Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)

Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. No:26 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#160 of 1,416 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Centrally located to all of the old city sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, most important for the oldies. Breakfast could be better but sufficient to start the day

    Centrally located to all of the old city sights. Easy walk to The Galatea Bridge and Spice Markets

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Welcoming and Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hmm... there is a short walk uphill from the hotel to Blue Mosque and Tram Station. For my elderly parents, this was 'slightly' challenging for them. Not a concern if you have good health :)

    Sarnic Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. I was there for four nights with my parents. It was amazing how Tariq, Bahar and the hotel staff made our stay really comfortable and enjoyable. They were always ready to help... with recommendations for food/shopping, direction to places, calling for taxi, etc. Bonus... it's close to major attractions!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Great location, clean comfortable room, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Location to the centre of historic sites, public transport, which is superb (but can be crowded). Comfortable hotel, good value for money, staff very pleasant and helpful. Wifi excellent. Nothing to dislike. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.7
    Location ,cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room with no window ,very small 14-16 sqm Breakfast bellow average by all standards :in 4 days i did not see omlette or fried eggs (only boiled)

    Location ,cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, welcoming and charming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. There is no lift so be aware anyone with mobility issues and get a lower floor room.

    Tariq was a wonderful manager and helped us with any queries we had. We were made to feel really welcome. We had a view of the blue mosque from our window which was cool. The breakfast was more than adequate. Coffee was great. The bed was super comfy! Although the duvet wasn’t quite big enough for the huge bed. The rooftop views were superb.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.0
    Local boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hadn’t appreciated that you have to go up and down steep stairs to get to the bedrooms in the main hotel.

    Local boutique hotel. Comfy and light room on the second floor in the nextdoor annexe which had an elevator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    The double bed was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked fresh fruit for breakfast and a selection of freshly cooked eggs.

    The double bed was spacious and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    great location and the staff are polite, helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wifi was poor, some of the lights/sockets were temperamental. Breakfast could have been better. Bathrooms are small and the showers not working properly.

    rooms were clean and of a decent size and the beds were comfortable. Great location for the Arasta Bazaar and the historical Mosques, museums etc. Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    The area close to many attraction places and cleaning of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy not comfortable No lift, difficult for children No have good breakfast very limited options.

    The area close to many attraction places and cleaning of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price little bit above the average and the rooms ere small.

    The hotel is not far from Sultan Ahmed Mosque and metro station. Also the restaurants nearby were very good. The staff really were kind and professional in talking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    one of the best choices in ayasofya!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rail door of bathroom made hardly enough space for someone to pass.

    cleanness of property, good mannerd staff, very good location, acceptable breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv had only news channels in English, although I didn’t go there to watch tv!!!! But would have been nice to watch a late night movie. Would not stop me returning to this hotel.

    The hotel was immaculately presented. The manager was extremely helpful, went out of his way to make my stay a very pleasurable one. Restaurant downstairs provided a great Mediterranean breakfast spread. On a very nice street and within walking distance to many attractions. Great hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location for visiting Istambul
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited and untasty choice for breakfast.

    Great location in the old town. Very hepful staff. Nice rooms (not too spacious, but just enough to feel comfy). Nice roof view, Quiet room, as for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    “Execellent and very nice hotel”
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good and nice place,the best thing about the hotel is the location wich is right beside the major attractions and well within walking distance. The staff were excellent and gave great advice on thing to see,we were grated by Mr.Ergun(best meneger),Baha(best helpful person)and hotel maneger Tarik(best meneger ever) and all staff is grat. The room was clean,great vaule for money. Very delicious breakfast. Everithing is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was fantastic and the restaurant staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was a little on the small side.

    The breakfast was fantastic and the restaurant staff were friendly. The receptionists were extremely helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Overall experience is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't even provide mineral water on daily basis. We stayed for 3 nights but given on first day only. Lift not available. Stairs path is narrow.

    It's location is good. Breakfast was too good. Staff is friendly specially Baha. They gave good concession on daily tours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff is a big plus - we had problems with the rooms and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s an old renovated villa - no lifts for second floor. The economy rooms cannot fit 2 people. Ventilation in inner rooms maybe an issue.

    The staff is a big plus - we had problems with the rooms and the staff changed it promptly for us. Tariq, Baha and rest of the staff are friendly. Good vegetarian options in the buffet. Location is walkable from sultan Ahmet tram station. Hotel is value for money! Will come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Clean, convenient place, five minutes from Blue Mosque
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No elevator. Some extra choice for breakfast (fruit or scrambled eggs) would be nice. Noise isolation is far from perfect so you may enjoy your neighbors' excitement.

    Very conveniently located. Not really in a great street but fine neighborhood, extremely close to the Suleymaniye area (Blue Mosque). The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with different fresh local salads. It has a convenient terrace atop with some nice views but, unfortunately, the weather did not help

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and even better stuff, welcoming and always with a smile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice buffet for breakfast, offering different kinds of cheese, ham and salads, cereals, warm coffee and tea. Everyday cleaning service and changing towels, very clean and beds are comfortable! Stuff gave us useful information about sightseeing and moving around city!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Super perfect...considering to use the same hotel if I visit Istanbul again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, so it is difficult to carry my super heavy luggages to my room BUT of course the staffs help me carrying all of my luggages

    The location of this hotel is really perfect! The staffs are helpfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cold air from the AC. Could not sleep well due to open window and mosquitos. Breakfast was not good at all. No selection and very little to eat from.

    Very nice staff, very cute rooms. Free upgrade. Appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location, in the center of Istanbul, close to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are narrow. No elevator in this hotel.

    Good location, in the center of Istanbul, close to main places of interest. Less than 10 mins walk. Breakfast is good, with many options. Staff is really nice and helpful. They helped us to receive the late-coming luggage from the airport during the midnight. And They helped us to look for a pharmacy. Rooms are very clean, the terrace has very nice view of the blue Mosque.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    I recommend the Sarnic Hotel unreservedly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Sarnic Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you wish to be in walking distance of the Blue Mosque (less than 5 minutes walk) and many of the other attractions of the "Old Town" section of Istanbul: Sultanahmet, Hagia Sophia Museum, Topkapi Palace and Museum and the Grand Bazaar. The Sarnic's courteous and attentive staff went out of their way to recommend attractions (and the best route/s to get there). They arranged road transfers from and return to Ataturk Airport and also arranged a full-day tour for my wife and I to visit a wonderful selection of historic sites. The Sarnic Hotel has a wonderful little rooftop terrace, which during our stay (September 2017) seemed to be very under-utilized. We purchased tasty foods and a bottle of wine from local shopkeepers and had a lovely dinner for two isolated completely from the hustle and bustle in the streets below. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really bland, I would suggest they could make it more continental by adding cakes, biscuits, croissants etc

    Small but cosy hotel, literally in the heart of Istanbul! And so close to the Blue mosque. All the staff were super friendly, made us feel like we were at home, and made sure we were as comfortable as possible. Really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely recommend it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    staff were really friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a problem with Air Condition, we complained and the receptionist kept telling us that its working fine while our room was really hot we requested for two rooms next to each other and we got rooms in different levels our room was at the top of the hotel and there is no elevator and it was tiring to go all the way up everyday

    staff were really friendly breakfast was good rooms are clean the location of the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Location is perfect close to everything in sultanahmet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the room, I was placed in the top floor and AC was barely cooling the room given it was was summer time and close to the roof so it was hot all the time. I wanted to change the room but was told the hotel was fully booked.

    Location is perfect close to everything in sultanahmet and the tram station. Breakfast is good. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    We did not lose in Istanbul!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes I had a vad smell from the bathroom drain in the room...

    Excellent location to the main tourist attractions!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine, but it would have been even nicer if the roof would be more used.

    Location, cleanliness, friendly staff, cost

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Stafc was extremely helpful, location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small

    Stafc was extremely helpful, location is perfect. Wifi was good. Bad was perfect

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Location , comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Great location & friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good at all. No sound proof

    location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Very friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    A fantastic location with friendly and helpful staff, as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic location with friendly and helpful staff, as well as a nice breakfast. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excelant Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Fantastic Staff. Extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    I Love the Hotel and enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, its excellent location

    The Location is Excellent Staff was very friendly especially Tariq Hotel Manager

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and good value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Clean,friendly ,close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine and clean ,I would recommend all my friends this hotel ,because all the main sightseeing points were close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t open windows, because the smoke area of the hotel stayed under the windows.

    The staf was very kind, the room comfortable for a family.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great value for low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked economy room and it was too small

    Value for money. 3 minutes walking from Sultan Ahmet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Good value, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    lack of elevator, really difficult to carry heavy luggage through the spiral staircase.

    fantastic location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Fairly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn’t have lifts and room was too small for 3

    Hotel very near major attractions and markets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Close to the heart of the Ottoman Istanbul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Great location for the main sights and good value in general.
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location for the main sights and good value in general.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small windows in the room

    Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Grate location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    They are very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not on par

    Very good location and great value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, specially receptionist and hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, specially receptionist and hotel manager.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould in bathroom. Floors swept but not washed. Not reflective of booking.com rating and pictures.

    Large room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Best buy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our second visit to Sarnic. We like the location, staff and the breakfast. Very basic and clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    hotel staff is very friendly and give help and advise for any recommended tourist tour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Amazing staff, clean rooms,good food and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, clean rooms,good food and perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    9.2
    the menu for bteakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slow WiFi

    the menu for bteakfast

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55