Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Americas Best Value Inn Madison 2 stars

3438 US Hwy 12-18, Madison, WI 53718, USA

#53 of 55 hotels in Madison

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 54 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    5.6

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not kept up with very well. I had to switch my 1st room because of a heater issue and I wanted to switch my second room because an extremely loud Heater but I figured there would be issues throughout the facility. I was not satisfied. A few friends stayed at other facilities in better areas in much nicer condition and paid the same price or less. I have used 2 other Americas Best Value Inns in the past year and thought this one would be the same but I was mistaken. I will be using Americas Best again but I will research them much better prior to booking them.

    We got a new room right away

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main hallway was all a rough tile, so every rolling suitcase went THWACK, THWACK, THWACK, all the way down the hall. Obviously NO EFFORT was made to deal with controlling noise in the construction. When we weren't being repeatedly awakened by noise in the hall we were disturbed by the guy in the room above us who didn't come in until 2:00 am, and apparently hop around the room for an hour. Then about 4:30 am there was constant loud talking/laughing in the hall. This turned out to be THE STAFF! The room was not as clean as it should have been as well.

    The price was OK

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carpet in room no coffee maker parking lot was dark no lights no sign saying where office was no bars in shower tv turned off and wouldn't come back on breakfast was where??

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom needed serious updating and/or remodeling. Bathroom was extremely dingy looking. We were only there for a place to sleep one night along our journey, not the amenities. Too late and tired to look for other accommodations. Will not go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the location hard to get to the parking lot is all full of potholes not very well taken care of

    There is nothing in walking distance of the hotel I would not recommend this hotel would not go back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities were quite run down, and staff was not very friendly.

    Cheap place to stay. It was a bit outside of Madison, but convenient to get to everything we wanted to see. It was close to the highway, but quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning attendant was very rude and not helpful. Due to our booking actually being incorrect from beginning I was very satisfied with hotel and had planned on staying another night but for some reason my second night was not showing and the morning attendant was very rude and not helpful at all.

    Breakfast was amazing!! Night attendant very helpful. Bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find except by GPS coordinates. Older hotel some noise from hallway.

    Breakfast was very good and staff very helpful. Reasonably clean but dated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures online ARE DECEIVING Was a dump and the staff not happy to the point of rude. AND the key barely opened the door , had to struggle to open and twice someone tried to open the door in the middle of the night , creepy.....

    The sheets were clean and nice AND that was it!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ice machine and vending machines were all unplugged due to construction! I was never told I wouldn't be able to get a simple glass of water. I was charged full price for this place too. Apparently the management of this place has decided to renovate with extremely modernized furniture--think ikea or build-it-yourself-out- plastic. Furniture is very uncomfortable and totally unsuited for anyone over age 17.

    The only thing I liked was that the motel is directly across the road from the Ho-Chunk casino. The motel is under some much needed renovating and is currently a disaster area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom left much to be desired...not updated at all and very dirty feeling. Exterior noise (other rooms and hallway) was extremely loud (due to the lack of carpet?).

    Room had laminated floors instead of carpet. Really liked this for cleanliness factors.... Nice mini fridge and microwave. Main room was updated and clean

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was my understanding it was a smoking room and the whole hotel was non smoking. The room was not the same as the picture posted. The heat in the room did not work well. Refrigerator was not very cold. Food was awful. Would never have booked this hotel if I knew it was non smoking and would have known the room was not as shown. Had already pd for room otherwise I would have gone elsewhere. Very pissed and wish to get a refund

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was dreary. The food was okay. The room was adequate. The receptionist was not really welcoming. I would not stay these again.

    Price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The vending machines did not work and neither did the ice machine. The entrance to the area was poorly displayed resulting in having to drive around.

    Room was clean and allowed a relaxing stay. Able to change the heat and AC as we wished. Shower was easy to work.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy! Could here people yelling ( happy) in halls at all times during middle of night. We happened to stay on a weekend that there was a big football game and all hotel rooms were booked!

    The hotel was older. Room was clean. Mattress was fairly comfortable, but too soft for my husband. Breakfast didn't interest me, my husband went and looked at it, and decided to go to Denny's that is just down the road.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of the night I had to get up and turn on the bathroom's exhaust fan, as cigarette smoke was coming into our room through it.

    Friendly staff. Pool was clean and not full of chlorine.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    Quiet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a dresser and carpet.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hanging racks have been taken out of rooms! Very little space for hanging clothes on wall! This is NOT good!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to where we needed to be. And quite place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riht off main hwy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Take this hotel off your list

    Place was disgusting, old and I would never knowingly book there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy! Thanks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs in room and hallway. Key didn't work. Staff rude. Will never book through booking .com again

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best self cook and serve breakfast at any motel! Nice remodeling also. Awesome place and awesom price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator to the second floor,parking lot in poor shape. Rooms needed updating .

    Breakfast was pretty good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area being scattered all over.

    It was clean and convenient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a king room and the mattress sloped toward the middle.

    They have a very extensive breakfast that includes a make-your-own omelet station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clerk could not find our reservation. Took about 30 min to check in. The room was not dark. The curtains need blackout behind them. Noisy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were the best of any place we looked into.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets had stains, there were bugs in the bathroom, breakfast was awful, the staff was not friendly

    Interesting furniture

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room appeared neat and smelled clean, but there was a bug bed trap under the mattress and there were 2 dead bugs in it. The hotel was seedy-looking. The reception area was ugly and tacky. The price of the room was too high for its value. It was located outside of town on a dead end frontage road.

    The person at the front desk was ok. She offered me another room after I complained about bed bugs, but I asked for a refund. Initially she was going to make me email or call her manager to request a refund. That did not seem reasonable to me, so I'm thankful that she reconsidered.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is old, the linens were scratchy and the heater was noisy.

    Not the easiest property to get to, but the perfect location for what we needed.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Couple

    Just had trouble finding the place at first. They do have signs - and directions - but Mapquest was sketchy.

    The location seems very "truck driver-oriented" but the Breakfast was amazingly good! The rooms were clean and economical - very spartan but trendy-looking decor in the room.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The pictures on this site does not reflect the real property. It is run down, dirty and really not worth the money. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    The refrigerator was unplugged, the room smelled like cigarette smoke, and my daughter woke up with two large welts on her back that looked like bug bites. I will never stay there again!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is shabby. The hall carpeting was dirty and torn, the walls were thin allowing noise, the desk staff was not very helpful, the location was near a trash dump (smelly), and the room was very plain for the price charged. The breakfast was awful with cold biscuits and gravy.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Exterior of hotel needs work. It looked very run down and gives off bad first impression. Rooms were somewhat updated and clean which made it an ok place to stay

    rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower stall needed to be cleaned on the exterior, had mold in grout and tiles dirty near the stall. The address that came up for America's Best Value Inn on Mapquest was for a location seven miles away and no clerk on duty there. Had an elaborate system to call, and when I did, found out my reservation was at a second location and the address for it wouldn't take in Mapquest because of being on Highway 12-18. Clerk gave me a business across the highway which did work. This needs to be fixed.

    The room was spartan but clean except for shower. Breakfast simple with limited choices, but met my needs. Clerk was helpful on the phone when I had problem finding it.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kids running the hall all day and night, people upstairs stomping on the floor all night. I was there for work and got up at 530 am, with no sleep do to kids and stomping feet.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was dirty and run down and the halls were worse. The bed looked like it was from 1970 and the pictures for advertising were definitely for this place, but at least 30 years early.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was something on the walls like splattered coffee.

    It is close to everything but yet feels like you're out in the country. workers are friendly.Beds are very comfortable. Bird sanctuary close by which is great fun

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only negative thing was staying on first floor having people above you it was a little louder than the average hotel, but certainly not the worst.

    The staff was pleasant and upon check in I had to change my room and date of check out.. No issues. They were very accommodating. The breakfast was amazingly good for free. The pool was excellent condition. In process of remodeling, but for the value we will be back anytime we need to venture back to the Madison area.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noisiest hotel on earth, I think. We could hear everyone in the hall, above us and on either side. This place needs a lot more refurbishment. Parking lot is way too small, we had to park in the mud.

    The breakfast is amazing! Cook your own eggs, waffles, pancakes, many other choices.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was full and seemed rather noisy; I could not fall asleep until after 2:00 am due to people walking up and down the halls, doors opening and closing, people talking loudly, etc. The Wifi was not working at night (but it did work in the morning). I would have preferred a lamp in the room.

    The bed was quite comfortable and the breakfast was great with lots of options to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room had covers missing on baseboard heaters, exposed wires. Outlets where lose would not hold plugs in them when trying to charge phone.

    Good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Solo traveller

    It was on a very dark, dead end service road. Parking lot was not well lit and outside of building was run down. My room and the hallway it was in was renovated, farther down it looked and felt a little scary.

    my room was clean, bed was comfortable, nice tv. The breakfast had more choices than any I have ever been at and was good.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Do you enjoy potholes, scenic landfills, swamps, paper-thin walls, hair on your pillow (that's not yours), unclean showers and absolutely no amenities? Then this is the hotel for you!

    Nothing, seriously.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was small as heck and very loud there. They are also nosy there too. I will not be coming back. Barely warm water in room

    The Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    do not find the safety of my family, the site on a highway, .dark and very far from the city . very bad services,I asked a bed cover for my children refused to give me. Breakfast also quickly ends his time.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little noisy.

    Breakfast selection was above par

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Breakfast

    Friendly staff affordable rates

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very basic amenities and a bit worn but clean and good value.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff a garbage dump was by the hotel. It was smelly

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Dirty, smelly, bathroom old with cracks on the toilet. Bed very uncomfortable. Front desk person barely there to help

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, friendly staff,and nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reasonable price would,

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A person was really loud during the night. Woke us up. Sometimes guests can be loud.

    We enjoyed our breakfast. The food was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Seedy looking. Needs lots of updating.

    Maybe the comfort of the bed.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet very poor

    Best breakfast you will find!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The facility was not fit for habitation. It should have been condemned long ago.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Only issue many have left an expensive Creme but they did not find it.

    There over a week, very nice people, very reasonable priced.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Price

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large selection of breakfast items (but beware the sausages run out quickly and never seem to be refilled).

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could easily access my room from the parking lot. Accommodations were simple but met my needs well.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy, too easy to hear voices and noise in hallway, noisy too late! adequate but not a homey feel

    nice variety for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast items not reloaded

    Value, staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Couple

    No hot water in the bathroom sink. Room and hallways looked old and dirty. Could hear talking and coughing in other rooms and outside.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to reset the air conditioner - but the staff was their to help.

    Location and the full breakfast. Great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to the casino, bed was super amazing. Breakfast smelled wonderful. But I missed it cause of the bed being awesome.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Totally awesome breakfast with make your own omelets and waffles

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Americas Best Value Inn Madison traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: