Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Uyan-Special Category

Utangac Sokak No 25 Cankurtaran, Fatih, 34122 Istanbul, Turkey

#239 of 1,304 hotels in Istanbul

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I read many reviews before my trip, they said a man in reception desk was very hospitable and helpful . There were 3 men work shifts, only one man (tall and strong) was hospitable, the others are really cold, and i'd only met this friendly man twice during my staying... Besides, one noon i wanted to go back room to have a rest, but the door of the hotel shut, i'd knocked a while but no one answered. And the wifi is not very stable, first two days i can hardly connect my phone to wifi.

    This is my second time traveling to Turkey, i love blue mosque so much so i'd definetely choose a hotel which is close to it. Location: The hotel is maybe 200m to Topkapi Palace and Aya Sofya, and it takes less than 5min to get to Blue mosque and the tram station"Sultan Ahmet", and u can go down the path in front of Four Seasons Hotels, walking 5min then u can get the shore of Marmara. On the terrace of the hotel, u can see clearly Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya and Sea of Marmara, and if u want to get a more magnificent view, u can go to Sevenhills Restaurant of the adjoining hotel Sevenhills Hotel. Room: My room was a standard double room which was a bit small even for one person, but still better than many other hotels, and there was a balcony. The facilities were enough and not bad, and u can borrow the kettle and iron from the reception desk. The picture shows there was a bathtub but actually it was a shower indeed, but it's no problem, the water pressure was excellent. Though the hotel is at the heart of the old city, the room is quiet, of course u cannot aviod the adhan from the loudspeaker, but the vioce is not so lould as u are near the mosque. Breakfast and Housekeeping: A madam and a girl took responsibilities of these work, they were so friendly, considerable and nice!! As many reviews, the breakfast were nearly the same during my 5days staying, but it's ok and enough for me, i can get hot milk and eggs evey morning, and i think it would be better if the kinds of fruits were more (there were only tomatoes and cucumbers). Housekeeping was also very good, the madam was so kind!! P.S. There is an elevator in the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative, as already noted in the comments, was breakfast. I hope that the hotel will take into account the comments about breakfast and correct the situation.

    Stylish, authentic hotel. Excellent staff and reception. Had consider all our wishlist. We booked a standard room with a balcony. Small, but very sweet. The hotel is suitable for lovers of old-fashioned hotels located on historic part if city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Very limited choice especially when you are staying more days then it is the same thing you are eating which becomes boring. At least it should have fruits and flavored yogurts. There should be tea/coffee making facility in the rooms. Room service was poor.

    We were group of 5 (me, my husband, 2 kids under 5 and my mother) and stayed 5 nights there in two rooms. First, even after making special request the rooms were not on the same floor and the room given to us had no space to accommodate my 1 year old son (for which I had sent them a special request for cot) but they changed our room at the spot (this was good costumer service) and gave us bigger room which was nice and luckily it was on the same floor as our other room, but my son had to sleep on the bed. Beds were very comfortable. Location was 10/10. My mother had knee issues and this hotel was like 2-3 mins walk from Blue Mosque, Hagia Sopia and Topkapi Palace and 10-12 mins walk to grand bazaar. Hotel was very accessible to other places as well like Eyup Sultan Mosque, Galata tower, Taksim Square, Istaklal Street, Kadakoy etc etc. The staff was cooperative. They helped us get the cabs (including how much the fare should be) and told us the directions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could do with little bit of variety. For 2 weeks we had the same stuff. No change. Though it was good but became monotonous after few days.

    Alper Kalkancı was exceptional and went out of way to help us. Very friendly and always willing to help. Other staff member gave us his tram card. Hotel’s location is also extraordinary. You literally step out to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia & Hippodrome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only minus is the quality of the breakfast which is average. Please serve natural orange and pomegranate juice not synthetic one: orange trees and pomegranate are growing in Turkey as far as I know!

    Very well situated, between Aga Sofia & Blue Mosquee. Nice big rooms, well equipped, nice traditional furnitures & carpets, quiet. Excellent and kind service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cozy hotel, restaurant on the terrace, room with all amenities, especially I want to emphasize a very good location, both for tourism and as in my case for business meetings in different parts of the city, in pedestrian accessibility the greatest historical sights, museums, parks, embankment. Near metro and tram. In general, the hotel was justified and even exceeded.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding trip so we had booked us a simple room. The staff decided to make it even more special and they upgraded it for us free of charge and decorated it for us very sweetly! Thank you for the excellent service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have had more options but it was good also like this.

    We had our wedding trip in Istanbul and we had booked Uyan Hotel for us and our families and friends. The hotel was very good and very clean. The staff was extra helpful and friendly. They even went to bring us water bottles in the middle of the night! Wow. The location was also very great. I would totally like to come here again with my husband.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike about this property.

    The staff was extremely helpful, especially kadir. The hospitality convinced me to book further several rooms for my family who were traveling for a wedding. The room was clean and the hotel is peaceful and quiet. The best thing about it is the location. It is literally in the middle of hagia sophia and blue mosque.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have been to this hotel many times. The location is excellent. You can walk from the hotel to Sultanahmet Square and to the metro station too. You can ask the staff for more help, they're friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms should have LED TV and some good chanels to watch.

    Thank you very much, The room and the service were excellent. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was great as well. The Internet worked fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff, big and comfortable rooms, clean and luxurious bathroom. amazing views from the terrace! can not say a bad word :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Mr.Alpar and Mr.Kadir are very friendly person and they help me to arrange our tour in cappadocia through the travel agent in front of the hotel. Walking distance to the interesting place to visit. The room is clean and comfortable. Really appreciate their hospitality. Keep up the good work guys.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    The hotel is a two minututes walk from Sultan Ahmad mosque & Hagia Sofia , the room is clean & comfortable, the breakfast is fulfilling & the staff are really nice & caring & they offer their advice & always ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    refiling of the food at the breakfast

    the location is very close to a grate historical places , very clean and comfortable room , the breakfast is simple but very delicious and you feel like a homemade food , the staff of the hotel are trying to help you as much as they can

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was free but interesting. I wish there were coffee makers in the rooms. My room did not have air conditioning even though the description stated that it did. We were told to open the windows. The prayer speakers came on at 4:30 am. The room was amazing, big and very easy to get to. We discovered the roof top terrace on our last day, the view was magnificent.

    I loved how close it was to the different mosques and bazaars. It was close to different restaurants and was a quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choices for breakfast was limited.

    Smooth check-in on my arrival with a free upgrade for deluxe room. Room was clean and comfy. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location with a short walk to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    a kettle, tea and coffee in the room would have been a plus but i didn't ask if they can provide it so can't actually complain.

    the location is amazing , rooms are a little small but i had a balcony that opens to a little cute street and that made all the difference. the staff are so nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were a little poor. We did suffer with the attempted military coup at the time so I can understand some staff may not have been a been able to get to work, but we found that there was not enough fresh fruit, the juice was from a carton and I would expect fresh juice for a hotel of this price, and for those who arrived later for breakfast there was not much left. That was the only criticism .

    The decor was good, the room was large and comfortable, the staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Even they conform by mail my late check out but they make my check out at 12pm.

    Just location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Everything was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not as big as I expected because it is not cheap.

    The terrace is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was ineffective even in mostly cool weather

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all Good

    Best location clean and nice hotel, easy excess to the areas compared to all others hotels

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location la perfect next to everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was very clean, excellent location and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, every thing was OK

    Staff are very helpfull and location is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best room Very near big rooms very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location, friendly staff, nicely decorated room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large clean and cosy rooms Excellent service

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was nice, good location, nice room, cleaner, comfortable, highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect, view from terrace is amazing, staff is friendly, I would recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staf members were very Helpful, and it was comfortable to stay at Hotel Uyan.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV cable could have more English speaking programs.

    Wonderful staff,all very helpful and friendly - location was perfect with shops and restaurants on same street. Clean room with a very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing that rose to the level of a problem.

    - Tremendous value, centrally located, quiet, clean, nice bathrooms, good breakfast. Go to the rooftop and look to the left and right about 100 meters for breath taking views of Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. All attractions within short walk. - Young woman at front desk was excellent. Arranged transfers to and from airports very efficiently. No sales pressure, just honest customer service. - Cesar, her young man assistant was always there with a smile to help with the bags, turn on wifi, or during less crowded breakfast make yo a Turkish Coffee.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in a great location and the room I was in was spacious, clean and furnished in keeping with the ambience of the hotel. In snowy weather the hotel was warm and everyone was welcoming and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Same breakfast everyday

    Almost everything about Uyan hotel is nice. Can't beat the location, friendly staff, comfortable beds... and the list goes on.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perhaps some written information about the hotel, breakfast times, facilities, immediate neighbourhood.

    Location. Very quiet at night. Great restaurants nearby. Friendly, helpful staff. Good sized-room. Very clean bathroom area.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast stocks depleted if you happened to miss the first wave. But otherwise no complaints

    Staff were excellent especially Alpel and Saleh (? Spelling). So close to both Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, but really anywhere in Suktanahmet. Quiet street was a bonus.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outdated bathroom. Very difficult to use shower due to high sides of bath for someone my age (70). Sewerage cleaning took place at 0130 - unavoidable, but rude awakening!

    Closeness to Blue Mosque and other attractions

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Whoever designed the rooms had no clue as to designing it for travelers. No place to put anything. Chairs very uncomfortable! Had a shower/tub. It takes a gymnast to get in and out of the shower. For the price/ quite disappointed! Another time here I'd look for another place! Curtains in room were horrible!

    Food was good, workers helpful and friendly. Location good

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Single bed rooms are small.

    Location is perfect! It's really close to Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque, but it's very quiet neighbourhood. Terrace on the top is nice, with a nice view- Hotel is clean, with some beautifull pieces of furniture, and I would expecially like to bold how nice the staff is. They are really very nice, and available 24/7. Visit terrace next to their hotel, best view in Istanbul!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to keep putting in password repeatedly for Internet.

    The location was incredible to access sites and restaurants. Very safe and could walk everywhere. Staff was very helpful, welcoming and kind.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There wasn't enough storage for two people in the room.

    The location was perfect, it was very good value & the Reception staff & in the Dining Room were friendly & efficient.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location! So close to Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Basilica Cistern. Small, intimate hotel. Staff were very friendly and kind. I enjoyed the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    some troubles with the wifi connection .

    The location is perfect, right at the center of Sultanahmet area, 1 minute walking to Hagia Sophia that is just behind the hotel & Hurrem Sultana Hammam & 3 minutes walking to Sultamahmet Mosque (the Blue Mosque) , & 5 minutes walking to the tramway station. The staff are really nice & always smiling. Even those who don't understand english or cannot speak it well, will do their best to help you. The breakfast is substantial, & holds your hunger till 5 or 6 pm.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location the staff and the hotel was brilliant Rooms were very clean decent breakfast and rooftop views were just amazing would definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bedroom's electric lights were dim.

    The hotel's location. The breakfast / dining room / bar was sunny throughout the day. The roof top balcony gave wonderful views of the Blue Mosque and a great place to hang out.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi service was not availalbe in my room.

    The hotel has a great locatoin in the middle of the old city. The staf of the hotel is kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    This is a lovely spotlessly clean hotel in an excellent quiet location which is right in the middle of Sultanahmet and within easy walking distance of all the major attractions (don't take a car into Istanbul). It has a roof terrace with lovely views (unfortunately no bar though!). Breakfast was tasty, varied and plentiful. The Seven Hills hotel next door has an excellent roof top restaurant with probably the best views in Istanbul! (pricey, but worth it - book ahead). Another wonderful roof top restaurant (and art shop) just across the road TurkArt is well worth a visit, the waiters are fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had air conditioning, but it was still quite warm, but not unbearable.

    The location to everything was amazing. The hotel is very comfortable, roomy and well appointed . We liked it so much, we already booked our next stay!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing in particular

    Ver y located located and all major sites within easy nearby walking distance. Tram also within easy reach. Many restaraunts nearby.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air conditioning didn't seem to work too well. Thankfully cracking a windows seemed to do the trick.

    Hotel Uyan is located right in the heart of the Sultan Ahmet. It sports amazing views of the Blue Mosque from its roof top Terrace. It's about a 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Hagar Sofia and about a 20 minute walk from the grand bazaar.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing I did not really liked was the noise. In the morning the staff in charge with the cleaning talked quite loud and did all the specific noises that made sleep difficult at 7 AM.

    I liked the cleanliness of the rooms, the style, very nice place for the restaurant and wonderful view from the terrace. Also the hotel is very close to the main objectives: Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, etc...

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed and the breakfast where on the minus side. Its only average, same eggs and sausage "soup" everyday, and the ham wasn't the best. Although u can find your favourites in the buffet, like I did and eat olives and yogurt with honey every day.

    At the heart of sultanahmet in Istanbul, near most tourist attractions. With a wonderful view from the roof where the blue mosque and hagia sofia is in one direction, and the sea in the other. Breathtaking. The hotel had friendly staff, helpful when needed.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location magnificent between Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. Staff very friendly. Price very competitive for the product. Continental breakfast room and facilities nice.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    5 to 10 minute walk to all major attraction like sultanahmet mosque, aya sofia, topakapi palace etc Airport Transfer Breakfast actually has the same menu but lots of thing so if you are staying more than one night make your own combinations of selections. Staff was good. Hot water, heat

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was not perfect sometimes.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is really friendly

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad

    Location clean tidy unique

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleaning breakfast

    Location price staff

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed is amazing! Location is great!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location - safe and close to sights

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, good shower

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the hotel. Great location. Loved Istanbul.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilet in bathroom was so close to the wall I had to sit sideways.

    Facilities were well maintained and in good working order.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent location, and my corner room and balcony were perfect

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Location of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    rooms and furniture. no match to what you see in the pictuers

    Location

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sensational location close to all main tourist spots. Tram access to Asian side of city very easy.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work properly and wifi you had to keep logging in each time.

    Loved the location and terrace. Breakfast was also good.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly personnel, wonderful breakfast and amazingly convenient location

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Uyan-Special Category traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: