Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Adante Hotel 3 stars

610 Geary Street, Union Square, San Francisco, CA 94102, USA

#187 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2052 hotel reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Not a great value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities looked run down and not super clean. Paint, carpet, etc funky. No air conditioning, just window swamp coolers. I asked for two beds and got one king.

    Bed was big and comfortable. I liked the fact that we also had a living room. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    Staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and smelly building. breakfast was coffee and yogurts and dry cereals really poor considering the amount of money that you are paying. The fridge was too noisy and the area where is located is dirty and full of drug addicts.

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    2.5
    Warning! Do not stay here, it is unsafe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I normally don't leave reviews but am compelled to do so in this case. My partner and I returned to our room one evening to find construction workers installing an air conditioning unit. Our room was completely torn apart with wood chips scattered about, my items (purse, laptop, clothes) had been handled and covered with our bed sheet and our door was wide open with our belongings in clear view (see pics). We were not informed that this would be happening and had to request to move rooms, making us late for the baseball game we had tickets for. We were told it was hotel policy to enter the room and start construction if the guest was not present. As we were not able to use our room for that day, I requested compensation for one night's stay. As the front desk staff were not authorized to refund this, I was told to email the Manager and they would get back to me. I have never heard back from the Manager and will be filling a complaint with Booking.com. Do not stay here, it is unsafe to do so.

    Coffee and light breakfast included,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    High CP value. Good experience overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is alright. Building is pretty old and elevator is extremely slow (only one elevator for everything).

    Location is convenient yet a bit dangerous. Although there is hard to park around the hotel but they do have valet parking, $45 a day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Run
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old! The bathroom was disgusting! The toilet wouldn’t flush! The carpet was horrible and the whole room stinked like urine. Looks nothing like the pictures...horrible horrible horrible. I felt unsafe also, there is no security and anyone can walk in.

    The hotel is old! The bathroom was disgusting! The toilet wouldn’t flush! The carpet was horrible and the whole room stinked like urine. Looks nothing like the pictures...horrible horrible horrible. I felt unsafe also, there is no security and anyone can walk in. The guy at the front desk was very very nice - that’s it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    2.5
    Do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is probably the worst hotel I have ever had to deal with. Not only did they charge me and hold funds of a greater amount, they were not willing to help release payments. They were aware I was preganant and did not in the slightest try to fix their mistake. I have never dealt with staff so unprofessional and unkind ever in my life.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the price for a tiny cramped room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was tiny and cramped. There was also no parking which is pretty essential for San Francisco. Lastly the room was standard and not worth the price. It could of been a lot cheaper for what you got.

    It was clean. That's it. which is prettymuch a given for mostly all hotels.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    2.5
    It was the worst room , staff where rude , room was very old...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked out that night . Staff made us wait 20 min for check in while he took out the rubbish

    It was the worst room , staff where rude , room was very old and dirty . Would not recommend this to anyone. Not at all like the picks on the web

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    3.5
    Comfy beds but that is all this hotel had going for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -breakfast was super cheaply done (bananas and packaged pastries like the ones you could buy from a gas station) -unsafe neighbourhood to the point where I didn’t want to be out after dark on the street -street smelled like urine -fecal matter on the street -panhandlers every few feet -screaming homeless people yelling the F word all hours of the night -super grungy looking interior (the front desk area is update of course)

    Comfy beds but that is all this hotel had going for it..:

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.1
    The optional transfer from the hotel to the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was awful! better not to have something so poor in a totally inadequate place, the lobby !!

    The optional transfer from the hotel to the airport! and the fact that the receptionist gave us the room immediately at 8.30 am when we arrived from the airport......we were so tired and we appreciated it a lot!! THX!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Average, wouldn’t stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a good start with an early check in we got to the room to rest and was woken up to a banging on the door(despite the do not disturb sign) and a man put an air conditioning fan in the already small room which was massive. Continuous noise over the course of our duration due to the construction work. On our last night around 7pm we were kicked out the room by the construction men so they could fit the air conditioning fan and was told they were going to be 20-30 minutes. After an hour we returned and our room was still not done. Wouldn’t stay at this property again.

    The beds were comfortable. Shower facilities were okay also. Breakfast was included and a range of TV channels. Staff accommodated us and allowed for an early check in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    Really bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was really dark since it was on ground floor. Our windows were on the restaurant kitchen, so it was really noisy until late and early in the morning. Windows didn't have curtains so people could see us. I am very disappointed. When I told the guy at the reception about everything, he didn't t care...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    Located near union square!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little small, needs updating but for a two night stay on the cheap it works just fine

    Located near union square! For people reading reviews that say they felt unsafe in the area, we thought it was fine! Yes there are homeless about and yes they do ask for stuff. But we walked home one night and it was fine didn’t feel threatened.. if you are a bit nervous about it if your out late get an Uber to the hotel and don’t walk around on your own.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room dark and dingy Despite request months earlier for rooms for children to be close by - we were separated by 5 floors! Breakfast set up Poor management of taxi booking to airport which meant we were very late

    Bed was comfortable. Location quite close to Union Square. Bathroom was relatively clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.8
    Central location a few minutes from Union Square, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, bed took up almost whole room. Don’t drop anything down back of bed!! Breakfast very hectic as limited tables for number of guest

    Central location a few minutes from Union Square, and a brilliant Thai restaurant up the road. Bathroom very clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Adante should be classed as a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was not good at all. Very dated . Small room . Could not look out of windows without feeling sick don't think the window sills have ever been cleaned full of thick bird muck.

    Bed was comfy the staff were OK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Unhappy with the hotel and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, terrible breakfast, well overpriced for the room and facilities. Outside the hotel was very smelly with tramps begging. Our window in the room had about 6-10 pigeons sitting on it most of the time. The one lift took forever to come and the whole place just looked like it needed a complete refresh.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location to visit San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room could have been a bit more spacious, no fridge in the room

    Price quality the hotel is a good choice as the centre of San Francisco is very expensive, so value for money is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    It was alright
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The funiture was damaged in our room 702 the armchair had a stain and the poof chair had a burn in it. The freestanding light was broken also. The breakfast area was tiny and did not have enough room to house all the guest in the hotel and it was very basic with not much on offer.

    The bed was clean and comfortable but there was alot of noise out on the street which was a bit disruptive at times. Location was great too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    3.3
    The room was to small, they need to dust in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small, they need to dust in the rooms. Playing for them to park your car when they don't ask do you need help with your bags, or answer any questions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.2
    Would stay in another area next time, given the price, totallly not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The surrounding street for which this hotel located is very sketchy! smells bad and homeless nearby. Room is clean but old.

    staff is friendly and helpful to help us change the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    3 days in San Fran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small and expensive but hotels are in San Francisco. The area improved just over the block.

    Good bed and shower. Safe. Fresh paint and nice curtains. Good breakfast. Handy location. Able to walk anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    The bed was comfortable and they provide a fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing, dingy and old, lack lustre breakfast, uninterested staff, neighbourhood on the rough side (not hotel's fault!), photos do not represent what you get

    The bed was comfortable and they provide a fridge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Functional hotel nothing to really enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated carpets - looked grubby Dated drab and dark decor. Plug sockets unsecured / loose Not great choice for breakfast - weak coffee , sweet concentrated juice , cereal , bananas , yoghurt or sealed pastries and often nowhere to sit as breakfast was served / laid out in reception area

    Location Clean bathroom Coffee facilities Small fridge Safe

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.0
    Grubby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was very, very old and the hotel itself was not very clean. Bins by the breakfast area not emptied regularly, so there were lots of flies- gross!

    The hotel was close to union square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Room cleaning was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were strictly business, no personality at all. I think they only said 3 things to me "credit card and ID for", "100 for incidentals" "breakfast 7am there". Rooms next to the stair case/elevator are noisy. Breakfast was ok -cereal/yoghurt/juices/fruit and a wrapped pastry.

    Room cleaning was good. Location was ok,as I am not much of a shopper union square was pointless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    A kind of ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are extra small you can barely walk if you have more than 2 people at the same time in the room😔 Also they have no parking you have to pay at least $30 minimum for parking, they sell you the water bottles for $2 🙃😔, no air conditoner just a fan, no window screen I wanted to open the window but didn't feel comfortable due to missing the window screen. For the price I was disappointed.

    Clean rooms, beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    It was an Ok hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Breakfast is way too basic. There was only coffee, juice, bananas and a raisin cookie. You might as well stay in a hotel without breakfast and just eat anywhere else. - The front desk area has all been renovated, but the rooms and halls are still outdated. They were clean, but between the carpets and the walls, everything looks really old.

    - The hotel is close to Union Square which is very convenient if you need to take a bus or cable cart around the city. - There dining options close to the hotel seems a bit sketchy for our taste. They get better if you walk about 10-15 further down. - We walked around at night and we never felt unsafe. But a couple blocks south you start to see more homeless people. But I guess that's a problem with the city, not the hotel itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    3.3
    It felt dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt dirty. The carpet is atrocious. The breakfast was terrible, when it says a continental breakfast included you expect more than a paper bowl with 2 types of cereal to choose from and a small tub of yogurt. There is only about 6 small tables to sit at so if they are all full you have to stand to eat. There is a lot of homelessness going on in that area as it is at the top of the tenderloin. Do your self a favour and google tenderloin district. The front staff are not friendly appears as though they dont actually want to be there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    3.8
    Looks much better on line.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Poor service. Photos on line deceiving. I booked a king bed big mistake as nothing else fitted in the room. Room didn’t get cleaned twice out of the 4 nights stay. Rooms in poor condition. Decorated badly. The owners have painted over the cracks literally. Expensive for what you get. Poor service. Staff poor, not helpful and had no knowledge of the the city. Would not recommend or stay here again.

    Easy location for getting around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    food- it has a fairly adequate continental breakfast, pizza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffeemaker is not working (called front desk, no staff worked on our request to fix the coffeemaker), staffs are not proactive, shower not working, room is so small for a huge bed to be placed at the middle, you have to walk side by side inorder for you to pass through the rest room

    food- it has a fairly adequate continental breakfast, pizza place a few steps away from its doorstep and convenience store at the next block and they allowed us to have an early check in

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    I felt the gentlemen at the front desk is not very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt the gentlemen at the front desk is not very friendly. He doesn't take too much interest in serving guests and gets irritated easily. Other than that, the hotel was fine. I don't think the gentleman at the front should be working there. Perhaps somewhere in the back where he doesn't have to interact with guests. He'd probably be a happier person.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.5
    on the whole no real complaints, you get what you pay for, location is great, handy for everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small bedrooms, also very hot, no air con, only ceiling fan.

    hotel was ok for short stay, but not for any longer, as rooms are very small. Hardly any hanging space in very limited waredrobe. The hotel is in good location, union square, but be aware of many vagrants living on the streets, nice bar across the road from hotel called Swig.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    It was a good location for sightseeing, room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so tightly packed. Lucky we did not have heaps of luggage as we had to stack it to get it in. The room was stuffy, there was an overhead fan which could only be used with light on.

    It was a good location for sightseeing, room was clean. The breakfast was ok, and there was some variety of edible selections.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Very clean, the housekeeping do an amazing job to keep the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were way too small, we had 1 big luggage and 1 small and there was no room left to even stand. The staff at the reception were not friendly at all and not that helpful too.Location is not the best as it is situated in the neighbourhood of tenderloin, didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel at night.

    Very clean, the housekeeping do an amazing job to keep the place clean. Close walk to union square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Easy 5 min walk to union square where there is a cable car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated decor in the stairs and corridors. The inclusive breakfast was minimal. Banana, 2 cereals and yoghurt.

    Easy 5 min walk to union square where there is a cable car stop, plenty of places to eat and shops.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Old hotel; OK room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Warned that it was very close to an unsafe location. 2. The hotel and amenities were very basic relative to the room price. 3. Breakfast was a bit of a joke. 4. Small wardrobe/closet.

    1. Helpful staff. 2. Proximity to Union Square. 3. Amazing how everything in the room was appropriately fitted given the size of the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    OK if you don't need the wi-fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The wi-fi was spotty and at times slow or not working at all. There is no a/c so there needs to be a screen on the window, but there isn't. The comforter on the bed had no duvet, it was just covered in sheets (?).

    There was a safe in the room, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    On the cheaper side, in a poor area of San Fran. Stepped out and homeless verbally abused me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking and the process of valet parking was terrible, the lift made scary noises and the floors had litter from other guests that had not been picked up.

    Liked the comfort of the bed and the quick breakfast to go at check out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.9
    The hotel is in the roughest part of San Francisco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the roughest part of San Francisco. Homeless people and drug users everywhere you turn. The hotel is run down and definitely not ‘boutique’! Room was dirty with stained sheets and dirty towels! Advert does not state that you have to pay $45 for parking which is only valid until the morning... managed to find slightly cheaper parking in the city. They also take a $100 security deposit fee which is also not mentioned on the booking! Totally ruined our San Francisco experience. STAY CLEAR

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall, it is reasonal price, comfortable and will be good if they can improve the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Corridor to the rooms are narrow and it is almost block when the house keeping cart is in the way. There is "no view" even through there are windows. You just see the narrow alley between 2 buildings.

    Basic facility. Breakfast is very simple, coffee, tea, cold packed pastry, banana. Hotel are very expansive in San France. Adante price is economical and there is lowest homeless along the street compares to other. Room is quite small, I'm lucky to have a room with 2 queen size bed. that help as we can put our luggage on the other bed. No self service laundry room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable room and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the fringes of the less desirable part of San Francisco. Not unsafe but I didn't always feel comfortable coming and going.

    Comfortable room with own bathroom. No view from the window, but room was of good size, warm and clean. Enough power points to charge devices. Staff were helpful and arranged luggage storage and airport transfer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our room was on the main road if got a bit noisy with the traffic and people being loud until the early morning.

    Great location, close to so many restaurants, shops and public transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Twilight Zone
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You name it, the nightmare began at the front door, and Im not kidding

    There wasnt a thing I can think of that puts a plus sign towards this property., I spent a good 30 minutes looking at the web site and at my surroundings in awe how they photo shopped everything to make it appear so appealing. A deceitful ploy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors are not functioning very well like the door of bathroom always stucks when closing.

    Nice location. Close to restaurants and no need to worry your dinner if you arrive late. Room is a bit old but still comfortable. Breakfast is a little bit simple, no hot meal and cooked food, but still can get a nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Location and price (for San Francisco Levels)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is rather simple (cornflakes, coffee and some bananas), if you want something more consider some options around the hotel.

    Location and price (for San Francisco Levels)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Ridiculous price for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous price for what it was. Cramped up tiny room with rude staff on the reception. Ridiculous cost for parking (although there was a parking garage next door which was slightly cheaper). Bad location, you will definitely need a car here. And the choices at breakfast were no good and there was no seats or tables free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would’ve been nice to have two smaller en suite bathrooms, or at least two bathroom sinks. With all the complimentary products available, it was odd that there was no shower cap in the bathroom and no salt & pepper in the kitchen. A note pad would also have been handy.

    A lovely place to relax and recharge, comfortable and spacious. We invited our son and his family over for dinner, as their flat is tiny. Super big bathroom with high end fittings, huge kitchen with a good, efficient oven. Free WiFi worked a treat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    No go hotel! Bad staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were assigned to the wrong room. So we bumped into a couple in action and that was horrible! They were so irritated. The bedsheet does not fully cover the bed. The front desk staff on 2 occasions tried to take more money from us by proposing tourist attractions at a higher price. There were too many issues with this hotel. No time to write a detailed review.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    2.5
    Never stay at Adante
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like anything about this hotel. Everything is old and the rooms smell like death. One of the rooms was so tiny I hardly had space for my luggage. The cute mini bar makes noise like the turbines of an airbus a380. Breakfast is great if you're on a diet because there's almost nothing to eat. For your convenience, the hotel offers convenient parking at a convinient much higher price than any nearby parking lot. Plan wisely your interactions with the guys at the front desk. If you go in the night, you'll be treated like you're disturbing someone's quiet hours. Hello, don't you work here?! But if you go in the morning you'll be trated as if you're adding work to someone who's already got so much to do. Hello, it's called a job! The location is very interesting actually, and by interesting I mean I hated it. Also, open your eyes: they put a hold on my card for 3 security deposits but I only had 2 rooms. Conclusion: I didn't even feel like stealing the toiletries.

    The best thing about the hotel was checking out and never going back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled like men’s cologne in the lobby. It was musty and stinky in the room. Definitely not the cleanest. Rooms were small.

    Good location. Very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    2 star hotel max
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fully outdated murky carpet and stickiness all over, the complementary breakfast could not be more minimal (5 dllrs? Worth). Not a nice place at all.

    The Bed was okay. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.9
    bed was clean and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    didn't like anything but the bed.

    bed was clean and comfortable. carpet and sofas in room were dirty. linens were dingy. facility was very old, dirty, and dated. place should be closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building is really old so there's a lot of noise at night. You can listen to other people's room.

    The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. I believe they made a good job at renovating an old building. Both the room and bathroom are very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    3.3
    Wont be back anytime soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in service very poor. We arrived an hour before check in. Could not store our luggage while we found somewhere to eat. Rooms not ready at 3pm. Told would be a 5 minute wait. Staff that served me then left and someone else took over. 30 minutes later finally able to check in. We had two rooms booked but staff member only checked us in for one room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.5
    Simple B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor, very poor breakfast and wi-fi (either it breaks constantly or pool of connections is full). So the staff often restarted the router, then you need to forget the WiFi connection and then finally you could connect again (if you are lucky)

    Perfect value for your money if need bed and breakfast option. Comfortable bed, clean enough. Welcome staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean rooms, good amenities, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor for the price paid. Rooms were a bit small, tight fit to have more than 2 people in a room at a time.

    Clean rooms, good amenities, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Never staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Valet takes too long for car. I left something in my car and I was told I would have to walk to where it was at to get what I needed from it. The TV did not work and there was no maintenance person or anyone to fix it. There were no other rooms to switch us to. The free breakfast was a joke.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    The location at downtown is quite close to areas that can be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location at downtown is quite close to areas that can be dangerous. Highly recommend if traveling with families especially small children to stay at a different location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Considering the rates of San Francisco hotels, this one was a GREAT find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only good things about the breakfast were the coffee, yogurt & bananas! Individually packaged danishes aren't very appealing to us.

    The beds were sooooo comfy!! The hotel is in a dodgy part of the city...but so close to Union Square and the cable cars! It's a shame the city doesn't tend to the streets in this neighbourhood...lots of trash, yet it's the street for galleries. Strange.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.8
    In all my years o travel the worst hotel I have ever experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, the yogurt and banana breakfast, the half hearted cleaning, the noise, the loose fixtures and fittings, the hard bed, loud guests all night and day.

    Very little.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location, good bed, don't book for included breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We selected the hotel because breakfast was included. The breakfast was awful. Everything was sugary. Not good enough to get you going for the day. There were bananas, coffee and tea, so that was okay.

    The bed was good and the place was clean -- a bit older than expected, but still very clean. The BEST thing was the location. So conveniently located by Union Square. If it's a nice day, the walk to Fisherman's Wharf is lovely. Great restaurants all around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Good location, go only if you can afford a better place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel condition is worse than what you see in the pictures. The breakfast is poor and the area is always crowded. Our safe did not work and it was not repaired during our stay.

    The location is almost perfect, a few blocks from Union Square, and the price is reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Definitely not again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not as shown on photos, they are significantly out of date! Breakfast was only cereal, oatmeal or convenience store pastry served on paper plates and cups Front desk staff are rude and rarely available. Hotel takes $100 deposit as security but will not provide proof of refund on check out, they told us to ‘raise a claim’ if we didn’t get it back! Not much more than a hostel, definitely not as advertised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.5
    ANYTHING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. It seems that if your're from the hotel it will be more expensive to park your car (55USD), there's one parking just in the next door for 40USD and there're several parkings in around 10-20m for 30 USD, so because of being a guest your price is the double. PERFECT!!! 2. The room for 4 people is extremely small there's not place to move, neither to store the luggage....we had to put some luggage in the restroom.... 3. Bad smell in the rooms and in the corridors, even more in the elevator. 4. There's not place for breakfast for all guests....there're only four tables. Also the quality and amount of breakfast was not good. 5. The door of our room had an open hole in the top (around 5cm) were the light, sound and cold could easily reach the inside part of the room ( I have photos of this, see it attached) 6. Due to the issue in point 5. the manager of the hotel told me by email that i will receive a refund of 25% of the night. One month later, I did not receive it and I have not answer to several emails I have sent. 7. The surroundings of the hotel are not safe.... It's full of mendicity So in summary, a complete nightmare.... DON'T GO HERE

    ANYTHING. DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location in San Francisco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in room temperature control, poor breakfast selection, slow elevator, heating / air conditioning noises from outside the room can be heard inside the room, can hear adjacent rooms.

    Quite central to downtown, good location for rapid bus on Geary Street to get all over San Francisco, comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    A moderately overpriced stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in the heart of the Tenderloin. If you can deal with junkies laying in the street directly outside the doorway, and every few steps between (like playing junkie hopscotch) you're good.

    It's a tidy, clean hotel with decent amenities in the rooms. The rooms are small. We had 3 people. The add said "spacious" which was not true. But we survived the cramped space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.4
    Front desk was extremely rude and we felt like a burden to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk was extremely rude and we felt like a burden to be staying there in our vacation! We stayed for two nights and when checking out the front desk was rude again. Room was very small with little walk way and bathroom has previous guest hair on the floor and in shower. This is the first time I was disappointed in a hotel in the city. Never again will I stay here. Especially when the room was 585$.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    The beds were very comfortable and the location was pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast selection was very limited indeed and quite disappointing to be honest.

    The beds were very comfortable and the location was pretty perfect being only a few minutes from Union Square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Aussie traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little tired and unclean--no flexibility with early or late check--in--makes things difficult for international travellers!--a lot of people outside on the streets begging

    Location location!!--easy walk to Union Square, plenty of food and wine options nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    The junior suite was a great size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member on the desk for check in was so incredibly rude and unhelpful it gave such a terrible first impression that unfortunately did not improve. Breakfast is also pretty poor and often no where to sit as the service area is very small and fills up fast.

    The junior suite was a great size. Location was a short walk from union square but in a slightly dodgy area (not too bad).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    We were places in room 102 bottom floor first room and I was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were places in room 102 bottom floor first room and I was not impressed at all being woken up every morning at 5am to 6am by your staff. This room was very noisy and I barely got any sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.7
    Okay stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed a good scrub but day to day cleaning was ok if prompted. Staff at front desk were not friendly. Best to get uber/lyft to hotel after being out at night.

    Room was compact but as described online. Not far to get to everything, we used lyft from the hotel which worked well. Breakfast provided - very Simple we chose to eat breakfast elsewhere while exploring the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.5
    Ummmm lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a leak from upstairs above our toilet, had a leak above our bed and a leak above the shower dripping browny yellow down into our shower. Whole hotel looked old as and stairs felt like they were going to collapse.

    Really not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable budget hotel in excellent area of town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hallways and downstairs a bit old and dated, with older (smelly) carpets

    Perfectly ok hotel, rooms were clean and beds comfortable and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Adante Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: