Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Uganda hotel reviews
  3. Rubuguli hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Gorilla Safari Lodge

Reviews of Gorilla Safari Lodge This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, Rubuguli, Uganda

#2 of 2 hotels in Rubuguli

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 23 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    8.8
    The hotel helped us to obtain the permit and also arranged...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived late in the night, the reception was already closed and the dinner was not provided. But the staffs did the best they could do. We also constantly listened the voices of local people late in the night and we were afraid of the strong voices.

    The hotel helped us to obtain the permit and also arranged the transfer services. While it took time for them to response, we could obtain the permit and also enjoyed the travel between the airport and here. They also suggested us to change our travel plan and accommodated the change. Good support of the staffs, that we liked.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    6.3
    Nice place but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whereas the staff is really helpful we did not feel the same warmth as at all other places we stayed at in Uganda. Rosemary was the exception as she is a really warm person. Considering the high price we paid, we had expected more luxury and especially a higher standard restaurant. Food (breakfast and diner) was not meeting our expectation at all and the least of all places we stayed at in Uganda.

    Gorilla Safari Lodge is ideally situated near the Rushaga Gorilla Trekking meeting point. The drive to the Lodge is exciting, especially being on a self-drive holiday. The cottage is nice in a beautiful garden and cleanliness is OK. During diner, staff is placing briquettes in the chimney and hot water bags in bed. Might be good in cold climate, but temperatures reached 20+°C already without it...

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent place to do the Gorilla Treck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, lunch, and dinner were not as good as expected, but okay. Bathroom is open to the room, so not much privacy but ok for couple of days.

    Very nice place, friendly staff, located at the heart of the mountain (1h30 hour drive in the mountain from Kisoro airstrip, for an extra 50 dollars per way to be paid to the lodge), excellent to do the Gorilla Treck in Bwindi (booking and payment can be arranged directly with the lodge) Honestly, one of the most confortable beds we have ever tried. This was extremely appreciated. Advise: 1 day for arrival + visit of the local village. 1 day for the gorilla treck. next day departure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very professional and extremely helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Needs upgrade and the price but value is excessively low in comparison to others. Provide additional coal in rooms for fast burning coal. WiFi in rooms a critical mass for improvement. Food quality needs critical improvement.

    The staff were very professional and extremely helpful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to be happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Kein Strom

    We were staying here unfortunately just a short time but we loved this place so much that we would have loved to stay longer. The service is indescribable good and the food also ! Everything to be happy you can find here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent customer care and beautiful flowers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sockets not being in the room so charging has to be done in one central place by all residents. Road to the place can be improved considering that gorillas are a huge source of revenue for the country.

    First it is Ugandan owned and it's great that the service is excellent. The hot water bottles are thoughtful. The staff and owner are very friendly and meals are all covered in the cost.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    4.6
    Consider another lodge instead!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    So many problems! Do NOT arrange transport to/from the hotel with the hotel or Crystal Safaris. The car they arranged to pick us from the airport and bring us to the lodge broke down and the hotel took their time in assisting us to find another driver. For the first hour they called our driver and he kept saying 30 minutes, however based on what happened to the car we all knew including the mechanic it would take much longer. So the hotel did not bother trying to find another driver until we waited for two hours!! 3 hours later someone else took us. Even though the hotel was responsible for the transport they wanted me to pay the additional fee to get a new driver! Unbelievable! I had to speak with them a couple of times to remind them it was not our fault and we should not be charged extra. After the long delay we got to the hotel extremely late. We had confirmed with the hotel that we would arrive at 1am (per the drivers estimation). They promised they would leave food ready for us. We arrive and no food or tea was ready. They would have to make everything because the manager decided she would wait until we arrive. Thus, we had to go to bed hungry Because in order for them to give us food they would have to wake someone to cook and we had a 5am wake up call to get ready to see the gorillas. Then, the manager decides she will bring us to the closest rooms to the main lodge since it was so late and we had an early wake up call. When we saw the rooms, we realized this was not what we reserved. She told us she would put us in the rooms we actually paid for the following day. She wouldn't even get the key for our actual rooms! So, The rooms she put us in were tiny and uncomfortable but we had to go right to sleep. The next morning my friend asked the manager if we could receive some form of credit for the previous night since we were not put in our actual room (which was more expensive.) She immediately said no!

    Comfortable duvet cover Nice waiters and staff (not management)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crew is asking you about services in way it is not clear that you will have to pay for it. E.g - "what do you want for your packed lunch tomorrow?" (For the trek) We found out that "our" lunch costs 40$. So.. beware they are not giving you free sandwich, you will pay for it. The check out just ruined our experience from the hotel.

    Location is perfect. Crew is super friendly, helpful and provide very good service (but read the cons)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    10
    Top location for Bwindi visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing! The quality was beyond my expectations!

    Amazing staff, excellent service, very nice private lodges with super comfortable bed and wonderful views from the terrace. Make sure you book full board as there are no restaurants around. The food was very good and delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Best location, close to the Bwindi national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was a trickle, wouldn't be able to stay more than one night. Not value for money.

    Best location, close to the Bwindi national park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous food and hot water bottles tucked into bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi did not work well, though they tried very hard to resolve it

    Fabulous food and hot water bottles tucked into bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    Great experience! Walking distance to Gorilla trekking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is sometimes super fast, but at times, slow

    Hot water bags in our beds

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2015

    8.8
    eccellant, un tres agreeable lodge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    eccellant, un tres agreeable lodge.

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: