Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Sunrise Hotel

Kucukayasofya caddesi. No/36 Sultanahmet, Fatih, 34400 Istanbul, Turkey

#1176 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 51 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff, great location. Good value for money. Rest is slightly below average. If you have one night stay in Istanbul and need a cheap place, and also enjoy the historical sights, there you go!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no staff available and they did not talk english. Rooms are cleaned on request. Stairs are uncomfortable. Breakfast is poor and no room services. During our stay there were no hot water. Nothing listed in the list is available: No TV, Telephone, Ironing Facilities, Free toiletries, Heating, Slippers, saving...

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was very very poor, everything what we wanted was chargeable (juice, turkish coffee..) actually it was not a breakfast it was just for snacking (also bread and tomato was old). Stair is narrow, it is hard to rise up. WiFi connection is bad at 4 floor. We asked for room cleaning and staff gave us tattered towel.

    The only value of this Hotel is its location. The only reason to book this Hotel is its location, it is very near to Hagia Sofia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing matches with the description of the property. There is no lift and the stairs are so hollow, you can barely walk up. There is no reception, room cleaned every after 2 days. The toilet is so narrow you can barely sit there. Very poor breakfast, and twice they served rotten pastries. The manager took our luggages out one day before the checkout. There were a lot of staff in the room and they touched them without our concern. Also they stole our travel cushion. When we showed our checking out was the next day, they send us to another hotel and gave us a room in the underground. It was filthy and broken pieces of glass and other staff was lying in the floor. They refused to bring our luggage to the other hotel. We called the tourism police and they came a while afterwards and the ladies working there created a havoc. Anybody thinking of booking that hotel beware. Though it is cheap but it is not livable at all. Do not fall for its cheap room. And beware of the police also, there is something fishy about this hotel. The staffs from other hotel were telling us why did we book that hotel.It seemed to us that it is one of that kind of hotel where unlawful things happen and everybody in that area was asking us why were we staying in that hotel. We had to show our identity to the police a couple of times, once they saw that we were husband and wife they did not tell anything. I would advice you to not to book this hotel. Worse hotel ever.

    The location was very near to the Blue Mosque, Ayasofiya and the Topkapi Palace. The metro was 15 mins walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the room when we arrived they gave us a small room, it wasn't the room we saw on booking.com however, when we told them that they changed it. I also didn't like the cleanliness they didn't clean the rooms daily, the terrace wasn't clean too.

    I liked the location, it was a nice location everything was near us, the breakfast was delicious and the lady who worked in the restaurant was so nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, Just behind the Blue mosque. Roof terrace; good view! For breakfast nothing special. Some cheese, olives, butter, honey n tomato. Parking is on the street, just infront of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The owner was very welcoming and friendly, had a fantastic sense of humour. Breakfast was really great,olives , tomatoes,cucumbers ,different choices of cheese and fruit, sweet biscuits and bread. Even though we were not in season, the owner set up the roof top terrace just for us. The localisation of the hotel is walking distance to the blue mosque and you can even walk to the grand bazar. The roof top terrace has an amazing view of the blue mosque and of the marmaris sea,where you can chill and relax. The lentil soup is excellent. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. There was a bar fridge, towels and a hairdryer in the rooms. Really good value for the price of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    staffs behaviour

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was conjucted

    The location was good very nice staff rooms was ok its not luxurious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedsheet is not changing & room is not cleaning .

    Steff is helpfull .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room, cleanliness, facilities, cooperation of staff

    Nothing was oustanding about the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres nothing

    They have so friendly staff i love them

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Language barrier.

    Comfort.Approachable nearby places...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stair is very narrow and the roof terrace isn't working until summer. We didn't have room cleaning during our stay (4 days), although the housekeeper who is responsible for everything (running the restaurant and hosting the people) tried to come twice at late afternoon, but as one of us was having rest in the room at that time, the cleaning didn't happen. The breakfast was nice but unvaried. One of our rooms was lack of thick blankets and we got them after two days of asking (they were given from the other rooms which were under renovation)

    The location is perfect, the hotel is 3 minutes away from Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque, 5-7 mins from Hagia Sophia. The beds were comfy, although the view from triple rooms is unpleasant, especially at lower floors.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arrived after check-in time but had to wait for more than an hour. Steep stairs, less than clean, minimal breakfast, to name a few negatives.

    The staff was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We rent a lux room but when we arrive he give us a room in the fisrt floorwith wiew in wall !! if i did not say any thing he was not changing the room in the next day. This time we had a romm in la last floor, with see view, but there was a leak in teh bathromm thaty was not repared in 3 days !! he just say we will call technical service but we never saw them ! they are just liars !! and we past 2 days without power sockest in the room !! teh same thin gthey will call technical servce ( you can wait !!) the fridge did not work at all ... only the location is good real nightmare in this hotel !! very bad breakfast.. I dont recommand at all you can find much better and lower cost.

    The localisation.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I've booked by booking.com, based on reviews and scores. When I've arrived at the hotel I received a room with a smell from the kitchen below. I asked for another room but there was none. The receptionist requested me to pay in advance the services for 3 nights. The breakfast was poor, no coffee, no juice. The room was clean but the main problem was the permanent noise from an electric engine or a/c compressor outside. The stairs are very steep and narrow. No elevator. The receptionist was kind to help us with luggages. No parking place near the hotel (free or paid). The 3 star classification is a lie anywhere in this area. 3* means 2* 4* means 3* modest. Turkish style!

    Amplasarea buna, patul confortabil.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no lift

    Excellent location, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Group

    I like hot water in washroom in this hotel no hot water

    Heat in room in this hotel no heat and stair no good

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Load music playing all night. This place would suit young people. Lots of stairs to room too.

    Goo breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    My son and I stayed here.Nice and quiet part of the city but right on the doorstep of all the sites.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly staff. The good food in the restaurant - prepared by Ibrahim The location The quaintness

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: