifi is reasonable . The breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilets could be cleaner and some tiles need to be replaced. the rooms were too hot once the heater was turned on. the breakfast could use some variety. we stayed for 3 nights and it was the same for all these days.

    the location was excellent since it very near sophia hagia, topkapi and blue mosque. the staff were very accomodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room, 307, was not sound proofed from adjacent room. I could hear every word of their conversation and their alarm going off at 6:30 am.

    Good wifi and accessibility to transport

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- Poor breakfast 2- Poor Wi-Fi 3- Poor facilities 4- VERY small and tiny room 5- Many problems with the hot water availability & other plumbing issues

    Location only

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1- Room is VERY small that i couldn't even find a proper place for my bags so i had so put one bag over the other one. 2- Breakfast is VERY poor & the fruits were dirty "unwashed" and some of them were rotten 3- Wi-Fi service is extremely poor and doesn't work most of the time due to the awful fact that they are connecting the Wi-Fi power to the light key of the corridor, and at night (starting 12 AM) they want to save electricity so they turn the key off! and i have to get dressed and go to the reception after midnight to ask them to open the Wi-Fi because they don't answer the phone! 4- The staff is not very helpful as i saw in different hotels in Istanbul, they give you the help with a bold face with no passion whatsoever.. Also one of the restaurant waiters (a guy with a balbo beard) was very rude most of the time, i even had to pick up a spoon and fork for myself as he didn't want to provide some help for the guest even out of decency. 5- The room's bathroom was extremely cold and unheated, and you have to wait the hot water for 2 or 3 minutes at least, and i had to take a shower with cold water at midnight as there was not hot water available!! i called the reception two times and they said everything is okay!!! The overall experience was very bad..

    Location is only is only the good thing about this hotel Erhan (one of the reception staff) was the only helpful person in this hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was told by the receptionist and also by messages through emails about a possible free upgrade however when I arrived the receptionist told me I would get a complimentary upgrade to a better room and that it wouldnt cost anything extra however when I was checking out I was hit with a 100 euro charge despite my protests as to the agreement I had with the receptionist when I arrived. Location is very difficult the taxi had to drop me and my family off 10 minutes away from the hotel in freezing cold and we had to carry large pieces of luggage to the hotel.

    The breakfast was good and comfortable sitting arrangement. Very close to topkapi and Aya sofya so very convienent for travelling close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is well positioned, not accessible by car/taxi. Friendly staff. Room 207 is a clean, small room, no problem but I sure noticed the thin walls! The enthusiastic girls next door stole my sleep. Bed ok but on or around the bed had a vague stale cigarette smell. Shower drain backed up, no real surprise. Lights over bathroom basin not connected. Hot water tap operates one direction on basin and the other direction in the shower. I certainly didn't get the view or large bathroom others mention. Breakfast was ok except scrambled eggs were cold. I mean fridge cold. I was surprised that the hotel rated as 'fabulous'. I guess position saves them.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no warning that the hotel is part of a restaurant (called Mehtap), and not advertised as a hotel through outside signage. Additionally, taxis cannot directly take you to the hotel entrance because of permanent road blocks so you need to carry all your luggage yourself. This is something that should have been mentioned, especially for international travelers who had a lot of bags, we got stuck carrying 4 suitcases through freezing rain. For this inconvenience they did upgrade our room, which is a blessing because the room was much smaller than we thought.

    Breakfast Buffet was in the building's covered rooftop terrace, had excellent views of the city and delicious foods hot from the kitchen. Location was extremely convenient to all the tourist spots, didn't have to take a taxi, as everything was walking distance. We could see the Aya Sofia from our hotel room window! The Sultanahmet was 5 minutes away. Grand Bazaar about 10 minutes. There are plenty of shops and restaurants everywhere. The hotel really does have traditional ottoman style food which is unique from the common restaurants and street vendors you experience elsewhere. The bathroom was luxurious, definitely designed in the traditional 'hammam' style with a large tub and water jets.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service. Most taxi's don't know the location of the hotel. Fairly expensive.

    Staff were exceptional! One night I had become very unwell. At three o'clock in the morning the staff managed to find me painkillers. Amazing ! The staff are a real asset to this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - for the price I paid, no complaints. this room and hotel should cost at least double.

    - friendly, courteous staff - excellent value for money - generous breakfast spread - a welcome upgrade to a room with its own mini-hammam complete with accessories (soap, loofah etc), which was lovely. we had room 304 which looks out over the street with the tram line and the caferaga medrese. - an unbeatable location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room + 1 Additional Bed
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above. Numerous family friends staying at the same time had issues with the lack of hot water which did not get resolved for four days. Repetitive breakfast.

    Location was good but access to the hotel may be an issue for the infirm due to the gradient of the slippery cobblestone road outside

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and bathroom were excellent. I would have appreciated a comfortable chair in the room to read, but, there was a bench/chair in front of the small desk. Wifi was a little spotty.

    Great location right across from the Hagia Sophia in the Old City, but, on a quiet street. The hotel is in a historic building, rooms are comfortable, many have excellent views. Very nice breakfast, Ottoman-cuisine style dining room for dinner. Staff is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water could have been a little warmer - and that's only because I had to find SOMETHING for this box.

    The welcome could not have been warmer, the location better and the value more outstanding. Will be back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have a comfortable chair for reading in the room. Also, not enough plugs to charge devices.

    The hotel is set in a historic building opposite the Hagia Sophia. The street is pedestrian and quiet. Staff is extremely helpful and welcoming. I had forgotten my phone adapter and the manager helpfully charged both my Ipad and phone off the office laptops. Very good breakfast buffet and lovely dining room at the restaurant Matbah for dinner if you wish to try Ottoman Palace style cuisine. There is also a bar area for drinks or afternoon tea or coffee. The hotel is next to Caferaga Medressi, a Sinan-designed complex of small artisan training studios and shops. Easy walk to the tram, to the Grand Bazaar and to the major sites in the Old City.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, stink, elevator did not work, small room (although price is 40€ per day), receptionist is not competent (disinformation), breakfast is the same every day, taxi doesnt go therefore need to walk with huge baggage. Rude staff at the reception!!! Pictures of a room on booking.com do not meet reality.

    Only location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lunch/dinner prices were too much for only a meal. You could spend a lot less for outside. Maybe they could add an lunch/dinner option to the reservations.

    Simply, everything was perfect. First of all, location was incredible. It takes 2 minutes to Sultanahmet on foot. Our rooms had a balcony and turkish bath in it. And they were at the second floor so we didn't have a noise problem. Room cleaning was very good and effective. Also the staff was so good and nice. We only had breakfast at hotel and there were many food variety, so you could find anything you need.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location Fantastic staff I stayed here for the second time and it seems to have improved since I stayed last time. Thank you for such a pleasant time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the first problem I have come across was when I was waken up several times during the night because of terrible noise which was coming from staff clean outside hotel.anyway , if you are into noise or pumping night this hotel would be a paradise for you.Our room on the first floor had small windows and no view whatsoever. The other issue was that my room was on the ground floor a short distance from the lobby on the lower ground floor. I could hear a lot of noise from the lobby. People weren’t shouting, but I could hear normal conversation very loudly and clearly in my room so this did keep me awake quite a bit. The room was very small,they put us in a room much smaller.”Our room was the smallest room they offer and it was even smaller than we expected-Take a room in the upper floors tiny (seriously intsy) rooms We were on first floor so there was some street noise. Not bad, however, given the tradeoff of very... The room at the first floor for me were just adapted and not confortable nor recommended to sleep in if you want more space (the lower level rooms appear to be on the smaller side. Breakfast is the standard fare with eggs made to order, sausages, potato wedges, corn flakes, salami fruits, bread. Wholesome - not a gourmet spread ! A little challenging for vegetarians. imited fresh fruit and vegetables.

    It is a cozy hotel having nice Ottoman atmosphere.The location is also excellent. It's about 2 minutes (maybe less) to the Hagia Sophia . next to Ayasophia --super easy. The Ayasofia is across from the Blue Mosque, and of course Topkapi Palace is right there as well. Great location. The Ottoman is by no means the cheapest hotel in Istanbul but for the location, room and service standards we found the price to be extremely reasonable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond. Nothing was ever an issue. I arrived pre check in and they were super kind by letting me check in early even though I did not expect this.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is the best and the rooms that I have stayed 202 and 204 are very nice. The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is huge and very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the physical plant needs help. When the water went out for 2 days (a particular problem in sweaty summer heat) so that we did not have a functioning bathroom, we were offered another room in the middle of the night. After the inconvenience of moving in the middle of the night, we discovered the air conditioning in the new room was not working. Leaving the windows open was not an option with the noise from the nearby square, and in any event it was not much cooler outside. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel made no amends or compensation for these issues.

    The hotel is perfectly situated for walking to all the best historical sites and traveling by tram to other sites as well. The staff is also very friendly and amenable. I had stayed at the hotel previously around 8 years ago, and went back because I found the staff so nice and location hard to beat.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, some of the rooms got like a hamam as a bathroom. Very friendly and helpfull staff ! I’ll come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing! They opened breakfast early so I could eat before my flight. Very helpful extremely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    to have bacon and eggs ! I like tahini

    We did not have croissant for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Loved it.

    Sumptuous accommodations and kindly service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were lovely and excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room service, Air conditioning. I believe some renovation is required in rooms and hotel interior.

    Location was nice & excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could of done with a bit of a deep clean = and fixtures being tightened

    Good room, lovely bar area and breakfast room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel

    Beds were comfy and the buffet breakfast was great. Staff always very friendly when walking in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing....

    Everything is fine...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional hotel in Sultanahmet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was really helpful. Room was very clean and the bathroom (Hamam) was the best!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very welcoming staff, great location in front of Saint Sophie, nice room!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. I have to go down and climb down 2 levels everyday. No good for old people.

    Location. Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really professional hotel And Helpful staff.Thank you

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best pillows in the world 😍

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was really slow

    Service and breakfast was amazing! The rooms are elegant and lovely. It is near all major tour site which is great!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Convenient location, friendly staff, very nice and clean hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view on Aya Sofya

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, good location, beautiful rooms, excellent view, hospitality staff. Thanks

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location Staff Breakfast Money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Alles war sehr gut!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were too small...

    The location is the best , it is next to Hoaga Sofia.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing I can think of!

    We really liked their attention to detail: when we arrived, the decoration of the room was impeccable, and the staff was extremely polite and attentive. It was a great stay!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noise level. Had a ground floor room so fairly close to lobby. Rooms not well sound-proofed.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Good choice at breakfast. Location excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to the Hotel is terrible. We have to walk to the hotel. No Vehicle access. That was a big Bummer. The doorman broke one of the wheels of the Bag by dragging the luggage for 400 meters. Overtime one has to go dressed somewhere, one has to walk down before getting into a car.

    The guide was helpful in explaining about Istanbul.Close to Hagia sophia and other Historical sites.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor room problems - we were switched to another, bigger room immediately. If you have trouble sleeping, early AM call to prayer (loud) may be a problem, as is poor soundproofing between rooms - ear plugs will solve this.

    Wonderful location, walking distance to major sites in Old Town, 20 minutes walk to Galata Bridge and next to Topkapi Palace and Aya Sofya. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was cozy on the small side but good for young travellers looking to be out and just place to crash for the night. Which is the only thing I can mark and its not a hotel defect.

    The Location is beyond perfect for seeing the sights of historic Sultanahmet. The breakfast was DELICIOUS and more than generous buffet. I was impressed when the bellman came out to meet the taxi and help with bags since the street is narrow and was impassable by motor traffic.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is situated right in SultanAhmet Square with Hagia Sofia on the front, Blue mosque on the right (1min walk) and Topkapi on left (2-3min walk)... The Area was very peaceful and there are some good places to eat nearby... washroom was real good with Turkish hamam. Room was equipped with all basic facilities including coffee machine and a kettle... I will definitely stay here again...!!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staying at The Ottoman Hotel Imperial is like coming home ...we have visited several times over the last years , and are always welcomed warmly . The location, the food, the price ....ideal .

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    何もない。 nothing.

    ハギアソフィアのナルテックスの真向かいで、道沿いの部屋だと窓いっぱいにハギアソフィアが見えるという絶好のロケーション(部屋によってはバスルームからもよく見える!)、落ち着いた内装で、静かで快適な部屋。価格を大きく越えた価値がある。 最新の建物や新市街でのナイトライフ、スパなどを求めるのでなければ、大変おすすめできます。 Great location: Since the hotel is facing to Hsgia Sophia and there is nothing disturbing visibility, if you stay in the roadside rooms you will surely impressed by its magnificent view. (from some rooms, the edifice can be seen even from the bathroom! ) Confortable room: Interior is decorated in modest Ottoman taste, the room is equipped confortably and quiet. For those who don't need bland new building, nightlife in Taksim square or spa facilities like those in giant chain hotels, this hotel is far more variable than its price, highly recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    (1)If this location if you come by taxi from the airport It is not possible to enter the road to the hotel by car. You need to carry your luggage yourself to get off the car is very far to the hotel. Extra you need money, such as chip case if you ask the Hotel Service (2)My room is moldy smell. Fungus grows in the shower room。 It is either black mold is not good to allergy body (3)Person of work overnight shift reception is “very rude” not kind It is not the answer to either of the questions Annoying attitude “play games or chat play his own mobile phone. Doesn’t not look my face even I was asking. even second day was also the doing same thing never said hello or nothing just busy his own thing. It particularly unpleasant is this employee work at guest service reception.

    Access The regional tourism hotel of this good location very easy any where to go but any Hotel this area is same Easy and short distance to the Blue Mosque Sea harbor coast. Distance is shorter than seen in the map

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The toillet in the room. Flush wasn't strong enough...

    The location: its side by side to Hagia Sophia! Very close to Topikapi Palace and the Blue Mosque. The breakfast was good too!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely difficult getting any form of transport to the hotel as the road has restricted access, however the porter is on hand to help you with your luggage.

    The management and staff were excellent and nothing was to much trouble. Perfect position and very good breakfast, planning to stay there again in February 2016.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location! Fantastic for a quick trip to Istanbul (I had 24 hours) as a single traveler. The staff at the hotel was incredibly helpful. I was allowed to check in early (9 AM!) as my flight arrived in the early morning. The breakfast (!?!) was incredible. My room was small and on the 5th floor (which is in the basement) but quiet, beautifully decorated. The pillows are heavenly. I never thought I would review a hotel's pillows, but these were worth including.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room selection was rather limited and wasn't properly indicated on detailed descriptions; e.g. Single room indicates with a view, whereas Double room doesn't. But didn't mean anything.

    Most of the things under par; Location Superb. Staffs were friendly and courteous. Room cute and cozy with high ceiling. Breakfast enjoyable with real honey.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room, especially the bathroom is quite small. For those who need silence, the sound of the tram passing by may quite disturbing. But again, when you are in Istanbul, you'll only need the room to get some rest before you exploring the city for more ☺️

    Location! Only few step away from Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Cistern Basilica, and Tokapi. It's a neat and clean hotel, the staffs are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taxi and other transportation can not be near the hotel , you have to walk a destance for pic up and drop to hotel.

    Hotel location is Exelent , staff verey frindly

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ottoman Hotel Imperial-Special Category traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: