Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aida Plaza Hotel 1 stars

1087 Market Street, San Francisco, CA 94103, USA

#206 of 230 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1369 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.9

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    5.2

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended! Staff were rude on check in, the whole place has a creepy vibe, dodgy area, horrible shared toilet & shower, tv and phone didn’t work, not clean, expensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quite small and basic. Only 2 showers and toilets per floor so quite busy in the mornings.

    Was good for what we needed. Location didn’t bother us as close to transport links. However may not be for some.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    neighborhood challenging.many homeless people, some seemed mentally ill. private BR which was hard to find in this price range.sink difficult to deal with- separate hot and cold water faucets that didn't stay on unless you hold them on. I wound up using the bath faucets to wash. Staff very friendly and helpful. Prbly would not stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    200 plus dollars to stay in this place is steep and extreme. The walls are paper thin, the area is very dodgy, and the facilities are dated

    I managed to get some Shinning/Bate's motel-esque photos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I love this part of San Francisco. I wish I had more time to sit and hear the stories of each building. Such a rich history surrounding this neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the rooms need to be upgraded a bit. But what irritated me the most was that the airport shuttle never came to pick me up despite my reservations. It almost caused me to miss my flight out. I had no choice but to take a lift.

    The front desk lady was very nice. I didn't get her name, but she was Asian.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow. Overpriced for what you get but still enjoyed the stay.

    Beds were very comfortable and staff were friendly. Free doughnuts in the morning. Location was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was OK.

    Very helpful man at counter (mr. Mehdi); when my suitcase turned out to be delayed, I could use his cellphone to call the airport. He also uploaded my own cellphone behind the counter (as I did bring a cord with USB). Free use of computer in lobby. Loved! the heating! on cold evenings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite a few homeless people nearby. But if you just keep it to yourself then they won't bother you. The building next to it is going through renovation so expect some noise.

    Location is good. At the center of the city, next to BART station (Metro train system)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is carpet on some of the walls. There was mold in my room, the bed was not comfortable, and in our room you could hear everything in the halls. I also didn't like leaving my room key at the front desk. I understand it is so that people do not take them out and have them cut, so security, but it did not make me feel safe regarding my things. It would be better if they at least upgraded to a new key system (uncut-able or card). Overall the place needs a face-lift. The room smelt stale and my allergies were kicked into high gear. Also, at night not the best neighbourhood. My Uber driver wouldn't even drop us off until he managed to get right in front of the door. GPS is wonky in that area so make sure your drivers drop you at the door and not the ally behind the building.

    The lobby was very rustic and quaint. It had some amazing features and vintage items.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit scary surroundings at night. Like everywhere here.

    Good location, clean room, happy to have its own bathroom. Cofee and donuts in the morning pleasent benefit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled old, the corridor smelled old, the hotel smelled old... It's a pretty old hotel, that looks and smells the way it is. Not sure how clean it might have been, because you can't really understand it. They offered some donuts and coffee at "breakfast", but I dared to try them just the first morning.

    The bed was really comfy. Pretty central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scrap the hand soap and shampoo. It's generic. Most people bring their own. Toilet paper in each room should is too much. Maids should keep in their closet. With the money you save on from soap n shampoo replace donuts in the morning with bagels bananas etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a strange noise from the radiator in the morning. It would go away after a while but it was strange.

    It's nice that they offer coffee and doughnuts for breakfast. I liked the retro look of the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a lot of homeless people outside and they would sit outside the city hall building and keep talking, playing music and making noise till wee hours of the morning. That was annoying but on the other hand they were harmless and since this is tenderloin district it is their turf.

    The whole stay was pleasant and seamless for us. The location is fantastic and the price is just right. If you are traveling with family make sure to get the private bathroom as it does make a whole world of difference (privacy and safety especially for younger children). We did and when we got back after a long tiring day it was a luxury to shower and then relax. Take the 3 day muni pass ($33) and walk up to take the cable car to head to the wharf everyday. You can literally get off a stop and do your own site seeing tour of the city, and it seriously saves you lots of money. We'd recommend the melt restaurant that is down the street for a healthy dose of mac and cheese for little ones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of Civic Centre is good, but a lot of homeless people also like the area. Having said that they keep to themselves and we were never bothered or felt threatened. The only problem with the room is the heating, there is a column heater in the room but the boiler only comes on for limited times at night and the morning - it would be better if we could've just controlled it in the room to keep warm.

    It was actually fine and better than we were expecting. Good value for money in SF. The shared bathroom aspect is never ideal but they were always clean, private and we never waited for a shower or toilet. The room was clean and in good repair, the bed was comfortable enough and sheets were decent. There isn't free breakfast per se, but they put out a box of doughnuts (actually good ones) every morning plus coffee.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and bathrooms of corse are old, but still clean.

    Was expecting a horror and it was very pleasent. Nice people, nice and clean room with nice view. Clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room had very disgusting odors. Then we ask to change and move to other nicer. In the corridor there was weed smell all day. Some of the bathroom were not clean due to the other guest.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not up to date any more. Much too expensive for the outfit. Breakfast was a joke

    The hotel hasn't be refurbished since 60 years at least. Bad smell, much too expensive for the shape, in a unsafe neighbourhood. Wom't go there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's surrendered by homeless, they are hostile like I have never seen before. So creepy and disgusting. Walk towards union square! never walk towards civic plaza! Other than that, the smell of marijuana is enough to get you high, amazing what happens with legalization. A city of zombies.

    It was exactly as offered. No tricky or deceiving. I love that they have coffee available 24 hours. They provide plenty of clean towels and toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature was inconsistent. It varied, without warning, between scalding and freezing.

    The wifi was better than expexred. Staff we're friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't notice when booking it was shared bathroom, a bit surprise as it is pretty expensive. Doughnut for breakfast? not very digest. A lot of SDF in the street, didn't have problem with them but it's a bit stressful.

    Nice decoration, very 20s. Shared bathroom were always clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 11 nights

    This part of market street becomes sketchy at night (although I don't think it's unsafe).

    Had a good room with own bathroom and shower. Great value for this price. Clean sheets and towels that are changed daily. Warm water, heat ,and electricity functioning. Central location in SOMA. Free coffee at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above..

    The photos of the entrance and lobby are totally deceiving as the reality is that it's dusty, old and very dark and unpleasant. The guy that checked me in was aggressive when I told him I was surprised that guests were not allowed; actually there's a charge of 30USD per guest per entrance. When I said that the hotel did not share that information with booking.com he said that if I wanted to invite a friend we had the lobby to chat. As if I would ever invite anyone to sit in that unpleasant environment. Near the lift there's a sign warning that the tobacco(?) and chemicals used in the premises.may cause cancer. The 4th floor smelled rancid but the rooms were basic and clean. Plentynof clean towels next to two glasses full of small soap bars and shampoo. Every time other guests shower or run water you can hear it in the room to the extent that I was woken up thinking there was a thunderstorm and raining heavily outside; it was just other guests showering! The taps in the room are those separate hot and cold that close as soon as you move your hand from the tap..how am I supposed to wash my hands if I am using one hand to keep the tap open? Also either scorcing hot or cold water. Very unpleasant stay at this awful establishment which made me feel uncomfortable and sorry for myself. Also the info is deceiving and not correct ( guests pay extra and pics from 20/30 years ago or photoshopped). Very central but be careful as not in the nice end of Market Street. The street outside inhabited by homeless and drunk people 24/7. Just awful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and cleanliness. People smoking meth in the streets and right outside our window. The rooms are filthy and the bed linen was ripped and desperately needs replacement.

    The fact they gave a refund

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really not welcoming, tons of weird plastered rules everywhere, felt a bit like a prison. My biggest frustration was that I couldn't take my key out of the building, that doesn't make any sense.

    Convenient and fairly cheap. Room was comfortable enough and the shared bathroom situation isn't as bad as one would think.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish the room had phone line and television working so that one can stay a bit entertained while single stay.

    The staff was good. The location was good, and the breakfast Donut and coffee were pretty good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was basically unusable for anything more than text, and the bathrooms/showers are shared down the hall away from the room.

    A truly historic building with very personable and friendly staff. They may be a little slower with paper records, but it's a healthy reminder to BREATHE and relax. You've made it. You're safe here. Bonus: old-timey radios still work in the rooms!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was semi clean, found empty bottles of water underneath the bed. The toilets didn't flush well.

    Convenient if you are visiting the downtown areas, most places within walking distance. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is outside of the room, which it was very weird and disgusting, the toilet very dirty, the other people who use the toilet are filthy. The guy who checked us in was super rude. There’s a lot of homeless people on the area, causing a little bit of anxiety on us. The hotel looks like a terror movie and a mausoleum.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, it’s very well located for the city but is on the edge of a bad part of town so was not pleasant late at night.

    Liked the free coffee and donuts breakfast - wide sellection of fresh donuts each day! Very friendly, pleasant staff. Simple room but with lots of soaps, shampoo and towels!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's located in the most dangerious part of San Francisco. Be careful! A lot of noise outside each night. Rough neighbourhood. The most dangerious streets are nearby. It is not really clean. On the first night we found other people hair in the shower. After complaints they cleaned it well. NO REFUNDS (guess why :) ) Donuts are never tasty (seems like sold out in the evening, never fresh).

    The beds are comfortable, but the showers are very dirty (poorly cleaned). Staff is fairly pleasant, coffee and tea is provided 24/7.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The donuts for breakfast. If you stay two nights it is OK, but six days eating donuts for breakfast is not very good for stomach. Something salty would be appreciated. Outside of the hotel it seems like we are in a mad-house. But madmen are everywhere in the SF downtown.

    The retro-style of the hotel is funny, cute ... something special

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely rude. Was first given a room that wasn’t Clean, great start. There’s a $30 guest fee with $5 tax so it’s actually $35. They require you to right down every guest name. Booked the hotel for 2 had a friend come to the city last minute and required to take a copy of their ID....? Also require you to leave your room key every time you leave...? Like why? The elevator locks so they need to unlock it for you in order to use it. I know the hotel is old but it is so outdated and definitely needs an upgrade. Parking is kind of far away. I know parking in the city sucks in general but...

    Somewhere to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is scary. I felt very uncomfortable and had to opt for taxis to bring me back in the evening as I was too afraid to walk back at night. First room I was in had a shower that dripped all night and smelled moldy. After they didn’t fix the drip I asked to move. Second room had a sink that dripped but at least I couldn’t hear it. Not terribly clean. The place just made me nervous and I cut my trip short - paid for 4 nights but stayed 3.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding environment is not good, I can see many odd people around the building.

    I like the staffs, they are nice. And the transportation is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    They used have bathrooms in some of the rooms when I last visited but now shared toilets not a good idea for New Years. Restaurants that used to be in the neighborhood are closed. Scary crowds of homeless people. Way over priced $130+ which in Reno and Las Vegas would have been a comfortable room with amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I loved it! Beatiful vintage atmosphere, great donuts for breakfast, nice staff. Sure, the bathrooms are shared but you know what you're going to, and they were always clean and available. Tip: go to the balcony by emergency stairs at the top floor for a beautiful view!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is old and very tired. The lingering smell of stale tobacco permeates everything. The towels, although clean, were threadbare in places.

    The location is great. The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area of SF is seedy (though the hotel itself seems safe), and there was a smell of urine in my room. Perhaps they would have given me a different room if I'd asked, but I was too tired after my long flight. Other than the pee smell, the place was very clean. (Spotless shared bathrooms.) But the whole hotel has a slightly creepy, old, desolate feeling. If you're into haunted houses, stay here!

    All the staff were super nice, and the place itself is unique, with interesting chandeliers and marble work. And there are free donuts!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facilities Breakfast Unsafe area as the street outside was full of drug addicts and homeless

    Not value for money . Over priced and the complementary breakfast was dreadful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noises from refuse collection each day. Random shouting from vagrants nearby. Civic Centre Bart Station very close but a magnetic for the homeless.

    Convenient location. Rough nearby but safe as hotel is on a main thoroughfare. Bed was comfy. I booked a room with facilities - basic but very clean and lots of hot water. Unlimited tea and coffee by reception. Doughnuts for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared shower was cramped for room.

    The location is ideal for all transport links and within easy walking of the main square.The hotel has real old world charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This place is a run down dump in the Tenderloin. I knew that going in and was up for the adventure, I guess, considering mainline hotels in better areas were 4x more expensive. At over $200/night during a conference week, this was still exorbitant given the hotel conditions. Where to begin...I booked a suite which actually has a shower and toilet in your room. I couldn't imagine booking a room where you had to go down the hall to the common toilet and shower facilities. The sink in my room was in the bed area, not in the bathroom. It is set in a kind of nook that is basically shoulder width...so you're wedged in there. Obese Americans beware, you won't fit. And there is no light above the sink...I'm shaving in ambient light. The bed was fine. The bedspread was ancient. I immediately peeled that off with latex gloves (ha, not really, but I would've) and threw it *over there*. The exterior and other nearby buildings are under construction or renovation. At 6am, they begin hammering and clammering. You don't get to keep your key...which is a physical key. You have to turn it in at the desk and pick it up at the desk coming and going. You also have to lock the door to your room manually...it doesn't lock behind you. The TV is basic and appears to only get broadcast channels in very poor reception. There did not appear to be any cable or premium channels. They offer donuts (which looked fine) and coffee (meh, I'll pass) every morning. In a pinch for basic accommodation, this will do. Good luck!

    Location was good, but I knew that before booking. By good, I mean, it is easy to walk AWAY from the Tenderloin to the conference/union square area. You are also super close to the not-good Tenderloin area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - both traffic and the homeless outside who play music all hours Donuts the only breakfast Single glazed windows which don't keep noise out or heat in Heating on when boiling outside and no way to control yourself

    Comfy bed Reasonable ensuite bathroom On major transport routes (Bart, Trolley Bus & other buses) Wifi

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Double Beds and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was terrible, a really unsafe part of the city. The rooms were small, and the ‘shared bathroom’ was one shower and bathroom per floor.

    The staff were really friendly and answered any questions we had

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money, the hotel is fine. That said, the free WiFi basically doesn’t work because it’s so slow. The hotel location is LOUD and the staff’s insistence on leaving your key with them is really inconvenient.

    Free donuts in the morning are nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is like something from The Shining...very old and dated. Staff were friendly. Breakfast consisted of coffee & sugary donuts.

    The hotel is on Market Street, 5mins walk from hotel along Market Street is the tram service, shops, bars & restaurants. At night the street fills up with homeless people and young people smoking weed, playing music, however, it was busy and several police were walking around so we felt safe enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsanitary conditions in the bathroom, bed bugs, hair in the baths, dirty toilets.

    The worst hotel ever! The neighborhood is unsafe, the hotel is dirty, rooms are dark and the conditions in the hotel are unsanitary. If ylu have an option not to stay there, then don’t.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really old building and furniture. At the beginning, they did not have any room for us at the arrival. The recepcionist told us he gave us a very good bethroom...but it wasn't true. The scarf was really old and dirty, the television had at least 20 years old, the radio, I couldn't even find out...anyway if I come back again to SF I'll not go to this hotel.

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad maintained. The room had no AC, the furniture, TV, and phone was like 20 years old. The faucet was leaking.

    Right in front of a BART station and at walking distance from the Piers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    side walking is quite dirty and bad feeling ( not safely ) when went out cause many homeless on streets

    location is good to have visiting famous places and shopping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views out, old smell to the place. Very dated decor. Homeless people on the street outside which I realise the hotel is not to blame for. Go for the ensuite rooms, the shared toilets are a joke.

    Good location, staff were organised and friendly. The location on market street makes it easy to walk to the Port of San Francisco and the pier which is a big touristy spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cold water faucet not working in the sink. Elevator a bit slow. Breakfast doughnuts were a bit dried out and not always there by 7am.

    Front Desk staff were very friendly to interact with. Convenient to BART and muni. Comfortable bed. Plenty of drawer space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They offer complementary donuts for breakfast in the lobby (from 7 to 9) and free coffe and tea anythime, but you don’t have any place to sit down. So at the end we decided to skip breakfast. The double bed is very small, 120 cm.

    The room and the common areas are clean and the staff is nice. The location is good, we could walk almost everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful location, drug addicts injecting themselves outside the hotel. Hotel us very old & run down. Some of the staff are very rude! Wouldn't give us our room key on our last night because they said we owed money despite us paying it all when we checked in. Only gave us our keys when we said we were going to phone the police.

    Beds were clean & comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking showed complimentary “continental breakfast” - cold donuts!! Common bathroom no shower head, shower curtains old and rigid No armchair in room, high chair No coffee table No kettle - hot water from reception Tv reception poor Very noisy

    Nothing!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street made sleep very difficult. There was no cooling so you had to have the window open which made the street noise ridiculous. The shower changed temperature without warning and could become boiling. The advertised breakfast was donuts. The room had no bedside tables, lamps, fridge or a Do not disturb sign for your door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found a bed bug on the wall so we called the staff. When he came, the bug was trying to escape. Instead of trying to catch it, the staff tried to make it run into the hole and said that it was not a problem at all since the bed bug was on the wall not on our bed. He also rejected to change the room for us because he said all rooms were fully booked and we had two choice: stay or leave. This happened around 10 pm. We both think that it was a very unacceptable and the worst way to address our problem. Few moments later, he called and said one guest just cancelled the booking so he had a room available. Luckily, we finally moved to that room. The hotel located on the most dangerous neighborhood of San Francisco. People do drug on the street even in the daytime and there are a lot of homeless people which the presence of police officers doesn't help you feel safe. No car is allowed to park at night or in the early morning on the street in front of the hotel. So if you plan to come/leave at late night or early morning, you have to walk about a block, pass those shady people to meet your driver.

    Decent price for the quality. Closed to Union Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff were happy to look after my hire bike overnight. I have stayed there before and like it, so it will continue to be my home whenever I go to SF.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like the management haven't invested a single penny for years. Filthy bed and bathroom. Hair on bed linens. Unpleasant smell in the room. It's a shame. Avoid if only possible.

    After spending a night here you don't need to book an Alcatraz tour. You'll have an impression that you've already been there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not ideal as there are homeless people in the vicinity but no one bothered us and we did not feel unsafe walking around.

    The staff were lovely. The hotel was quirky in style which we liked and we especially liked the old jukeboxes. Although the hotel is basic in its amenities I would not stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was alot of homeless just outside the hotel which can't be helped but made us feel very uncomfortable to go out of a night. the Wi-Fi connection was poor but the hotel staff had no problem with moving us when asked for a better room with better Wi-Fi.

    The tea and donuts provided for breakfast was a nice touch. location was good for shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The small shower facilities (one in total at each end of the floor) was not clean and used by too many people. The toilet (one at each end of the floor) was the same. Internet access was poor and difficult to access from the room or to download. It was advertised that we were to have a continental breakfast but were given sugary sweet donuts only and we had to take them to our room to eat as the one table for the whole hotel could not accommodate all guests (only 4 could sit around it).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the hotel. Water pipes hammerd in the middle of the night. You have to hand your key back every time you leave the hotel. They put ours back in the wrong location. Any one could ask for the key. Hotel felt unsafe and was worried for my family. Was nothing like the pictures on your website

    Size of the room was ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad location! Market street is the worst in San Francisco, 2 people got robbed infront of the hotel, we saw the whole thing trough our window!!! Alot of homeless people, drug addicts and alcoholics. Rooms were not very clean, same for the bathroom. Hotel is alot older than it looks like in ths photos. There was a weird smell in both of our rooms. The location is very very dangerous!

    Staff was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key and guest policy makes you feel like you're in a SRO. The cleanliness of the beds is questionable. The WiFi doesn't work in the rooms. The amenities are old.

    Early 1900's style, this hotel really takes you back to the era. The location is ideal. The staff is friendly. I love the water pressure in the shower. The rates are cheap and they offer free doughnuts (not breakfast) to guest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    High risk area especially at night. Didn't feel safe. Hotel details are very old and out of date. Lots of building work next door. Overpriced for standard of room.

    Location good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The neighbourhood was extremely dangerous, with plenty of drug addicts and homeless people with mental health issues - some accessing the hotel, being able to just wonder in. It was like a bad movie - dirty, gloomy entrance, very dated and dusty jukeboxes lining the lobby. The room was pretty dirty with a view of a brick wall. a sink in the room but shared shower and toilets down the hallway. Strange people behind the counter - you have to hand your key in everytime you leave the hotel. dirty, dangerous, uncomfortable (no air-con) and in the wrong neighbourhood - all in all we got on with it but we wont return to this hotel

    The fact that we were in San Francisco...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO security, sketchy neighborhood, filthy windows, breakfast is ONLY a donut and coffee, music plays all night from across the street

    clean sheets, comfortable bed, fresh towels daily

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location might put some people off, as SF has a serious homeless problem and there are some living on the Market Street area. However, we did not feel unsafe in the area and had no problems walking around at night up to about 10-11pm.

    Although hotel is not in a very good area, I could not fault any other aspect of the hotel and our stay. The staff were the nicest, friendliest people I have met in a long time in a hotel. In particular, the gentlemen at reception were so warm and welcoming and made our stay such a pleasure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing it wasn't anything like on your site. Everything needs to be better. The entrance was so dull and dowdy.

    nothing it wasn't anything like on your site.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel ever, dirty, smelling terrible, like dust, humid. Room was so dated, old bed, linens everything was so depressing. We reserved 3 nights and only slept the first one. Wanted to leave the same night but it was too late to go get another hotel. The only good thing there were the gentlemen at the desk that gently agree to refund the money. I can't understand how someone can stay there.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's too old building but the problem is they didn't do any change. Curtains were extremely dirty. They can make it better with tight budget and to be more comfortable.

    Good location close to bus and train station. For this money ,good deal. Also you can put your stuffs in storage without more tax and take you any time and the donuts for breakfast are nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with One Double Bed and Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, this is not a hotel; there wasn't even a bathroom in our room. There are unhygienic toilets and a shower about 50m walk away from the room. I've stayed in better equipped campsites and hostels. The building smelt awful, the room was exactly the same. The staff where very unhelpful with any queries we had. The complimentary "breakfast" is Tea Coffee and Donuts (which nobody went near due to the excessive amount of flies around them). The only lift was out of service which led to us having to carry our 30kg bags up a couple floors. The beds felt unclean and we where covered in bites following our stay. Overall an awful experience.

    It is close enough to union square.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aida Plaza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: