Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tan Hotel - Special Category

Dr. Eminpasa Sk. No:20 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34110 Istanbul, Turkey

#642 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 912 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all is the ad picture is NOT up-to-date. The view on the rooftop changed because of other buildings raised. The room and the equipment looks quite old and need to renovated soon. For example, in the bathtub, the drain cannot keep up with.

    Great location. You can walk to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia in 7 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's my second stay with Tan hotel. Again the staff was great. Highly recommended for people looking good optional on walking distance from old city area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all good! The rooftop patio would be nice at night, but was not open.

    Great small hotel in the heart of the old city! The staff were all wonderful and helpful, recommended a small place down the street for a great lunch! Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, especially the view! Well worth the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just WiFi is an issue in the midnight hours. Otherwise all is great.

    Staff is highly cooperative.. specially Mr.Faruk and Mr.Typhon. Faruk guided and helped us a lot in planing our trip around the Istanbul city and further for Antalya. Location is very good all the key locations and tram station are within 5mints of walk. Highly recommended for people who are in old city to explore and enjoy the surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pictures are definitely old. You can tell that they haven't been updated since maybe the opening. Also the room wasn't. Our original book room was dirty on the walls and pillows. The bathroom was moldy. The carpet on the floor was dirty. You were able to take the safe out which didn't make any sense. Over all the room was not updated and things that were broken clearly not changed. The breakfast room advertised on the page is definitely not near as nice as the on the pictures. There are old tables and not as glamorous as on these pictures. All of the pictures must have been taken in the beginning or have been massively been photoshopped. The whole Hotel is not as near as nice as advertised.

    The region where the hotel is located at is perfect. The public transportation is 2 minutes away and the blue mosque and the Hagia Sophia 5 minutes away by foot. You have a lot of restaurants and shops around you. All the people working where very friendly even after we complained and wanted to change our room. After complaining we got a free upgrade the next day. The second room was way more functional, repaired and cleaner. The breakfast had a good range and you got a little taste of the Turkish traditions. The price we paid was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really good location in old part of city with several of the main attractions (Blue Mosque,Haghai Sofia and Grand Bazaar) within walking distance.Lots of restaurants,takeaways &c in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small things

    Breakfest incl. eggs and ham. 8 min. walk from Aya Sofia, public transport a few minutes walk. Reception staff very helpfull. Extra ordinary helpfull.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work on the 5th floor and not advised! No breakfast with thé Mosquet view. We have changed the room as the beguining not good for 3 persons. New room good but à terrible smel on the bathroom

    Situation

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beyond our expectation.

    This hotel is a excellent place to stay and explore the beautiful Istanbul. Location is great, in the tourist hub. The staff were very friendly and cooperative especially Farooq who guided us very well 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn't meet the expectations: 1-Spa Bath was not working, just for decoration! 2-Room was too hot and you cannot control the heat as it's central system! 3-Ironing facilities does not exist, we had to borrow the Iron from the nearby hotel! 4- cleanliness!

    The only good thing about this property is the location and nothing else!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Same breakfast options everyday was kind of boring.

    Enjoyed my stay. Very friendly staff. Excellent hospitality. Close to many tourist attractions. I will consider staying at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with One Way Free Transportation
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towel is not soft

    The staff was very kind and helpful i feel like I'm with my family and location of hotel is in the heart of ISTANBUL next to blue mosque, haya sofia.. grand basar and so many restaurants

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cleanliness was bad ...bathroom was stinking + curtains were dirty.

    1.Location was excellent 2. Staff very friendly 3. Towels and bed linen was clean ...some towels had holes ???? 4. Breakfast was ok ..healthy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the restriction of check-in & check-out timing, I have booked the two connected room unfortunately it was not available at the time I arrived, do to tiredness I had to accept two standered bed rooms

    The value of money and they offer free of charge pick up and drop off to Ataturk Airport, the staff are so friendly and they tried their best to satisfy us and it was nice of them. If you looking for decent hotel with standered option. This is the one. Not to mention the perfect location to tram/and attractions places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast could contain more Turkish specialties, the terrace, for which I chose the location was closed for renovation

    Everything was great for the money. It was everything we needed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no transfer from airport stupid pratt staff member hanging phone up on me when i just arrived in country. expensive , not value for money

    location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stay was amazing. Staff realy welcoming people and the y gave us upgraded room (306), the breakfast is good but you need to wakeup early (I missed one hour so I was doing it all the time late). the location is the best point. I recommend it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room wasn't very clean and the overall condition could be much better. The radiator and some hangers were broken, also there were holes in the walls. Most of the surfaces were covered by dust. Tea and coffee supplies were for free, but some days there weren't tea or paper cups. The main problem was the number of electric sockets, very few of them was available from the bed. The breakfast was average.

    When we came, our room wasn't ready so we were moved to another one. It was a nice apartment for family, which included two small rooms and 4 beds in total. Another pleasant thing was a free comfortable one-way transfer to hotel. The location was also great, right in the city center, approx. 5 min walk to the main touristic attractions. The biggest pros of the hotel is nice and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    noises of other guests.

    The location couldn't be better! The staff are very welcoming. there was a little annoyance from the noises of other room and outside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast isn't various, deffects of room 204 - handle of the crane in bath was broken.

    Personal is awesome! Everyone is polite and helpful, guys kindly reserved a restoration for us and every day explained how to get anywhere we wanted. Good cleaning. Location is perfect, close to everything. We didn't use transport at all, only walked) The price is extremely low for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in at an extremely awkward time (1am) and we were starving but unfortunately there was no room service option provided to us.

    The customer service was fabulous. Our booking didn't include breakfast so we went down in the morning to pay to have it added on and the receptionist (whose name was Farook if I recall correctly) added it on for free! The room was cosy and comfortable and the location is great as it's walking distance from the main stretch. Also, Farook kept our bags in the lobby until it was time for us to fly out which was extremely generous of him!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. Close to all attractions. Breakfast was good and lots of varieties. We didn't get chance to go to terrace due to some renovations. All over it was a good stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor. There is little choice of food and the juices on offer weren't to my taste. I think the hotel should actually charge a little more and offer a larger choice of buffet breakfast. There wasn't a lot I liked and I got the impression that food wasn't topped up when it was finished. We came down for breakfast at 10 one day, aware that breakfast finished at 10:30 but there wasn't much left.

    The location has to be the best thing about this place. It could not be more central and close to everything you need. The main attractions are all within walking distance and the streets are completely safe. The staff were helpful, gave us lots of advice when we asked and even gave us advice with our next holiday (we flew from Istanbul to Kiev after our stay) Room very clean, enough space and nice jacuzzi bath. Nice big window looking out onto the street which was nice to wake up to the sun in a morning. Will also point out that there were black out curtains that we used when we didn't want an early wake up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * very old and ruined furniture * the staff provided other cleints with the room we booked online , and gave us a room on the ground floor near the hotel entrance. * the view seen in the pictures is completely blocked by other buildings around. * staff were not cooperative.

    Location is wonderful , near the metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a bad smell from the bathroom in the first couple of days during our stay . but that issue was resolved .

    It was nice stay , All the staff were helpful especially the receptionist , he arranged Bursa trip for us. the breakfast was delicious. the hotel is near by Sultanahmet tram station .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More electrical sockets in the room at appropriate places.

    Nearby cafes and restaurants were lively and cosy. The hotel is within walking distance from the tram station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no tour guide available who explain you in Urdu language, even a lot of people’s come who’s belongs to South Asia region (India and Pakistan)

    The best thing for this hotel is locations and availability of local transportation ( tram etc).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I feel like the hotel let itself down with its cleanliness (carpet) and the bathrooms could be updated as the ones shown in the advertisement were not the same as the ones that were offered to us. One of our bathrooms had signs of a huge leak in the ceiling. Apart from being unsightly it actually didn't bother us too much and considering the price and location, we would happily book here again

    Tan Hotels location was excellent, being within 5-10 minutes walking distance from the main attractions that make Istanbul so popular, such as The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. The tram stop was a minutes walk from the hotel and was very useful to get around the city. Faruq at the main desk was always very friendly and helpful, he voluntarily offered to change our booked family room into 2 large double rooms next door to each other for the same price which we appreciated alot. Another bonus was the free breakfast included within the price , there was always a large selection of hot and cold items. The rooms were comfortable and very spacious. House keeping was offered everyday. Considering the location and price I would definitely rebook Tan Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad traffic condition of the city, I would like to suggest and advice everyone travelling to airport on weekends please be atleast 4 hours ahead of time as we almost missed our flight due to the annoying traffic. Also the staff should be updated and be aware about the traffic conditions on daily basis so as to help the guest more.!!

    The front desk officers, tayphun n farooq were a great help to us all throughout our stay.!! They explained n helped us for every small little thing. The breakfast of the hotel is execellent and the lady serving it is amazing as well..!! Overall we were satisfied with everything.!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bumpy stay in the Tan Hotel. We initially staid for 4 days in which our first triple room had a sewage smell, deposit box didn't work, some of the sockets didn't work and room cleaning team kept entering the room unannounced during our sleep; not something you want after a long flight! We talked to the reception which offered us a really outdated suite as an upgrade; the room was really in a bad shape. We then requested to talk to the manager who offered to move us to another upgraded room or help getting us a booking in another hotel. We prefered the first option. The next day we were shown two rooms; one was filthy to say the least it wasn't cleaned with food and dirty socks and undies all over the room which isn't professional! The second room was alright so we took it for the remaining of our stay in which everything went fine. However do note that some rooms have a transparent bathroom door. We then returned to the same hotel for our last night in Istanbul in which the hotel upgraded us to a suite which was well furnished and a very nice gesture to make up what happened earlier. They also agreed to provide us with free airport transportation as a compensation for the unfortunate experience we had on our first day.

    Location and staff are amazing. The hotel is less than 2 mins walk to Sultan Ahmet tram station and less than 5 mins walk to hagia sofia, basilica and blue mosque. Easy access to other attractiona via metro. Plenty of dining options nearby. Big thank you to the team who helped as much as possible to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we entered the room, we noticed that one of the windows was open and couldnt be closed. The edges were just taped. We told them to change our room when they called a carpenter and sealed the window. We were not happy with the room and it is absolutely not fit for kids with low windows, power sockets, lamps easily in their reach. On the eve of our departure we noticed that one of the windows was breaking away from the joint!! Seriously, this place needs refurbishing.

    The staff were very friendly and the receptionists were very helpful and eager to assist

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located very close to the main sights - Blue mosgue, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace etc. The room was clean and staff was nice and helpful. There was a nice variety of food for breakfast and it was delicious. Also, there are plenty of nice restaurants around. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were assigned to didn't feel like an upgrade, although they told us it was. We booked for 3 standard beds but in the upgrade, we got 1 queen bed and 1 roll-out bed. The room was right beside the reception so it was very noisy throughout the night with guests talking loudly. The bathroom has no hooks to hang clothes. The shower had no light at all and it was quite dark in the bathroom with only 1 light illuminating the entire bathroom. Some parts of the wall were stripped off, there were burn marks on the some parts of the wall. The bathroom door knob was hanging out halfway. I don't think it was an upgrade at all.

    Food was good although the breakfast room was a little small. There were not enough tables at peak hours in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo of the view from the Hotel terrace of the Blue Mosque is not a recent one, communication towers has been erected which blocks the views. Maintenance of the rooms are bad. Scratches everywhere in the room

    Good location and Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like cigarettes and was filled with mold. I would not recommend this to anyone with children or health problems. Additionally, cigarette burns in duvet and the towel rail had been ripped off the wall. The room generally had a damp smell/feel to it that stuck to clothing/bedding. We were offered to move into two other rooms but they had the same problem.

    Great view from the roof and excellent Turkish style breakfast buffet. Excellent customer service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water provided . Air-conditioning is very poor. No basic toiletries. Don't book any tourist packages from the resption desk .

    Location was perfect for all the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite difficult to find. Some clear instructions on their website would have been helpful especially as the hotel is located in an ally way. My one cushion had cigarette burn - which is not great to see at night before you get in bed.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside of my stay was the shower head. It was broken and I it was rather challenging to shower.

    It was really easy to get to the hotel. The location is very central just couple of minutes away from the sights and super close to the tram stop. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. My room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom smelt of sewage which was extremely off putting when you arrive to your room every day. Although the bathroom was clean the smell was awful and my husband made the hotel staff aware

    staff were great and helpful, location of hotel was convenient and the hotel was comfortable and great value for money. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no hot water on the second day in the room (luke warm only.) breakfast variety could be better with more fresh fruit. they have stopped doing the fresh orange juice that they use to do.

    staff excellent. esp Typhoon at reception & the 2 ladies at breakfast area (TIKO & her friend.) 4th stay at this hotel.very easy to get to from the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dirty, the towels were broken, the bulbs were broken, the car parking was on the street with no protection for the car.

    I only liked the location of this hotel, and the reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant! Rooms were okay, nothing fancy but comfortable. We had problems with flight bookings & Tayfon went over & above his position as a receptionist ... without his assistance we could have been in dire straights. Hakim was also of great assistance to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't friendly I request baby bed and there isn't I have booked 30 m room and they give me Very small room for 1st day Poor breakfast Not suitable for family with young kids

    No thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of damp in the room and bathroom Door was left open by a cleaning lady one day

    Close to a lot of tourist places Ok breakfast Was put up in another hotel for the night when our air conditioning didn't work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu of breakfast and worse even was the dishes always empty. No swimming pool.

    The location is excellent. The Manager and staff was helping and courteous.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Triple room was soo small, no space to put our baggages and we couldn't move three of us in the room comfortably. Room is so dark and furnitures are too old and dated.

    Only the Location is accessible to sultan ahmet tram station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was noone at reception for 30 min. at arrival (late night). Staff not friendly and not very helpful. They charged the credit card although different type of payment was requested. The air condition in the room was blocked on maximum, the floor was wet due some flooding.

    Very average hotel, with high price for the service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room conditions is bad, old furniture with scratch, wet floor near the bath, sign of faster and not good repair. Poor breakfast... And there are 3 Star hotel. Not suitable for this money. And photos at Booking.com are NOT represents the Fact.

    Nothing except of

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the location. so close to the Blue Mosque and other tourist attractions. The breakfast was decent and the view from the terrace at the top is beautiful. the rooms are adequate and the value for money is great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was extremely bad in the hotel & rooms There was a VERY bad lingering smell that would come from the bathroom for the whole 7 days & the shower wasn't working. No air conditioning or fans in rooms to keep cool during 33 degrees celcius weather We weren't offered a discount because of these things either.

    Beautiful view from the balcony of the Blue Mosque Breakfast was served every morning, but sometimes would be leftovers from previous mornings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater and the toilet seat were both broken. Moreover, the reception booked our stay on the wrong date, we were lucky that there were empty rooms that day. Otherwise, I don't know how they plan to fix this. Last but not least, we booked the airport shuttle when we checked in but the reception didn't booked it until I double checked it with them when I checked out. The attitude of the reception was really problematic.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was not strong enough, I advised the reception desk and he said after sunset it will cool down. They didn't offer to change our room or anything. There were no towels or water in the room. The bathroom door is all glass so you are visible from the outside.No iron is given as they charge for ironing services. The staff was friendly but I was dissapointed as the pictures and the reviews were different from what I had expected.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not good, no varieties were offered. We ended up having breakfast in other restaurants. First we checked in rooms that had terrible air conditioners but changed them to rooms with much better air conditioning. The sheets were not changed, towels were not well maintained.

    The staff were veryyy helpful and cooperative, very polite especially Faruk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooperative staff, excellent location and comfortable stay.Mr Farooq guided us in a very well way and made our trip memorable.

    Location of hotel, lay out of rooms n sitting area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was hot, so the air conditioner was a little short. On the first day, I could not stay in the family room, but I used the suite, but it was a bit inconvenient because it did not sound louder and cooler. I was able to stay in the family room from the following day, so there was no inconvenience. However, unlike existing reservation, it was regrettable that we could not use family room on the first day. There is one family room in hotel, but reservation seems to be possible with duplication. So, if you are late, you can change into two suites and check in.

    The location was great and we were able to walk to Sofia Cathedral, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Grand Bazaar on foot. Facilities were also nice because it was clean. The kindness of the staff seemed to wash away the fatigue of the trip. It was impressive that we were kind enough to answer frequently.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    basic breakfast, milk was warm for my cereal, may be slightly noisy depending on what room you are given. no iron available, no car park available despite giving you the option to ask for a car park when making the booking. to the hotel credit they had like a little space right in front of the hotel which isn't really a parking space but we left our car there and they looked after it for us.

    location is 2 min walk from sultanahmet square, the staff are great and can speak English, I had one of the best sleeps in my life in their comfertbale beds. if you've been to slutanahmet before you'd know that hotels are usually not well kept in the area, tan hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wash door is of glass which is not comfortable, the cooling facility of the room was not good and on top of it ventilation of the room was poor.

    Breakfast was good and served on the terrace with good view of the area. Room was well decorative

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find nice restaurants within the really touristic neighborhood. AC in the room would have been appreciated

    Really good location next to the main attractions. Really convenient hotel and friendly staff. Nice view during breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minus was the difficult to adjust warm water in the shower room

    The room was big and confortable. The breakfast was tasty. The location is ideal for city trips. We enjoyed our stay alot and will book this Hotel by our next trip again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The reception staff are exlencinces particular Faruk and Typhoon. They have upgraded our room on the first day, the Hotel is near to everything and Tram station is just 3 minutes walking, also is close to many restaurants,i will stay in this hotel when i come back to Istanbul

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bubble bath was not working and the shower couldn't keep a steady temperature. They tried to fix it during our stay but unfortunately they could not. What also was a huge let down (nothing to do with the hotel) were the pushy people from the shops and restaurants. Everyone asks for your name, where you're from and tells you to come in to their store. It's basically impossible to have a nice stroll through the bazars..

    The beds were very comfortable The location is perfect and the breakfast consisted of a good mix between local and European food The receptionist who usually worked the night shifts was super helpful!! We really would like to thank him for all his help and advice (restaurants, were to go and even hairdressers!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dirty rooms, bathroom mouldy and shower not working properly. TV didn't work, no Air Con.

    Friendly staff and great location, couple of mins walk to Blue Mosque.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The location of the hotel is very good if you want to experience the old part of Istanbul. It is 2 mins walk from the Sultanahmet metro station. They upgraded our room to a bigger one which was perfect. Big bathroom with bathtub. Comfortable bed. Simple, good breakfast on the rooftop terrace that offers views of Blue Mosque. A good place to start your Istanbul adventure because of the proximity with Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia Mosque, Topkapi and Galata bridge. Also 2 metro station or mac 10 mins walk to Grand Bazaar. Very good price for the room, I recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast menu was totally same every single day. We stayed for 7 days 6 nights so little bit boring if they offered you same menu every morning. Hope they can offer us the different menu in the future!

    the location was great, the receptionist staffs were so helpful and nice. Once we reached the hotel, he gave us valuable information about Istanbul and it was so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional hospitality from the staff, they were very supportive and worked out all of our requests especially Tayfun with his friendly manner. Great location very close to the tram station. Breakfast variety needs some work though.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Though I stayed there with my wife for 05 nights and got a free drop at airport after my stay, but it would have been better not to charge for the pick up from airport and would have given a complimentary ride to hotel as the case was with some visitors staying in the same hotel for even 03 nights.

    It was an entertaining experience for me and my wife who found this small hotel much to our liking. The hotel is situated centrally near many renowned attraction which are accessible on foot. Hotel rooms are nice and comfortable. The staff at the reception namely Faruk & Tayfun were pleasing, friendly & helpful. The morning breakfast was lavish and tasty. The servicing staff namely Tiko, Maryam & Hakim were smart and professional. They served us very well with smiles & patience. Mehtap, the lady who cleaned the room daily was quite nice, friendly & effective. Last but not the least we enjoyed our stay at tan hotel thoroughly and would love to stay here again during our next visit to Istanbul.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - dampness in the whole room and shower - problems with water regulation - mold in the shower and on the walls - problems with booking by booking.com - old mattresses - old furniture - very poor wifi

    - good location - they were changing towels every day - nice stuff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room description not true and the hotel lied in his email reply about the size of the Room, AC & heating was very week, the room have 2 TV but no remote control and the tv not working without it and I asked for other one but they didn't found, also the access card only one that used for turning on the electric and ac so I can't go and back when my family sleeping, the shuttle let's us stand up for mor 40 minutes in the airport and it was expensive

    location only

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    slightly broken bathroom...

    perfect location if you want to see historical part of the city. ideal for public transport (150 m from tram station). good advices from personel about resturants. good price/quality option

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything

    Tasty breakfast in the roof top restaurant with fantastic view of blue mosque and the sea beyondgood variety of food boiled egg cold meats salad friut juice coffees tea delicious omelettes cooked to order by very griendly catering staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Tan hotel is a moderately priced hotel in the old city of Istanbul, if you have never been to a city before I believe it is always the best place to start. In saying this it was for historical reasons we visited. In Istanbul the old city is the most Touristy part. Beautiful and full of attractions, restaurants and sights. Tan Hotel is tucked within easy access to everything. The surroundings are tasteful, comfortable, clean and service is discreet. The front desk can help with anything you need. A lavish Kahvalti (traditional Turkish breakfast) and continental breakfast served on the rooftop terrace, views of the blue mosque set you up for your days sightseeing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom amenities were not provided till I asked them to do so. Bed linnin was changed after three days despite daily maid service.

    Location is excellent. Staff behavior is very friendly. Breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Noisy during weekdays because just right in front of the school, can hear the students laughing or screaming while do their sport activity, heard the loud of the vehicles passed through, people fighting on the road... the internet is damn slow! No password needed then everyone around the area might use it.

    The room is so comfortable, exactly like in the picture. The staff is helpful and clean the room everyday. The location is so good which is walking distance to everywhere, that's perfect!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast should be more complete particular close to the end of the breakfast time. If we arrived late there were lack of replacement and empty plates.

    Their staff made me feel so comfortable as I were close home. All my needs were satisfied for them, no matter mi request neither the time I was doing this. Always at disposal. My special thanks to Faruk who has been attending all I needed. Thanks for his patience!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be lovely if I could have a balcony with the room or at least a more better view from window of the room

    Breakfast and behavior of staff was very nice

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Tan Hotel - Special Category traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: