Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Tanzania hotel reviews
  3. Dar es Salaam hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of ShaMooL Hotel

Reviews of ShaMooL Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Sinza, Block E, Matatiele Rd, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

#54 of 95 hotels in Dar es Salaam

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 85 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    10
    Good hotel, when using Ubungo Bus Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was ok. I just wished it was closer to Ubungo and the main street where the buses pass.

    I was arriving lat in the evening, from Mwanza, with a bus at Ubungo bus station and I wanted something close to the station. It turned out we arrived at 12.30 at night. The location in maps.me, was wrong, showing it next to the university. I took a boda boda, and he knew where it was. I paid 5000. Considering the time ..it was ok. Its good to say Sinza, as the area is called and they will know. Its easy to go in town with dala dalas. You just have to go to the main road, and one will come. I took the ons to Posta, and they leave in from of Posta. Also you always find a place, because they are at the start of the journey. I walked to the mall, I forgot what is called .Mimimalini ..something. And from there its not long to Mwenze, craft market. Also the Village museum is not very far. I did not get to visit it, because I thought its closer t Mwenze. Overall the hotel was excellent, as a transit hotel when coming to Ubungo. But you still have to get a taxi or boda, as its to far away to walk. The room was clean, there was mosquito net, the staff was great and the breakfast was plenty. Also the location seemed safe, even though it loked more like a village with a lot of upaved roads.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.9
    I recommend for this hotel and hope to visit again near future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staffs were friendly and the hotel in general was good.

    The hotel was very nice.location was ok.I enjoyed my stay for two days.only the dinner was taking long due to the cook since he was alone in the kitchen.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    7.5
    air conditioner was strong enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bad location there is a church nearby so you can hear praying all the time chicken cries at very early morning

    air conditioner was strong enough. clean bathroom and room friendly reception

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    8.8
    I really loved the rooms, really clean and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location wasnt the greatest, it was basically in the middle of nowhere down some pretty bumpy roads. But it was only 15 minutes from the bus terminal, so still a good place to stay if your goal is leaving early to catch a bus. Also no balcony was a downside.

    I really loved the rooms, really clean and big. Really good AC and fan. The beds were MASSIVE and super comfy. Thd eating outside area is really airy and nice and I really enjoyed relaxing there. Thd staff was reall nice, helped me immediately and without complaint when I locked myself out of my room, and there was even somewhere there at 4:45am in the morning at the desk and the gate to see me off and it made me feel really safe. Definitely would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    6.3
    Next time it will be another place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad dinner. We had long way from Mtwara, so we had late dinner at about 11 o'clock in the evening. We had wonderful chicken sizzler with not fresh salad. We noticed that only when we tried it... Result: food poisoning. We had stayed in this hotel before, and that experience was pretty good. This time we took cheaper room (just 3 dollars cheaper) and the room was much worse: dirty sheet, stinking pillows, furniture is too big for such a small room

    Breakfast. We have been traveling in Tanzania for more that 1 month. And it was the best breakfast: besides usual eggs, tosts, tea and juice there was salad, fried banana, potato, etc.But we couldn't enjoy it in full measure... Good location for those who want to stay near Ubongo bus station.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.6
    I give 5 starts to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To my friend the personal confused the room and entered in his room at 7am when he was in the room. It was not normal. They apologised for that. It didn't happen to me. For me everything was almost perfect.

    The good service, the excellent breakfast and the attention of the personal. The personal is young and very welcoming. They were 100% available for the customers. I came back happy.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    7.9
    It is a good for those who want to stay in a cheap place near Ubongo bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had really early check-out (5 o'clock). And in the evening administrator assured us that they would give a box with breakfast. But they didn't keep their promise. Also we had problem with finding the hotel. The real location is here (GPS): -6.783749, 39.226342 In confirmation letter I got another address. This GPS: -6.784164, 39.207565. So first time we came to the wrong place. We had a long way from Mikumi (6hours). So we were tired and getting to the wrong place made us really upset. Real location of the hotel is not very pleasent place. Also there was no Internet. Admin told us that was because of the Christmas.

    Bed was really fantastic!!! We slept like on a cloud. It was so comfortable! Everything was clean and tidy. Good food in a restaurant. Delicious and cheap. There are lots of places to buy fruits near the hotel. And Ubongo bus station is just 2-3 km away.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    5.4
    I can't say anything stood out for me at the place really
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. I didn't like the fact that the WiFi wasn't working even though they gave me two options. 2. Paid for By&B but the breakfast was really not value for the money 3. On Booking.com I was to be charged $23 but when I got there they charged us $25 even after showing them the confirmation message 4. Beddings weren't the cleanest 5. Room hadn't been properly cleaned for the next clients

    I can't say anything stood out for me at the place really

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.3
    Quite bearable all things considered.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room allocated to me was not clean nor comfortable. I had to be moved to another whose air conditioning was faulty.

    The reception staff were very friendly and the kitchen always had fresh food. No leftovers served at the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    Close to Ubungo bus station - perfect for morning trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast for sure. More TV channels in the TV also would be great. Also, try to not throw away the toothbrushes after one stay, cause it's not so ecological.

    Close to Ubungo bus terminal (30 minutes by foot or 5 minutes by taxi), to restaurants and mini shops. Quite by night and felt safe in the night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    10
    They are very nice and kind .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The AC works well but drops lots of water during the night that's all that needs fixing

    They are very nice and kind .. would love to visit during my next visit

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Splendid experience!
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I feel it would be nice if there are (more) variations in the accessible television stations. This would be especially nice since some of us, for instance, may not be football fans. But after the live football matches, the swap to movie stations were always perfect.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and my room was always tidy when I returned! The location of the hotel was also perfect for me as I could easily reach the University of Dar es Salaam where I was attending a conference. The hotel will almost certainly be my first stop when next I am in Dar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    The hotel is excellent and indeed value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The room is a bit small.

    The hotel is excellent and indeed value for money. It might seem far from the city center as defined by where the Askari Monument and the Posta (the main post office) are, but a simple cab (which the hotel can help arrange) or Uber ride can get you there in no time. The hotel is a ten-minute drive (or on the bajiji) from Mlimani City, the largest air-conditioned shopping mall in Tanzania, where you can buy daily necessities or have afternoon tea. ATMs are in abundance at the mall. The hotel restaurant is superb; there is not a single dish that had not exceeded my expectations--try especially the chicken and fish items! Most of the hotel staff can speak fluent or at least comprehensible English. The hotel also offers affordable laundry services. My room is clean and equipped with a mosquito net around the bed, but throughout my two-week stay, I had not seen a single mosquito in the room. Airport shuttle, breakfast, and hot shower are available. In short, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Try to learn a few basic Swahili words before coming--the smile and appreciation of the locals are priceless.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Just 1 night, nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked by email a few days before getting there to arrange a taxi from the airport to the hotel to have a fixed price. They answered telling me it was 18$, and saying there was no need to book the taxi and we can just grab it ourself. Not really willing to help, and when we arrived at the taxi station in Dar es Salaam it was hard to negotiate, it was late in the night and we were tired so we finally paid 30$. They could arrange the transfer to make it easier.

    Stayed there for one night just to transit from Dar es Salaam to Zanzibar. Arrived late in the night et leaved early in the morning. About 30-40 minutes from the airport (in the night with less traffic jam). Breakfast was just ok. AC was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.6
    Serviceminded staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Serviceminded staff.Very good bed and excellent food at resturant.In a safe and quiet area of Dar es Salaam.All in all,I can recommend this hotel for others.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    Transit - clean, comfy and too cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please... the air con had no remote, so it was either 18 degrees or off. Cold or stuffy. Take your pick.

    This is a cheap transit hotel when you have an early bus to catch. The rooms were so small. But it was only to sleep in. They made us a takeaway breakfast, as our bus left at 6.30am. The beds were comfy, it was clean, quiet and fit the purpose.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Do not stay here. In my opinion you are better off elsewhere. The rooms are extremely tiny and dirty. Also all fixtures and amenities are old. I don’t know how else to say it, but just don’t do it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Well worth the money.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the fixtures and fittings are a bit wobbly or in need of repair.

    The staff at this hotel are amazing and they really go out of their way to help guests with everything. And they are so smiley. We had a whole team help us with our ridiculous amount of luggage. Breakfast is brilliant! It varies every day, always a nutritious balance on offer and eggs fresh to order. Great chefs and freshly cooked proper meals available 24hrs a day, perfect after a long journey and late arrival. Dinner was delicious and specially made just as we like it - I have never had such good fish in Dar! (Including a lot of the fancy pants places on the waterside...) The hotel has a nice calm atmosphere. We enjoyed watching the football on the big screen and movies in our room and everything's pretty clean. A really good stay. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.6
    I like the staff because they stand when they see you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More about the food maybe because I love food

    I like the staff because they stand when they see you approaching. That is a sign of respect and honour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    The in-house staff team are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are limited meals to choose from, it is not easy communicating with the staff team because most of them do not understand English very well

    The in-house staff team are good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    7.9
    Short taxiride from ubongo terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very close to a big mosque, that woke us up every morning at 4.30 am. We only got 1 towel in the room to share. We told them that it should be 2 towels, 1 each, but nothing happened. It was a double room, but was equipped for 1 person. 1 towel, 1 water, 1 toothbrush. The restaurant does not serve alcohol. We were celebrating our national day, and wanted to enjoy our dinner with a glass of wine. If we had known about this earlier, we would have found another restaurant before returning back to the hotel.

    Short taxiride from ubongo terminal. Friendly staff. Good food. Great price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    5.4
    Deceiving location and no hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location on Booking.com shows it nearby the Ubungo Bus station and that's is why I chose it. But it is actually from from the station so I had to pay for a taxi to get there in the dark. The mosquito net wasn't hung properly so it was useless. The shower had no hot water in the morning. The restaurant had no change at dinner and the receptionist promised to get change and give it to me inte morning but it wasn't done. The taxi the reception got me was expensive.

    Price, soap and toothpaste provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2018

    7.5
    Its a very decent hotel for a couple of nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Its a very decent hotel for a couple of nights. Clean! Good value for money!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    7.1
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom on hot water

    In all very good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    7.9
    Value for money, good for business travellers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good breakfast with local foods always available Good parking Good location Hot shower

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible, hotel de passe, personnel pas du tout aidant

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.8
    Helpful staff and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi was not working on my floor

    Helpful staff and clean rooms

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    5.8
    Improve on the comfort of bed
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed comfort, size of the room and heat in the room..

    Restaurant

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Food

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.3
    Good location for a night stay near ubungo bus station
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was comfy. The shower nice and hot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.3
    It was fulfilling.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    low internet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy outside! Music stops around 2am and call-to-prayer starts about 4.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    I had a gud timr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Channel on television was not seen very well only one channel was seen clear and that was itv ze the rest nothing

    The room was marvellous and services

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location, care and good handling of the customers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    7.1
    My stay was great
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far from where i was going.

    The room was good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    6.3
    The food was delicious and healthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no hot water

    The food was delicious and healthy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel at dar es salaam (price and restaurant)
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location

    Foods (restaurant)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    5.8
    the facility needs to be upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the facility needs to be upgraded

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is cool and comfortable to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water supply system is poor

    The hotel is generally good but the road to the hotel is too rough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    6.3
    Passable hotel near ubungo bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cramped room, small bed, needs maintenance, poor wifi

    Restaurant was good, staff was helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Everything was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was awesome

    Stayed in May 2018

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!