Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. Los Angeles hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles

Reviews of Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

929 South Broadway, Downtown LA, Los Angeles, CA 90015, United States of America

#123 of 381 hotels in Los Angeles

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 882 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2019

    10
    the right place to stay in dtla
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    my room was not serviced. I arrived back to my room at 6pm and the bed wasn`t made, bin still full

    front desk friendly and efficient. trendy young crowd stayin here shows its popular and the restuarant was busy daily

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2018

    7.5
    The ace hotel is a great place to stay in downtown I never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a bit crowded in the bar/restaurant areas and I didn’t feel like there were any common areas to sit down & do laptop work. The service lifts were broken so we had to wait a long time to get up and down the building sharing with the laundry trolleys. The manager was very helpful in responding to any complaints though!

    The ace hotel is a great place to stay in downtown I never got to see the theatre but I thing that is a highlight

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    5.8
    I had specifically requested a bath tub but was given a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had specifically requested a bath tub but was given a room with a shower. There were hairs on the bed and the shower was dripping when I walked in. At 1 am I was awoken by what we found out to be their second floor club- it was so loud the room was shaking. The front desk offered us either a room change or a discount??? We were moved to an empty room that HAD a tub, and asked for a discount as well. We had a flight the next day and got little sleep.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.5
    Happy to be on Broadway. Not crazy about overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The unfinished wallboard looks cheap. The dark toilet closet is an unhappy design- no place to put a thing but on the floor. No privacy for showering or cleaning up. Bed in an awkward position felt crammed.

    Very quiet room even tho right on Broadway. Liked the brass sink fixtures. Liked the shelf under the window.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    7.9
    Good but I would probably choose a different hotel next time I stay in DTLA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not like the shower with the open door and curtain, would be better with an actual door. The bed was also not very comfortable.

    Cool decor, very hipster feel. I liked the local snacks and drinks offered in the room. Nice rooftop space with a small pool and bar area.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.5
    It was a fun, quick overnight stay to see a movie in your beautiful theatre. The coffee was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe have some easy flyer maps at the front desk so travelers can easily find the freeways. The front desk men, most said they did not drive and did not know, the other one at front desk gave me general directions to go, but I got lost and had to stop again to find the freeway.

    The architecture was Beautiful, the coffee was AMAZING, the room was a bit small, but Simon the Bellhop was genuine, friendly and professional. It was nice to see the same person help you check out - that helped you check in.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    5.4
    motel 6 interior, marriott price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    blond hairs on the blond carpet means someone decided visually whether vacuuming was necessary very poor planning, towel rack to the right of the entrance instead of next to the shower poor materials used everywhere Was supposed to have a modern industrial theme, but when poor quality materials are used, this is indistinguishable from squalor very poor lighting in the room, every light was on I have no idea if I had a clean shave or not single pane windows noise pollution from next door All this for the same price of any decent hotel, 210 before tax, had four stars, I thought it would be a four star experience

    the bed was clean, towels were clean, location was central

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room and the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool on the roof was cold. Facilities had to come in and change our tv - would have been nice to offer a complimentary drink or something for the inconvenience. Bathroom is see-through so a bit awkward if you come with a friend.

    Beautiful room and the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in! The mini bar was filled with every treat you could imagine! The robes were definitely a highlight! Delicious room service breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Fun getaway and great venue for a show!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was friendly and attentive. Rooftop bar had exceptional views. Fun hotel to stay at and play. The theater is just stunning and has great acoustics!!!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Hp hotel with a nice relaxed vibe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the rooms could be better, it is difficult to see in the mirror

    The hotel has a lovely rooftop with a bar and pool area, very chilled with great views of the city

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    8.3
    always a great idea to stay at the Ace hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the location of the hotel, a bit dodgy at night but we can see that the area is booming with new stores and bars. Sure this area will be the place to be very soon.

    Love Ace hotel style and vibes. Medium room was comfy and clean, nicely decorated. Rooftop and swimming pool pretty good!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    4.6
    Dirty!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dirty!!!! The halls had stained floors and knocked over glasses that stayed there for 2 days. Definitely not value for money, there’s much nicer places locally for less. The toilet made dripping sounds throughout the night, which is bad because the toilet is basically in your bedroom. Tv remote worked intermittently. Bad service in room service, staff didn’t know the menu and often no one picked up the phone. I actually left the hotel early and checked in elsewhere.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    7.9
    its ace at the ace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shame not a bigger pool but nature of property. everything else was very good.

    the ace is the ace, enjoyed our stay, downtown still a little hairy of a night, but the hotel was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.5
    A very cool hotel and the staff are amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A very cool hotel and the staff are amazing! Went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. Would highly recommend The Ace! Very cool rooftop bar too!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    6.3
    We won t be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not the usual amenities like free coffer and tea, room was small an spartan. It could have used a dresser and a comfy chair, but there was just no extra space.

    The pool was nice, nice location and clean.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    We liked the Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was central to what we wanted to see; We did our own walking tour of the city. Visited the bar upstairs on a Wednesday night, busy but service good. We enjoyed breakfast in the restaurant next to the Hotel entrance and excellent. We took Ubers to the Griffith Conservatory and then down to the beaches at Santa Monica to Malibu we timed the trips outside peak traffic so the location we found good for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.2
    If I were to stay in downtown LA again, it’d be in Ace Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location rating has nothing to do with the hotel, I just enjoy staying next to the ocean, rather then in Downtown when I am in LA.

    I Always was a very happy customer of their NYC and LND branches, LA hotel did not dissapoint. Everything from the valet parking to the checkout process was extraordinary easy. Do pay a bit extra for a room with a balcony, well worth it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    Our first stop on vacation, so really needed to set the trend, and it did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service in the rooftop bar was rushed and impersonal.

    The room was very suitable. We liked the location. There was plenty of choice for eating/drinking. Staff were helpful, especially in Best Girl.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.1
    Staff we're super friendly and restaurant was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This Hotel is uner-cool but the room decor possibly won't be appreciated very much by anyone who is not twenty-something (me included 😊) Was all concrete and hessian and dark furniture... found it pretty depressing to be honest. Loved the view from my window though! Very edgy!!

    Staff we're super friendly and restaurant was great (except for frosty Barista).

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.5
    Front of house fabulous - rooms great - more effort by staff needed in restaurant and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of service in the hotel food and bar outlets. The automatic expectation of 20% tip does not measure up to the service delivered that is lack lustre and at times rude

    Hotel is great. The front of house staff are exceptional. The service in the restaurant and pool bar needs attention - the staff are not very attentive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, convenient and clean!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV didn't work but did not bother to report it as the excellent internet connection made up for it.

    Loved the simplicity of the room but most of all its cleanliness and spaciousness. The staff were just great, super friendly and always ready to serve. The food, particularly the breakfast was just great. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    10
    You need to try a Ace Hotel in your lifetime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish there was breakfast included.

    All the hotel concept is amazing! The room is unique, the bed is crazy comfortable (can I have one at my place?), and the decor makes you wanna move and just live in there. The staff is very friendly and always available for you. The hotel cafe/restaurant is really good and everything was just perfect! And just next door you will find the best street tacos in town!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    ACE=Perfect Place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect. Staff is amazing - super friendly, efficient, fast and very smiley! Bed was comfortable. Room was quiet. Food was good. Pool was nice. Margaritas were tasty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.3
    It can't get any hipper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is expensive. Be prepared for Downtown - the human destinies are truly saddening, especially in contrast to the lifestyle of the hotel.

    It can't get any hipper. Beautiful building, fantastic roof top, modern and stylish rooms - including a record player. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. They supported with tips and sketched a little tour for us when we decided to take the bicycles for a ride around Downtown. PS: Take the mug from your room to the coffee bar on the first floor and you'll get a coffee for a dollar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    9.2
    Love the building, its worth staying just to appreciate the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Love the building, its worth staying just to appreciate the grandeur of the Hollywood Gothic building. The building has had a stylish makeover, the rooftop bar is fun and a nice way to watch the sunset over Los Angeles. It's worth seeing something at the neighbouring theatre too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    It was great.
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a little expensive but worth it.

    It was great. Great room, great location, staff super friendly and helpful. The restaurant has good food and the upstairs bar is nice...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    Roof top bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service not great, water in room $5, no milk to make a cup of tea & no interest from staff to help provide any. Room layout a bit odd with bed right up against window.

    Roof top bar...🤩! Helpful pleasant staff when we asked for advice on entertainment, food and drink places....

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.2
    A quirky, original, fun, modern minimalist-style hotel, with a breezy friendly atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly, Downtown LA has a host of problems, and needs a huge regeneration programme if it wishes to attract tourists on a large scale. Many of the wonderful old buildings are seriously dilapidated and the old theatres are boarded up. Homelessness in the city appears to be pandemic and was very sad to witness. I gave some of my clothes to the homeless people, as some had no shoes, or even a shirt on their back.

    The ACE hotel is located in the old United Artists Film Co. building set up by the film stars Mary Pickford, Charlie Chaplin etc. The interior of the building has been stripped back to concrete, stone, metal and wood, and gives the impression of modern loft living. The minimalist style is attractive, but sadly little of the original movie days is evident within the shell of the building. However, the theatre adjoining the hotel (which is owned by the ACE hotel) has been renovated to reveal its original 1920s decor. My bedroom overlooked the front boulevard and was akin to a loft apartment without a kitchen area; the shower room was particularly attractive, as was the loo, which had an Al Capone theme to it. The bed was low, I had a record player (and records) and there were large wall length windows that gave me a brilliant view of the street below, where there was always lots going on, especially on the day pop star Kay Perry was performing a concert at the Ace Theatre adjoining the hotel. The restaurant at the hotel has two floors, and an outside Parisian-feel boulevard area, which is brilliant for enjoying a relaxed breakfast in the morning. The restaurant staff were all extremely friendly and attentive especially (singer and musician) Crook and (writer) Priestly. The ACE is a huge plus to the downtown area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    5.4
    The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable .
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable . The pool was next to a car park and a road. No natural light as curtains opened onto the car park and public outdoor seating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Boutique-style hotel located in the heart of downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit pricey, but then again, what isn’t in LA?

    Boutique-style hotel located in the heart of downtown. Very nice and friendly staff, always helpful with all needs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    10
    Just had a great time. Beautiful hotel in a great LA area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reception area is small.

    The atmosphere was excellent. The service was good and friendly. The location is excellent. I liked the decoration. Rooms are good size and comfortable. The bar and roof top terrasse are first class.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    6.3
    Style over substance...good but not THAT good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cramped room, over flowing toilet, mini bar that took over the whole fridge...prioritising servicing the roof bar over the hotel guests.

    the bed and location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    3.8
    Terrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hallways smelled, the room was musty, the bed was too low, the sink was in the bedroom, the restaurant was out of several options on the menu.......

    The front desk staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very cool and hip vibe and great location with respect to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit noisy if your room looks into the street but earplugs take care of that

    Very cool and hip vibe and great location with respect to conference center

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    Awesome hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was expensive, 30$ for one night while a random parking just beside was 10$. Minibar prices were pretty expensive too.

    We highly appreciated the decor of the room, the equipments, it was impecably clean, and very comfortable. The rooftop bar and the view are really nice! We’ve asked for a room with a view and we’ve got one, thank you!! The personal was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the noise from the rooftop pool

    Overall, great experience. Fantastic location in downtown and the beautiful building. Daily clean up was very good. The hotel staffs were friendly. We had a good time in Los Angeles thanks to you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    9.6
    The building was amazing, the decoration perfect, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool wasn't much of a pool, very small. We had a nice time there one morning but we couldn't go during the weekend because it was so loud and crowded with rooftop's clients.

    The building was amazing, the decoration perfect, and the location was perfect. Downtown has become such a cool area. There is no breakfast included but you can get breakfast (there or to go) at the restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    I would do everything exactly the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooftop pool is kind of small

    Beds an pillows were super comfortable. Air conditioning was needed in this heat. The rooftop pool and bar was a lot of fun

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    7.9
    Would Have Been a 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have given the property a much higher 9-10 rating, but my experience with the front desk overshadowed the other positive aspects of my stay. First impressions of a property are made at check-in. The service manager was excellent, efficient and accommodating - but the rest of the service team was not. There are no smiles, no "good morning", or "thank you" - typical pleasantries expected in hospitality. I don't think the staff were trying to be rude (as exchanges with other guests were curt), but the team had an air of "I'm too hip to talk to you" and seemed to be "over it". For me personally, when I had returned to the front desk to inquire about the hotel's facilities after I had settled into the room, I was cut off mid-question and was told, "just read the 'Survival Manual' it's all there. Ok. Next guest..." When I had called front desk, there was no greeting or "thank you", and the person who answered the phone just hung up after he had concluded answering my question (not even a "bye"). Again, I don't think this was deliberate but a lot can be lost in translation, hence the need for basic universal protocols. It isn't a great feeling when a guest is intimidated by front desk's demeanor. The shift manager were receptive to my concerns but on a constructive note, there are basic protocols expected in hospitality that can be fine-tuned to reflect a hotel's brand - but I found these to be lacking. More thorough training should be provided so that the service team can represent their hotel's DNA as they are the front-liners. This would also help establish consistency of service all across the board. I do hope management takes this suggestion in stride, and strives for continual improvement, as The Ace Hotel Downtown has potential.

    The aesthetic and overall brand DNA is unique from other boutique and chain hotel, and ACE has a distinctive personality that is uniquely it's own. The rooms were well laid out, and fully stocked with everything you could need. Well designed and very hip. Every detail was visually appealing. There is also a record player in the room, a speaker with built in auxiliary wires. The sound insulation was surprisingly good...I slept very well, and despite being situated in front of the elevator, I did not hear very much noise. The rooftop area was the highlight - with a wonderful view of downtown Los Angeles, a great jacuzzi, and wonderful happy hour cocktails - definitely represents the best of Los Angeles. The building's architectural splendor can be seen at all angles here, and makes hanging out by the pool as special experience. The servers were very friendly and attentive. Katie and Olivia did a wonderful job in making sure everyone in the pool area felt like VIPs. The building is full of history, and the design is well thought out, in preserving the building's integrity. It is such a photogenic property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.8
    Best location but were kept waiting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We expected our room to be ready at 3pm but when we arrived at 5.30 pm, we got told that the room was not ready, that was 2.30 mins later. I didn't really mind as we went for a walk. But when I asked for a late checkout the next morning, the manager only gave gave us 1.30 mins extra. They could have given us the 2.30 mins that they kept us waiting.

    The best customer service we got was from the the porters and the valet service was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    10
    Chic. Hip, fun weekend experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well this is a hip place and parties and concerts close by,. Still fun though despite the noiss.. Saturday was rockin' Sunday night was mellow and quiet.

    Cool, hip, really good restaurants with sidewalk cafe experience. Upstairs at the rooftop pool bar equally fun with very nice LA sunsets. Beds are extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    4.6
    Not what it seems
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not friendly and the hotel is not what you would expect of that price. The area is one of the ugliest in downtown.

    The restaurant and the coffee place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    5.4
    Next time I’ll go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location ok, Hotel old looking with no support from people and expensive parking

    Location good in Dowtoewn but price too high for little service I also had to pay 100 USD extra for parking my car since they have a valet parking at 45$/nigh not clearly expressed in the presentation of the hotel on Booking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.4
    Cool vibe.
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bypassed essential elements of hospitality at check-in (i.e. at what time do we have to check out by, what method of payment did I want to use, opening times of the restaurant for breakfast/lunch/dinner, opening times of the pool - and age limits to access it - at what floor our room was: all stuff that you’d want to be talked through after a 16 hour journey). Furthermore, the room was extremely humid, the shower inappropriate if travelling with family. We have also been mistreated and embarrassed by staff for being young-looking/underage. Also, calling the ‘pool’ a pool is a bit of an exaggeration (part of the reason why I chose this hotel).

    Cool vibe. Good location. Aesthetically pleasing, the cafe was good. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.3
    Nice area and clean friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooftop bar wasn't great, there are nicer places to go. The showers were not hot or powerful enough.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are great and the guitar and record player were nice extra touches.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    5.8
    For this price, I shouldn't wake up with an aching back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredibly uncomfortable bed. A mattress on top of an unforgiving piece of plywood does not make for the most restful night's sleep.

    Great location. Cool vibe. Friendly staff. The rooftop bar is fun. Beer and wine selection is limited but decent. Some very cool mixed drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    8.8
    The service and staff were as good as a legit 5-star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms have a strange layout, but I think that's partly a result of being in such an old building.

    The service and staff were as good as a legit 5-star hotel. The property is clean and well maintained, and the building has a lot of great design details.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    5.8
    It was ok but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facility

    No toothpaste tootbrush, sleeper, shower cap provided. For the amount of money paid these basic things should have been included. There is also and odd smell in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.6
    Hip hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:15 am the day we were checking out and they didn't come until 5 pm on the second day when we were already in the room. We just changed our towels but still, it seemed a bit late

    I'm glad we got a room with a balcony because it felt like a private little nook.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooftop bar music gets into upper floor rooms; nothing too bad but if you are sensitive to that and plan on going to sleep before midnight you might want to ask for a room on a lower floor. Hotel could insidicate option of cheaper and good public parking around the corner pro-actively.

    Very beautiful hotel. Nice gym and rooftop area. Broadway and surroundings is a strange mix of quite beautiful mix of redeveloped office buildings that cannot really hide the run down era of the area. So still alot of homeless people around and empty storefronts and former theatres.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Boutique hotel with a lot of character and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service could use optimization, following up to ensure things (eg., room cleaning) are done at right time.

    Boutique hotel with a lot of character and history. The rooms are uniquely modern and take you back in time. The roof area is awesome. The staff are generally courteous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.6
    Its like the Arq from the Matrix had sex with a Millenial... and Ace Hotel was born...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Large
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s the perfect combination for the modern business man. I loved everything about it... from now on... all my business travels to LA will always consider staying here...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    3.3
    Great front desk staff and great rooftop bar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would love to have coffee in the room although I know they do not because there is a coffee shop downstairs.

    Great front desk staff and great rooftop bar!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Looking forward to staying at the ACE again soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was exceptional, however the menu selection was limited, would have preferred a few more delicious things to try.

    We appreciated the aesthetic details throughout. Our room was nicely appointed and very comfortable. The staff was truly outstanding in service and personality. The rooftop amenities were a real draw and we wound up spending more time lounging than we planned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    History of building was preserved and carried throughout the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing I disliked.

    History of building was preserved and carried throughout the Ace Hotel. Unique decorating and supply of room toiletries was environmentally conscious. Housekeeping staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Amazing staff & experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were amazing and went over and above with service. The rooftop is excellent, with great views over LA and the Hollywood sign. Will now be my hotel of choice every time I am in LA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel great, food overpriced, area really bad to walk around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel great, food overpriced, area really bad to walk around in. We didn't feel safe, but we wouldn't have felt safe anywhere really in Downtown LA. Probably better to stay closer to Venice Beach. Hotel was great, we just didn't want to go outside with lots of homeless people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    The rooms are chic and fun, the location is excellent (DTLA/USC) and the staff are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms are well designed and comfortable. Plus, the turntable was so much fun. I taught my 16 year old how to play vinyl. The staff at the Ace are exceptional from the folks at the door to the front desk to the restaurant staff. They always have a smile and are uniformly helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    6.7
    It’s a super cool place in a trendy neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They closed the pool and rooftop bar at 5pm for a private event. With a check in from 3pm and no further notice this was a downer. We got free breakfast as a compensation. We were told the pool will be open from 12 midnight but at that time a rude employee told us to leave immediately to leave. Not the ace experience we’re used to.

    It’s a super cool place in a trendy neighborhood

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.8
    Overall, an exceptionally pleasant stay.
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would have liked to have a shower curtain or shower door. The lack if covering causes the floor to get soaking wet.

    The Ace hotel coffee was exceptional. The staff was helpful and very kind. We had an very pleasant stay! Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    5.4
    Go if you have money to spend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    definitely too pricy for what offers, cleaning service came only half of the time because the room was left too late, too many hipsters at the rooftop during certain periods (dogs and shoes on the bed of the pool area. Swimming is pool is basically a big tub.

    it has a 'cool vibe'

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    5.4
    Good location.BUT Too pricey
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price for the rooms. Most disappointed with the lack of freedom to cancel after the first night. Most disappointed with the varied daily charges and with such high charges, breakfast should have been included. As an international professor who travels regularly, I will not book this hotel again.

    The location to my business meetings was reasonable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.5
    I really appreciated the esthetics: the clever, chic...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really appreciated the esthetics: the clever, chic retro-industrial design: the gorgeous brass fixtures, the exposed electrical conduits, the concrete ceiling and floor, the turn-table and and the cargo stencil font everywhere. But to spend a few days - at $670.00 per night - in what resembles a bunker, without bottled water - leaves one longing for elegance and comfort. Or a W Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    9.2
    The staff was absolutely amazing and the rooms were adorable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room service in the morning was not what was expected. Got the order wrong and even when it was fixed it just wasn't very good for the price

    The staff was absolutely amazing and the rooms were adorable and very comfortable and accomadating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    10
    warmest welcome to LA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in LA with my boyfriend celebrating our anniversary - Ace upgraded our room to a suite and left us a bottle of wine with a note!! It was such a treat to arrive from a 12 hour flight to such a warm welcome. The space is amazing and the staff are the best - will definitely be coming back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    Not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The ceiling is not painted and you can see that it’s so dirty. There’s a mark of leaking on the ceiling with brownish colour. I can understand the concept but you’re staring at the ceiling before sleeping and you can see all those raw concrete above your head.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    10
    Exceptional: Everything about this hotel was fabulously cool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Exceptional: Everything about this hotel was fabulously cool ... the location, stunning historic building, helpful staff, great room, restaurant and the upstairs bar / pool area ... and all reasonably priced. Definitely worth a visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    4.6
    Will not come back to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large with Two Queens
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price of the hotel food is outrageous. The furniture is 1960 and not in good shape Bathroom was not a well designed setup, poor design. Had to pay 45.00 for parking because there is no parking available

    The look of the building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    7.9
    The restaurant was incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked cool, but it seemed they prioritized aesthetics over functionality or comfort. Searched for 15 minutes for the TV remote to turn the thing off, and the staff told us it was hidden in a pocket on the side of the bed - it wasn't the first time they'd heard our tale. The bed felt like a futon and wasn't particularly comfortable, though it wasn't uncomfortable either. The worst was the shower, which is completely open to the room and no curtains for privacy. If you're with your partner, that's fine, but it would have been awkward had I been with anyone else. It took forever to get the water to a good temperature and since it was so open, it didn't retain any heat.

    The restaurant was incredible. Great service and incredible food. Had the umami burger, which will visit me in my dreams for years to come. The mini bar had a great, quirky collection of treats. Perfect location if you're going to the Orpheum Theater.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    8.3
    De loved the general atmosphere and the historic building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit small. And parking is really overpriced (45$).

    De loved the general atmosphere and the historic building (the United Artists). And the pool on the rooftop is small but super cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2018

    10
    Really hip,stylish room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It IS a bit pricey lol

    Really hip,stylish room.. .and I just had the medium size. Caters to musicians/people who have money and want a LOW-PRO yet super cool/fun/hip atmosphere. NO hassles. VERY cool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    9.2
    Hip DTLA hotel. Everything you'd expect from ACE.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only problem for me was that I could hear the next room quite clearly.

    Very nice & cool hotel. Staff is super relaxed and friendly. Rooms are nice and there is a very cool vibe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    9.6
    Expected a cool, urban hotel which it certainly delivered on and more - my go to hotel if back in DT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym could have been slightly better equipped but great to have a gym at all

    All in room amenities were excellent Staff at reception, restaurant, bar and everywhere were fanastic Great Builiding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.0
    OVER RATED
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the room extremely over priced for what it is. I’ve stayed in many hotels I came that from the Malibu Surfrider that was 10 times the experience. I should have stayed at Freehand - much better value for money.

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.9
    BestGirl and the Coffee counter downstairs was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Medium
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room layout was not ideal and the noise from the Upstairs bar in the hotel room was not the most relaxing.

    BestGirl and the Coffee counter downstairs was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Ace Hotel Downtown Los Angeles Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: