Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monarch Plaza Hotel 5 stars

No. 300, Section 1, Chuangching Road, 330 Taoyuan, Taiwan

#18 of 41 hotels in Taoyuan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 184 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One important note is that I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past and was very satisfied. This trip did not go so well and I was surprised. I am hopeful the hotel manager or staff read this and get back to the great service levels they used to provide. Breakfast was not very good here at all. The food selection is not very broad and the food quality is only fair with many warm items being cold or just sitting out too long. Its a major effort to get eggs cooked to order and the prepared eggs are terrible. Fruit selection is not good as well and very limited. Bread was stale in some cases. Also the service in the main floor lounge is terrible as well with the staff not being very attentive or helpful.

    This hotel is in a good location close to the airport, MTR and THSR station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows in the rooms were locked - you cannot open it (if it closed) or close (if it open) without calling a staff. However the conditioner was working perfect.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good japan restaurant on 4th floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the bedroom area, hard to do any reading. OK in the bathroom area. Huge dinning room for breakfast, but not well organized, hard to find staff.

    Very friendly staff, huge bathroom

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Free wi-fi connection. As you travel for business internet is one of the essential thing. I complained multiple times to the reception and nothing changed. It was really annoyed over all stay.

    Staff and facilities are value for money. And location is perfect for the business trip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as you step off the elevator you start asking yourself "what's that smell?"... The room and sheets were inexplicably damp feeling and the smell was actually strong enough to be distracting and uncomfortable. There are no plugs near the bed so forget about charging your phone conveniently. Our stay was shortened from 2 days to about 6 hours and I'm glad we didn't have to spend any more time there.

    Beautiful marble floors in the lobby lead you to a bubbly, helpful staff. This is the nicest hotel in this proximity to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast ends too early 9.30 am & does not have good selection - poor quality. Carpet in the room a bit dirty and also shower curtain a bit old. Too Noisy on the main lobby as there are many parties - wedding. This time, no welcome drinks. Need to pay NT100 as deposit for a multi-purpose socket (refundable upon return)

    Fitness Centre and Spa/Sauna facilities extremely good - not all guests are entitled to use the facility. Front Desk and Concierge extremely good service. Nice food at the Teppan Yaki Restaurant. Good food at the neighbourhood and convenient to travel around Taoyuan. Near the airport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection, focus on Chinese food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Break fast does not have the Vegetarian options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast limited - need fresh eggs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rock hard Asian beds... Room Carpet was pretty nasty too.

    Excellent SPA! The breakfast buffet is AMAZING! Then Manager was super helpful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this was listed as a 5 star hotel. Don't think so. As I recall the toilet was old and certainly had not washlet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had construction work outside the hotel which I could hear from my room.

    Liked the free wifi & location away from the busyness of town

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't good

    The room smelled musty

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, run down and in need of renovation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old facilities

    Quiet near the airport, convenience in eating out

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet need to clean

    Location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff wasn't too helpful in finding local interests.

    Close to Taiyuan city centre and close to airport. I was there for transit.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the food selections. I'm and American the lives in Okinawa, Japan so I have a wide range of tastes. However, the food offered was great, it just didn't satisfy any need I had. Good in its own right but my wife and I were left needing more. An accurate description of all the food being offered on Room Service could also help with the problem so that a person could modify their order to be more personal.

    I loved their Facility and Pool. That pool was probably one of the coolest I've ever seen in a Hotel. We are interested in returning to Taiwan and will definitely be returning.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staffs were not very helpful, nor very friendly either. The shower door was leaking water everywhere. Not expected from a 5-start hotel in TW.

    The suite is very spacious. The beds are comfortable

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel cleanness is horrible the bathroom shower the bathroom sink the bathroom toilet is full of doo doo doo up for months and months very very on satisfied satisfied satisfied

    The staff are very nice people

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They did not have any heating system in the room. 4 star hotel and no heating system. After freezing and complaining they brought a portable radiator. It took at least an hour to heat up the room. Only 1 outlet. I wanted to charge my Cell phone and pc. Useless. This hotel should not be in booking.com website. The manager came and he disappeared afterwards. Such a waste of money and time. I asked to change my room they did not accept it.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the biggest reason I booked the hotel was the indoor swimming pool and my son loves swimming pool. However, kids under 16 is not allowed to use the it. the reason given was that it was for business(I have also been to other business hotels and they were fine with my son using the pool). I guess I won't visit the hotel again until my son is 16 (this probably means I will never visit the hotel again). they should remark this in the facility so people with kids loving the swimming pool won't mistakenly book the hotel. the staff were mostly fine but there were some never looking at me when talking to me. I felt insulted when that happened.

    with the new highway interchange being 2 minutes away, time to Taipei is a lot decreased. Staff are mostly friendly. room is very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception was very helpful, they even went with me to a shop outside of the hotel in order to assist me with puchase of a ticket for the high speed train. Also nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dont follow our breakfast agreement and room agreements. Charge breakfast fee as not per booking com said, Same room treatment even though we paid two different rates for each room. Not agreeing booking agreed to me.

    None

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room had a bit of black mould around the bath.

    Great hotel, very courteous staff. We booked for 1 night to break up our connecting flight 36 hours later. We didn't want to pay for 2 nights as we were only extending by extra 6 hours.Hotel were accommodating and we negotiated a reasonable fee rather than pay the extra night.Great facilities, gym, Suana etc.Big mall a taxi ride away. Taxi from airport was £10 15 mins from airport.Good strong wifi signal in bedrooms.breakfast was so so but ok

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel is actually very nice, but needs to be renovated.

    Excellent breakfast selection. Convenient location, if you have to do business in both Taipei and Hsinchu. Rather close to the airport.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needed more food choice. Disapointted with lack of menu in lounge bar and buffet was to much the same every day as was breakfast. No variety.

    Good hotel for the price with great staff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not that I don't like, but some of the breakfast buffet staff needs language comprehension improvements, though they are still diligent and helpful. No complaints. ✴️✴️✴️No shuttle bus!!!!!✴️✴️✴️ If they want transit pax, shuttle bus or anything to substitute would be a must.✴️✴️✴️

    Swimming pool facilities very good. Staff gentle and helpful. We used to stay in Novotel, but we think this is somewhere we prefer to stay when we need a hotel near CKS airport six to eight times a year. I forgot to make photos to show off, I only made this photo to record what I ate. The buffet is good in variations and options. My photo didn't do the justice, but it seems I couldn't take away, after once I upload.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some furniture needs to be replaced (old with very obvious signs of usage). I asked for a none smoking room but the guest before me obviously smoked in this room. Walls seem to be rather thin (can hear what the guests in the next room say) and through a door in the room, which can can connect it to the next room, strong smoke from cigarettes smell came into my room. Air conditioner heating system did not work (just cooling).

    Location for business between Hsinchu and Taipei is very convenient. Breakfast is very good. Hotel is also quite close to the airport and you can go to or from there easily and quickly. You can find everything you need near by the hotel. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room light ( dark )

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    room rate a little high

    bed is good

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No pool for kids, no heater in the room

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

    5 star at low price

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is very friend and helpful. Smile is always on their face

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacking quality, freshness, and overall taste

    Breakfast needs improvement

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Big hotel with great facilities. Strongly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility and staft was helpful

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    big room, nice SPA, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good spa and swimming pool. Good breakfast. Not far fro the airport.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff iin the swimming pool need to learn english to be communicated

    House keeping and front desk services

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no bus service to the hotel as advertised. Had to take a cab to hotel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Surrounding area is devoid of interest.

    Proximity to airport & HSR station Staff attitude and professionalism

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are clean and are soundproof. Breakfast really good for the price. Staff speak English.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Taxi directions wrongly copied by device desk

    Up market

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom facilities not brand new good enough. Water flow way small

    Services good and employees very friendly

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Monarch Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: