Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alyeska 4 stars

1000 Arlberg Avenue P.O. Box 249, Girdwood, AK 99587, USA

#1 of 3 hotels in Girdwood

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 523 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good stay at Alyeska
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made a mistake with my dinner room delivered order. Took a long time to change it and didn't get any refund or something to apologise.

    The place is so pretty ! Room has a lot of space bed super comfortable. Lot of nice restaurants. Pool and Jacuzzi are great with a nice view on the mountains. Would definitely recommend the Alyeska!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked two rooms. In my booking, I asked for a high floor near elevator. Upon arrival before check-in time, I registered at which time I requested a high-floor adjoining rooms with sunset view. We then left for the afternoon to explore the area. Upon our return, we were given non-adjoining rooms on the lowest floor rooms were located with view of trees beyond which the parking was found. Additionally, although the rooms were initially very nicely furnished and decorated, some of the furniture was becoming shopworn. Because we were tired from travel combined with the day's activities, we just accepted the assignment and went to sleep early. This hotel attempts to be a luxury hotel. From what we experienced, it was not. On more than one occasion, I've been upgraded to rooms superior to those booked by use of Booking.com. On this occasion, it appeared I was penalized for using your website. Very unsatisfactory experience!

    This hotel was initially beautifully constructed, furnished and appointed. It had potentially exceptional views. The lobby area (although somewhat dark) was impressive and well appointed. Initial check in-process was quick. Robes were comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice room with view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the summer walking and hiking trails were shared with mountain bike users.

    Nice room with view. Good amenities in the room. Excellent food and in the Seven Glaciers Restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Great experience, great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We reserved the King Deluxe room. There wasn't much "deluxe" about it for the room size. The price was pretty high for my usual hotel stay, however, I would go again. You are paying for the location and experience. The hotel itself was great, the room could have used some updating.

    The location was beautiful, bed was comfy, staff was accommodating. For being such a small resort town, we found there was a lot to do around the hotel. There are gift shops, a cafe and a tram 2000 ft up with beautiful views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    Need to have breakfast place serve dinner. Food in bar and grille was sub standard. Asian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ceiling fan filthy. Light cover over bathroom sink missing. Had to ask for feather pillows that were supposed to in room. Could not shut air fan off coming into room and it blows directly onto bed. HVAC needs an overall.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    You‘d expect more with this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has the “old”smell. Some lights out. And the so-called view is mostly blocked by the side building.

    The restaurant seven glaciers is awesome with its spectacular Mountain View. And it offers free air tram tickets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Go to be delighted!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything pleased us.

    The hotel lobby decor was perfect. I don’t want to give it away, but please look up when there. The stores delighted me, the views & helipad were striking, but the tram/ Restaurant experience was breathtaking, delicious, and a must if you stay at the hotel or near Anchorage. It’s perfect for a surprise event. Breakfast and the cafe we’re fine and I wish we could have stayed longer. The nature reserve is close by and a must. If you’re a spa lover book your massage etc asap as there are only 3 rooms/technicians. Go!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Stay here, but book through Hotel Alyeska directly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the worst room in the house, lowest level overlooking parking lot front desk staff stated it was because we used a discount service. Room was in need of maintenance: light bulbs burnt out, bedding shredded, needed replacing, bathroom light had no cover.

    Seven Glaciers Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely put this on your list when visiting Alaska. We would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would suggest that if you are going to spend $$$$ at the restaurant & bar, you should get your ride on the lift for free. We did the 1st night but not the second night.

    Extremely impressed with the whole property. Wonderful room except couldn't get the temperature to cool so we just opened windows. We were there right on July 1st & a little warm for Alaska. We absolutely love the restaurant & bar on top of mountain and the view getting there was incredible. We ate dinner there both nights we were there. Amazing food & view!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxating resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great

    Very nice resort hotel, great pool, nice property, a few trails are available right from the hotel! It was a pleasant and relaxing experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Proximity to trails and tram were great.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decor, view from 4th floor was roof top of another building (probably because we booked the $425 per night room thru Booking.com) A/C did not work well and windows only opened a little bit. We knew Alaska was expensive but this place was wicked expensive. We had drinks and 2 appetizers cost of was over $100. Hotel staff was friendly but scarce. We tried to valet when we first checked in and there was no one to help us. We unloaded the car and he parked; while I waited with the luggage, another car pulled up and someone came out with a dolly and had the 5 person family unloaded and in the building before my better half parked the car. Not a good impression.

    Proximity to trails and tram were great. Bed comfortable and loved the toiletries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Great first experience, but I am not sure that I would consider it in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mixed in with comments above.

    The building was beautiful - was a little disappointed that the cost of tram ride was so high (considering the cost of the room). While the room was beautiful, I could get the same look in any other hotel. There was nothing that set the room apart from any other hotel. The staff at the desk was "short" with their responses and could have been more inviting. But the hotel was extremely clean and "so Alaska". The food at the Seven Glaciers was delicious, although I did expect that we would see our waiter a bit more. We ended up having to ask a different waiter for some additional drink. While I enjoyed our stay, I may consider it a "one time event".

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place near Anchorage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff seemed a bit inexperienced. We don't know if there were summer internship but the employees weren't up to the hotel level. We ordered lunch specifically requesting not to put certain ingredients on it and they just brought it as it was shown in the menu. We arrived after dinner and room service had been done but the tray with the leftovers was still on the bed (in spite of having called twice to ask them to take it away). Same at the restaurant, lots of mistakes with the orders; waitress talking about her last day at work with people at the bar and not attending the rest of the tables. It seemed too informal for this kind of hotel.

    The location is just beautiful. Lots of activities and fun around. Our room was super comfortable and the price was great! we were coming back from Denali park and had to take our flight from Anchorage. At first we thought about booking a hotel in Anchorage, but when we found this resort with such a good price in Girdwood that we decided to spend the last 2 nights there. We had a great time and on our way back visited the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Very nice stay, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very long halls, it was a hike to the elevator from our room. Was denied use of a luggage cart, only the valet could use.

    Had a king size bed, very comfortable and quiet room. The grounds around the resort were beautiful and the view from the top was gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    I will not go out of my way and spend my money there anytime soon probably never
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff are Unknowledgeable on a lot of things about the hotel every time I asked a question no one could give me a correct answer just a lot of rude employees

    Nice hotel nice place to help get away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Amazing Alaska experience for our family with kids ages 5-13!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have used more blankets/ bedding (I could have asked)

    Loved the animal decor in the lobby, the pool, location! Especially nice for our family with young kids was the adjoins room set up. We LOVED the Winner Creek hike, starting just outside the hotel. The tram to and meal at Seven Glaciers was even better than expected— and everyone had told us how great it is!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Our stay was very relaxing and peaceful and we enjoyed the excellent accommodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music playing while eating dinner at the top of the tram ride. It was rap and many people were complaining that the music was horrible given the beautiful location. Not a good match unless you’re a teen or young adult. The music was quite a distraction and very annoying.

    The scenery and tranquility.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.4
    Forget this place, typical bad customer care of many american large hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didnt accept to postpone by one hour check out from 11am to 12pm. Totally crazy, since check in is only as of 4pm.. reason is that they were expecting groups that day.. so what ? All for 250 dollars a night! Extremely rude and useless personnel at reception and concierge, not even able to book for us their own gourmet awarded (so they call it) restaurant (we had to call the restaurant from our mobile phone 3 times..) Forget this place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Bonus point: in the nearby woods we saw a family of black bears close up, it really made our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception were not that friendly to us on two occasions. Also a member of staff in their restaurant/bar area was rude towards us. I did make an official complaint, and the matter was handled to our satisfaction.

    This hotel is excellent, a real five star establishment. It is a resort used mostly by skiers in winter, and hikers in summer. As we were there in early May, and out of season, we got a great rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Basically we love coming here for our short trips in Alaska.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I went down to the 11 to 12pm swim and were greeted with two men in G strings. They may as well been naked. There should be a dress code unless you think X rated swimming is OK. Maybe rent out the pool for those who like to expose themselves from 12 to 1230.

    The swimming pool is our favorite feature. The grand kids wanted to stay in it from dawn to darkness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Alyeska Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints with this hotel.

    Everyone was exceptionally friendly. The property is very clean and beautiful. Plenty of amenities to keep one occupied.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The experience was seamless. We had a great time at the pool and the food at Aurora was simply amazing. Our server was extremely helpful and courteous and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was too warm in the room but we were lucky to be able to open windows which made it more comfortable for sleeping.

    Alpine location is awesome and not too far from Anchorage

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel with good facilities. Comfortable beds and well sized rooms. Good easy to work showers with good water pressure. Would be good to have black out curtains. Pool was good, though spa was not working. Hard to get attention from front desk to any problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    This was our first stop in Alaska after a few long flights. A good way to begin the holiday break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious and comfortable. Had everything you need. The setting is beautiful. (We were between seasons, so the tramway and ski-lifts weren't operating - would love to have been able to go to the top of the mountain). Desk staff were courteous and efficient; waiting staff were warm and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay here again absolutely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa prices were ridiculous....$89 minimum for a pedicure?!? Would have treated myself and my family to several spa treatments if the prices hadn’t been so outrageous

    Loved every single thing about the hotel and staff....except the spa prices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great facility with s great pool ad huge hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have an issue with our toilet working when we arrived but the hotel fixed the issue.

    Great facility with s great pool ad huge hot tub. Perfect location for hiking, snowboarding, and skiing. Concert venue down the way from the hotel. Stayed multiple times and will return!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Not a quiet relaxing weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had smell in it. The swimming pool/hot tub was extremely loud. Children were allowed until 11pm, giving adults only 1 hour of quiet and relaxing time.

    We enjoyed the courtesy shuttle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Had better visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This last visit for my wife’s birthday wasn’t the best, our room was very far in a corner that our view out the Window was part of the resorts building and part of the back loading parking lot for shuttle. (Room 358 I don’t recommend) the room felt very squeezed and not set up well. The attendant had no idea where to direct us for the ice machine when we asked, the coffee pot didn’t work, and the pool locker room didn’t have any towels in it.

    This is our favorite place to stay for anniversary’s, birthdays or any special events, pool is always clean, people are always nice, and food is always great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    been there, done that
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast included is a no-go concerning the price. Staff at the restaurant was not very attentive and the 16$ soup was probably out of a can. Walk to the parking was all ice, almost fell in the morning.

    Rooms were ok, skiing was great! Nice resort with a stunning view on the Turnagain Arm and the Girdwood Airstrip, state of the art facilities on the mountain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Based on Booking.com raiting I expected more....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t friendly. We were waiting additional 1 hour to get the room. You have call and ask for cleaning the room because at 2pm room still not clean. On site resturants in desent qulity especially service.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Hotel, room, facilities and location were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bedroom dim. Winter activities are expensive. Got food poisoning from buffet on the last day. No breakfast included in room price and expensive meals at the hotel. Transfers expensive from hotel.

    Hotel, room, facilities and location were very nice. Large comfortable bed. Staff and locals were friendly. The snow conditions were good with blue bird days. Snow mobiling to the glacier was a great experience and the wildlife conservation was interesting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    great location, hotel is old and the rooms need renovating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the rooms are dated and very dark, needs better lighting. My room was not ready at 430 pm check in and after 14 hours to get there this was more than disappointing, nothing was offered to appease this frustration.

    lovely beds, bar and cafe on level 2 staff were great, location was lovely. the staff at the resort were very helpful. very clean hotel good facilities , fab pool and hot tub, fitness centre looked good, did not try it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.5
    Grounds & scenery great...staff at desk not effective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was slow..communication between housekeeping & front desk poor. Difficult to get a useful response from front desk re:room..ended up with parking lot view rather than mts. Not crowded so no reason for that. Main issue was the " service dog " across the hall. Barked when left alone during the night. If owner could get around the facility w/o their dog why bring it at all? Definitely Suspicious...when we saw both in hallway...Very Poorly Trained animal. Other guests we met commented about the disturbance. Front desk staff were again either uninterested or didn't know how to respond effectively.

    Room was clean, bed comfortable. Dining was fine. Facility overall ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    The premises are beautifully kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a registered service dog, which is allowed everywhere, but when we got to the tram, told us she couldn’t go inside Seven Glaciers. We’ve travelled the entire US and ate in 5 star restaurants with no issues. We had to bring her back to the room, but she’s not supposed to leave my significant others side.

    The premises are beautifully kept

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too warm-unable to control the temperature. Nasty smell around the coffee shop/ski shops that permeated into the hotel.

    Lovely grounds....nice hike close by. Spa facility was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    My kids love the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are really really showing their age. Stains on cushions, wall paper peeling off, lites flickering. Time to put some TLC into it ASAP.

    My kids love the hotel. We like the convenience to the mountain rite out the hotel door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    It was fine! Prppppp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the room could have been bigger and a free breakfast would have been great!

    I liked that it was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. It was kid friendly and the pool and hot tub was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.3
    The Hotel Alyeska isn't what it used to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the front desk staff, except for Jimmy, were not very friendly. One lady kept telling me if I had booked through Alyeska I could have gotten better ski deals. After problems with the refrigerator, the lady said we shouldn't of had a refrigerator in our room anyway. Kids were playing around in the hot tub and using foul language. Kids are not supposed to be in the hot tub. The last couple of stays at the hotel have been less than stellar.

    The valets and housekeepers were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    The staff, the facilities, amenities like the salt water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are spectacular. The parking, even though valet is offered was backed up pretty long, although a lot of people were checking in at the same time as myself

    The staff, the facilities, amenities like the salt water pool, hot tub & sauna are amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    I’m coming back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The bed was like a cloud, what is it made of? I want one. I like your do not disturb button on the nightstand as well. The text app was especially helpful. Also the pool and gym hours who great. And Shawn at the front desk was an awesome host.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Buffet was awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet was awesome! They don't nickel and dime you, free water and free juices and stuff with the buffet! Even got a free toothbrush delivered through my room because I forgot one. They texted me saying if you need anything give us a text, I asked about where to get a toothbrush and they said we will have one there ASAP great service I can't wait to go back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    3.5 Star property but would love it see it become a 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby bar could use improvement. Both the atmosphere and the staff... Also many staff in general around the hotel do not seem to be interested in providing exemplary customer service. Seems like better training and higher expectations when hiring might be in order.

    Bell service was good and valet/front desk was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely with short comings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    The staff are great, however around 3-5 in the evening when everyone is checking in and out there are just not enough staff, the valet parking guys were totally inundated and there was a very long queue for check in, we gave that away and parked our own car. I don't know whether the ski rental shop is part of the hotel but the same goes for that, at rush hour the line up is horrendous you will miss some skiing. I doubt the lift ticket booth is part of the hotel but my daughter spent fifteen minutes out in the open at 15f in the line to get a lift pass and she was near the front of the queue. If the resort wants to play with the big boys then extra staff will be needed during busy times, we are paying $300 per night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    Food quality at the restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room given to us was not the one reserved. The room we ended up getting appeared to be one designed for handicap access. There was not a bathtub.

    Food quality at the restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    Probably won’t stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not great. The room was extremely noisy all night, we were on the 5th floor next to a staff elevator, staff came and went noisily all night. The rooms are dated and need upgrades, especially for the price. Beds should upgrade to queen instead of full, as that is only choice in a dbl room.

    The beauty surrounding property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was only one restaurant open on site and the quality of the food wasn't very good, it was the only thing that let this place down. I had the calamari and it was over cooked and appeared to just be out of the freezer.

    The location and the surroundings are amazing, the rooms were clean and comfy and staff very friendly. Also they have a wake up call facility for if the Northern Lights come out which is great as you don't have to wait up.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    other than the two minor thingsI mentioned,it was phenomenal. will be back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The game room is lame. One foosball and PlayStation that I couldn't access. Could really upgrade that. Also, should have something open before 7,got up at 5 one morning and nothing open.

    The chili was phenomenal,the trails we're great and the overall view was spectacular.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like when I tried to order dining room and the lady told me it will take an hour coz she’s the only one working. The others are busy. And I have to pick up my food from the restaurants . So I decided not to order food. Ended not eating dinner. But it’s all good!

    I like the view from the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed the get away but disappointed for we had higher expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet food as not good at all we Spent $126 and didn’t eat any of it. Later to spend $15 on a grilled cheese. The bathtub was really clogged We were ankle deep in shower water. The beds were too small we thought it was a double queen room so we also didn’t sleep... overall not what I was going for.

    The view was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Excellent (is not a sentence but in one word that’s how our stay was)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly at the front desk and at the restaurant too. Dinner took a little long but it was worth the wait.

    Bed was great, dinner was excellent hotel is very nice we like it a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    The pool was great for the kids and the hot tub hot for the...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better effort by pool staff to keep young kids out of the hot tub.

    The pool was great for the kids and the hot tub hot for the adults. Good place to visit between seasons with great hiking trails nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    nice resort for ski lover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff is not really friendly, and we kinda disappointed since we cant take the cable car during our visit there.

    I love how the place located in mountainous area! it's very nice view and in compare to other standard hotel, this one has real standard...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Octoberfest weekend. No more needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and a little outdated for the price. The mini refrigerator looked like it came from a college dorm room, and the room was extremely hot. The staff did bring us fans and allowed us to open the window. We were surprised how small our room was, and the lack of amenities in the room. Maybe if we purchased a suite instead of a deluxe.

    The bed was comfortable, the staff was great. The view was okay, but nothing to stare at. The hotel itself is kept very clean. Common areas are nice, modern, and fun. There are a wide variety of items available to purchase (at resort prices), however the stores close at 10. We were there for Octoberfest, so we were not back in time to purchase what we needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    It was relaxing.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They closed all restaurants but one. The pizza was over a quarter burn. There needs to be a microwave in the rooms.

    The facility was great. View was magnificent. Staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Great off-season rates but tram closed between tourist and...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great off-season rates but tram closed between tourist and ski season and the restaurant we wanted is only open on weekends this fall. A welcome alternative to staying in Anchorage when visiting from the Peninsula. We stayed on the third level and it was kinda noisy at night, but overall a good experience and I would stay here again with hopes of using the trails.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Worth staying for the views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were less than polite from reception through to the bars and restaurants but housekeeping staff we exemplary couldn't do enough for you through to supplying crockery & cutlery for our breakfast to have in room. Staff at reception should learn from housekeeping for customer service. The Valet staff were the nicest and really polite

    Bed was super comfortable and we loved most of what was on offer for the hotel, room was spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    It was a nice relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tried for two days to get ahold of someone for "in-room dining", but received nothing more than a busy dial tone.

    Overall the hotel strives to make your experience above average weather coming to enjoy a weekend of hiking, skiing, or just R&R at the pool. The accommodations are nice, The staff is friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing Getaway - Cute beaver lives in the pond
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vanity light was out when we first entered the room so we had to call someone to fix it, which they did within 2 hrs.

    The location is great - a nice getaway that seems far away but convenient to Anchorage. Our room had a nice view of the mountain and aerial tram. Hotel is a bit dated, but comfortable. The pool gets a little crowded so go on off hours. Would not eat at the restaurants - too pricey. Go into Girdwood instead. It was fun to watch the beaver that lives in the pond break down branches and build something.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Should stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great lodge to stay at with excellent restaurants and fantastic views. Close to Seward for boat tour of Kenai Fjords . King room was large and very pleasant and comfortable. Highly recommend. Take the tram to top of the mountain for a fantastic views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    A unique experience with a well trained courteus staff.
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not much to complain about except the wind and rain.

    The ride up the tram was good and the view from the top was excellent. We saw some huge rainbows and go some great pictures. The Deli/Bar had great views and the temperature was perfect. We went out side to the viewing area and also into the museum, that had great pictures, of the area over time, and decent priced gifts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Check in/out was a breeze.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiter at breakfast at the ponde cafe was the worst. Tub in the room is smaller and both the drains in tub and sink were partially clogged. Two full beds instead of queens are too small for two adults to sleep in one bed.

    Check in/out was a breeze. With the exception of our waiter at the pondering cafe, the staff was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    An oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    Possibly the only Alaska hotel with a real sense of luxury. Professional service, lovely location, history and character. Super beds with blackout and utter silence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.0
    Awesome location, free tram tickets to summit for great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not worth the high price, including overpriced breakfast. Run down facilities, poor WiFi coverage, and couldn't get coffee outside room late PM/early AM.

    Awesome location, free tram tickets to summit for great views and tasty food/beer at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    We just stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just stayed one night, but wished we could have stayed longer. The kids loved the pool. We also did some hiking that was right outside the hotel. We hiked up the North Face trail, had lunch at the restaurant at the top, and took the gondola down. It was a great way to spend the day outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    great breakfast and room delivery service, we loved the pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the first room that was assigned to us the toilet was not clean. But we got a new room immediately after informing the concierge. We were recommended a hike and were told that it is easy walkable even with a stroller. But the wooden boards made it impossible to push the stroller on it.

    great breakfast and room delivery service, we loved the pool!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad experience with employee at bar and deli on top of mountain. Wrote comment card. Very surprised by rudeness to us, other patrons and her coworkers. Room was overpriced. Have stayed there before at same time of year in much nicer room for less. Check on was long due to your groups. Downtown shuttle is only free until 6 pm. You need to call for an outside lift after that.it will cost $4 per person each way.

    Beautiful accommodations. Lovely lobby, deck and restaurant. Great tram ride and view. Great view from room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The other concierge forgot to send the confirmation to the taxi company when he booked our transfer. We waited for the taxi for 15 min and when we talked to the reception, they just told us that they forgot to send the confirmation. They send after the taxi from Anchorage (no cars or Uber available in Alyeska). We arrived just on time but almost missed our flight. A lot of stress and the hotel manager didn't even apologize for the mistake or offered us any compensation (not even a bottle of water while waiting an hour for the taxi they should have ordered for us). Very bad service.

    Great food. The pool and sauna are nice. One of the concierge was awesome. She gave us free tickets to ride up to the 7 glaciers restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was great although a little spendy but that I expected at a ski resort.

    I loved the rooms set up and decor as well as the soft king sized bed and pillows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Not my favorite stay during Alaska vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wait staff pleasant but not what you would expect at a high end resort.

    lots of amenities - best to stay at least one full day to fully enjoy the resort must have a fair amount of tour groups, but the resort did not feel crowded room was comfortable, spacious and quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Rough start ok after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got told booking not through as booking .com. By one staff and take a walk we had a long trip and exhausted. DIDNT go to check about it rather rude. I went out and came back 20mins and a wonderful young man did go back office and sort out our room the booking was there after all. Thank goodness. NICE mountain sky ride. And

    NICE spot, busy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Would stay again here in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Spa could use a bit of upgrading, but the massages were great. And everything else was amazing!

    Top notch place to stay. Great location, wonderful rooms, excellent staff. We started our trip off here and ended up coming back for the tail end of the trip. I wish I were there now.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Alyeska
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very good spacious rooms, nicely appointed and clean. Lovely areas to sit in front of a fire to read or listen to music, fantastic pool and wonderful grounds and walking tracks.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Their seawater jacuzzi and it's operation hours was...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their seawater jacuzzi and it's operation hours was amazing. The cleanliness and the facilities were really the best thing to enjoy after long journeies of wild life.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Great resort for any time of year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted close parking you had to use the valet. When I tried room service the phone was continuously busy.

    The bed was comfortable and there was a great view of the mountain. I also liked how quiet the hotel was at night.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alyeska traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: