Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mokara Hotel & Spa 4 stars

212 West Crockett Street, San Antonio, TX 78205, USA

#1 of 301 hotels in San Antonio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a view of the parking garage however this would not keep me from returning to this wonderful hotel.

    Staff was exceptionally courteous and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was negative about my stay.

    Excellent attention to detailed. Staff was warm and friendly every time you crossed paths. The service at this location was second to none.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little noisy in our room at night. Perhaps more than usual because of Fiesta Week!

    The location on the River Walk was fantastic for us! We parked the car for 3 days and walked every where from this location! Really appreciated the hospitality at this hotel. They arranged for great tickets to the Fiesta Riverboat Parade for us. Directed us to a nearby parking garage that was safe and saved us money for our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Riverview Room – 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The restaurant served the best food we ate while there. The hotel was centrally located in the middle of the Riverwalk where all the action is, but, it's an oasis of tranquility. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Riverview Room – 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved that I requested extra towels and blankets for my children and it made it to the room before I could get back from the front desk. Very fast! Also they were kind enough to bring warm milk for my toddler. Thank you very much!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The patio off our room was horrible. The cushions had bird drippings on them as did parts of the exposed furniture. The amount of mildew was very disheartening. In no way could we stay outside

    Staff was very friendly, courteous, thoughtful. Above and beyond. One issue was over a 1/2 hr wait for ice. 2nd call “reminded” them. But even then they were courteous and professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Riverview Room – 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The end rooms have a smaller balcony than the middle one, was a wee bit cosy out there!

    All staff are excellent - Petra especially, so helpful. I can highly recommend the Lone Star and Spa-tini cocktails!! Amazing bathroom with jacuzzi bath....didn't want to leave

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are so many reasons to stay at the Mokara - the service, amenities, location, restaurant, and the rooms. You get what you pay for. But I have to say that the shower and bath are amazing - what a treat! I didn't realize what a difference that could make, but after a long day out and about, it was so rejuvenating. The bathroom is spacious and elegant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only complaint was that some of the rooms faced a brick wall or parking garage……so be aware. Rooms were gorgeous though, and with the Booking Buddy rate that we were able to get, it made up for the lack of a view.

    Beautiful boutique property located directly on the Riverwalk. Staff was excellent and could not have been more friendly and accommodating. From Petra, the concierge, to Claudia in housekeeping, to the folks at front desk, and the bell staff, we were well taken care of. All went above and beyond throughout our stay. We were lucky to obtain a great rate on Booking Buddy, as rates posted would have put the Mokara Hotel out of our budget range.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our view was of the rooftop. However, the staff did ask if we wanted to change but we decided since we wouldn't be in the room that much, we stayed in our assigned room.

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff was excellent particularly the concierge (Peta) who called us ahead of time to tell us of the I-35 closing so we could adjust our route.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to the river walk. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. Loved the extra touches like the turndown service in the evenings.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa tub looked old and u could tell it had been used for years needs to be replaced and I didn't like the fact that after I checked In and went to my room to look at my account to find out that I was charged twice for one room and when I called to let host know he said he knew but he didn't say anything to me while I was checking in so I figured that wasn't cool eventually it was fixed

    Speedy process of checking in and valet parking was excellent excellent across the board with the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and customer service was exceptional. We called about a problem with our mini bar and literally within minutes there was someone at the door to fix it. Anything we needed, they took care of. They have a Bath Butler! What more can I say?! The hotel itself is beautiful, the spa is fabulous and the it is within steps of the Riverwalk, dining options, and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great! Nothing negative

    We were traveling from Houston with car sick kids (2 yo twins and a 5 yo) it was a mess but the valet and concierge were super nice and helped my mom take the kids up to the room w the bags. Then another valet brought me rags, Lysol wipes and carpet cleaner and helped me clean the car. They were awesome and really went above and beyond. The hotel room was large and beautiful and the beds and linens were top quality (the best I've had in San Antonio, so far). They brought up warm cookies and milk for the kids both nights we were there. It seems like an adult type fancy hotel but they couldn't be more friendly with my kids. They also got us a carriage ride around the Alamo which was fun. It's not cheap but it's worth it if you have high standards or if you want something romantic. I'll be back with my husband for a real vacation at the spa, without the kids!! The location is also perfect, and not loud. Overall awesome experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleaner forgot to restock toiletries. Minor in the great scheme of things!

    Staff was so happy and personable! Being able to enter and exit from riverwalk was great. Food at pool and ostra was superb!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet parking was a little expensive

    Room with the large whirlpool tub was wonderful! Staff was very helpful and attentive! We could not have asked for a better place to spend a relaxing weekend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The spacious of the room and bathroom was a pleasant surprise. All The staff were friendly and attentive.... The bed and pillows were wonderful. Great restful refuge from the hectic river walk. We will return.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous and that it was on the river walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Bathroom was amazing fantastic service from the staff modern classy elegant surroundings throughout

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location on the Riverwalk...convenient to everything. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    I booked the room for my son & new bride’s honeymoon

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having ice readily available because the refrigerator wasn't cold or cooling anything inside it

    The cleanliness of everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room

    Everything but the view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good, learn, prime location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed comfort.

    The Hotel Style!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff knocked, then came right in. Didn't give enough time to respond. Luckily we were dresses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet. Nice restaurant and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite espensive.

    Very central, on the riverwalk. Close to the conference center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Staff was great, hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful room, friendly staff and very accommodating. Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was small, but also never crowded.

    The location on Riverwalk was perfect. Very friendly staff, super comfy bed! The hotel spa was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room and excellent customer service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fact I did not get the river view room I requested

    General ambience and service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The level of service was top notch.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Riverview Room – 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard for me, I didn't sleep well because of it.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful balcony view of the river!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Location. Right where you want to be.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant only served seafood and was almost empty.

    The room, service, everything was first class.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about this property

    Perfect location Friendly attentive staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to dislike. Great hotel

    Awesome staff, very helpful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints😀

    Room was very clean and large. The tub was very nice. When we asked for the linens to be changed, they were done within an hour. 😊

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Riverview Room – 1 King Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive. Cleaner walk into our room without knocking. No turn down or ice the 2nd night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish that we had been asked about a river view room or other room combinations.

    The bed and the restaurant were outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location! Great services and The spa is fabulous!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Bath butler was an added perk!! Food superb! Fantastic experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Still have not received my copy of the itemized bill from the Mokara

    The excellent staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coed spa facilities. My husband and I would have liked to use the spa facilities together.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the complimentary coffee delivery each morning.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our only regret is that our stay wasn't long enough.

    This was by far the best hotel stay we've had...in every category. Kudos to the staff for being so nice, accommodating,and professional. They really excelled on all levels.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Entrance area was under renovation and smell of painting was present when entering lobby and even the elevators no matter which floor - clearly just a temporary issue.

    Amazing location and great staff! Wonderful spa amenities and a great restaurant

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a bad thing, but the lobby floor was being refinished, so it was a bit noisy when we arrived, but it never came to the other areas.

    Luxurious accommodation with a staff that was warm and friendly. Spa was wonderful. Pedicures that were completely relaxing and hair stylists that really know their stuff. I can't say enough good things about their staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Couple

    Nothing

    Superb place to stay; facilities, location, friendly and very service oriented staff; Perhaps the finest small urban hotel we've experienced in the US

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice restaurant for both breakfast and dinner (did not have lunch there). The room was large and well stocked with excellent turn down service. Oversized jaccuzi bath and separate shower in the bathroom. Complimentary use of Spa facilities and gym.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish we had a better view instead of the brick wall we had to stare at outside. But not a deal breaker.

    Loved the jet bathtub and the glass shower. No shortage of hot water and the hot tub on the pool was fantastic. The food in the restaurant below was amazing as well. Bed was clean. You definitely get what you pay for here.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although the property was fantastic, I feel it's overpriced considering you can get the same in other river walk properties

    It was quiet compared to most river walk hotels. I felt it was a personalized experience

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price on Booking.com was 399, and I paid 566$ at the time of checkout including all taxes and valet parking. I wish there was more transparency. As we entered the room, the light bulb from the ceiling exploded on my fiancé;s head. Got away without any injuries but was upset because of that.

    Spa was good. Roof top pool and spa were good. Check out was extended till 4PM from 12PM since we had spa appointments at the hotel. Complimentary breakfast was given,

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and large room. Our view was of the wall, but not really there to gaze out the window. Check in was great, front desk was super nice and walked us to the elevator. Valet was warm and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Couple

    That nobody was helping the homeless.

    I liked the whole place bottom to top. Rooms were very nice had a great view of the river walk. Staff was extremely nice and helpful never had any trouble getting anything done. Overall 5 star experience.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The weather was poor, but not the fault of Mokara. Would have liked on-premise parking, but not possible.

    Besides the great staff and comfortable setting, they went all out locating something important I left behind. The morning buffet was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was our wedding anniversary and we were told we'd have wine and cheese in the room. There was nothing :(

    The room was spacious and the bathroom lovely.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service in the restaurant was slow. Buth then again it service was slow in every restaurant visited. Guess that's the difference in East coast.

    Staying at this hotel was a delight. The staff could not have been more friendly, accommodating or professional. Ths location of the hotel is magnificient, right on the Riverwalk.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That we didn't get a room overlooking the river like we had requested. They couldn't accommodate us in a room facing the river because they were booked. Our room was still very nice and all the amenities were fantastic!

    The river walk can be quite busy and out stay at the Mokara was just exquisite!! The whole spa experience was divine and the restaurant is on the river walk. It was very clean and had a great aroma through out the hotel. The gym area was very neatly organized as well. Mini bar in room and snacks were a plus!!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were a little firm, but I am used to sleeping on a memory foam mattress.

    Mokara staff are always extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and kept up. It is very quiet which is amazing being right on the riverwalk! It was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a river view and complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries in our room.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the moment we arrived, we were greeted personally and professionally, all accommodations were above and beyond, many thanks for making this weekend so special.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable bed, nice space to be in and location in downtown river walk perfect. My husband liked the fresh apples from the desk.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was uncomfortable

    Great service, close location to RiverWalk.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much

    Great staff. Perfect location

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfully friendly and attentive staff. Went out of their way to make our visit and comfort a personal priority.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we had to leave was the worst:-)

    The daily juice was great! and Erica in the Spa did a great job!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very clean every day. Additional comforts like slippers, robes, water bottles, turn down service were appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location next to river walk, theater, and several restaurants. Room was spacious and elegant and the staff was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave ?

    Best part of the room was the bed The view from balcony And the service from front desk and velet

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great stay , excellent service, couldn't have been better.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They cut the WiFi service off 3 hours before we checked out.

    The staff was incredible as well as the location

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The prices are very expensive!

    The service was incredible and everyone kindly looked after us!

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: