Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Selcuklu Evi Cave Hotel - Special Category

Yunak Mah. P.K. 55, 50400 Urgup, Turkey

#30 of 70 hotels in Urgup

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Cave Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful and comfortable stony hotel with few rooms in caves (with access to garden). Very friendly and helpful owners. Professional staff. Beautiful garden for breakfast. Quiet place excellent for leisure and good location for excursions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Charged to have guests in room to visit! 50 lire each time! Told by reception could only entertain friends in small sitting area that was cold, no fire burning when it is -5 outside. Jacuzzi leaks all over bathroom floor. Bulbs of two lights not working in room. Did not replenish teas/ beverages on a daily basis. DO NOT STAY HERE! Unfriendly and judgemental of guests!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice of food for the evening meal was limited.

    The room was cozy and warm, a room you look forward to coming back to in the evening. The staff are wonderful. I am celiac so cannot tolerate gluten. The owner told me that he didn't have gluten free products but he was more than happy for me to bring my own food and cook it in their kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel for all couples small family or big family. Clean and very comfortable rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff specially Mr.Halil the owner. Delicious breakfast with excellent verities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place. Wonderful staff. They will do anything to make you happy and comfortable. Definitely going back there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Cave Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and room were amazing. Halil, the owner, sure knows how to provide a great experience to guests!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best lamb kebab I ve ever ate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made to feel welcome and were well looked after.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cave Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly host.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The main meal for 3 of us was excellent but although the steak for the other 2 people were asked to be 'rare' the meat was too well cooked. This was only a minor problem and did not effect the overall stay.

    Very friendly owners and staff. Beautiful location and rooms were excellent. Breakfast was excellent and the one night we eat there the mezes were first class.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hotel is well situated in Urgup - we enjoyed the great views. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is of an excellent standard - we stayed in the cave suite which was beautifully restored. We enjoyed the 'rich' breakfasts every morning which included handmade 'gozleme' and omelettes prepared in front of guests in the dining room area.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is located up a hill from Urğup town centre, which means that it is not ideal for those with mobility issues. However the climb was not too strenuous and there are cute stores located on the way.

    The breakfast buffet was lovely and the freshly made gözleme (Turkish pancake) was particularly delicious. The hotel was quiet and the staff were polite and helpful. The room (standard double) was clean, tastefully decorated and comfy with stairs that lead up to the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    a bit far from Urgup, 15 min walking in a hill

    Mr Halil is a great host, he helped us to arrange the ballon ride, the tours and the transportation to the airport. the hotel is wonderful

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overbearing nature of the owner. He would loudly say "How are you?" six times in 2 minutes. Also seemed too keen for us to buy carpets from the store next door......

    Quaint and nice cave hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I checked in late and left early so didnt spend much time in the hotel but my room was spectacular. I was on my own but it was a massive room with everything you could wish for beautiful big bathroom, comfy bed, loads of beautiful Turkish rugs on the floor and all in a cave location! The dining setting was great as well although I didnt eat anything at the hotel. Tours could be easily arranged and the owners were super friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are planning to visit the Cappadocia area (they also arranged my airport transfer far more cheaply than my travel agent had!)

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely sunken garden for evenings and breakfast; helpful friendly staff and (as usual for Turkey) wonderful breakfast with tomato, cucumber and cheese, and traditional pancakes too. They offered us an upgrade from the Cave room to upstairs with a terrace. The Cave Room is small but keeps cool. The top rooms are spacious but the (excellent) air-con is needed to keep cool after all-day sun on the walls. We took the recommended ballooning trip: one hour which was great.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Historical and much confortable acomodation. Beautiful and really calm place with excellent food and great service. I strongly recomend to everybody as the best place to rest after exploring Capadoccia.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    We had a quite room with comfortable amenities. This is a tastefully restored cave hotel with beautiful garden courtyard. The staff are very friendly and the buffet breakfast and dinner are both delicious and generous. In-house gozleme made to order was memorable.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They also own a travel agency and straight want to sell tours etc which was a bit annoying at the beginning but once said that we're not interested it was all ok

    Beautiful authentic cave hotel. Nice structure, in two different houses - a few minutes uphill is the second residence with all brand new suites and a nice garden!! Excellent breakfast (with freshly made Turkish pancakes etc) and beautiful large rooms

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved our stay here. Very clean and spacious. The garden area was lovely and the kids loved the resident tortoise. breakfast was fantastic and we loved the fresh gozlemes made on the spot. Great location to and dinner in the restaurant was great.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The level of service we experienced here is something very rare, which invokes memories of an old world level of service. When we arrived, the owner was awaiting us outside upon our arrival. He greeted us by our first names and a handshake, got us quickly checked in, and then provided an quick orientation of the area. We quickly filled up our three days in Cappadocia with sightseeing, hot-air ballooning, a dervish show, and other must-see things in the area. The garden outside the reception is lovely, with flowers, partridges, a pet turtle that roams the area (which our three and seven year old sons loved), and a small dalmatian on a leash named 'Lucky'. The garden provides a calming sense of being in another place in time. The owner pointed out that he wanted us to feel as though being here, "we were in our own home", which we did. The rooms are A plus excellent. Everything was great, clean, comfortable, and worked. When dining for lunch, breakfast, or dinner, waiters were always around, unobtrusive, yet always noticing and anticipating your needs, and quick to get you something if you need it, a very rare thing in todays world. This reflects the care and high level of service expectation put into this place by the owner. No question I would rate this place with the highest marks possible and wouldn't think twice about recommending anyone to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Wifi was not working properly

    - Great design & outlook if you're looking for traditional places to stay in Cappadocia, which I believe is important. Place is not only built by classical material of the region, also furnitures are quite well fit to design and atmosphere - Employees were really helpful and kind

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Owners Halil and Brigette were so hospitable! Loved our oh-so-short stay at the Selckulu Evi. They organized our activities daily- balloon ride, hiking to see the ancient cave dwelling and churches. You can walk to the town which has a lot of restaurants and stores.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    location; nice set up; friendly staff who wants to help; great breakfast even for vegetarians as they clearly showed effort to accommodate us with good options

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel itself was unique and outstanding. Of course, one could expect something out of the ordinary since you are going to Cappadocia, but this neat little hotel sets itself apart with the attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Keep in mind though that it isn't much of a cave, the walls are made of stone, but you're not actually entering a cave carved into the mountain if that's what you're looking for.

    Really nice, well decorated and comfortable room with everything you could ever want to have.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did see a couple of guest struggling with luggage with no staff in sight to help. A bit quick front desk service would be good

    ... and I've stayed in quite a few! Elegantly decorated, lovely rooms, spacious sitting areas, nice shady garden, superb breakfast buffet, short walk (downhill!) into town (passed a lovely wine bar). We had room 134, right at the top but with a roof terrrace all to ourselves. Just fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was not a cave hotel in any sense and location is not as good as other hotels. Grumpy staff was not very helpful and tried to sell an airport shuttle at twice the price

    Really great breakfast and nice courtyard

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotelier, Halil, is assiduous in ensuring that guests have a wonderful time. The food is superb, and the local Turasan wine a welcome accompaniment. Tours were fantastic, and the cave apartments truly enjoyable. A memorable trip.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner, Halil, is very attentive to your every need. The entire staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on a hill just a five minute walk to the Centre where restaurant, shops and hammam can be found. Breakfast is delicious and fresh. Barbecue dinner was also tasty.garden suite room is extremely comfortable, with private garden and upstairs terrace and comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    We liked everything. The Garden Suite was amazing. Very spacious and beautifully decorated. Our own garden was a big bonus.The owners, Mr. Halil Elalan and his wife Brigitte were very warm and hospitable. They helped out with our activities for the days we were there. The breakfast was superb and the Wifi was so good our sons were astounded. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had no shower in our room, only a bath. We were charged for drinking water when you can't drink the tap water and the heating came on at night so you woke up incredibly hot.

    The staff were wonderful, the owners, very welcoming and helpful. Beautiful rooms, not a bad location, had to walk a short distance to the centre but no problem.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts Halil and Bridgette were very friendly and very helpful in making arrangements for us. Our hotel room was delightful, the breakfasts and dinners were fabulous. A wonderful experience for us in Urgup.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff's behaviours to street cats is unacceptable by me!

    Architecture is great. There is a lovely courtyard to have breakfast. Near to Urgup towncenter. King suit is good.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Mr. Halil is not just the owner of the beautifully decorated place but a friendly host. He and his staff made us feel very welcome and gave us good advice on our visit to Cappadocia. We will definitively return for a second stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi signal was not strong enough for us to use it in our room. We had to go to an extreme corner of the outside terrace to access the WiFi. But the was a minor inconvenience compared to how much we loved the hotel.

    The decor was absolutely beautiful. The bathroom was stunning. The staff was wonderful. The environment was peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with an ample selection. This was the perfect location for us to explore Urgup and the rest of Capodoccia.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was slow

    Staff were helpful, rooms were clean and beautifully decorated, breakfast was excellent with made to order omlettes and Gozleme/pancakes

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Below average breakfast. Omelette made with margarine. Coffee could be much better.

    Great location. Beautiful restoration. Cheerful greeting on arrival. Every room is authentic.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is excellent in this wonderful Hotel. The staff is very very friendly The position is very nice & comfortable (10 min walking from the down town of Urgup) Our room was like a dream The breakfast is very rich & generous. I LOVE SELCUKLU EVI CAVE HOTEL

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I don't think any thing bed . Because we are at off time

    Staff and room is v good

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very comfortable stay. Loved the Honeymoon suite and the view that came with it. The breakfast was amazing as well.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our agency Turco picked this hotel for us, and we enjoyed very much.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    A wonderful place,quiet,confortable,good breakfast,clean , nice restaurant,Wi Fi,free parking,good location.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner is very kind. Highly recommend their breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful host. Charming room, replicating cave dwellings. Charming courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic staff and comfy and unique hotel. The breakfasts and dinners were 10 out 0f 10!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nice hotel, quite and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was so pretty. It had tortoise and ducks my children loved it.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This property was recommended to us and I would pass on the recommendation.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The managers of the hotel were so welcoming and professional

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was amazing. We stayed in King's Suit and it was excellent. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was delicious, the staff most helpful, the decor was beautiful and we will remember this experience in a cave hotel for our lifetime.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great.

    The incredible dinner and the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Everything..... From the hospitality tithe food to the people.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast pancakes weren't up to standard. Very chewy. We had much better ones in small street stslls.

    Quaint boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Shower was a bit smallish.

    A wonderful hidden gem of a place. Old world charm and comfort with awesome food.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved the decor and friendliness of the host and concierge. Everyone was helpful and courteous. The food was great and the hotel spick and span.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Foods are average.

    Room, garden, decoration, cleanness

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the food was excellent and the service excellent as well

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was perfect. the hotel owner is supporting together with the staff all of his guests.Very very friendly people.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything - from the host and staff, to the beautiful rooms and property, and the convenient location - was truly outstanding. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Home like stay. Very friendly staff. Flexible terms and conditions. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the breakfast could be better

    almost everything

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was amazing hotel .v had family suite and it was the best .spacious nice interior .perfect location.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: