Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sultanahmet Palace Hotel

Torun Sok.No:19 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#348 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 153 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for our short stay in Istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower ran very hot or very cold - so used the hamam basin. Exotic but not as practical.

    We loved the style and architecture of this hotel. The detail is quite lovely and deserves to be admired. Breakfast overlooking the Sea of Marmara is a highlight for us. The hotel gardens are also delightful. Our room was comfortable and had views of the Blue Mosque (minaret under repair). The hotel is in easy walking distance for all of Sultanhmet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good location, good and comfortable room, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only minor issue was final payment. The credit card reader was out of service or connection was not avilable. I had to pay cash.

    Breakfast is great. Room is comfortable, bed and pillows are ok. Toilette is small but enough. Hotel is very well located in the Sultanahmet neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Room for improvement in breakfast restaurant and bar service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for improvement in breakfast restaurant and bar service Outside of this great hotel in Turkish style with helpful front desk and 5* location to explore old city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air-conditioner in junior suite was not effective especially during the summer months. No elevator.

    The hotel was close to most tourist sites. Room was comfortable and clean. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A pleasant place to stay in istanbul.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None.

    The staff are extremely kind and helpful. The view from the hotel terrace. The location at walking distance to many points of interest. The hotel building constructed in Ottoman style.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, rooms, clean, view, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night was not that good because we stayed in the last top floor where the rooms are to small and AC was not working probably but when we shift to ground and first floor it was perfect

    Excellent location, rooms, clean, view, value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    I would highly recommend this property to other travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at a great location, right across the street from the Blue Mosque, and we were generally able to walk to a number of historical sites in the neighborhood. The hotel is historical luxury in style.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Location and staff very kind and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old structure need to be refreshed. Not accurate attention (window left opened after cleaning - no coffee re filling etc)

    Location and staff very kind and helpful. Terrace x b'fast super!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Unbelievable location with views of the Bosphorus and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable location with views of the Bosphorus and Sultanahmet Mosque and at the tip of the wonders of the Golden Horn. Staff were helpful and attentive and the place was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    This was a very enjoyable short stay and the hotel is perfectly situated for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although our room had a wonderful view from the balcony, it also overlooked a busy car park where vans were constantly moving around and drivers shouting. The bathroom was small but it had everything we needed. The breakfast was a bit limited, although perfectly fine. The Wifi did not work at all in the room - but was ok in the foyer and courtyard.

    The location in the heart of the old town and so near to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia. We also liked the courtyard and the view from the restaurant. Our room had a large balcony overlooking the sea and this was very pleasant. The bed was large and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were always friendly and particularly helpful - making suggestions for day trips and advising on travel and eating out (eg. tram and non-touristy restaurants, not just places where they might get referral fees).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Had a great stay at this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely staff who were extremely helpful. I was ill with an eye infection and had to spend the whole of the second day in my room. The concierge was extremely kind and called to check on me during the day. He was also extremely helpful in providing advice about the city sites, out of town tours and safety - much appreciated by a solo female traveller.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Location of the hotel is great .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could've been better.

    Location of the hotel is great . It's right opposite to the Blue mosque which also very near to Ayasofya. The whole building is portrays traditional turkish architecture. Although it's in a touristic location, it's very calm and pleasant to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    A great start to my 1st visit in Turkey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. But not a problem since the hotel staffs will help to carry your luggages if it is located on the higher floors. Other than that, nothing to complain

    I arrive at the hotel at 8am in the morning and was there for just a 1 night stay enroute to Pamukalle on 10th March. The hotel's duty manager, Mr Levent was gracious to offer me & my husband to have our breakfast right after we checked in. The hotel's location is very strategic. Just a minute walk through Arasta Bazaar, you will reach Blue Mosque in no time. There are also many restaurants located around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    I thoroughly recommend the Sultanahmet Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real negatives at all, but in my ignorance I wasn't quite sure how to use the exotic-looking Turkish bath fitting!

    Sumptuously decotated, very comfortable and clean, ideally located for Sultanahmet sights, just opposite Arasta Bazaar and the Mosaic Museum, directly behind the Blue Mosque. The view from my window was amazing! Staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was very clean and comfortable. Choice of Turkish hot and cold dishes fo breakfast in retauramt with views across the Bosphorus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    A very authentic Turkish hotel, in a touristic area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in the most touristic area in Istanbul, Sultanahmet, close to Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and Basilica Cistern. The tram station nearby offers easy access to other parts of the city. I loved the authenticity of the hotel rooms which offer a Turkish hamam in every room. In the morning we had a traditional perfect breakfast with a lovely view over the Marmara Sea and the stuff was very friendly and welcoming. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will come back for sure!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - very small room - the heater was not good for the first night But it worked better for next days - No free water in the room & no tea kittle - lightening is poor little bit & the currtens did not close very good

    - location behind the blue Musque - in front of it there is a bazar - nice decoration & style -the bathroom looked noce too - nice breakfast - around 5 to 7 mints walking from sultan Ahmet metro station - around 5 mints to Blue Musque & AyaShofya & around 10 mints to the Castle.. - gave us early check in with viw to the see & the Blue Mosque

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location in the heart of Istanbul
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite basic and on the stingy side. The bathroom was somehow interesting, full of marble, but quite small, with many steps and not very functional.

    Exceptional location and beautiful building. Good service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay in a excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sevice was not prompt. Restaurant was closed due to some reason.

    Location and view from balcony. Parking lot next to property.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Superb location! The room size was big and I loved the balcony and views over the Marmara sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient location and close to tourist sites!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    perfect stay in a beautiful area in a very calm hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was enormous the view was magnificent and the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Love the location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location. Staff is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall stay was good, staff and location were good but internet in room was very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor internet connection in the room.

    Location Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, extremely helpful staff and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, extremely helpful staff and very clean!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Location, interior, view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was really bad.

    Location, interior, view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Wi-fi was very poor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was very poor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi connection is poor

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    A nice lil place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected

    Location, breakfast and the terrace with an amazing view to look at the sea while having breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    Not good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know how to begin.

    I liked the breakfast and staff. Staff were supportive and obliging.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    A good decent place for the price we paid. Don’t expect 5 star hotel services, very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Corner Room with Blue Mosque View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well

    Closer to everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Quite nice good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location

    Quite nice good staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Wi Fi was weak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi Fi was weak.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Just excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location and friendliness of staff. Free wifi. Cleanliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Authentic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the restroom was a bit small.

    The location, the terrace, the music in the garden and the turkish bath.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Central location and easy access to historical places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to Blue mosque and other historical places.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    A gem in the historic district
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning of the room was poor

    Location is excellent- close to all the major sites and fantastic view of the Bosporus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    8.3
    The location is lovely and the design are unique most likely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff not much accommodating and they cannot speak much English

    The location is lovely and the design are unique most likely close to the tourist spot.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    10
    Great place to spend vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If they can use better mattresses that will be great.They were not too bad but need slight improvement.

    Great place to spend vacation. Can't say enough good how they treated us

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.3
    Hotel has the best possible location in the old town and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Evening dinner was a bit disappointing as little of the food was home made Turkish Cuisine. Even cheese party rolls were frozen and deep fried. Needs to improve on traditional freshly cooked meals.

    Hotel has the best possible location in the old town and a stunning view of the blue mosque with immeadiate access to Mosaic Musuem and all historic sites are just a few moments walk

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Great location, lovely older ethnic hotel near a lively area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower never worked but there was a fabulous turkish bath.

    Great location, lovely older ethnic hotel near a lively area. Very helpful staff. Wonderful view of the Bosphorus, walk to the best part of Istanbul.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had many windows to see the great view however as the room was quite warm we turned on the ac above the bed. When we arrived back after dinner there was a very musty, dusty smell and we both coughed all night long. I think the Ac unit needed cleaning. It was also right beside the bed so the cold air would blow on you all night if you did leave it on. The computer for traveller use was very old. I wouldn't stay there again.

    The staff were very helpful. Loved the view from the third floor. Nice patio to have breakfast at.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.5
    We loved the location close to the Blue Mosque and directly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very ordinary but the advantages outweighed this negative.

    We loved the location close to the Blue Mosque and directly opposite a quality bazaar. Reception staff had good English and as well as free wifi access, there was a computer in the foyer for guest use. Good restaurants surrounded the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    The staff are welcoming , friendly and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I would prefer a 'western' shower. The bathroom was small and it was awkward getting around the door without stepping into the shower area.

    The staff are welcoming , friendly and efficient. We had a room with a balcony and a view of the sea. We were in the heart of Sultanahmet and within walking distance of beautiful things and really good food.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    8.8
    Our room was beautiful with a nice corner balcony with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Forget about sleeping through the night. Several calls to prayer are broadcast over loudspeakers during sleeping hours from the mosque near the hotel so loud it hurts your ears. Every time all the stray dogs start barking at the call and then each other. The dog in the public parking lot next door barked all morning and kept us awake.

    Our room was beautiful with a nice corner balcony with amazing views of both the water and the Blue Mosque. The bathroom was very nice with a large tub and nice tile wirk.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfest

    Location. bed. staff

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    6.3
    near blue mosque
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    far from sultanamet tram.

    near blue mosque

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was horrendous, didn't give us the real help we needed. No ice, for "weeks" apparently? Totally unacceptable.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.3
    Location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator and some people need it, the AC in the same level of the bed!!!

    Location, location. Interiors, the sound of prayers

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    The spectacular location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The spectacular location.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Best location

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    5.4
    Nice view from the breakfast terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi, and poor air-conditioning

    Nice view from the breakfast terrace

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.7
    Stayed at this Hotel since 2007 many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stayed at this Hotel since 2007 many times...unfortunately they need to upgrade especially the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Servis
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Internet baglantisi biraz yavas surdu.

    Servis

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.2
    The terrace for breakfasting with views of the bosporus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi needs improvement

    The terrace for breakfasting with views of the bosporus

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    10
    Breakfast on the patio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast on the patio

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    7.5
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price

    View

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds

    The location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    8.8
    Location,staf,nice sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi is poor and the facilities.

    Location,staf,nice sea view

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    From the Sultanahmet Palace Hotel I could walk to all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    From the Sultanahmet Palace Hotel I could walk to all the places in Istanbul that I wanted to visit. The neighborhood was clean and easy to be in.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    9.6
    Proximity to main attractions, friendliness and helpfulness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to main attractions, friendliness and helpfulness of staff and general appearance of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    9.6
    Everything except the slow wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See above

    Everything except the slow wifi

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing!

    Everything...

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    10
    Everything including the upgrade they gave us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!!!

    Everything including the upgrade they gave us. The Blue Mosque view from the room was superb!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    6.7
    position and view
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the door to bathroom if we had been fat we would fail to get in and out easily. breakfast was poor.

    position and view

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: