Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alamo Inn & Suites 2 stars

2203 East Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX 78203, USA

#289 of 301 hotels in San Antonio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 64 hotel reviews

5.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.3

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    5.9

  • Facilities

    5.4

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    The bed sheets had black stains on them like they had not...
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets had black stains on them like they had not wash the sheet. The 2 sinks were wouldn’t close all the way so the water was dripping the whole time.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Alright Place to Sleep & Shower
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I This place (to us) is mostly meant to sleep and shower, nothing other than that really. Anyways I really didn’t enjoy the fact that we did find some Hairs on the Bed, luckily we brought some of our own Blankets & pillows ( Beds were Comfy) and also we did find some small cockroaches at night but luckily they weren’t on the bed, other than that it was Descent

    I really enjoyed the Location. Very Close to Downtown. The air conditioning worked Extremely well, A little Swing set was nice to use with my Son. The water in the Bathroom worked Well. The Free Breakfast was NOT ALOT but it was fine for us as we were going to go eat elsewhere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like it family didn’t either

    Roach in coffee was in creamer brought me milk from his place where he was using how do you know that he he didn’t drink from jug

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    3.3
    For a last minute reservation it was all we could get but will never stay there ever,ever,ever again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hated just about everything. The website is a lie. Below is a picture of the free breakfast. Microwave didn't work, refrigerator worked but had roaches in it, walls were super dirty and peeling, you had to turn tv on by hand(remote didn't work), no towels in room until I requested them and same for toilet paper, mattress had holes in them and sheets had cig burns, and to top it off had bad roaches. I usually don't leave reviews but I was beyond upset when I entered the room because it looked nothing like website pics. As foir staff the attitude was so non caring. I don't recommend this place to nobody not even my worse enemy.

    The only goid thing about this place is that it is a 2 minute drive from downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a drunk girl knock on my door at 1230 and when I didn't open she continued to go down the rooms until someone openend

    Smelled lemony fresh when I walked in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    Room was filthy. I couldn’t cancel the room because I was gonna get charged either way. i hated it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t clean. The sheets had been used I can tell! It was hair all on the sheets and my fiancé and I hadn’t even laid down yet. Disgusting!

    The manager was nice that’s all I loled

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Very Happy Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. Easy to find and very friendly people.

    Very clean and very confortable. We would stay there again next time we're in San Antonio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    3.3
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra payment for second bed, althought it was broken. Booked with breakfast but there is nothing! Wifi signal was really poor. Old rooms, old furniture, nothing looks clean there. Worst spent money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    front desk India couple are extremly nice and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi, and I think they are aware of that. room is somehow dirty. when I ask the other front desk person to help maybe reboot the server, he said he could do nothing about it. I asked three times and all he can do was saying "son of b**ch" to me. Extremely rude and helpless. I think it is not safe to stay in a place with such an unpolite front desk. I booked three days but only stayed there for one night and got refund for the next two days.

    front desk India couple are extremly nice and kind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    4.2
    DON'T STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean and there is only one drive in and out of the hotel, but the portico is narrow and short, located too near the street, so if more than two cars try to come in, the exit is completely blocked until someone moves.

    The room was nasty. There was a dead water bug in the tub that had been there long enough for other bugs to defecate around it. There were long, black hairs in the room and a ring in the toilet bowl. We brought in our own blankets and slept on top of the beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    2.5
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smells ugly when you walk in, burn cigarette burns on furniture, dirty, bedspread torn,floor tile messed up, that wasn't breakfast, gnats flying all over,mosquito too. I should get some kind of refund, I guess that is why he ask ed for my money before we got there. Booking.com take them off your list, never again

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    2.5
    Eewww!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is way overpriced!There are no coffee pots in the rooms, no amenities really at all. The room was filthy. There were dead flies all over the floor. The bathroom was full of hair. There was urine on the toilet.The pillowcases had dried boogers on them and the microwave was dirty. And the wash cloth even had lipstick on it.This hotel was a joke! With the Alamo name, you would think they would take more pride in their establishment. Atrocious!

    The only thing this hotel had going for it was the large flat screen TV.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    4.2
    OK, but not clean at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CLEANLINESS. Hairs in the bed, towels were NOT clean. Toilet didn't flush, WE had to fix the toilet tank first. The owner tried to talk us into an upgrade but it turned out he had to give us the room anyway because all other rooms were booked out. Charged us 10 dollars to store our bags in the laundary room the next day.

    Location: Bus stop nearby, close to an HEB

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Te Alamo Inn is a little Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ramone was amazing!!! He welcomed us so warmly, gave us great directions and options to the Alamo Dome, recommended a lovely restaurant and delivered extra towels to our room!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    5.4
    Nice staff, okay room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we took showers, the water seeped out and made a puddle in our room. I also smacked a cockroach that was running around in the room.

    The one gentleman from front office, was very nice and helpful. We left an item behind and when we came back, he helped us find it.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    2.5
    Nasty
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing everything is bad

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Close to Riverwalk and site seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I loved everything. It was a really nice stay.

    Everything was wonderful. I really enjoyed it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    The bed
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False advertising breakfast included

    The bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    No breakfast provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast provided. Digesting coffee maker. Bed shit stained. Roach crawled me.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    overall ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness

    location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    Cheap Hotel close to Downtown San Antonio, but filthy and unreliable shuttle/City bus system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was filthy and the sheets were gross and the towels were gross.

    The location was around a mile from Downtown San Antonio.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    It met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were great. Shared stories about the history of Sam Antonio

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Beds were soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were soft. We didn't want to get up.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location for our event.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for our event.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable nights
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable beds, clean towel, great parking lot. Breakfast in the mornings. Great showers, water ran great.

    No stairs

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Staff was really awsome and friendly
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was really awsome and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Expectations not met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not functioning and the hotel is old.

    The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    1 towel and 1 wash cloth was given for the 2 of us.
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 towel and 1 wash cloth was given for the 2 of us. Twin bed looked to have some dead bugs under the cover.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.0
    It was close to my destination.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilet was broken. The website said they had breakfast but they did not. There was no wifi.

    It was close to my destination.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    5.0
    disinfect shower and toilet every day.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    disinfect shower and toilet every day. the same piece of dirt remained on my toilet every day,indicating ikt was not disinfected every single day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of workers staying, noisy at night and when they left in the morning.

    1 mile from River Walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    2.5
    Look elsewhere before booking here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tatty rooms, breakfast only for the weekend (not clear when you book). Dead insects in the room and bath. No coffee machine in one room.

    Leaving

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.0
    Location that's it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Dirty and out dated does even look like they try I was upset free cable please one Chanel and fuzzy at that was afraid to even look for complamtery breakfast

    Location that's it

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    9.2
    The gentelman at the front, the owner was very amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location. But it's completely fenced in! Which made us comfortable!

    The gentelman at the front, the owner was very amazing! If we go back this is where we will stay! Everything was welcoming and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    4.2
    Cheap but within a quick drive to downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very durty small room; light bulbs were out and not replaced; heater was stolen from the room; bathroom was durty too; neighborhood was quite scary looking too.

    Cheap but within a quick drive to downtown

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    3.3
    The only positive thing about this hotel was that it...
    • Group

    Next to the hotel is a bail bond and a cemetery so pretty depressing on that front. The hotel was not clean and the sheets had cigarette holes and pee stains. I stayed there with a friend and when she took the cover off of her bed she found two dimes under it so we had to assume that the sheets had not been changed since the last occupancy. Next to our room was a guest who kept his door open and walked around in his underwear. The man from reception was very nice but at one point made a pass at my friend about how he'd, "love to have two women" and adding that he was single, which only made us feel less safe. We left very early in the morning and didn't even want to imagine what breakfast would have been like. Worse places exist but I really wouldn't recommend any females staying there.

    The only positive thing about this hotel was that it wasn't too far away from downtown

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.5
    The proximity to a big landmark (Alamodome).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The are of town is a bit shady. There was no hot water for the shower and the towels looked like they were dirty.

    The proximity to a big landmark (Alamodome). The owner was very accommodating with check-out time considering my event ended later in the day.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.9
    It is located in a run-down/low income part of the city,...
    • Couple

    It is located in a run-down/low income part of the city, but was fine for us because it was near the Freeman Coliseum where we were attending an event. The low cost was important to me so I wasn,t expecting the ritz.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    2.9
    The bed was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our card key did not work and he came open the door with a master key actual key..and told us if we left to go anywhere and we got locked out..wake him he would open our door again..we were told in our reservation that the room had coffee maker, blow dryer, iron, safe, micro fridge, alarm clock, phone...it had none of these, including no light bulbs in the lamps or the ceiling fan..our only light was the bathroom and the television, which had a problem working in the beginning, you could practically see the parking lot through the gap in the door when it was closed and locked..this place boasted all types of amenities and offered none listed, and after our experience with the room, we decided against the free breakfast and just left in the morning before check out...a lot to pay for just a semi safe bed to lay your head on for a rest...

    The bed was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    2.5
    We stopped to pay the room before going to fiesta Texas, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stopped to pay the room before going to fiesta Texas, the clerk offered to put our luggage in the room. Even though it was before check in. We were then later charged on our card an extra $60 per room, cuz the owner/manager did not agree. The rooms were infested with roaches. The walkway was so small I burned myself on the ac unit steam walking past a room. The soda and snack machine were both empty or out of order. I will never stay there again, nor recommend to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    2.5
    I liked that I got a refund after I realized how...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Filthy room. Cockroaches, dirty bed, burns on every piece of furniture, reeked of smoke in non smoking room.

    I liked that I got a refund after I realized how ridiculously overpriced the room was for what I was getting.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    This is my second time at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I travel with my 67yo mom and 6yo son so I reserved a double queen bed room. When we get there we were given 1 queen bed and a twin bed. Since my mom has bad back I gave her the big bed with my son and I got small bed. Was very uncomfortable. I should've gotten a discount at least.

    This is my second time at this hotel. On site Manager very nice and helpful. Facilities very clean. Actually very nice area despite its looks. Feel safe there. I'm sure I'll go again.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    7.5
    Motel was old but clean and had pretty good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Motel was old but clean and had pretty good bed. Price was comparable and probably better than most at the price. Pets are welcome (I Guess) and evidently we got a room that had a cat in it earlier. We love animals but girlfriend is allergic to cats and had a problem with sneezing and sinus drainage so we left early in the AM. room and facility was great for the price though.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    3.8
    The flowery carpet, the old fashioned bed covers, toiletries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The flowery carpet, the old fashioned bed covers, toiletries were in fact 2 little shampoos

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was really dirty Bathroom hadn't been cleaned Carpet stained and was dirty Overall don't book

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.0
    no toilet paper in bathroom
    • Solo traveller

    no toilet paper in bathroom

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    8.8
    Extremely friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heater broke on our last night.

    Extremely friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    7.5
    Hotel staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness needs help.

    Hotel staff was great. Thank you Ramone. Full of useful information

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    10
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    all

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    2.9
    nothings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everything

    nothings

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Empty Trojan box in the trash can of one of our rooms

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    2.5
    receptionist despot, Microwave, smells, wifi, common areas,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    receptionist despot, Microwave, smells, wifi, common areas, bathroom, no restaurant

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    Close to where I am going , within walking distance .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing .

    Close to where I am going , within walking distance .

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: