Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Anchorage Motel 1 stars

51 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609, USA

#24 of 27 hotels in Bar Harbor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 600 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    2.5
    Will never return to this hotel and I recommend you don’t either
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was incredibly dirty. It’s the kind of place you don’t want to touch anything. Rug is filthy, linens are filthy, bathroom is disgusting. There is not even a closet or fridge. Staff was rude and they were all miserable, would not even exchange morning greetings. I will never stay here again and I would have left after our first night if I could have.

    This hotel was awful. I would never stay here again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room above has a dog and it literally ran around all hours of day/night. Extremely inconsiderate of people above and management to put someone with a dog on second floor. Barely slept whole time there.

    Close to town, comfy and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    I loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walking distance to town, nostalgic decor, which reminded me of staying at motels growing up...not a bad thing. Very 70's but extremely clean and comfortable. Good shower, plenty of parking and cozy. For adventuring into Acadia NP and walking around Bar Harbor, The Anchorage Motel was perfect!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice motel, clean rooms and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's an older motel, but it's well maintained and the staff are great. The location couldn't be beat - everything is within walking distance. I will stay here again the next time I visit the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated but very comfortable. The room was very clean and staff very courteous and knowledgeable of the area. It couldn’t have been in a better location within walking distance to everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was great, rooms very clean and we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price seemed high for what it was but we travelled in peak time and all other options were even more expensive!!

    The location was great, rooms very clean and we had everything we needed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Hotel served its purpose by being less expensive and still close enough to walk to shops and tours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tight. I have a full size truck and it was very difficult to move in the lot. Continental breakfast was just coffee and a day old muffin.

    Easily within walking distance of all sights and shuttles to the various areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.1
    The property was close to town and to Acadia National Park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you stay on the second floor. You could hear people walking above very clearly. Quite noisy.

    The property was close to town and to Acadia National Park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, close to all of Bar Harbor’s main street.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the Outdoor lights forced me to keep the window shade drawn, blocking fresh air. (However, there was adequate air conditioning.)

    Excellent location, close to all of Bar Harbor’s main street. Easy parking. Clean. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    We'll be back to bar harbor but will not stay at the Anchorage Motel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The motel is very outdated with thin walls. We had drunk neighbors waking us up every night after 1 a.m. The rooms are tiny and have not been updated since 1980. No coffee maker/No Micro. Beds are horrible.

    The two positives: there was plenty of hot water and it was located in the down town area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    A great and convenient place to stay to enjoy Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Met expectations and enjoyed our stay, in fact we were able to extend our stay by 2 days.

    yes, the facility is old, yes it has paneling BUT it was extremely clean, and very quiet with a full house. Convenient to everything as we could walk to the village some 2 or 3 blocks away which is good because parking is a concern in Bar Harbor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Standard motel, nothing extra whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was overall not great. The beds were not very comfortable, there was no pool or breakfast, conditioner and other toiletries are not provided (like I expected). However, for a motel it was good.

    Extremely central location which was easy to get everywheee from. Nothing wrong for a motel, met expectations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Had a wonderful time in Bar Harbor. It's a great town to visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have appreciated a microwave and refrigerator.

    This is definitely a no-frills hotel, however, the location makes up for the lack of many amenities that a hotel that is more expensive would have.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    The room would cost less if it was not in such s tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was relatively small and needs remodeling. A room like this would not be this price anywhere else. High tourist region and seasonal business allows this higher price. It was extremely clean but older property.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.6
    Good location, disapointing facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very dark and old. The bed was uncomfortable . No small refrigerator, no pool and some very cheap white plastic chairs to sit on in the front yard. I realize it is high season but for $206 a night , I think it should have ben nicer

    The location was very convenient . The staff seemed pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Solid, inexpensive, and beautifully located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improving system for locking doors.. they still have key with room number to get in your room. So that area is in need of improvement, for security reasons.

    Location, location, location... and inexpensive for Bar Harbor in the summer. It is a no frills, basic rental, but one is in Bar Harbor for the park, the ocean, the shops. For those with pets , it is pet friendly and has a lot of grass .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall the property was very clean and the location to Main Street in Bar Harbor and all of its act
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no refrigerator in the room not a big deal but just be aware

    The rooms were clean the parking was adequate they are pet friendly and the air conditioning and heat worked extremely well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    It would be nice if the room had a small refrigerator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be nice if the room had a small refrigerator. The location is the selling point. The rooms could certainly use upgrading in all aspects from comforters, decor, etc. Tubs, sinks, bathroom are very dated. Overall considering the upgrades needed, it was very clean and the location is definitely the bonus of the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.0
    Location great but quite basic for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic for what it costs but Bar Harbor is popular and expensive. You're paying for the location close to the village. You get a basic bed for the night.

    Close to everything. Bar Harbor is lovely!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    The room was no frills but clean with a comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very dated. Air conditioner was loud and would turn on and turn off disturbing sleep. Lighting was very dark and plugs hard to find.

    The room was no frills but clean with a comfortable bed and air conditioning. I liked that it was close to town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Not bad if you're looking for simplicity and want to be a short walk out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Morning coffee was a bit lacking in quality. Ice machine could have used a scoop vs grabbing a bucket off the top.

    Location was pretty decent. Just on the outskirts of town and close enough to walk everywhere in town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    A little expensive for the room but spot on for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great location especially because of the construction on the main road in and out of town but the hotel itself needs a lot of updating. It could also use a playset for the kids. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Just a good place to sleep close to town, not much more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs a little updating, no refridgerator in room, need a little more effort put into morning coffee bar.

    Within Walking distance to main part of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a little dated but functional.

    The close proximity to downtown Bar Harbor, within walking distance. Dogs are allowed which is also a big plus!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the holiday in Bar Harbor
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee available in the lobby only in the morning, No in-room coffee. If the room had a microwave and small refrigerator it would be outstanding, that was all that was missing.

    Beds were very comfortable. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    There was a very large group staying next door to us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have refrigerators in rooms

    There was a very large group staying next door to us. They were sitting outside room and load and drinking but luckily left the next morning. The rest of our stay was fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.4
    Room was adequate. Location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast. No coffee in the room. Bathroom sink hard to turn on. At check in, man was all business, not very friendly. At check-out, a younger man who helped us was virtually incapacitated... nearly fell over. Spoke with slur. He said he was tired. IDK. Obviously not fit to work that day.

    It was close to downtown Bar Harbor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is great but motel needs update.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorely needs an update. A no-frills motel that needs some TLC. Rooms have a bit of a smell. Water doesn't seem clean.

    Location is excellent. A/C worked well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Clean room with a great location for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with a great location! We walk downtown to shop and go out on the town! We've stayed here two years in a row and plan to keep coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect for Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fine...a no frills motel in a beautiful setting. We spent very little time in the room. Only complaint, but just because it is older is the lack of outlets for charging phones and it was a little dark.

    The location was perfect for Bar Harbor. We were able to walk to everything in town and easily drive into the park minutes away!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    This is a motel with a hotel price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic motel accommodations.

    This is a motel with a hotel price tag. Everything in the room was clean and the staff were friendly. Picked this motel for the location, walking distance to the center of Bar Harbor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    OK, but unlikely to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There isn't a coffee machine in the room or a blue basket for recyclables. Also an extra blanket. These really are basic items one would expect to see in even the most basic motel.

    location, cleanliness, overall comfort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Since it's only a place to sleep and shower it worked for us.. Location was nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frig, ice buckets was similar to former ice cream container and found on ice machine outside, linens felt clean but we're very dingy looking.

    Great location, fair price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location and price point for a clean place, but not for light sleepers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was that the walls here are VERY thin, and you CAN hear EVERYTHING that your neighbors are doing... The dehumidifier (I think that's what it was) in the room is also very loud and sounds like thundering water dripping and maybe also a hurricane. I'm a heavy sleeper and only woke up a few times, but my companions barely slept. I would stay here again, though!

    We had a comfortable stay, and the staff was incredibly friendly. The bathroom was clean! And it's just a three min walk into the heart of Bar Harbor, and 10 min drive into Acadia.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    Third trip here for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed for a Corvette weekend with many other clubs and I'm still disappointed that the motel does not offer at least a garden hose to somewhat clean off the car. We had to travel to a friends motel to get it done.

    Third trip here for us. Anchorage is economical, clean, comfortable and located within very easy walking distance to everything downtown. Bathrooms are small and dated, but functional and clean. Beds were very comfortable. The Bar Harbor area is really an outdoor mecca, for most the room is a place to rest yourself before the next adventure, if this fits you than this motel will too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    It was very close to downtown, we were able to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin and you can hear your neighbors. It’s not loud, but noticeable.

    It was very close to downtown, we were able to walk everywhere. It was clean, and the staff was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is literally a bed, bath, and tv. It would have been nice to have a coffee pot considering the lobby serves coffee at 0630 which is well past when sunrise chasers need to be on Cadillac Mountain

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Rooms are comfortable and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Staffs are kind and willing to share local information. They don't provide breakfast but you can get some coffee at front desk in the morning, and it only takes you 5 minutes walk to Cafe This Way. For me, there are only two things I don't like, one is no refrigurator, and the other is lack on power outlets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and overall appearance of the room was dated, but didn’t bother me and the location was perfect.

    The staff was very friendly and the room was clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Beds were comfortable, room clean, nice towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't mind going to the office for the coffee but I feel instead of creamora they could have 1/2 & 1/2. Although it is clean the whole place could use some up dating.

    Beds were comfortable, room clean, nice towels

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    A dump, keep looking elsewhere for nicer place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very depressing place to stay...Old style, dilapidated, dirty room...Looked under the bed and it was gross gross gross...Next room over smokers were right outside my room all the time.

    Nothing about it was really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Just a very fine place to stay in Bar Harbor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very convenient to Bar Harbor town, walked there. Staff frienday and quite willing to help with directions, restaurant suggestions. Stayed on the second floor which was quiet. Room was simple but extremely comfortable, clean, and an excellent value (we were there in leaf peeking mid October). Would definitely recommend and stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very old and outdated furniture. No coffee, only at reception for a few hours in morning. No beds made up. People above stomping about room. With what they charge they could at least try and update the place. Definately wouldn't stay again!

    Location!! Easy access to everything, minutes to downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quaint motel. Staff couldn't do enough. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Easy walk from Motel to Main St and all the shops and restaurants to enjoy in Bar Harbor!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    Basic motel and somewhat overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very 'basic' motel. Bar Harbor might be 'chic' but expected more for the money paid (mind you, for what we had to pay for food in Bar Harbor itself, maybe it was merely in line with other prices there!)

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Exceeded all expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this place is fantastic, you can walk everywhere in Bar Harbor, so it's perfect for a lovely stroll into town for dinner/drinks/breakfast, you're there in 5 minutes. The room itself was fine, comfortable and very spacious. The shower was good too and it was easy to park. Staff were friendly and helpful. This was everything we needed for a short & busy stay in this gorgeous town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Pet friendly and affordable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pet friendly, close to downtown (walking distance). Ample parking and space to walk the dog. The room set up was perfect, plenty of space for my german shepherd and his large crate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Basis room but good for those of us who travel with pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a microwave and refrigerator in room

    Pet friendly, staff very mindful that we had cats in our room, did not go into room, unless we requested something. Patty was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    5.8
    close to town, you could walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extras No refrigerator no micro wave Didn't take arrp discount The owner lady seemed short and gruff

    close to town, you could walk Morning girl very friendly very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    A block or two from downtown Bar Harbor and to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    A block or two from downtown Bar Harbor and to transportation buses to the whole island. We didnt have to get in our car once. Clean, good parking, quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.6
    Hotel location was great; front desk v helpful however amenities sub-std. for price. .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V basic; bed uncomfortable-sagging mattress; smelly shower curtain, no coffee maker or fridge in room, TV location too low.

    Location, nice hot water in shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Clean motel, bad insulation, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible sound insulation, no fridge in rooms, just an ice machine downstairs. Motel is very old but clean and in need of updating but price and location make up for it. We had a great time there and we will be back

    Great location, clean room, good water pressure in the bathroom, constant hot water. A stone’s throw from restaurants and shops yet quiet and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Very pleased with my stay. Very short walk to everything in downtown Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just needs a small fridge and microwave.

    Good for the price. Very pleased they let me park my vehicle there all day while I took the Whale Watching tour.Thank you for you for your accommodating staff!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    We very much enjoyed visiting that beautiful park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor insulation between floors resulted in noise from above. tTwo chairs for 3 people. Clean towels were provided and wastebaskets emptied and floor vacuumed, but bed nots made. We did not expect sheets to be changed daily, and didn't object to making the beds, but the latter was a surprise.We enjoyd our vist to Acadia

    Excellent location, very helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Bed was extremely comfortable, staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelled musty, noise of people walking upstairs was very loud. We only picked this place because their cancellation policy was better than the others that cost less. We would have chosen another place, but we didn't want to lose our money if we needed to cancel.

    Bed was extremely comfortable, staff very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Bed was amazingly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like urine the entire week. Room didn't smell just the bathroom. Had to keep the window open all week. Room 220

    Bed was amazingly comfortable. Room was clean. Staff, especially Eric, was great, friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Ups and downs, but will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are aging and dated, or deliciously vintage, depending on your outlook. I love vintage motels, so for me it was a plus. Good a/c, but no fridge, microwave. Everything was spotlessly clean, but I killed a spider in the bathroom. There are no poisonous spiders in Maine (big plus), but the deceased's little friend climbed in my open bag (big negative). It climbed out when I was unpacking and escaped under a radiator. But there are no poisonous spiders in Maine, I keep repeating. I called the motel, and they're going to spray the room.

    Staff were fantastic, motel takes pets, parking right by my door. Nice garden area set back from street, right smack downstairs, walking distance to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Help was very accomdating with all our questions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs outside room. Could not think of anything else needed.

    Walking distance for downtown was accomdating. The weather was not in our favor. Will recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The parking is "first come first serve" which is the only answer you will get if no parking is available. The parking situation changed our plans during the trip, because there was nowhere to park if they were full. They would benefit from assigned parking for each room to limit problems with guests not having parking available.

    The location is great! We got exactly what we expected.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, just in Bar Harbor, walking distance to the center and waterfront. We stayed for three nights during our trip to the Acadia NP. Parking lot is just in front of the motel. The staff is helpful and friendly, the room was comfortable, but it would be good to have a fridge in the room. Free wifi is provided in the rooms, but it is a bit slow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Location close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed bugs, lack of microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast not included.

    Location close to town. Good size room in good condition. Owners response to bed bug problem: moved me to another room and gave a free night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Dated but fine for budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property worn and needs updating. Beds uncomfortable. Walls are paper thin and we had a loud, all-nighter group of partiers next door. Bring earplugs.

    Just a 2 block walk to the activities in Bar Harbor. One of the cheaper options for the area and ok for a 1 or 2 night stay. Friendly desk. Free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Delightful, safe, economical, convenient. Clean, steps away from the action, old but comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy motorcycles in am....can't they at least push them out to the street rather than cranking up under our window.

    It is just steps beyond the hustle and bustle of BarHarbor_. So pet friendly, and we travel with three little bitty ones. Old style motel with two tiers in an L shape..convenient ice and coffee..clean and comfortable. Old and not fancy. Guests sat outside under the trees and enjoyed the beautiful day. Helpful info for tourists given by desk. A little noisy with motorcycles cranking up in am...wish they would ask them to move them away before they do this. Plenty of parking. I always felt safe and two old women think about this. Three blocks and you are in the center of town. I would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.4
    A disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Almost everything. This place is overdue for a major renovation. Throughout our visit to Bar Harbor, we joked about having picked about the worst looking place possible.

    It's a basic motel from the 70's that has never been renovated -- right to the dark wall paneling. It was clean but old. It was a bit noisy as you can easily hear the floors creak from people on the floor above. The web site led us to expect a better place than it turned out to be. We would definitely not repeat it. To its credit, the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Great place if you want to be within walking distance of bat harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a little old, saggy in the middle. No breakfast.

    The staff was very helpful in directing us where to go and what places we should eat at that were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It's a 60's motel. But it was meticulously clean. The bed was very comfortable. Within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. Mt. Desert street has many interesting sites and is one of the best streets to stay on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall, we were pleased with our stay - really happy about the great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't have any problems, but don't expect anything fancy. Would have preferred that the room cleaners didn't smoke on the premises or where everyone can see them during their break. Wouldn't have been nice to have a pool, but there's plenty to do to keep you busy in the area.

    Location was perfect. We were able to walk downtown each evening - especially in an area where parking gets difficult in the evenings. Easy to drive to Acadia and other attractions. No problems at all. It was quiet. Everything was in working order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location in a quieter part of town. Very friendly staff and the room had all you needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we only booked a short stay!

    The location was perfect and the staff was very friendly. I also loved that they allowed pets even though we didn't have one with us. As pet owners, it was nice to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice location in downtown area , on site parking, everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location in downtown area , on site parking, everything in walking distance. Room was clean and comfortable and really quiet and peaceful,very relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Standard motel close to the town center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking can be complicated when the motel is fully booked. No breakfast.

    Standard motel close to the town center. Very friendly staff. When in Bar Harbor try Geddy's.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean enough, good location but very dark and old interior and no bathroom fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very VERY old interior, with uncomfortable non-soft bedspreads, dark wood paneling on the walls, no mini-fridge and the worst feature was NO fan in the bathroom so everything was steamy and too humid after anyone took a shower.

    Beds were comfortable and towels clean and soft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Great trip and we would come back again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to keep a constant water temperature during shower.

    Staff were super friendly and the property was very dog friendly! Room was clean and spacious for myself, husband and 2 dogs. They had plenty of activity information and dining information at front desk to help with planning our trip. Had coffee and tea at front desk every morning. Room air conditioning worked great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Staff was great and location was excellent for being in Bar Harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised to find no microwave or fridge in the room. That was the only drawback traveling with my children.

    Staff was super friendly. We arrived early and after checking in with front desk, they offered to let us know when room was ready. I loved the fact that they cared enough to make my long trip easier at the end.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.9
    Don't think of staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Noisy: could hear heavy walking overhead all night 2)no vent in the bathroom 3) furniture looked like it was purchased in 1950 4) dark paneled walks 5) uncomfortable beds and pillows 5) rude attendant at desk 6) no refrigerator in the room which was needed for medication extra cost of $5 7) OVERPRICED AND NO COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST 8) NO HOT WATER IN THE MORNING 9) Do like accommodations where pets are allowed in the rooms 10) THIS WAS A TRAVELORS NIGHTMARE!!!!!😬😬😬

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    very close to town and was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the mildew smell out of the air conditioner and having to hunt for parking spaces.

    very close to town and was very clean. It was very basic but just what my family needed while visiting Acadia National Park.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: