Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Tanzania hotel reviews
  3. Tanzania hotel reviews
  4. Nungwi hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi

Reviews of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi 4 stars

Nungwi Village, Nungwi, Tanzania

#19 of 75 hotels in Nungwi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 769 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2019

    7.9
    Very enjoyable .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the steps getting into the pool. I would’ve preferred full concrete steps I have a hip and knee surgery and find stepladders getting in an out of pools difficult

    The staff.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2019

    7.9
    very hospitable and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the beach is full of sea weed (not the hotel fault) and there is no real beach. the desert are not the strong side of the meal

    the stuff was amazing, always smiling and helpful, the food was very nice, and the room where very clean.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional with 5 star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was a bit slow in the windy days.

    The staff at the reception, guest relation, concerige, restaurant and housekeeping are very friendly, smiling, approaching, and helpful. Especially Zena from the guest relation, her service is exceptionally attentive into details and caring. Besides, there are a lot option for good quality food with reasonable price. They provide daily turndown services with 2 big and 2 small bottles of water in room. We highly recommend you to stay and we would definitely like to come back again :)

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2019

    7.5
    Hotel has lack of honesty. Otherwise a good but not so special stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -The bathrooms/showers are a real mess to use, because they do not have any partition and the water spills all over the floor. The hotel can remedy this by simply installing a glass/plastic divider. -The breakfast menu gets repetitive and after a week i was just yearning to eat something other than eggs, same old sausages and oatmeal. - The staff is OK, but not personal enough, it feels like just another hotel chain, not a true zanzibari experience - My biggest grouse has to be a COMPLETE LACK OF HONESTY from the hotel/staff while organising a 'Christmas Gala' in the hotel. They slipped us all personal invitations to a 'Gala' with allegedly amazing dinner courses and entertainment. However, they completely failed to mention that this would cost us a huge $38 per person. There was a 100% turnout of all hotel guests for the gala, because everyone thought it is free. However, they charged us the money quietly in the final bill settlement. Now ofcourse the staff will say the price was displayed ( on some obscure billboard ) or you could have enquired. However, this is not the same as openly STATING THE PRICE ON THE INVITATION COUPONS.

    -really nice room, with a gorgeous sea view. -the security guards do their best to stop touts/beach boys from entering the sunbeds area , thus avoiding a huge nuisance

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    8.8
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little over priced, rooms a little dated, need to be modernized.

    The most amazing service and friendly staff. Great beach. Big clean rooms. Great food for breakfast and dinner. View from restaurant was beautiful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    10
    Incredible service, perfect swimming beach, great food and drinks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend and I had the best experience during our stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful, especially Zena, Ayubu, and Paulina. The three of them made our stay really special because they provided exceptional service during the meals, and while we ordered food and drinks from our beach daybeds/cabana all day. Zena also helped us to get a spare bed in our room and she organised a birthday cake and the staff sang happy birthday to my friend, which was so special. We also thought the food and drinks were delicious, including the all inclusive drinks, which were top notch. The pool bar was also fun. We loved the comfy beach daybeds and huge sun umbrellas, and enjoyed having the swimming beach right at our fingertips. We took frequent dips in the ocean and did several amazing beach walks. We had no problem with mosquitoes or bugs, and overall highly recommend this hotel. The on-site dive shop is really convenient too.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    8.3
    Excellent stop over for 2 days between safaris
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 1/2 Hour drive from Airport

    Airconditioned room after one week Serengeti was great. Definitely get all inclusive it is well worth it not having to think about what you drink.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    7.5
    All inclusive is a rip off 🤣🤣 the managers are enjoying the bonus .. A.I but u can’t have this&...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok I don’t even know where to start ... the all inclusive is a rip off .. the hotel is great the people working are of low skills but very welcoming .. but the package A.I is just something else , u have several drinks u can’t have as it says after is not part of A.I .. if u decide to have a latte after lunch time u will be paying ( all inclusive ?!) and after 11 pm all the bars closed and 1 remains open but guess what is not part of A.I. .. the system is all wrong , they not used to A.I and is just not worth it , I seen as completely joke and actually spoke to many guests and they all said the same but bc no one complains after been there the hotels just put money in the pocket ..

    The cleanliness around is great , the food is not bad but for Hilton should be a better level .. one thing I found is they not used to complains they don’t react well to complains 😏..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    10
    Best hotel on the coast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel on the coast!!! Friendly staff, tasty food, beach under security, cozy rooms, live music! Everything was excellent! Highly recommend this place for stay!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    9.6
    Paradise in the north of Zanzibar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that we had to leave.! There is nothing else that we didn't like at this resort.

    We stayed at this resort over the Christmas period. You can stay here for days without leaving the resort. They have everything that you need. We had an all-inclusive package (which included Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Lunch Snacks and drinks from the bar throughout the day). There are two bars, one by the pool and one by the restaurant. the pool-bar (known as Dolphin bar) also provides snacks. The other bar on top of the restaurant has a pool-table and a few other activities for kids (darts etc.). Helpful staff, everyone was helpful, friendly and would always come during our meal-times to inquire if everything was ok. James the chef on live-cooking station would always have a huge smile on his face. Different dinner themes every-night, plenty of options, including for kids. Live music almost every other night. The view from the restaurant is just amazing. Enough beds by the pool-side, although if you are looking for one with a shade then you might have to wait. I prefer to stay out of the sun when I'm by the pool but I always found a place for me. Enough sun-beds by the sea side. Although there is no private beach area, the beach is just down a few steps from the resort. The reason I say not private is that anyone could use that beach and the moment you go down the steps you have all sort of beach-boys and girls selling their merchandise and services to you (but not a resort's fault), that's an issue all across Zanzibar. The massage was nice. They also have a few shops inside including a one for selling water-activities (Snorkelling, scuba diving, jet-ski). All the activities have prices that are either lower or competitive to the other shops in the region. Surprisingly there were no mosquitoes at all, not sure whether it was due to location (Nungwi) or Double Tree Nungwi, but either ways we had an amazing stay and would definitely go back. Thanks to all the staff at Double Tree (Nungwi) for making our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2018

    6.3
    If u need to relieve your stress than double tree is the kind of place you need to be..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had..had no Muslim shower

    Almost everything..the rooms..the food..the set up.. the environment..their customer service was excellent..overall I loved the experience

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant staff that served with a smile .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge was not maintained as the water was leaking for the first two days of stay . Need air fresheners in bathroom, Recommend glass door in showers, Fruits and salads were not fresh in restaurants, Telecommunications phone was not clear Need more solid sun beds not rope beds . These were not comfortable. Waiters should carry note pad and pencil as they forget the order.

    Air conditioning was working, mosquito nets were good, good selection of toiletries and teas /coffee , clean sheets .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    Perfect stuff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect stuff !! It was So ecxited to meet kind people like them, nice and pleasant They thouge about everything and have made our vacation to be amaizing

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and resort were fantastic, my only issue was, having to leave! Excellent service from the team, fresh seafood at the Fisherman’s Grill, dedicated staff to ensure you have a pleasant stay. The first time I’ve ever done an all-inclusive package and now I’ll look at doing them again. Guest relations put me in touch with a very reliable tour company for day excursions. Overall, very happy!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2018

    8.8
    Amazing! Would repeat 100 times!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety of food ok the buffet could be better. But the lovely staff make it up! They offered alternatives.

    Staff was amazing! We were able to help all the time! They were super worried about everything was good with us. Beaches were so good, safe place. Huge variety of drinks and cocktails. All inclusive was super worth it!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    6.7
    Despite the below mentioned problems we have to admit that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Normally we focus on local and small hotels, but this time we wanted to give us a little treat with our choice. Unfortunately it was a bit disappointing. What we got is not what we expected with regard to the room price and we are not nit-picky. But when you almost pay 1.000 Euro for a week (room and breakfast) and find yourself in an extreme moldy, evil-smelling room it leaves some questionmarks in your eyes. The furniture has seen its best time a couple of years ago, with missing knobs on the cupboard, a not closing wardrobe and you better not look for further details like coat of paint and so. Once we complained twice we got offered to change our room. The reception was pretending they don´t know such an odor problem, but afterwards when we read through other comments it seems to be quite a well known problem since years. The odor in the new room was bearable but not vanished totally. We found the comment of the assistant a bit cheeky to wait until we have checked everything in the room if we are NOW happy. The reception offers a money exchange. This seems not to work every day because of a lack of local money? (right, another questionmark) After the third attempt on the third day to change 50 Euro! I was finally successful. Overall the service and staff was a mixture of naturally friendly, trained friendly and a bit pushy when it comes to the service at the beach and pool area. I think the full potential of service is definitely not tapped yet and the rooms really need an rework. I think for this price and the name “Hilton” the overall experience it is not acceptable.

    Despite the below mentioned problems we have to admit that the location is really nice, with the beach and the lush garden. The breakfast was very good as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nicenad helpful staff especialy Paul and Anna for organize our unforgetable wedding, thank you again!!! Also very tasty food. We will be back for anniversary.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and baverage from the hotel was below average ! No matter what kind of good, it wasn’t what we excpected at all! Very disappointed for a Hilton 4 stars ! The cocktails were not tasty and sweet...the manager of the hotel isn’t trained to managed a double tree by Hilton , especially for food and beverages ! After talking to him , he told us that only 10% of the customers were complaining about the food ! What does that exactly mean ?! We travel all around the world thouthrough the year as we are cabin crew so we know what we are talking about ! I will never recommend this hotel to any of my friend or family member !...we also received bills with no prices written on it ! So basically you do sign but you do not know for how much ! Never seen that in my life really!and when you do ask them to bring you a bill with a price written on it they seem to be very bothered ! We also noticed that for the same drink , different prices applies ! The organisation is rather bad! For 800 dollars per pax 7 nights, it’s not up to standard...

    Clean hotel, nice pool well maintain, nice beach and nice restaurants near by.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    8.3
    The staff were great, always smiling, friendly, and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The gym was so so. The windows are kept open with the lights on so there are mosquitos all the time. The treadmill was not working most of the time.

    The staff were great, always smiling, friendly, and helpful. The food was very nice. Sufficient healthy options. Good quality, great taste and diversity.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2018

    9.6
    Great views, location and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roads through the village to enter the resort were a bit under developed so makes for a very bumpy ride.

    Most comfortable beds ever! Friendly staff Beautiful location and views Great value

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.6
    Cosy spot for a romantic get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort isn't that big, but it really has everything you need: the basics such as the private beach, pool, restaurant and bars, but also a small gym, massages, three souvenir shops, a dive center and even an escape game! The rooms are big and clean and the staff are really nice. The buffet dinner is fine, not a very large variety, but fresh produce and a different theme every night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful sunset in Nungwi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    African evening with live band and dances was amazing. Offcourse its not every evening, but if you are lucky, you can paricipate in event like that. Closu to everything in Nungwi. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view room had a disappointing ‘sea’ view. Guest care was inconsistent and unreliable. And while the breakfast was good, disappointing that a 4-star accommodation would serve a buffet for lunch and dinner.

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Just what the stress doctor ordered 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave Perhaps the road leading up to the resort should be improved others may have issues with the nosie from a bar not connected to the hotel resort

    The staff at the resort were great treated us like good friends and went out of there way to please us and other guests the room we had was great with a view of the plot and sea

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Recommended! Just minor areas for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes margarin offered intead of normal butter (should not happen in Doubletree chain), cleaning service too loud in the morning when some people might want to sleep (at 7am), beach near the hotel not the nicest one in Nungwi

    Lovely pool and garden, very nice staff, good variety of food, clean rooms, very quite area (also at night)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, excellent food in the all inclusive deal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms don't have openable windows so there is sometimes smell of the wooden floor and furnitures

    Fantastic location, excellent food in the all inclusive deal, exceptional service by the hotel team

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful but felt unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beaches, which is why I went, are filled with broken glass (shards of glass sticking up in the sand, broken wine and beer bottles with the necks snapped off) and tons of garbage. I picked up glass from the sand when the tide went out and got into trouble by the security guards for doing it. The security guards called the manager to deal with me. I was asking myself, "what is happening?, shouldn't they want patrons to not be hurt?" Twilight zone. It became very confrontational with management. As a single traveller, I did not feel safe because of the security guards. I was told by management that they don't own the beach and wouldn't do anything about it. It was the beach immediately in front of the hotel. After I spoke with a manager about the dangers, I was told that they would clean the beach on a weekly basis (starting the day after I left). I hope that's true. It's a beautiful part of the world but I'd hate for someone to get hurt. Wish they offered exercise classes in their pools, or yoga, etc. There isn't a lot to do during the day.

    The hotel and facilities are excellent. Very well maintained. The food was amazing. Absolutely no complaints.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Great facilities with a very nice beach in front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was kind of slow to help, seemed too puzzled by simple requests (exception for the one carried the bags, he deserved the biggest tip ever). Candle light dinner is a waste of money - food is just okay, experience is just acceptable, while the price is very high.

    Great facilities with a very nice beach in front. Varied breakfast. Best rooms in Zanzibar. Very nice pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so welcoming on our arrival, plus we got upgraded to one of the best rooms in the hotel with breathtaking views of the ocean from our balcony. All staff including cleaners, garden staff and others were very friendly and always greeted us. The food at both Nungwi and Fishermans Grill were exceptional. Drinks were great too. Beer selection was great and the cocktails were fruity and strong! Our only regret is that we couldnt stay longer! Thankyou to all the staff for such a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had plumbing problem in our bathroom. Floor would be flooded for hours after a shower, literally had to out down all the towels on the floor to prevent our feet getting soaked.

    Location was amazing with a beautiful beach. Staff were the best thing about the hotel. Everyone was so joyful and helpful. We absolutely LOVED the welcoming cookie.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Paradise view and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    If you looking for the best view, sunsets and a paradise to relax and excellent personal service, Double Tree is the place to stay! Big shout out to Anna, the front desk, cleaning, restaurant and pool bar staff for always going the extra mile, always providing excellent customer service with a smile!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Adeguate to Hilton expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a resort, around it there is nothing. No way to move out from the resort without a taxi. If you book the taxi from the reception (to the airport for example) the cost for the service is 3 time more .

    The stuff, the position, the structure itself is adeguate to the Hilton style. Particular mention is for the stuff, that understand that you are in vacation and are always very kind and available.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    For South African’s, the dollar based price for the all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For South African’s, the dollar based price for the all inclusive was a bit high in relation to the quality of food served. The buffets are average and sometimes bordering on poor. On the other hand the food at Fisherman’s Grill ( restaurant at the hotel) was excellent. This is a pay menu, but they offer you a discount of 20%. My recommendation is to take the breakfast option only and choose the nights you may want to eat of the buffet. Drinks maybe a bit pricey but overall I think you will square off. Too the left of the hotel, there are many many bars , restaurants and the most beautiful white sand beaches. (Walking distance and safe)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Good Building, Bad Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Staff treat us as s*** when we took of the All Inclusive Bracelet at 12:00 the day we left, we where leaving at 17:00 and they started charging even for breathing. While the first day we arrive at night and dint use the all inclusive service at all. Its supposed to be guaranted by the Hlton Brand, but this service was like an Ibis. I was expecting a better treatment, you cant wait 30 min to have your drinks while you are having lunch / dinner. We had to ask twice to change our bathroom towels, they get them dirty from the floor and back again to place... quite disgusting. The Beach at times has no shore, others a little bit, but is not shown in the hotel photos.

    The Hotel, as a Resort is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, amazing facilities, staff were polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival there was a giant cockroach in our room. We spotted a few during our stay. The place could do with being fumigated to remove the unwanted pests

    Great location, amazing facilities, staff were polite. Thumbs up for Martin Mtuta at the restaurant. Very humble and polite.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    We spent our honeymoon in the hotel and got some extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road is very bad in the village but it is not the hotel’s mistake. Furthermore, be careful with the beachboys they want to sell you everything, but the security guys protect the turists in the hotel’s beach, so no worries, you just need to say a strong no to them.

    We spent our honeymoon in the hotel and got some extra benefits because of this like massage and private dinner on the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they were always asking how they could make our staying more comfortable, although it was even perfect and the whole hotel is amazing. The beach is also beautiful with blue water and white sand. Definitely recommended place. The room is clean and there were different flowers on the bed every day. The food is also varied and a lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for relax, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft bed and pillows, really uncomfortable specially for people with backproblems. Location at a beach with tides. We recomend anyway to swimm 5 min walk on the left beachside with beautifull beaches (but well swimmable at high tide at the hotel-front). Sweets and pancackes weren't delicious, they should work on it.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Poolview where you can see also the ocean. Good food, specially the meat and barbecue. Nice lifemusic. You habe everything you need in the rooms. Very relaxing quiet place and beachfront. Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    ALL the staff are super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mosquitos and the food wasn’t the best.

    ALL the staff are super friendly and helpful. They remember you, greet you by name and always have a nice chat. Choosing the all inclusive package is amazing because the bartenders are really good at cocktails.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    How do you get something out of a staff member besides asking...5 times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked 5 times for minibar to be filled even expressed my frustration at having to ask 4 timws snd insisted it was filled immediately as per the terms on our all inclusive stay. Needless to say we had to drink salty tapwater in the nighttime. Wont be back in a hurry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful location to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking a little luxury (paint spats in the bathroom, basic toiletries), sometimes hard to get waitstaffs attention at the beach, all inclusive cocktails could be more refined with less sugar.

    Beautiful views, nice private beach, relaxed atmosphere, all food very tasty with good variety. Live music was nice to have and not imposing on your meal. Would recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.8
    Our stay at the Hilton was not at the level of Hilton Doubletree. Just reached a three star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food lacked variety, and quality was variable. Construction was ongoing the whole of our stay, noisy and disruptive.

    Room was reasonably spacious. Bar at beach was pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with a lovely outside area, but inside needs some work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to change rooms as our original room smelt very badly of mould and we saw cockroaches in the bathroom. There are also no shower curtains in any of the rooms so the bathroom gets soaked every time someone uses the shower. Breakfast should have been better for the price - all of the premade dishes were pretty horrible, the only nice things were the omelettes made fresh in front of you.

    Lovely staff (especially at the pool bar!) and comfy beds. The pool and beach are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    If there’s Heaven on Earth, this is it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bumpy roads lead through the village to the resort.

    An amazing location on the northern beach, with serene scenes of fishermen and their boats, sunrises and sunsets, great atmosphere, great food, the perfect vacation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.9
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room old. The variety of food just normal but good. The tide but it is not hotel’s fault of course.

    The kindness of the workers there always available to my request.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice place but not quite Hilton standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the food and drinks was not at a standard to be expected taken the payment for all inclusive into account There was smell of sewage in the bathrooms at both rooms we stayed. To much noise and loud music in the restaurant.

    The staff was freindly and professional. The recreational area around the pool and near the beach was nice, clean and well equiped. Super arrangement with dinner outside with a very skilled live band.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    BEST BEACH ESCAPE EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect vacation spot to unwind and chill. So clean and lovely. We'll for sure return for our next vacation. Great staff from start to finish and just such a nice beach with lovely places to walk nearby. THANK YOU Anna and team for a memorable vacation. If you visit Zanzibar be sure to stay at Double Tree, Hilton, Nungwi.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, services and good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we ordered drinks at the beach we were given bills to sign and they were put on the room. The bad thing was that at check out we weren’t given these signed bills in order to check if they were correct or not. Basically we payed some money and we couldn’t check what they were for (type of drink/food and the price). My recommendation is for the customers to pay these bills at the end of each day and not leave it until checkout.

    The hotel was very clean, really exceed my expectations. The restaurant a bit pricy and lacked variety. The breakfast was pretty good. The serving and the staff were very slow (but i guess this is a common/usual thing in zanzibar).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but not the beast beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a good buffet. Just a walking distant from the hotel there are different restaurants with good food. The beach in front the hotel is not very nice compared with the near beaches. If you are going to stay in the hotel do the Mnemba one day tour, you can booked with any local guy at the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Impressive hotel and location but the gym and rooms need improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms, the gym and the roads!!!

    Our room (114) was damp. Certainly the bathroom was. Overall though it's a great location, good staff, good food and nice facilities. The gym is poor and outdated though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.2
    Stay away from Double tree and save money with a better deal in a similar local hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "all inclusive" package has alot of limitations, for example, I cannot eat anything between 10:00-13:00 and 16:00-19:00 without extra charge, the restaurant they have all the events and show the world Cup was not included in all inclusive, the staff is not helpful at all, especially the rude staff at the pool bar who managed to mess up my order on all 3 days of my trip and really need basic manners training like giving a clear answer to a question instead of laughing it off, there is no co-ordination between the on site services within the hotel and the reception, I went to the reception for help 3 different times, my problem just got worse each time. Never going to stay here again. They are only surviving because of the brand.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit musty. I got a call very early in the morning from the reception for no reason. For the first time in so many bookings, I had to wait for the check in time. Quite disappointing that this happened in a Hilton chain.

    Super comfortable, clean and quiet. The staff was incredibly polite and welcoming. It is situated right in front of a the beach and there are plenty of activities to do in a tourist office right next to the hotel. The cocktails were also delicious. Had a nice massage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    Amazing location amazing beach and great breakfast, but not the cleanest hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location amazing view and great breakfast, but not the cleanest hotel i have ever been in to.. maybe because people are so chill on this island

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Spectacular location on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight criticism was on the African theme night the volume from the band was too loud. We could not hear each other in the restaurant or what the staff were saying to us. The music was great but just too loud.

    Spectacular location on the beach. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Food was good also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor Wifi connection. Kept losing connection through my devices and have to re enter password. Had to keep exchanging my keycard to my room because it was not working. Did about 3 times during my stay. The beach could be cleaner. Lots of dirt being washed up onto shore. The hotels should in the area should assist with road development and beach cleanliness.

    Extremely friendly staff who were very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    5.8
    Need to improve the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not smell good and the furniture in the room looked very old. The room was so dark. We changed the room and still the new room had a very strong smell.

    The facility was very nice. The restaurant on the beach had a very good view. Food is good at a very good price. The staff were very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff was kind and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food should have a marketing promotion strategy to attract guests in buying the packages.. The beach is not connected with the property

    Staff was kind and nice.. Hotel was Quite and relaxing.. Breakfast was totally worthy and delicious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    The restaurant buffet had a good variety of food and they...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were humid when going to sleep. But I guess there’s nothing the hotel can do even though they advice you to leave the A/C on at 24C.

    The restaurant buffet had a good variety of food and they would hold different themes every night. I was during Mexican and Arabic food nights. There’s shisha in the hotel bar by the ocean (there is no beach per say, given the tides’ nature is direct access to the water)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    It was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old needs refurbishing the sink was flooded with water, the rooms weren’t sprayed with bug spray in the evening... the staff slow at responding and service was poor. The rooms need refurbishing

    The beach was beautiful and scents to die for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    We loved it and cannot wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If i had to nitpick i would ask for a wider range of cocktails and spirits to be included on the all inclusive package.

    Staff welcoming and attentive, no request too big or small. Beds very comfortable and rooms are a large size. Good variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner (we opted for all inclusive). The beach backs on to the resort and is teaming with marine life, absolutely incredible and un-spoilt. Do not overlook Zanzibar as a holiday destination – we loved it and cannot wait to return. Locals are very kind and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff is so lovely. They made the place extra special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The African food was much nicer. It would be great to offer just that with more variety. More variety for breakfast, eg savory mince, poached eggs, salmon fish etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    2.5
    COCKORAHES
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were at the Double Tree on April 24 and 25, 2018. During the second night, I opened the refrigerator and there were lots of cockroaches around. We called maintenance and came a person who threw a product to kill them. But during the night, I noticed something in the shoulder. It was a cockroach. I could not sleep because I have special terror to these bugs. I definitely do not recommend this hotel. In addition to this, the room does not have a bath or bidet, only a shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in Zanzibar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety in meal choices at the breakfast buffet would be a bonus...

    The beach and pool is amazing. Great view. The staff is super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    We like the bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Service is good but not excellent as another hotel, the food is not good and the beach it is not the best. Also you cant go down to the beach because there are like 20 African persons that don’t leave you alone.

    We like the bed! So confortable. Also the bar swimingpool and the artificial beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    I must come again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The resort location is awosome , a beachfront hotel with a very clean water and beach , staff are outstanding we just felt like home we extended our staying for more 5 nights because we loved the property , staff are eager for feedback and the response accordingly , front desk staff will make your stay enjoyable especially Caroline Ana Anatolia

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing weekend by the Indian Ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Approach roads to the property needs urgent repairs; even though it isn't the fault of the property; but it is certainly bound to impact the credibility of the property.

    Visited the property during rainy season; took the All-Inclusive option which i will recommend; there are some nice restaurants nearby as well and Mnarani Turtle conservation ponds are just walking distance away; with local artists showcasing their art in beach side huts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel itself have a really nice view and okay beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was far from the city and the road from Nungwi village to the hotel is abysmal, which affect your travel to Stone Town. The hotel couldn't provide umbrella for guests during our stay, which was raining for the whole week (we have to walk in the rain from our room to the dining hall for the entire duration of our stay). Although there are securities in the hotel premises, they can't really help prevent guests from being approached by the beach boys.

    The hotel itself have a really nice view and okay beach (during the low tide). The staffs are friendly and attentive (esp. Anatolia, who helped us during our stay). However, information provided by the staff regarding activities (ie. Sunset cruise, snorkeling, guided tour to the city) is different, according to who you asked.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Great stay to just relax and get away..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool closes at 7pm at night which was abit disappointin. Resort restaurant service was abit slow in terms of waiting time.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. The resort Was always willing to make your stay a pleasurable one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    I like the closeness to the beach, the cleanliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we lodged in had issues with the air conditioning, the bathroom roof and TV but the hotel staff noticed this promptly and upgraded us. There was complimentary 'apology' in the problematic room as well as complimentary 'welcome' in the upgraded room. Also the price for tourist events was on the high side in the hotel compared to what you get from the locals.

    I like the closeness to the beach, the cleanliness of the facility, the friendliness of the staff and the amazing welcome surprise on arrival, cause the journey from the airport to the hotel was a long one☺️☺️

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    2.9
    would NEVER go again and will definately NOT recommend to anyone! TOTAL waste of money and a disaste
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road to the hotel is shameful, the room was shoddy and well below the expected standards of Hilton, The room was dingy and dark; bathroom had water leakages, bath towels were wet and damp.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.0
    Wish I paid 1/3 of the price for somewhere nicer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is dated, buffets of food were limited and repetitive, staff were rude, all inclusive menu of cocktails was limited, too expensive for what we got.

    Liked the fisherman’s bar but it was not included in all inclusive

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very polite and they made our stay in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a little bit smelly and moisture is visible on the walls. We did not spend much time in the room so that was not a problem for us. We asked for a taxi from airport to the hotel and they offered it for 70$. We knew that it's a little bit more then usual prices but we did not want to bother with that after the long flight. On the end driver did not pick up us so we took the first available taxi on the airport.

    The staff was very polite and they made our stay in the hotel very pleasant. Food is very good and tasty. We booked a bad and breakfast but there was a option to upgrade to half board for 20$ per person. Wifi is ok and connection is fine even on the beach. Prices on the pool bar and on the beach are acceptable. A la carte restaurant does not offer much options but the food is good, especially fish. I would recommend this hotel just because the staff and how do they treat the guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    Most facilities good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Most facilities good. Some staff were great but many just far too slow and apparently un-fussed about us! Perhaps a culture thing as this was reflected across many places where we went to eat but generally customer service poor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful location, great resort, gym could do with updating as well as the disabled facilites, wond
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Needs to improve disabled facilities - in the bathroom and at the front entrance

    Beds were very comfortable and a beautiful location. Staff were great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - road to hotel, between main road and hotel - there is almost no road - after 11 p.m. there is nothing to do, hotel bars are closed - more diversity in meals, especially breakfast, more see food expensive hotel taxis e.g. hotel-airport 70$, real practice with the same quality is 40-50$ (local drivers)

    - friendly staff - good quality of facilities (rooms, swimming pool, beaches)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall exceeded our expectations. Rate was very high but to be expected at high season time of year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room definitely a bit scruffy. Cleaning staff did excellent work each day but room decor is in need of repair/refurbishment.

    Staff were all extremely friendly. Layout of resort very convenient and efficient, easy to get everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Zanzibar - Nungwi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: