Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Renaissance New York Hotel 57 4 stars

130 East 57th Street, Midtown East, New York, NY 10022, USA

#264 of 415 hotels in New York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are extremely dated and in good need of a serious overhaul, the bathrooms were the only modernish part about the place. The Renaissance hotel chains pride themselves on being modern/chic hotels this hotel is not modern, nor chic! When you enter the foyer you are lulled into a false sense of security because as soon as you step off the lift at your allocated floor you are greeted by something that resembles a set from the Shinning!

    Location to everything in Manhattan was great, 2 blocks from the nearest subway in one direction and a couple of blocks east of 5th, but far enough away that it wasn’t over crowded. The staff were great and extremely helpful, courteous and polite but that’s about where the good parts of this hotel end!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic spot, fantastic staff, comfortable, and clean! We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed each one. This is the kind of place perfect for winding down after a busy day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all - be warned that they'll charge you for 5$ for a bottle of water although nothing is indicating this in the room. After paying almost 250 dollars for a night I was surprised to find an extra charge on my credit card. It took me a week of emails and twitter chase ups to actually get any information from them. Honestly for the price they charge one would expect great amenities and customer service - none of this is present. Also, be warned that you have to sign up to their rewards programme if you want free internet. Otherwise it's going to cost you around 18$ per day. Plenty of other great options in NY - no need to stay at this place.

    Location is great, rest is overrated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Additional 16+$ for the Wifi if you're not a Marriott Rewards member. Seriously? in 2018? I had to switch off the air conditioner because when it starts it's like to be on a jet plane, so noisy it is.

    Nice Hotel in an incredible position, in the heart of Midtown. The atmosphere is a little "old style", especially in the rooms, but everything is clean and working. the price was very good (I benefitted from a flash promotion).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the terrace outside our room. Great views. The staff were very helpful and responsive to any questions or needs we had. We plan to come back the next time we are in NYC. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is the worst I’ve seen in some time. Check in didn’t provide info in the hotel: breakfast available, services. Wifi is available at U$S 19 per day!!! No information in the hotel at room. The bar that once existed is no longer here because the lobby has been reduced in size. No pillow options. No “do not disturb” sign available at room so everyday, were waked up by the maid. Poor room amenities: bottled water at a cost but without a mini bar (room temperature). Poor air conditioning. If you are interested only in location and earn miles with marriot, this may be your place (there othet marriot available and you may be lucky with service there). At One point I felt that personnel has given up on service.

    The Location is great!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only had one bar of soap in the bathroom, which was a nice bathroom. Also, hardly any storage for clothes outside a tiny closet that already was stuffed with the safe box and other things. Also, no fridge or mini fridge, which annoyed me that I couldn't keep any beverages or snacks.

    Perfect location, reasonable price, value for the room. Not lux, not shotty- a good in between and bang for your buck. Since the fitness center was closed they gave me passes to the 24 hour fitness two blocks away, which I wish hotels would always do, as that was better than any hotel fitness center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for WiFi in rooms not great. Desk staff really unhelpful when asking for something printed (printer not working in hotel guest computer facility).

    Location great. Rooms pretty decent for the cost. Very clean and door staff/concierge really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 days after we came back, we were charged extra $10.89 out of the bill we got from the hotel without notification. Not sure what it was for.

    The hotel was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway too narrow. Not enough drawers for the clothes. Room too tiny for a queen size bed.

    The bed was very comfortable. Nice bathroom. Great location for the television.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super!!! Very kind and helpful. They all appeared to love their jobs..!! The room was very comfortable especially the bed. Lobby very relaxing, nice place to hang out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator noise was difficult to deal with. There was confusion about bed sizes at check in so we figured it out and I switched rooms with my son and his wife so that they would have a king size bed. I never saw a snack vending machine but maybe I missed it. I kept hitting the wooden base of the bed and so did my son and his wife. I have never experienced that in a Marriott.

    My bathroom was delightful. The location for our activities was terrific. The staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too pricy, too over-sold, too Complacent

    Promised free WiFi but didn’t deliver and the web site over-sells the quality of the rooms to a horrendous level. It’s not a terrible hotel, but it’s. $250 value, not the $450 paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very small and nothing like photo on website. Bathroom appeared to be recently refurbished however room was not very clean. We were delayed due to snow storm so room was booked last minute. Did not complain as was grateful to have a place to stay.

    location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    so noisy. a lot of renovation going on and one lift for entire building. check in on ground level and then a walk or lift ride to another lift to rooms. hallways and common areas very dark. room very small and with little useful storage. no free wifi.

    new bathroom, good water pressure. good sized TV

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having read the reviews beforehand, the Hotel lived met all our expectations. The staff were extremely helpful and Diana went the extra mile for me in sorting out a payment issue with my Bank, thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First and foremost, the pictures available on booking.com are far from realistic. After we've checked in, we were shocked that for the price we were paying the couch was stained and there was dust in the incredibly small closet. Second, we had to use the restroom right after checking in and we're grossed that almost every single time you'd flush the toilet, the toilet paper would just come back. Unless you flush the toilet 3-4 times, you'd end up with disintegrated paper floating around. Yuck. Third, the windows are incredibly small - I believe this might be a New York thing or maybe something specific to the neighborhood. However, they could at least make sure they're clean: besides the fact that they were small, it was highly disappointing not to be able to look out the window because of the large and old dust stains. We eventually tried to upgrade to a suite or a superior because we were unhappy with the room and bed size too (no, even as Europeans, the bed was just too small to be comfortable for two persons), but that wasn't possible since we apparently were in a Junior Suite and the more spacious rooms were unavailable during our 6 nights stay. Since we were informed there's no breakfast available (which is incorrect - it's only available for Gold Marriot Rewards members - or higher), we decided to buy some fruit to have for breakfast in our room. Unfortunately though, there's no fridge in the room. On top of that, even a lousy half-liter bottle of water is being charged for $5.00. I hoped there'd be a desk in the room as I was told. However, the desk is literally a small table embedded right within the wall-large closet, designed in the corner of the room. As you sit down at it, the chair's legs get blocked by the corner of the bed - that's how large the room was. Everything is just impossibly tight and narrow around the bed, and trying to get some work done at the desk is helpless.

    The location of the hotel is pretty good and the staff was incredibly helpful. However, this didn't make up for the hotel's poor facilities and overall disappointment we were left with once we checked in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the alarm clock going off in the room at 6am when I did not set it. Otherwise, no major complaints with this hotel.

    Very comfy bed, nice view, bathroom had good water pressure, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating system is quite noisy and has a huge overshoot. People on the hallway can be heard clearly as if they were standing in the room (pick a room far from the elevator).

    Very nice and spacious room, the bed is amazingly comfortable. The fitness room is sufficient (dumbbells, kettlebells and a dual pulley machine and a few running machines). The personnel is very attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had to go next door for breakfast while hotel restaurant was being renovated. It was fine. One morning of our stay the water for the shower wasn't very hot. Other days it was fine. Even 12 stories up, the traffic noise was pretty loud. Very confusing policy about Wi-Fi, whether we had to pay for it or not (we didn't). Staff helped, but it was hard to tell whether it was connected or not, and when it seemed to be, it didn't seem to be working very well.

    Very accommodating staff. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Very convenient location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no restaurant or food and drink service in the building The internet service returned an 'unsafe connection' error message

    Great location and excellent advice from staff during the check-in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was way too hight for what it offers. We usualy see higher levels of hotels in the Renaissance chain. The room was too small. The lights too dark. The smell of the cleaning products too strong.

    The crew was great. They received my snowboard bag before I got there ans stored it until I arrived. The comunication was gret too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setup was weird No inside restaurant to get coffee in the morning

    Nice size room and bathroom for NYC! It was actually quiet. Didn’t hear much noise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room when the fan wasn’t on The handle of the Tap leaking. Coffee was awful and machine dated The decoration in room dated The tiles in bathroom stained and dirty The A/C system loud, and temperamental

    The bed was comfy, Tv facilities were great and the bathroom was nice and big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation so there was no restaurant and there was timber boarding up in the lobby. Wi-Fi in the room is 16 dollars per day but reception were really helpful and gave us it complimery.

    The bed is really comfy and the bedding is nice and soft The staff were all helpful and polite

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant on site is closed as the hotel is going through pretty major renovations. Having an option to get coffee in the morning without going outside would be nice.

    Location was great, Wi-Fi in the lobby worked well, and the rooftop patio was an awesome surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t stay here, it’s not worth the money. I have been to New York a few times! You don’t need to do this one. It is trying to be something it just isn’t. The staff were unhelpful and a little rude. One of the receptionists LIED about putting us in a bigger room next to elevator that was switch off at night so didn’t make noise! Bed was tiny and loud ALL NIGHT. No free WiFi. No free water. Way too expensive! I could go on!

    Large bathroom and modern style.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I find it absurd, in the 21st century, a 300$ per night room not to include sone form of free internet. The hotel charges 15$ per day for internet. Room was relatively small and needed more closet space, and although the location was great, i don't think that it justifies the high price.

    Staff was great and friendly, location was ideal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No notification prior to booking that the hotel is undergoing renovation and therefore no restaurant or room service available No free WiFi in rooms Very dark in lobby areas No lift that goes direct from lobby to rooms No compensating touches like a voucher for drinks etc as a result of the renovations - bad customer service

    Rooms were clean, bed comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that prevented this hotel from getting a higher score was I wish Booking.com or the hotel communicated to us that there was NO FOOD on-site at all. We planned on eating in hotel restaurant and wanted room service for breakfast - and we could not even get a cup of coffee in the lobby because all food service was closed down due to renovations. This is a key thing that guests should be told in advance of their stay for planning purposes.

    Staff was excellent, very accomodating, very clean, rooms were updated comfortable and beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurant or bar (renovations) and movement about the hotel between lower level and main floor was confusing. Last -Major Concern"- is the signage on street level. I almost missed the hotel when arriving on foot, and my colleagues driving also missed it and had to come back around.

    Location was best advantage, clean was another

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is part way through a refurbishment which we didn’t realise when we booked.

    Great location for accessing Midtown, Central Park and all areas Downtown. Friendly staff helped us find our way around. We got a taxi there from JFK, but returned on the Subway and Airtrain which was much cheaper and no slower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what I was expecting. Felt like a 2 star or a BNB type place, not something that should be associated with a luxury brand. Also their restaurant was closed and the only bar they had was for Marriott VIPs.

    I chose this hotel for its proximity to my office (Bloomberg) so can’t fault that - it’s very close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was offered in Booking.com a junior suite with a sofa bed. Not a regular room with a roll on bed which hardly fit in the room

    The Manager called us in advanced to let us know the heater wasn't working, thus he was trying to find a room in another hotel.. At the end he was able to find us a room in the same hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    They're going through renovations. It'd have been nice to know prior to booking. There was no restaurant available at the hotel. Elevators are small and cramped and dated.

    Great location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction going on so zero amenities, request for two double beds was not granted. Staff was rude when questioned. Second class citizen because we didn't book directly with the property.

    room was clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking - It cost $56 dollares per day. It is 3 bloks from the hotel. If you move your car out of the parking you pay the full day.

    Location was great and the room very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was outdated and a bit rundown. It was clean but didn't seem like it because it was rundown

    The staff was nice and location convenient . Shampoo and soaps were good. Free water was nice. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible. For starters, there was a Murphy bed in the room. Absolutely zero closet space. Old worn out carpeting..,the list goes on and on. Only reason we didn't check out immediately was the $600 we had prepaid for this mess!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, excellent staff. Knowledgeable answers, and spot-on recommendations when asked about area restaurants. It's our second stay there, of many more!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double rooms booked were all singles. I was told 2 beds was only a "request" and not a reservation and that there was nothing that can be done because they did not have any rooms with 2 beds available and because the reservation was done through a third party. After, discussing if we should cancel all 3 rooms and find another hotel, they were able to find a room with 2 beds. Luckily, because some guests cancelled last minute, we were all comfortable with only one room with 2 beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in room 607 which backed onto the elevators. Every time someone used the lifts it sounded like luggage being rolled over the tiles in the bathroom. It was pretty loud so we were woken up a lot.

    Location is great. Quick walk to most major tourist areas. Staff are amazing and beds/pillows are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady that checked us in was very easy to speak to. She was extremely helpful and friendly. On checkout a different lady was very kind and helpful would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaky sink; switching elevators to get to rooms

    Nice bed; very clean room. The first room I had was near the elevators. I requested to change rooms and they immediately offered to change my room. The second room was much quieter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof terrace and bar were closed for renovations

    The room was quiet and the beds were comfy so perfect to recharge batteries Reasonably central to what we wanted to see and close to a subway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room doesn't have a fridge so we cooled drinks with an Ice bucket. Bought too much pizza thinking we could save it in the fridge for breakfast and had to throw the rest out. We thought the $5 water bottles were complementary because we were naive. Wifi was expensive so we sat in the bathroom to connect to the free lobby wifi.

    Nice clean room, really helpful and friendly staff. It was very quiet. Bed was very comfortable. It's a great location. We flew in really early without sleeping on the flight and they let me nap in the lobby while they prepared our room. Really good pizza around the corner. It was a quiet clean haven in a loud dirty city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant at the hotel so have to go out for breakfast but there's a great diner next door. Cleanliness wasn't great.

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have given this a better rating but the restaurant was under construction and the roof-top terrace was closed - neither was mentioned when I booked the reservation. Also the breakfast was only available to "VIP's" and the hotel put 2 waters in the room that we did not drink yet they charged us $10 on our bill for them. We asked for it to be removed. The room was nice and the staff was nice but this hotel is not much on hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was closed for renovation which we were not informed of when we booked and the bar was closed on weekends so the facilities were lacking.

    The staff were lovely and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. Water pressure sooo bad, it it indescribable. To take a shower it is a noghtmare. Plus, they don't even provide you with a shower gel mor any slippers. The closet is a joke, where EVERYTHING (irioning board, coffe maker, luggage rack, eyc) is stuffed inside.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free internet in room. Had to go to lobby Most hotels now have in room access Roof terrace was closed

    Good location, clean hotel and comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated and seems to be trying to update. Currently the rooftop terrace is unavailable and the restaurant is being renovated. The hotel is rated 4* but I would expect a higher standard for a 4* however I was happy with what I got as I paid a very very good price for the time of year I travelled.

    The hotel is very accessible to every part of New York. Biggest named shops (Bloomingdale's, 5th Ave, Madison Ave) only a couple of minutes walk. Location is really good and definate a high point of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reason I booked was because it offered a restaurant only to get there to find it had closed down. The bathroom looked as though it was rushed to be clean, still dirty.

    The location was great. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the lightining at room. even during the day, was really dark.

    the staff was really nice, the location was good. walk distance to pj clarks or bloomingdales

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival at 20:30 our room was still NOT ready!!! Thank goodness we had planned on going out for dinner and only got back at about 23:00. Our luggage was still in the hold - would have thought that seen as our room wasn't ready it would have already been taken to our room!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant advertised on premise had just shut down, the elevators didn't work very well, and the layout of the room was awkward. But staff was very friendly and the room and bathroom cleaned well. Price-worthy.

    Price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was barely awake when I arrived and the front desk person was very friendly and spoke slowly so I understood all the benefits the hotel has to offer. Even from an awake person, she'd get an A+. The doormen, cleaning staff and others I encountered were all equally pleasant and helpful. The shower was better designed than others I've experienced elsewhere (no leaking onto the bathroom floor, for instance), the bed was soooo comfortable, and the room was the nicest I've stayed at with Marriott. Best of all, I never had any problem catching a cab (corner of 57th and Lex is prime).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small. The wood panels on the wall were cracked in places therefore you can tell it was old. No room service Nothing special and it was my birthday.

    The bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little difficult to adjust the cooling so that the system didn't run all the time. Like most New York hotel rooms, the space was tight but it didn't feel cramped.

    This hotel has a good location in the heart of midtown Manhattan. It is a short walk to the subway and there are plenty of restaurant options within a few blocks. It is an older building but it is well-kept. The staff was friendly; check-in and check-out were smooth and easy. The cost was reasonable when compared to other hotels in this kind of central location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room location was by the elevator, which enabled to hear other guests and cleaning staff at all hours.

    Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Noise level from the street was basically non-existent even though our room faced the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    See above.

    Enjoyed most everything about my stay but for a neighbor next door who screamed at all hours of the night after I put in 12 hour days. She even awakened me several times. I did not want to report her because we were isolated in two corner rooms and it would have been obvious I complained. With all the crazies out here today, I didn't want to take a change with an retaliation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have coffee on site (except in restaurant) so we just went next door to the diner.

    Staff attentiveness, great location, nice bar, comfortable bed, decent size bathroom. Many places to eat close by. Fancy restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outlet can't work and some problem with hot water.

    There're so many problems in the bathroom. The facilities are so old. Staying in the hotel is so uncomfortable!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although layout of room was interesting, it felt cramped. Needed another chair but No where to put it! Bar did not have draft beer!

    Location ideal for all that we planned--museums, Broadway, walking. Staff were welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed a few brighter lights in room, and perhaps somewhere to sit with a mirror outside of the bathroom for someone to use while the bathroom is occupied.

    The location was great to walk to shops, restaurants, the Today show etc. Was able to access Ubers at the location. Room (2 double beds) was large, lots of closet space, bathroom was large, very clean, and extra towels!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is too dark and dreary, Room is dark. No lights near the couch. The facility doesn't feel clean. Wood floors could use a refinishing,

    Room size was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's hard to say, the building is under construction renovations and we arrived in the dark. But whatever you do, DO NOT stay in a room by the elevator! Sounds like people waiting for it are standing in your room.

    Arrived at 9:30 starving and ordered a bacon cheeseburger which was delicious!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    We love the whole experience. The room we stayed in was amazing. My girlfriend and I were there for our anniversary and it was one of the best weekends we've had. Especially Michelle the concierge She had these beautiful flowers and chocolate strawberries already in our room. Just a perfect weekend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    free wifi available only in the lobby - at payment (20$) in the room.

    Great location... in Manhattan, pretty close to Subway station and to 3 minutes walking from Central Park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and had only the most basic of amenities. The bathroom caulking was mildewed. The price of a cocktail was ridiculous!!! The bartendress was totally uninterested in my satisfaction. My Eggs Benedict were cool and dry and the Hollandaise sauce was congealed. They were, obviously, prepared way ahead of time.

    The bed was quite comfortable The bathroom was fine. The front desk staff and valets were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charges for parking $65

    Staff very pleasant and helpful, facilities like gym and lobby clean and welcoming, room was comfortable and clean my request for room on high floor was accommodated. That was only my third time staying overnight in the city and it was by far the best due to the location of the hotel and the amazing staff working there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Full Sized Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toothbrushes were missing in the room. So I asked stuff and they brought it to me later. Extremely small room (I booked it anyway).

    Interior design of the lobby and the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location, Times Square, Central Park, and several other places easy reachable walking. Atmosphere and charme: vintage hotel, built in the 30es. Sunday brunch. Wifi, flawless Staff, very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very old, there is continuous noises for renovation works going on (of course discovered only when we arrived at the hotel) and it is clearly overpriced compared to newer hotels. The room is tiny, there is no enough storage space for clothes. Generally it is very very noisy. The lobby is old and not comfortable, the furnitures are so outdated internet is crazy expensive 16+$ a day! I made a mistake I will not make again.

    The bed is very comfortable, the tv has Netflix (you mist have your own account)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They list a sofa bed that is really like a slide out platform but it kept tilting over if it wasnt balanced..... dangerous

    The bellman was very accommodating and provided alot of info of nearby activities.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: