Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunlight Hotel

Piyer Loti Cad. No:28 Cemberlitas, Fatih, 34490 Istanbul, Turkey

#981 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was amazing.

    The hotel is very close to the old center of Istanbul. The top of the building is amazing, with a view of the sea. Free parking, incredibly friendly staff and great breakfast :D

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel and the very kind and helpful staff. Room and the general area of the hotel was very clean. Wireless internet is reachable from all over the hotel.

    Breakfast was a little basic and the hotel rooms are tired, not enough lights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given double beds instead of two single beds, but it was a fault of bookig.com which did not give the hotel the information about our preferences.

    The breakfast was great, rich and tasty. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice hotel, close to all the sights in the old part, near the subway, bus stops, ferry terminals. Very friendly staff, we were accommodated almost immediately, although we arrived very early. They gave us a room with a view, although we had reserved a room. They changed the sheets and towels the next day, cleaned the room, even though we were for two nights. They helped with information. Very delicious breakfast. Thank you all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are very impressed with this hotel. Rooms are small but comfortable with its clean facilities. The stuff is very friendly, helpful and polite. We were hosted by the stuff with tea during we're waiting our time to check-in. There is the amazing view from the Terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    - Traffic is horrible and extremely noisy, especially in the early hours of the morning. - Small TV size. - Basic breakfast. The breakfast could do with the addition of spreadable cheese, better quality serials and cold milk. - Room temperature cannot be regulated locally. - No extractor in the bathroom.

    - Excellent location. - Friendly and helpful staff. - Great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is budget hotel. Sound isolation is disaster. There is no difference if window is open or closes. You can hear everirhing from the hallway and neighbouring rooms. Breakfast is poor. Also, they did not coordinate my booking reservation and tried to charge me additional 65 euros.

    Price and position.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel at the requested price. Very close to the bazaar and other tourist attractions in the area. Comfortable, cleanliness made every day in the room, excellent breakfast, spacious rooms, central heating and AC.Free parking. Friendly and helping staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy. There is a construction site near by and they were working all night. Hopefully they will finish that building soon.

    The most important things for every trip is to get comfy, clean room and that's exactly what we got here. Location is 5min away from the biggest landmarks in Old Town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connectivity was on a slower side and not very stable. Loud door slamming was being heard sometimes late at night.

    A very convenient location. The hotel looks pleasantly rustic inside. Good breakfasts are being served within a broad timeframe. The personnel is very friendly. The premises are all in all in a good condition. The room service every other day was sufficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Staff cooperation was sometimes good sometimes not. Bathrooms small and the shower was not welcoming to use, overall room cleanness. Very basic breakfast

    The location was relatively close to the Cemberlitas tram station and the Sultanahmet area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    INCREDIBLE NOISE DURING NIGHTS (others hosts of hotel + door banging), no room-service in 3 days (missing toilet-paper), very small shower-box (at photo are full-opened door)

    Location, breakfest

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle to airport is not quite punctual as it is shared by other nearby hotels. But we arrived well to the airport anyway. :)

    Services were great. Staffs are very hospitable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication is very difficult with staff except for the manager. Need to finsh some ongoing maintenance work.

    Nice and quiet. Close to all nearby attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are nothing like the photos, too small, no nice view, towels are old, ripped and not clean Air condition was not working, had to change the room No rooftop or terrace for breakfast as mentioned on website, breakfast is served in the basement No see view from the hotel No tea making facilities in rooms No daily room service Breakfast had very limited choices and of very bad qualities

    Location was not too bad

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very disappointed with this hotel because they charged my credit card after i left the hotel and they didn't respect the booking charge reserved through booking.com. And they didn't give any pertinent explanation when i wrote them. My advise is to double check your account if you ever book at this hotel. Staff was not helpful at all in trying to solve the issue they just carry you over to make you lose interest in recovering money.

    Do not give credit card!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked for a twin room, but there was only double available. It was a budget option hotel, but the room is extremely small and tight. The bathroom was so small, you can hardly move around, and the shower you could barely turn without bumping against the wall. The linen was old and insufficient, although clean.

    It was clean and the room had air-conditioning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Location of the hotel and the very kind and helpful staff are the best. Room and the general area of the hotel was very clean. view from the hotel is good. ( if the sky is clear ) Wireless internet is reachable from all over the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very cold in the room in the evening, but later heating started and it was ok. There is no real private parking, just couple of slots on public road which are reserved for the hotel. They wanted me to leave the keys first, but we had a lot of stuff in the car and it would be very inconvenient to ask for my keys every time we need something, finally we agreed to move the car a bit further from the entrance and keep the keys.

    Sea view wasn't bad, would be even better with a bit of sunshine. Was close enough to all the landmarks, just a little walk to Blue Mosque

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff were helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities of the room is poor, very dark, not enough light (first floor). Shower is very small.

    Location is perfect, breakfast is good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - room was quite dark. the number of lamps could be increased

    - location - friendly staff - price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean with a comfy bed real good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom of the room need for maintenance and room not specious

    The staff were helpful Location close to the tourist places

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very cozy, clean rooms, and the staff was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was great! The staff was all friendly and helpful. The room is really beautiful clean and comfortable. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was not clean, bit stinky, without enough light, breakfast was poor.

    location, stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lokation, food, staf, parking....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not so various and tarace bar not functional

    We mostly liked the location and view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit tight and little vew out of the window...........However in fairness it was a nearly full hotel

    Staff were great. Great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsexlan

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs new wallpaperes.

    Kind perssonel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not good,

    Cleaning,staff,room size

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds from neighborhood rooms

    Cleaness of the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good small hotel in the heart of Istanbul

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was simple and hadn’t got big choice.

    It is in a good location with a friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every Thing was excellent in this hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi don't working in the room just loby

    Price and close to the grand bazar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good.

    Breakfast was really delicious and typically mouth watering turkish..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Big and clean room, location, very close to grand bazar and the main attraction, smiling and welcoming stuff. Everything was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Everything was good clean Breakfast absolutely rubbish

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 10 days they cleaned the room just 3 times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location, friendly staff, good wi fi.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Need more option in hôtel Coffer bar 24 hours And taxi are note strait people the change price All the Time . We need bus to pick up people from airport.

    The staff are very Nice helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -first assigned room has a defective door knob. scared me because i imagined sleeping at night with an open door. good thing I was able to double check. -difficult to find the hotel from the main road.

    -customer service esp the reception area (very helpful!) -fantastic view from my room 503

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The price I had to pay in local currency was very different (significantly higher) to the price if would pay in Euros if I had ones.

    Walking distance to most of the attractions within Sultanahmet district, along with close proximity to T1 tram line. Fast internet.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is central and is within walking distance of the Blue Mosque, staff are always willing to help, hotel interior is nice and clean and rooms are comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pics on booking give better image. Tv very small with few channels. Same breakfast every day with limited kinds.

    Location is near historic places and Tram. Staff are helpful. First night i got very small room then changed to a good size one.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    did not like only having bottom sheet on bed.no top sheet,have been informed it is common in turkey for that.

    location was good, except for the hill to the mosque. staff so friendly,and helpful. restaurants nearby,taxis handy, shuttles to airport,cheap and on time.would be nice if there was chairs and tables up on the roof for breakfast,drinks.apart from that. great hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is only a bottom sheet, and you lie under a blanket.(not knowing if it was clean or not), took second sheet from other bed. rooftop terrace could have some chairs and tables,so one could enjoy the view for longer. and thats all that was disappointing.

    friendly and helpful staff, good location, uphill though to the blue mosque area.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bathroom on second stay/room was incredibly small (room 506) had to have doors open to the shower, don't bother to try bending down. Bed could do with replacing in that room too.

    Staff were very courteous and helpful, everything was cleaned well, and breakfast was excellent with more traditional fare and certainly plenty to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No fruits for breakfast. 1-st day there were apples and the next 3 days no fruits.

    The receptionist at check-in,but on the hole all staff was polite and pleasant. The best beds ever.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful and always ready to help; the room was unpretentious but spacious, comfortable and clean. The breakfast was adequate. I appreciated the help getting a taxi in no time very early in the morning. The hotel is very near Hagia Sophia, Topkapi, etc. Teşekkür ederim!

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    According to rules we should not have any own food or drinks in our room, but use only hotel's drinks and restaurant. Ridigulous rule! We left our postcard in reception, but the cards have not arrived to Finland in one week, perhaps they are lost?

    Perfect location, nice hotel with reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast should be varied because it was always the same things at the end of our stay we have preferred to take our breakfast out, sometimes the room service forget to clean the tables, they just moved everything from there, but they don't clean.

    the staff was nice and polite, and the rooms are comfortable, the location is excellent because we don't need transport to get the touristic sites, and to do shopping all we need is just near, this is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Family with young children

    The location far away from the main street not like it showed in the map of booking web site. The cleaning was very poor, I have to call the reception to ask them to ask the cleaning women to come back and clean the floor. We had our kids with us which mean the cleaning of the floor was necessary for us but they did not do. Although the floor of our room was fin non-smoking, in room next to us were smoking people. I couldn't sleep in the first day because of the smell I complained to the reception but he said no no there are no one smoke there but next day they solve it. Any way i will never go there and i don't recommend it to any one.

    The staff were good and speaking English

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nil

    freindly and helpful staff.great location

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Polite staff. Close to tourist attractions. Nice room. Little bit improvement may be required for breakfast stuff. Overall it was very good.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOTHING, ALL WAS VERY GOOD.

    fREINDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.gREAT BREAKFAST, GOOD LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    The service and accessibility to shopping centres

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    terrace with bosforo, serious staff

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    That our room was different from that on the photos when we first booked

    The cleanliness and the A/C

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was so bad. And bed wasn't comfortable.

    Location and staff. View from the room was good.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise every day and night.

    Sea view outside of window.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast really bad.

    Top position,great service.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor wi-fi signal in the room

    friendly staff, clean holtel and good located!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad internet Terrible breakfast:I got sick

    Location Price

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    10 mins walk from main attractions, staff had limited English, but they they were more than happy to help us with simple requests.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    For this trip I don't have anything to complain.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location is very good, clean and comfortable rooms. Nice view from the window. The staff was helpful and polite.

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: