Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sultan's Inn

Kucukayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok. No:40 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#868 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 124 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is near the main street and to much noises from outside due to very busy street traffic.I will suggest a soundproof system,because in the night it so disturbing the motor-vehicle movement.

    The property is near almost all the attractions of the old city,as well as next to lots of traditional restaurants. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is a fraud. The photos of the hotel shown in the booking.com were misleading. Rooms are matchbox size.No place to move around though in the photographs they are shown spacious.No lift in the hotel. Staff is unconcerned about the customers and is discourteous. Breakfast is a big sham. It is under average. I stayed for two days here and two days at Deniz house , same group hotel on my first leg before visiting Cappadocia and Izmir . Both hotels are below average. Since I had prepaid for the hotel I stayed there . If I had not prepaid I certainly would have returned back from the reception desk. In the evening the power went off and came back in the morning. The hotel had no generator.Room service is pathetic.I had my old parents with me but the hotel staff was totally unconcerned about their comfort. It was extremely low point of my Turkey stay alongwith stay at Deniz house.I felt so bad that alongwith me my parents had to suffer this third rate property.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better and improved. Also no elevators were available. Rooms for triple occupancy was a little cramp.

    24 hours check in and friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall room was clean. My recommendation to the hotel to clean and wash carpet,curtain, window etc.,in the room at least 2 times per year. This is things that you do not do after every guest but means a lot.

    Great location and breakfast. Courtesy of the whole staff. Spacious and renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is very dirty and bad services. The bathroom is dirty too and I do not think it has ever been cleaned. The bedding seemed to be used.

    location of the hotel is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast was quite disappointing compared to what is well-known as Turkish breakfast. It was very poor, the pastries were old and stale, and there were ridiculously tiny two pieces of cheese.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wonderful Turkish breakfast had changed to a very simple one (most likely because it was the low season) - when I booked in September the pictures of the breakfast buffet were still out on the web.

    The staff are really very helpful and kind, responsive to all my requests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is the Perfect place to stay in Istanbul! You can go do everything by walk. Room are very clean and the breakfast is very good. Everybody is very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very clean and in the reception and stairs smell cats. But good value for money.

    Perfect placement, center of the city. Nice view from the roof (Blue Mosque and sea). More or less good breacfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no internet (wifi) service for a couple of days, and even once it came back, was very poor.

    We have really enjoyed staying at the Sultan's Inn hotel during our holiday in Istanbul. The area is amazing, the staff is very welcoming and friendly, great breakfast (it is even better when you have it on the rooftop terrace!), clean and reasonably priced. We will definitely be coming back in the near future!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and small breakfast

    Very very good location, superb neighberhood, very clean rooms, good reception, wifi, everything you need. I recommend the hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer didn't work from day one,after contacting personal on reception to fix it, although they said they would-they didn't do it.

    Good value for money,great location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very clean as it can be seen on the pictures. I also found a previous guest underwear close to bed. Breakfast was same everywhere consisting from 1 egg, 2 olives, a small piece of cheese and industrial pocket jam with butter. The personnel doesn` t speak english very good.

    The hotel is very close to the Blue Mosque and some other attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, hard for two people to move around. The hotel had no elevator so we had to walk up the stairs with our luggage. The breakfast was very minimal and not worth the money. We ended up eating out.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The actual room was very small plus the duvet was very thin and felt the hotel could have provided thicker covers as it was snowing outside

    The en suite bathroom was quite modern and spacious

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just an amazing place to stay in the central Istanbul. Grat value for money. Staff was really friendly and helpful 24/7. The best part of the stay was the roof terrace that was available to use all day long. We had a great time staying in this hotel and will definitely be coming back soon.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location + Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small

    The neighborhood is amazing, the staff were really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not clean during first day of my arrival especially the bed sheet was dirty

    Location of the hotel was near to tourism area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Easy access to all places of interest. Comfortable lodgings. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water flowd out after shower, WI-FI out for the whole day after a power black out. Ordered pick up from airport but nobody shown up

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect location. Second time staying here and id happily stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi is very bad :(((

    Near from Sultanahmet blue mosque

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and wifi

    First day wifi did not work. Room phone was not working Breakfast is not interesting. Staff speaks poor English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift and nobody to help with luggage. Bathroom to small

    Dissipointed with breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the staff is friendly, the view from the roof top is amazing, and the location cannot be better

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi in my room

    less than 5 mins walk from the blue mosque

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noise.

    Good hotel near Blue Mosque.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I loved everything!

    The breakfast was great, the staff were so helpful and friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was superb!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Everything in hotel was fine especially such a good location in such economic price. Cleanliness was outstanding

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited. The front desk staff were not so helpful nor friendly.

    The hotel is close to Blue Mosque

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really good place near to Sultan ahmed Aya Sofia totally great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good stuff but the room are unclean and do smell badly overall the location is good the rooms are cheap but can be cleaner

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a little space.

    Location and price . This was my second visit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very near to tourist places, Staff is so nice & good. Walking distance to blue mosque

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Everything is good. A good hotel to stay in, in about everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift in the hotel.

    View from the window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had booked SUltan Inn hotel, but after we arrived we were moved to another hotel from this branch (Denis Houses hotel) The only one thing we were disappointed a poor breakfasts without any variety.(We won't hungry , just expected to have a buffet breakfast)))) The walls are not well insulated, so you could hear everyone walking and talking in the corridors and stairs... But that is problem for all old buildings there.

    Hotel has an excellent location - just 10 min walking to Blue Mosque. Very friendly staff, always willing to help. Our room was enough big for 2 persons, clean and equipped with all necessary things. There also enough of furniture to put all your belongings. We had very nice sea view through the window. Wifi was OK. I can recommend this hotel because it is good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One of the male staff at the reception never smile and that sucks, atleast!! And they never make a proper arrangement that I should pay for my extra hours, and my flight suppose to be in the evening they just move me out of the room unexpectedly , that was absurd,need to make proper arrangement next time!!

    The breakfast was nice, and the hospitality was good and I enjoyed my stay!! But all was good!!

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was very small.

    Very convenient location for seeing the main tourist sights in Sultanhamet, appealing local neighbourhood, and good value for money hotel with great local breakfast included and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is just 5 minutes walk to the Blue mosque which was excellent. You could not ask for a better location if you have to walk all over Istanbul!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Arrange all transfers to and from the airport with no problems. Great little roof top terrace where you can eat breakfast or watch the sunset. Room was really clean and breakfast was a great way to start the day. There is plenty to see within a short walking distance from the hostel.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was tiny and the beds were hard.

    Ideal location from which to see the major attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was abundant and the dining room was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were accommodating and helpful. the location was great. Easy to get around to do and see the things we wanted to see. Close to tourist sights and you can wander around in safety.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room service wasn't great. House keeping staff spoke very little English. Inappropriateness of the reception staff wanting to sort things out just as we were leaving the hotel.

    The location of the hotel was excellent as it is within walking distance to some of the main attractions.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The staff in kitchen at roof top like to make joke about Client in turkish languange. Very unprofesional staf in kitchen. Receptionist very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast of eggs, cheese, olives, hot cheesy potatoes and 2 other hot savoury dishes, yoghurt, compotes, bread, pastries and fresh fruit. Set us up for a long day of sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small uphill walk (10min) to tram but that applies to all accomodation in this central area. Incovenience is more than compensated by cost of room and cleanliness

    This venue is excellent value for money and very central. Super Super clean and very nice small rooms for a budget travelller or backpacker. Hassan and Ali were very friendly and helpfful

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem was that the walls and doors must be quite thin or not well insulated, so you could hear everyone walking and talking in the corridors, the stairs... This was a problem especially the first day where there seemed to be a particularly loud group (not a fault of the hotel)

    The location was amazing (walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilika Cistern, Grand and Spice Bazaar, Topkapi palace...), good breakfast buffet (more than the usual), wonderful views from the roof terrace including the Blue Mosque. The staff was nice and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our double room was very small, no room to set out a suitcase. There was pealing paint and bubbling plaster around the window sill. Hot water was inconsistent, cold shower once. Wiring exposed by crack casing to the TV. These things could all be addressed to make the stay room more appealing.

    Location and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower cabin could have been a bit larger. People with extra weight would have problems to get in.

    Almost everything! :) Very friendly staff, always willing to help. I traveled with my 70 y.o. mom. We had room on 3d floor. Room was warm. Wouldn't say it was too small. But shower cabin could have been a bit larger. People with extra weight would have problems to get in. Worth mentioning also breakfasts. Everyday same menu but it was tasty, satisfying and quite variety. Traditional Turkish breakfast. Cereals, yogurt, jam, baking, boiled eggs, variety of olives, bread, stewed potato with sausages in tomato sauce, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, few kinds of cheese, sweets, cakes, apples, oranges, etc. So, those who is not satisfied with breakfasts, i don't know what you usually eat and how much )) you have to pay for 5* hotels if you want exclusive menu. Tea & coffee available 24/7 From 16:00 to 18:00 snacks (sweets). But we could have it only once, the day we arrived :D Other days we were out for whole day. Wifi was OK. Good value for money! I'd love to come back to this hotel one more time :)

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No disadvantages.

    Location is good (Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, local restaurants, cafes, shops, tram station in 10-20 minutes walk), respectful staff working 24 hours/day, healthy and nutritious food for breakfast, clean rooms with all necessary facilities + free WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom Little small , No elevator

    Breakfast was perfect and location Near to tramva station and good access to blue mosque.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, price, cleanliness, breakfast all perfect!

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Group

    The enternet was so pad and the picture it was not like in reallity

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Boutiqe" shouldnt mean run down. Still you get what you pay for.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    It is such an excellent hotel, the people at the reception really loved their jobs they were very nice with us.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise coming from halway,only in daytime. No problem at night.

    Great staff. Super location and great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long walk to tram

    Good and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    good location

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower box

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, clean room and great location.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, nice breakfast, friendly staff!!

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the staff. I highly appreciate Leo's technical insight and advice about the various sights.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is good, nice and thoughtful staff

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: